Customer Reviews for

Dark Angel

Average Rating 4
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Gothic romance

    A gothic romance novel. A well written story with a strong female lead, a supernatual yet believable plot, and a handsome love interest. A cheap and quick read- 300 pages

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Yesterday I finished Dark Angel: A Gothic Fairy by T. J. Bennett

    Yesterday I finished Dark Angel: A Gothic Fairy by T. J. Bennett. Let me first tell you that it's a Gothic story by all accounts that make a Gothic story what they are. Yes, it does have the air of gloominess and mystery, which are key elements to a Gothic romance. To say the least Dark Angel: A Gothic Fairy wouldn't a light easy read. Oh no, mystery and intrigue would be your best bet.

    The story wouldn't be complete without a strong and equally stubborn heroine. At the beginning, we don't see Catherine Briton as this strong and stubborn woman until the story start to progress. She starts to realize that she can never leave island. Where there is a strong and equally stubborn woman there must be an even more strong and equally stubborn man. After all, our heroine can't have no willy-nilly hero, Gerard. Now Gerard is the master of this mysterious island that Catherine has landed on.

    A masterfully written story with dark undertones that will captive the imaginations of most readers. Yes, Dark Angel: A Gothic Fairy tale isn't your walk through the park kind of read. However, a visually stunning read even if it's a dark read. Those who are drawn to Beauty and the Beast kind of stories will find Dark Angel: A Gothic Story an interesting take of that particular fairytale.

    Overall, I found Dark Angel: A Gothic Fairy Tale a marvelous read, but taxing. This story isn't for the faint of heart (more like those who love happy stories). Granted the story does have a happy ending, but it's a little darker and the sun isn't going to magically appear and the story becomes bright and cheery. Not going to happen, so if you don't mind a story that leads you into a little gloom, you might enjoy Dark Angel: A Gothic Fairy Tale. 

    Copy provided by the publisher

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    Catherine Briton and death are old friends, after losing her fam

    Catherine Briton and death are old friends, after losing her family to illness; Catherine became dedicated to helping people avoid death. When her ship heading to England runs into a storm she and a small band of survivors are on a lifeboat and trying to survive the crashing waves. Catherine spots and island but she is the only one that can see it. When the lifeboat overturns, Catherine awakes to find herself on a mysteries island, which seems to be full of secrets.
    Gerard, the master of the island heals Catherine and makes her a guest in his home. Catherine is informed that there is no way off the island and even if there was her life would never be the same again. The island is full of secrets and the biggest belong to Gerard, will Catherine be able to uncover them all without getting hurt in the process?
    I loved the story, the plot was very intriguing and kept me entertained throughout, would be a wonderful Halloween read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a really good story. I did have a hard time getting into

    This is a really good story. I did have a hard time getting into it, but after a few chapters it grabbed my attention and held on until the end. 

    Catherine Briton is a young widow traveling back home to London when a storm destroyed the boat she was on. She is the only survivor to wash up on the shore of the island that no one ever claims to see while out on the ocean. She knows she has injuries, but after the stranger who found her took her to his castle and checks her for injuries, all the pain in her body eases. She starts to notice strange things that are happening on the island, but when she asks questions she never seems to get an honest answer. 

    Gerard is the ‘master’ of the island. He has the most secrets out of everyone she’s met, and Catherine is determined to uncover as many as possible. As she and Gerard spend time together they start to become closer, and she hopes that will cause him to open up to her. What’s more unnerving is how everyone on the island seems to know quite a bit about her when she hasn’t told anyone about herself. There are more and more mysteries as the days pass, and no one will explain the beast that seems to be following her whenever she is out during the day. Will Catherine ever return to London, or will she be stuck on the strange island forever?

    I received an e-ARC of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely love Gothic romances. Especially those set on a mys

    I absolutely love Gothic romances. Especially those set on a mysterious island, with mysterious people, and a mysterious atmosphere. So, the basic equation for things like this is: This Book + Me = Instant Love. Simple as that. Sadly, the literary world is filled with unpredictability, and over 50% of the time, this isn't the case. But, because of all the good karma I racked up in the past few weeks, the universe decided to do me a huge favor and make this book likeable.
     
