Customer Reviews for

Dark Corner

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2006

    Way to GO Massey

    I am writing this review and I have not finished the book yet. Enough said. That is how good this book is. Fantastic twist on the vampyre myth and legend. Love IT. I am a big fan of the new african american authors starting to tap into the supernatural and science fiction genre. If you are looking for a good scary read. Please pick this up. Another tid bit: If you are able get this as a book on tape or CD, thats what I am doing and trust me it is like listening to an intense ghost story. Sequel to this MR. Massey??, please bring a 'good' screenplay of this book to theatres. Please dont sell this story to a film company unless they will do it justice, this is a 3 hr movie at least.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2006

    Great Suspence and Horror

    This is the second book I read by Massey. Again,I'm thoroughly satisfied. Character development was great. The story was an interesting twist from the traditional vampire myths. If you have predictions on who will live in this story, just toss those predictions out the window. Elements of surprise throughout the story. And Gore! Wow - I really enjoyed reading about the 'awakened' vampire and his feeding habits. I'm hooked on Massey's style of writing. Looking forward to his new releases this fall.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2006

    IT'S ABOUT TIME!!!!

    Stephen King has been doing it for years, and now we have our own champion of horror. I absolutely loved this book, it scared me so much that at times I was afraid to leave the house at night. From beginning to end I was intrigued, and I can't wait until the sequel!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Corner is a great read especially with Holloween coming up!!

    I have read several books by Brandon Massey, but this by far is my favorite!! It really had me on the edge of my seat, wondering what was going to happen next. It is sppoky and intriguing at the same time, throw in a little history, it is a great book to read on a rainy day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2005

    LOVE, LOVE, BRAVO!

    WELL ENJOYED THIS BOOK TO SAY THE LEAST. THE FACT HIS RELATIONSHIP W/ HIS DAD WAS HOW ALOT OF KIDS FEEL WHEN A PARENT IS MIA!!! THEY THINK ALOT ABOUT WHAT IF'S. THANKS FOR TELLING THE STORY ON A MAN'S ASPECT WHEN DADDY LEAVES, THE EMOTIONS ON OUR LITTLE BOYS THAT WILL BECOME A MAN ONE DAY. I GUESS WHEN U R INTO YOUR SELF WHO CARES HOW IT EFFECT THE CHILDREN. I GREW UP W/ MY DAD IN THE HOME BUT FOR MANY WOMEN THEY DID NOT. THANKS FOR TALKING ABOUT OLE FAITHFUL THE DOG. VERY GOOD BOOK MANY PARTS TO IT COULD NOT UNDERSTAND HOW THE WRITER KNEW WHERE I GREW UP LOL. NOW THAT'S SCARY...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2005

    Five Stars Aint Enough!

    Mr. Massey is an excellent storyteller! In Dark Corner, he draws you in from the very beginning and keeps you longing for more until the very end. He did a splendid job developing the characters and building the story up to a captivating climax. I look forward to the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2005

    Can't Wait for the SEQUEL!!!!

    I am not a big vampire story reader, and was given this book by a friend. I COULD NOT put it down! I also had never read anything of his, but I will be ordering his Thunderland on line today! Get a copy, you won't be disappointed. Many times I was so upset by the unexpected events from page to page that I would yell out from my room or come down the hall groaning loudly and cursing the bad guys in the book--my two teenage daughters thought I was losing it . . . also it seems that there will be a part two, so if you read this Brandon, COME ON WITH IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2005

    Bravo!!!

    I picked this book up as an after thought and I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I was terrified but could not stop reading. The book was captivating.It would be a great movie if properly done. I can't wait to see what comes next from Mr. Massey. He has made a new fan out of me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2004

    So Believable

    When I purchased Dark Corner, I though that I would be reading an OK 'who done it' mystery. Little did I know that I would be reading a mystery that would not allow me to put this book down, it was such a page turner! The story is very believable and the characters are very life like. I really had problems sleeping at nights! Dark Corner makes you wonder if these events could happen. Hats off to Brandon Massey, move over Stephen King - there's a new kid on the block!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2004

    Excellent

    First time reader of Mr. Massey and it will not be the last time i read his books. Simply exquisite. Excellent read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2004

    Brandon Massey has Done it Again!

