Customer Reviews for

The Dark City (Relic Master Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fantastic Fantasy

    Galen Harn is a Relic Master. He travels from place to place removing powerful relics left behind. His student Raffael Morel has been with him for four years. He is Galen's eyes into the world around them. An accident has taken away Galen's powers and he must rely on the lessons he has taught his student. They press deeper into dangerous territory trying to find the one thing that will set the world right again. The Watch is determined to destroy the order and will therefore destroy the world with it. Along the way Galen and Raffi are joined by a spy named Carys. She was taken from her home as a very young child and taught that the Order no longer exists and those few relic masters who claim it does are frauds and must be destroyed. She has set out on this mission hoping to capture, dead or alive, Galen, thus proving herself to the Watch. What she got in return was her faith shaken in what she was taught to believe. The only question left is what she will do with the knowledge she now possesses. I was held from beginning to end. I am left wanting to know more about the Sekoi and what they are. Hopefully we will find out more in the next book. I can't wait for these four books to come out, one each month starting in May so that I can put them on my shelves at school. I can see now that these will be snatched up quickly. Anyone who loves fantasy will absolutely love these books. I am excited to have had the opportunity to read this one in advance so that I can tell the whole world about it.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Hi

    Hi

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Deadly Relics with a Dystopian

    Catherine Fisher brings us into a future world that carries items of lost power that only a few can use. This take us into the story of the Relic Masters, a dying breed of people that carries the memory and the power to use these unearthed items from the past that can cause a great toll upon humanity with their use. While certain groups want to horde the Relics and cause strife upon others, there are those few who want to save them and remember.

    The world of the Relic Masters is so full of description and the characters are created with a certain amazing feel that Catherine Fisher creates for us as the read. I love the layers to her characters and how we may perceive them one way as they are introduced in the story, but we quickly see them change and flow so intricately into the framework of the story that we love the changes we soon find out about them.

    Each of our three main characters in the Dark City: Galen, Carys and Raffi, are soon going to find out how close their futures are entwined together.

    At the start we meet up with the ailing Galen, a Relic Master who has lost his power, and Raffi the budding apprentice. While we are not sure the extent of the powers that these keepers of the relics hold, we soon learn about a great potential. As Galen and Raffi set about to investigate a set up relic hold, they are tossed into a race for survival and a new companion. Carys moves into the story and she is an amazing character. There is not too much that I want to give away, but I have to sat that I loved Carys character and what she begins to find in herself and her thinking while being on this adventure with Raffi and Galen.

    Fisher begins weaving a tale of epic proportions in The Dark City, Relic Master 1, that make us want more. We are lucky though that there will be a release from this series every month so we do not have too long of a wait until we are able to join back in this amazing adventure.

    Lovers of Incarceron will be enthralled by The Dark City. I carries some of the great qualities that were loved in her prior series, and an amazing set of characters. The Dark City will capture readers into its pages, eating up the story, and caught in the feeling of adventure within.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2013

    To jake the author

    It is a great book just fineshed the series and suggest that you should read it also

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Fantastical New World

    Relic Master: The Dark City is one of those incredible, high fantasy creations that completely immerse the reader in a new, sprawling world. Magic litters the pages and creatures - good and bad - dote the various landscapes. Catherine Fisher's world of Anara is fully-realized and expertly crafted. If her descriptions don't bring the world to life enough for you, though I don't know how they wouldn't, the fold out map will sure help.

    The two main characters, Relic Master Galen and student Raffi, are both strong in their own respects with individual voices and personalities. The introduction of two other important characters is handled well and with care. Both Carys and later the Sekoi play much larger roles than what one would think when they first appear. This group's journey is enthralling; from Galen and Raffi's first encounter with Carys, to their venture into a burning city. The magic will keep any reader glued to the page, but with high fantasy, comes a new world that, while interesting, can become confusing.

    Anara is a huge world with a detailed past. This past can be difficult to keep up with and I found myself confused between the history of the Makers, the Watch, and each group's important figures. The quotes at the beginning of each chapter help to keep the history in line, but throughout the story, Galen, Raffi, Carys, and the Sekoi each tell us about the history as they know it and it all becomes a bit muddled until the end.

    Still, The Dark City is fantastical and full of wonderment. The magic surrounding the relics and keepers like Galen and Raffi will hold readers throughout the series. Unlike most book series, all four books in the Relic Master series will be released this year. Come June, I'll be continuing on with the series to see just what happens to these characters I've so quickly grown fond of.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Should i read this

    Im reading incarceron and its amazing but should i read this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Should I read This?

    I guess I'll consider...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    Elders den

    ~Tearstar~

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Should I try it?

    I absolutely hated Incarceron, but all the reviews for this are high. The plot of this is well planned...I'm just not sure about this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cinnamon for TeensReadToo

    Relic Master Galen Harn and his apprentice, Raffi, know that all is not well the moment they set foot in the settlement that had boldly requested their help a few days before. Drawn by curiosity and the possibility of discovering a relic, the pair nevertheless decides to venture into the castle-like fortress that is the settlement's stronghold and soon come to regret the decision. After an unpleasant meeting with the leader, Alberic, Galen and Raffi are off once again - this time in search of a thieving Sekoi who had ravaged the settlement, and the Crow, who, if found, would prove to be very helpful to Galen indeed. Carys, an orphaned girl in search of her father, soon joins the group on their journey to the dark city of Tasceron, where both the Sekoi and the Crow are rumored to be found. However, the Watch is always present at every turn; their deception knows no bounds. Having read and tremendously enjoyed Ms. Fisher's INCARCERON duology, I was, to say the last, excited to get my hands on the RELIC MASTER series. While INCARCERON seems to be geared more towards young adults, THE DARK CITY reads more like a middle grade novel to me, albeit an intense and still relatively interesting one. The world-building present in THE DARK CITY is subtle and yet comprehensive. The use of magic by Galen and Raffi, while not extensively clarified, was explained enough to be understandable and not overwhelming. The cast of characters were quite darling, also, with their own little quirks and secrets. Even though the plot tended to drag noticeably in the beginning and middle parts of the novel, I think the ending was a success overall. Book one of the RELIC MASTER series will appeal to middle grade fantasy lovers and readers who are willing to plunge into the fantastical world of the magic-wielding Order and the seemingly omniscient Watch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    Great

    I really like Raffi great character ,hope Galen gets his cure (i havent finished the book yet).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    Excellent Book!!!

    My first book from Catherine Fisher. I'd have to say this was a great book!! A lot of surprises that kept me awake late in the hour. Can't wait for the second book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    get it now best book ev

    so ya

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2