    Catherine almost drowns in a violent storm, but luckily, she winds up on an island. However, this island is supposedly cursed, and anyone who's on it never returns. Stubbornly determined to get back to England, she believes she is prepared to get past everything in order to return to the orphans she takes care of.
     
    For the first half of this book, I loved almost everything. There was this atmosphere of unknown, and it was utterly compelling. After half-way, though, the writing got lazy and I found myself bored.
     
    In most books, there's one out of two female protagonist: There's the sweet, innocent, boring Mary Sue, or there's the stubborn, fighting, and so obstinate that it gets annoying Mary Sue. Both are the epitome of perfection, just shown in different ways. Catherine was the second type, and for me, that's the type I like better. She was a nurse, and she basically believed that she knew everything there was to know about medicine. Specifically, the class known as Human Growth and Development.
     
    Yes, ladies and gentlemen. I'm talking about the manufacturing of historic condoms. Condoms. And it wasn't even the out of the blue spout about the magical thing called safe sex. Oh no, it was the intended conversation about goat intestines being shaped into these lovely objects. And the marketing of them.
     
    Go ahead. Call me a prude. But you have not read Catherine's rant about condoms. But hey, I now have an interesting dinner conversation: Ah yes, the French were a great inventor of many things. Take, for example, how they stretched a goat's intestines to fit over a humans's- yeah, no.
     
    Anyways, moving on from those pointless paragraphs to the rest of the characters. Particularly Gerard, who's name I can't say out loud for some reason. You know who he reminds me of? Jericho Barrons, from the Fever series. But, just not as awesome. Don't get me wrong, he's still pretty amazing, but- I don't know- I just didn't really like him as much as I thought I would. Probably because for some insane reason, I can't say words with two "r"s in them with less then a letter in between. Also, I cannot, in any way possible, picture a "Gerard" as some insanely sexy person. It just doesn't happen in my mine.
     
    Sadly, though, Gerard was not the only thing I couldn't pronounce. There was the name of the island- Ynys Nos. I hate, for some strange reason, things I can't say out loud.
     
    Parts of the book were just too predictable for me- particularly towards the end. The "mystery" was so obvious that I couldn't help but take short breaks to recover from some characters' stupidity.
     
    Other than that long list, though, the book was actually pretty good. The library description alone was enough to give it three stars. There was enough character development to make it seem real, the atmosphere was suspenseful, and even secondary characters seemed interesting. This was a well written retelling of Beauty and the Beast, and I will definitely be reading more of Bennett's work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2013

    I usually don┬┐t like to read adult fairy tales but this one I li

    I usually don’t like to read adult fairy tales but this one I like. It made me change my mind. I really like Catherine & gerard. they were perfect for each other. there was some twist & turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    DARK ANGEL is a sumptuous, Gothic-inspired, fairy tale romance.

    DARK ANGEL is a sumptuous, Gothic-inspired, fairy tale romance. If you like strong heroines, tortured heroes, sizzling romantic tension, and a well-written story, this might be the book for you. 




    I’ll admit this right off: I’m not the biggest fan of romance or romantic relationships. I almost always criticize them, because I’m picky. But books published by Entangled have never let me down. DARK ANGEL is no exception. 




    The book's style might take some getting used to, because the author is very descriptive. I like that sort of writing when it's done well, and I thought it was done well here. The lush descriptions help set the scene, as well as build the characters of Catherine and Gerard. I want to say it's almost Victorian in style; I can't say for sure, not having read books written in that era. 




    DARK ANGEL starts off strong and dangerously, with Catherine in a lifeboat in the middle of the sea. Overboard after a disaster, she sees an island, or thinks she does. When she entreats the captain to set sail for the island, he refuses to, for only the dead and dying see it. After the lifeboat turns over, Catherine wakes up to find herself on the shores of that island, and that's where the real story begins….




