Customer Reviews for

Dark Angels

Average Rating 4.5
( 62 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Highly recommended. Enjoyable reading.

My favorites to read are historical fiction. This is a good historical fiction novel. I will read books by this author.

posted by 10842598 on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Not my favorite of this trilogy

This book is the prequel to Through A Glass Darkly (in my top ten must reads) and it's sequel, Now Face To Face. It tells the story of Barbara's grandmother Alice and how she met and eventually married her grandfather, Richard. Like it's predecessors, it's a long read...
This book is the prequel to Through A Glass Darkly (in my top ten must reads) and it's sequel, Now Face To Face. It tells the story of Barbara's grandmother Alice and how she met and eventually married her grandfather, Richard. Like it's predecessors, it's a long read almost reaching five hundred pages. In the fist hundred pages or so the Koen introduces scores of characters which are never fully developed. It was a difficult book to get into but I stuck with it simply because I'd read the others. Alice was not at all like her character in the previous books and I found it difficult to believe she would transform into the character I knew from the shallow girl in these pages. The visual descriptions were often times too heavy and I found myself skimming through them to get to the "meat" of the story. Although the last few chapters were interesting some of the scenes were shocking graphic and definitely grotesque. The relationship between Alice and Richard was not at all the romantic tale I expected and a bit disappointing. I felt the story was slow to start, gained speed then crashed into an almost accidental ending. I was hoping to find out more about the life of Alice and Richard after they were married and having children. Perhaps another book? If another is written, I will probably read it to help put the story to bed in my mind. Through A Glass Darkly I consider Koen's masterpiece. Dark Angels, not so much.

posted by EVKendall on August 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Highly recommended. Enjoyable reading.

    My favorites to read are historical fiction. This is a good historical fiction novel. I will read books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2011

    Wow!!

    What can I say... but I loved this book! I just picked it off the shelf as something to read and I have been head over heals over all of Karleen Koen's books. This book is so complex and detailed it is like stepping back into the court of King Charles II - you can see the rich detail, feel the fabric, taste the food. You find out why Charles was the merry king. There is never ending intrigue, plotting, mystery and murder. Alice it the main character and she is a real spitfire. She has a few friends, but her hands in everything. Karleen Koen is the best historical fiction writer out there and this book proves it. There are so may layers of history within this book. There is so much detail, but it is not confusing or boring. It really is a masterpiece to keep this much information and history so organized, and put into an engrossing and riveting page turner that begs for a sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Loved it

    Read through a glass darkly first and liked it so i gave this one a try. I liked dark angels better than through a glas. I am anxious to read the third book. Hope i is as good as the first two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    The book was great. I could not put it down! The ending could

    The book was great. I could not put it down! The ending could have been a little more developed. Perhaps it will lead to another book?
    I would recommend this book to anyone who loves historic fiction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Loved it !

    Enough said.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Enjoyable Light Reading

    This is an addictive book, much like people get addicted to soap operas. While the writing style and characters keep you up reading late into the night, the historic details make it more interesting than simple fluff. The strong heroine will appeal to most women. Highly entertaining, but not a literary masterpiece. That said, I would not hesitate to recommend it in the category of a great "light-read" novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2008

    Great Book

    Very good book. Part of a three part series. Read all three within weeks...each book was great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    Convincing Adventure

    Dark Angels is an amazing tale of intrigue and romance that captures you from the second you open the book. Full of detail it brings Alice Verney back to life. Every emotion is played out here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2007

    Brilliant!

    I absolutely love this book! Its story and characters keep you trapped in the plot until the very end, and leave you begging for more. Plus, there are so many twists and turns, this book keeps you awake all night to see what happens next. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    Karleen Koen does not disappoint her many fans

    This book has all the qualities of good historical fiction excellent background research, dramatic storytelling, compelling characters. If you like stories from this time period, (Restoration 17th century)you will love this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book was a great read. I bought it in the BWI airport as I was departing for Europe for a 17 day whirlwind trip. I couldnt have picked a better fitting book! I was at Versailles, The Tower of London, etc, all at the same time the book was revealing them, it was fabulous. It was very easy to get into since I was where this lovely yet dark novel was based. I'd definately buy a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2007

    Couldn't Stop Reading

    One of the best books I've ever read. Everything Alice feels you feel, envy, happiness, pride, and saddness. The one time she cries I did too. You must read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2007

    A reviewer

    Dark Angels is a sumptuous novel of life in Charles II's court. And what a life it is - filled with parties, fine gowns and jewels, along with constant jockeying for favor and endless intrigue. Malice, spite, and casual cruelty are everyday occurences. The story plunges right in, starting with the arrival from France of the charming Henriette, beloved sister of King Charles. Among her ladies-in-waiting are several close friends whose life-long ties will be put to the test over the next two years. Broken hearts, poisonings, betrayals, and unleashed passions ensue, with the reader guaranteed a fantastic read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2007

    Lush, Lavish, Luxurious--and Life on the Edge

    Those words perfectly describe the courts--both English and French--in which Karleen Koen sets her latest novel. As glorious as it seems, the courtier's life is always hangs in the balance between duty and desire. One is never quite sure who to trust or when one will fall out of favor. Alice Verney is a woman caught up in the intrigue. She's a flawed heroine, one who makes many mistakes along the path to love, luxury, and power--but that makes her all the more likeable. I found myself totally immersed in the world of the novel. A wonderful read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2006

    You won't want to put it down

    A very special treat for lovers of historical fiction as was her first novel. The worst moment was reading the last few pages knowing there was no more or as one of the dark angels survived perhaps and hopefully a sequel. Brilliantly written with great imagination and the special knowledge how to make you believe you are there by the wonderful descriptions of background, the seasons, the noises, smells and the very life of the characters in the novel. Praise to you and congratulations on a wonderful novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2