Customer Reviews for

Dark Challenge (Dark Series #5)

Average Rating 4
( 360 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(205)

4 Star

(82)

3 Star

(36)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent vampire tale

    Gregori the Carpathian healer sends his best vampire hunter Julian to protect the female from the stupidity of the human vampire hunters who think she is a bloodsucker. Besides wanting to keep her safe, Gregori feels the centuries old weary Julian needs something else to do in order to keep him from choosing the eternal rest. The goal of protecting the girl will keep Julian from dwelling on the mistake of allowing a vampire to once use him and threaten his people. <P> However, a miracle occurs as he recognizes the woman¿s song. Desari is not human. She is Carpathian and his soulmate. He realizes she and small band must be survivors from a Turkish massacre centuries ago. Desari¿s brother Darius who has kept the group alive does not trust this so-called Carpathian claiming to be his sister¿s life mate. As he grows darker in outlook, Julian¿s needs for Desari grows even though he worries that he has brought the group to the attention of the ancient vampire that destroyed Julian¿s own life. <P> The fifth Christine¿s Feehan¿s ¿Dark¿ tale, DARK CHALLENGE, continues one of the best vampiric romance series on the market today. The story line retains the freshness and excitement of the previous novels. As with those books, this tale continues to focus on the Carpathian race through the eyes of deep enchanting characters. Readers will empathize with Julian¿s plight, marvel at Darius¿ leadership abilities, and relish Desari¿s song. Ms. Feehan has cast another love spell on her adoring audience who will want book six released rather quickly. <P>Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Challenge

    I loved the new characters brought to the "dark series" It is nice to have something new and refreshing. I like the fact that they use leopards instead of wolves, made it a little different. It is the same story line strong male finds lifemate and the story repeats it self. Although, in this book the fact that the new characters are Carpathian and have their own ways is refreshing. I am going to read book 6 and hope it continues to be different otherwise I may not get through the whole series because it will be to hard to read the same thing over and over! WHERE IS MIKHAIL? He and Raven are my favorite characters and I miss them!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2011

    Best Best Best!

    This is by far the best book in the Dark series! I adore the "Dark" men, they are strong and romantic but still very chauvinistic, Not here! This book follows Julian Savage and Desari, a lost relative to Gregori, as they find the lifemate in each other but thats as far as the similarities go. Instead of the small, inexperienced women we found in the previous stories, Desari and her "sister" Syndil are ancient and strong in their own rights. They provide their own precious gifts and posses the abilities to aid the men trying to protect them. Even the character of Julian Savage is different, he is open and kind, he keeps a secret that tends to bring out the domineering male in him but once able to confront it with his lifemate by his side he becomes a warm and lovable character. He finds a sense of humor and learns to find his place in a family again after the separation from his twin Aidan Savage. Hands down, BEST BOOK YET! READ IT!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Bronze

    NorthFire Rose, you can fight me at fight res 1. Or anyone else can.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Thunder

    ((Sorry everyone. My nook went haywire last night and I wasn't able to get on.))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    NorthFire Rose

    She pads in. (Bleh. Bio at 'strange cat' res 1.) "I will challenge you. Three attacks a post, no godmodding or first-post kills."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Severed

    She hissed impatiently. "I suppose he's too shy to hit a girl." With that, she twisted around, slipping under her cloak and stalking out silently.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Quest

    A small she-cat with bright blue eyes and extremely sharp claws pads in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Thunder

    He sharpens his claws on the rocks, waiting for challengers.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    Highly Recommended!!

    This series just gets better and better!! I love all of the characters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Same ole stuff

    Seems all of these books in this series are pretty much the same. Just change the names. One changes the location. I read a few before I realized it wasn't really an on going series, just a bunch of vampires who have heard of each other. Each book was pretty much the same as the prior book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Really liked this one.

    I really liked Dark Challenge. Dark Fire was my first Carpathian novel, and I wasn't sure I was going to like Julian. I seem to read a few of these books and then take a break. I ended up really liking Julian's character, and gained great insight to Darius. Desari is my favorite female as she knows she is powerful and is able to defend herself with beautiful gifts instead of violent battle. I like that she recognized love and didn't fight it, but found a way to make it work. Instead of Julian dragging her into his world, he compromised to be a part of hers while bringing her knowledge of the heritage. I smiled a little at Gregori's stoic response to Julian's message. Great book in the Carpathian series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Love this book

    Christine Feehan is an amazing writer. Love her characters. This book is a very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    Another great story. Julian not only discovers his life mate De

    Another great story. Julian not only discovers his life mate Desari but she is a Carpathain ancient and
    gregori's long lost little sister. I loved Darias in this book. The fact that he saved and kept alive all those children when he was merely a child himself was amazing. 5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    average

    Average read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2013

    i love all the dark series.MY only problem was that desari seeme

    i love all the dark series.MY only problem was that desari seemed like a weak female that she was ruled by julian and not by her own mind it seemed like if  he said jump she says how high and that didnt sit well with me because it was really annoying i cant wait to read about her brother 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Great book!!

    Love this series!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2013

    Loved this book

    Can hardly wait to start reading the next book in the Dark Series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Another WONDERFUL addition to an amazing series!

    I LOVE this book as well as the rest of this series. ALL of them are a MUST READ!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    Redundant

    I really got hooked on this series at first but now its just getting redundant. Same old love scenes, in fact i breeze through them just to get to some action. Its just not worth paying so much to read the same storyline over and over.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 364 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19