    The island, Ynys Nos, is like no other place Catherine has ever seen. And for an English gentlewoman, she's seen quite a lot, having given up her privileged life to help the less fortunate. She was even a nurse in the Crimean War. But even more compelling than the mysterious island is its master, Gerard. Gerard takes Catherine into his home, sparking off an intense battle of wills between the two. 




    There's an immediate attraction between them, but Catherine fights it every step of the way. Gerard does everything he can to make her give in. There is PLENTY of blazing romantic tension, which is something I enjoyed. 




    Gerard is the epitome of a tortured, dark hero, with so many secrets that he needs a vault the size of Fort Knox to keep them all. He's an alpha male, supremely confident in himself and in his ability to seduce Catherine. Usually such confidence and a "you're mine" attitude bugs the heck out of me, but I liked it here. It just fit the overall story. Plus, his vulnerabilities helped balance out the alpha attitude. Beneath the big strong male, there’s a little boy who grew up without friends and the weight of the island on his shoulders. 




    DARK ANGEL has a mystery behind the romance, and a few paranormal touches. Beauty and the Beast is one of my favorite fairy tales, and it also influences the book. Overall, it’s a very atmospheric read. I sometimes thought I was on the island, following Catherine as she tried to figure out all the mysteries and gets answers for Gerard’s secrets. 




    The ending did leave me wanting a little more, but that was mainly because I didn’t want to leave Catherine and Gerard’s story. The book does move along a bit slowly, due to the descriptive writing and setting everything up, but that wasn’t a con for me. I was too caught up in the mystery of Ynys Nos, as well as the growing relationship between Catherine and Gerard. 




    I’d recommend DARK ANGEL if you like romances, historical fiction, or paranormal. There’s a little something for everyone here. 




    ==




    Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    This book was a nice twist on the Beauty and the Beast . I reall

    This book was a nice twist on the Beauty and the Beast . I really enjoyed the Catherine and Gerard characters they were really well written. Catherine has a great fiery spirit that refuses to be crushed no matter how many tragedies seem to befall her she will always fight for what she believes in and Gerard is a man used to getting his way yet troubled by past events in his life he tries to control everything in it now including Catherine. It was great to see how they interacted. I would definitely recommend this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Catherine and others are on a boat and while on this life boat s

    Catherine and others are on a boat and while on this life boat she sees something. The captain tells her that she sees nothing and neither does he... for if you do see something you NEVER return! Next thing she knows she is trying to survive from drowning. She sees something- A man is there and helps her. The gentleman is mysterious and authoritative, but she won't allow any man to dominate her! She calls him Gerad and wants to know his secrets that he is hiding. Caring/friendship is established but can he return her affection or will the beast get her 1st?

    Gerad finds Catherine at the edge of the water on his Island. He allows Catherine to call him Gerad rather than Master as others do. He is dominating and bossy but is really enjoys Cat's personality, attitude, looks, spunk and more! He asks for time for her to let him open up and learn to tell her things... but can he ever tell her his true feelings before lies and beasts get her? 

    This was a unique storyline. I was intrigued from the 1st page to the very end!! I finished this book all in one setting and couldn't put it down! It was a breath of fresh air with beasts, boats, people's perceptions, dominant males, strong willed women, deception and more! 

    If you love fairy tales, sexy men, beasts/animals, strong women, love, friendships and more then you will love this story! 

    I loved this book and would definitely read another book by this fabulous author! Well done!

    ** I received a copy of this book by Entangled Publishing for an honest review** 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    This is a haunted fairy tale that's also a mystery....and a litt

    This is a haunted fairy tale that's also a mystery....and a little bit Brigadoon, Lost Horizon and Beauty and the Beast. It has a lot of twists and turns but also a strong heroine and a tortured hero ( who you just have to love) and it's an enjoyable read. I recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1