    Who? Did you say Stephen King? Dean Koontz? The best horror/suspense writers of today? Then you haven¿t taken the time to read Brandon Massey for his latest novel, Dark Corner draws you into its liar on page one and turns you loose many sleepless nights later. Simply mind numbing and captivating would best describe this horror flick that I fully expect to find its way to the silver screen. A masterful tale full of edge of the seat terror that keeps the reader suspended until the end. Not to take anything away from Stephen King, Dean Koontz and others, but its great to see talent of this magnitude materialize in writers of Mr. Massey¿s generation. Meet David Hunter, son of a famous writer, Richard Hunter who hails from Mason¿s Corner, Mississippi. After his fathers¿ untimely death and the lack of a father-son relationship growing up, David decides to find out what he can about this mystery of a man by leaving his home in Atlanta and journeying to his fathers home to live for a year or two. Horror brews in this quiet and quaint town where up until now, Richard Hunter was the most notable citizen. The pot is stirred when Kyle flies in from Paris to take up residence in the haunted mansion of the town¿s founder, Edward Mason. Kyle too is looking for his father, Diallo and when David and Kyle¿s paths cross, good versus evil takes on new meaning. Kyle is the son of vampires and even among their ranks there is a sense of justice. Being a small town, full of curious folk who are eager to meet and discuss their two newest residents, strange and sinister things begin to unfold and these things are noticed by quite a number of people. A number of deeply winding plot twists take David and his friend Nia, the police chief Van Jackson and his son, the towns self proclaimed historian, Franklin and his wife Ruby on a journey that no one will forget in pursuit of destiny outlined by David¿s Great Grandfather over a century ago. Masterfully written, Dark Corner enthralled me. Mr. Massey¿s use of the English language impressed me along with his innate ability to tell a story made this giant of a book a breeze to read. The characters, were diverse and well developed and easily kept track of. Best of all, this horror novel scared me so it did its job.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2004

    Dark Corner. . .Bright Future

    Many writers have broached the subject of dysfunctional families. Even more, I¿m sure, have taken a stab at Vampires. Few do both¿in the same novel, that is. Brandon Massey appears to be immune to the sophomore jinx; DARK CORNER surpasses his debut novel THUNDERLAND in scope, style and ambition but maintains his signature plotting and eye for the horrific that will keep this writer putting nightmares to page for years to come. Horror fans and Vampire lovers would be remiss to pass on a trip to DARK CORNER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2004

    Dark Corner delivers!

    Add me to the list of those who have been fans of Brandon Massey since Thunderland. As a vampire junkie, I'm always looking for a fresh view of the genre and boy did Brandon deliver with this tale! Dark Corner is truly frightening and never once turns into your standard bite-em-up. Grab a copy while you can. You won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2003

    strong vampire tale

    After the father he has never really known dies, David Hunter inherits a fortune. He leaves his Atlanta home and travels to Mason¿s Corner, Mississippi to move into his father¿s home, hoping to find out more about the man who was responsible for his birth in the town the man obviously loved. At first, David likes the small town and the people who live there but evil is coming; David will be called on to destroy it, just as his ancestor had done. <P>After almost two centuries of believing his father is dead, vampire Kyle Coiraut is on his way to Mason¿s Corner to revive his sire from the Deep Sleep. From the moment Kyle awakens Diallo from the Deep Sleep, the master vampire warrior from a pre blood bank age is determined to create a vampire army to take over the human world in revenge for the mortals that killed the only woman he ever loved. Diallo is determined to destroy David for it was his ancestor who almost killed the powerful vampire but he has an unexpected ally, a vampire who is as old as time, Kyle¿s mother. With skill and much luck, they might hopefully be victorious. <P>Brandon Massey is destined to be one of tomorrow¿s superstars in the horror genre. His storytelling and characterizations are on a par with Stephen King, Dean Koontz and Peter Straub because he makes the audience believe what is happening is real. Hopefully DARK CORNER will have a sequel because the hero is too vibrant to be confined to only one novel as good as this one is. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1