Customer Reviews for

Dark Blood (Logan McRae Series #6)

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Adore

I cannot get enough of this series. Love it.

posted by lindianajones on March 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Brilliantly descriptive writing again. Will the new baby be a miniature Roberta Steel????

Some lovely "one liners" yet again. Stuart must spend vast amounts of time on research on his projects, and it pays off in his words. I have read all 6 of his productions and every one is of the highest standard.

posted by hawthornsbob on June 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 27, 2012

    Brilliantly descriptive writing again. Will the new baby be a miniature Roberta Steel????

    Some lovely "one liners" yet again. Stuart must spend vast amounts of time on research on his projects, and it pays off in his words. I have read all 6 of his productions and every one is of the highest standard.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2013

    Adore

    I cannot get enough of this series. Love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read. A wee bit much on the local colloquialisms a

    Another great read. A wee bit much on the local colloquialisms at times which slows the reading down if you're not familiar, but a good story just the same.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    Excellent

    I've read four or five of the Logan McRae series. All good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    highly recommend

    I have read all of these books and they are great!! Keeps you wanting more and you don't know who did it until the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    keep you guessing

    the clues are always there in the Logan McRae mysteries...and the plot leading up to the conclusion keeps me guessing until the last few chapters...i enjoy the vivid depictions of Scottish lifestyles through character interactions and descriptions of the North Scottish environment. these can be read on their own or go back and start with #1 and read them through to the end...and then wait patiently for #8!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2014

    Great read!

    Excellent addition to the Logan McRae series! Highly recommend it and the entire series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2014

    If you are a fan of Stuart MacBride, and the characters he chron

    If you are a fan of Stuart MacBride, and the characters he chronicles in his ongoing series about the Aberdeen police, this book will most likely appeal to you, as well. Most of your favorites are back, although some take a distinct step into the background in this one.

    If you are not yet a fan, or are relatively new to the series – DO NOT start out with this one. MacBride makes no attempt to introduce his characters; he apparently figures that the reader already knows who these people are and what makes them tick from his prior novels. Unfortunately, he therefore gives little weight to those who are NOT familiar with them, or who need a little (or a lot of) reminder as to who they are.

    Even without that background, this book comes in around 500 pages. In my opinion (admittedly a big fan of the author’s), it is a good investment of time for those who have a solid background in the Aberdeen Police Department as MacBride has painted them in the past. As usual, MacBride has several plot threads going on at once, just as an actual police department would have multiple cases running coincidentally. However, also as usual, MacBride finds ways to show a connection – sometimes tight, sometimes tangentially – between these cases.

    Go ahead and buy this book, BUT put it aside if you have not yet read Cold Granite, or Flesh House, or (especially) the prior book, Blind Eye – come back to this one after you’ve completed his earlier 5 books.

    RATING: 4 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2014

    Ok book not great

    The book was ok not as good as the other books sometimes the book just seemed to drag on but overall it was a good read not great but not bad either im glad I read it now I'm on to the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    I highly recommend this book to all mystery lovers.

    I have read 6 of Stuart Macbride's (Logan McRae) books in the series and can't wait to read the next one. I sort of stumbled on the first one when looking for something different and was hooked. He writes so well and makes you feel you're right in the story. His characters are so real and you become so involved in their lives that you want to find out more. He has some surprise endings and I've enjoyed every single book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Great read! Unique series.

    I like this series. A bit of fun, a bit of wackiness, and the other end of the spectrum, serious crime and detective work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    Getting Stupid

    It seems as though as Logan McRae gets along in this series, instead of becoming a better ans smarter cop, he is getting stupid. I was a little disappointed with Number 6 and Number 7 as well in this series. Number 8 is not an ebook yet, let's hope he turns around.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2013

    Still good

    Ditto

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Good Mystery

    This book was a bit harder to follow than some of his other books but still very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    So can anyone tell me when Logan McRae goes from a DS to a DI? 2

    So can anyone tell me when Logan McRae goes from a DS to a DI?
    200+ pages in and the book is finally looking up.
    A far cry from the last one which I could hardly
    stand. I started out loving the character. I hope he continues to be on track.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Wavey hand

    Not as good as the others. I found myself bored and wishing it was over about page 300.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Make myself a note

    I usually cannot get enough of the Brittish/Irish Noir and forget how mediocre SM is. According to him, there are more serial murderers per capita in Edinburg than any other city in the world. He has way too much going on in his novels and refers to the main character by his first name. That is really obnoxious

    0 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2