Customer Reviews for

Dark Corners

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I devoured horror stories growing up, with my favorite authors being Alfred Hitchcock and Edgar Allan Poe. There is just something about the old classic scary stories - hair raising, creepy without the gore. I have been craving those types of stories, but had figured th...
I devoured horror stories growing up, with my favorite authors being Alfred Hitchcock and Edgar Allan Poe. There is just something about the old classic scary stories - hair raising, creepy without the gore. I have been craving those types of stories, but had figured they were gone with the times. Then along came Liz Shulte with her novel "Dark Corners" and finally - finally, a hair raising, creepy story that actually kept me guessing throughout the whole novel!

This story takes place in an old, old home that had been handed down through Ella's husband's family for generations. Her husband was the last of the bloodline to inherit the home. From the time they moved in, weird things started happening inside the house, but it seemed Ella was the one who could see or hear them. Then, when she came home from a business trip, Ella found her husband murdered and was sure it had something to do with the house. The police and neighbors have another theory - that Ella killed her husband.

So sets the stage of this paranormal thriller. Ella was a realistic character with enough pain and confusion about her husband's death that she self-medicates with alcohol and prescriptions that her psychiatrist gives her. One wonders if it is her imagination that is creating these events, but at other times, they are so real - so believable, that you can't help but think that they are true. I flip-flopped throughout the whole novel trying to figure out who, what, where, and why this was all going on. With all the twists, I hadn't a clue what was going on until pretty much the very end of the story and then by a lucky guess, figured it out! Move over Agatha Christie, Liz Shulte will give you a real run for your money with this story!

Liz is an exceptionally captivating writer and I must say, after reading this, I CAN'T WAIT for her next novel to come out. This is definitely one author to keep an eye on! This book comes HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

posted by tweezle on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

I love horror novels, esp. ones about hauntings and was really l

I love horror novels, esp. ones about hauntings and was really looking forward to this from the description and the reviews. I found it heavy handed, over the top and what did it in for me was the totally off-putting main character, Ella. I found her completely unsym...
I love horror novels, esp. ones about hauntings and was really looking forward to this from the description and the reviews. I found it heavy handed, over the top and what did it in for me was the totally off-putting main character, Ella. I found her completely unsympathetic and just unlikable. I could only make it through about 100 nook-pages, and then skipped to the last 10 pages. Was glad I hadn't wasted more time. I double checked on my order confirmation and was greatly relieved that the book had been free.

posted by Amy_H on January 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Edgy, creepy paranormal thriller.

    Dark Corners is a mix of suspense, thrill, and ghostly expectations all wrapped up into a little bundle. It left me feeling utterly spooked, wondering what was going to happen next, and even had me checking the dark corners in my own home. The main character, Ella, seems to be reserved when it comes to acquaintances and friendships, and moving into a small town has left her feeling exceptionally lonely. But now more than ever, after her husband was brutally murdered in their lovely home. A home that never felt quite right to Ella from the first day when she set foot in the beautiful old Victorian mansion. A home that has been in her husband's family for generations, in a quaint small town, where everyone knows everyone else's business. Ella is now left with an empty home and a longing of wanting to find out who truly murdered her husband. But her home is not totally empty, as Ella is convinced the ghost who haunts her home, has taken the life of the man she married. That changes when Detective Gabriel tries to convince her otherwise. Detective Gabriel who had been assigned to the case of her husbands murder, seems to somehow wiggle his way back into Ella's life a year later and she finds comfort and friendship in his mannerisms. But Ella has convinced herself that Gabriel is only helping her solve her husbands murder, while also watching out for her, as her home continues to mysteriously have a life of its own. As Ella races from room to room, doors open and close, unlock and re-lock and the food disappears from her refrigerator. The story leaves you at first fully convinced the ghost that lurks in her home has taken the life of her husband. But ghosts don't necessary kill people, not in the way her husband was murdered, at least this is what Gabriel has told her. This keeps you on the edge of your seat as other characters present themselves throughout the book. You find yourself wondering if it was someone human instead. But what about all the ghostly happenings in Ella's home? How does one just brush that aside? Could it be her creepy neighbor that did it? How about Gabriel himself that seems to find Ella interesting and attractive? This book is one I did not want to stop reading as it always felt like I would miss something that was going to happen soon. Dark Corners really kept my feelings of anticipation running and the ending itself was quite a surprise. The writing style of Schutle runs smooth and is easy to read, even in the middle of the night. I loved reading this book as it contains the perfect balance of paranormal without any gore, scary enough to make me paranoid of the noises in my own home, yet not give me bad dreams. A combination of paranormal and suspenseful, who-dun-it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't put it down!

    Scary stories aren't really my thing. I'm not a fan of blood and guts, and when I was asked to read and review Dark Corners, I was a little bit skeptical. The only reason I even decided to read it was because of the paranormal aspect, and boy I'm glad I did.

    Ella's house, and life, seems haunted. After moving with her husband from the large city of Chicago to the small neighborhood of Wilmington, Ella starts to think she is losing her mind when she suddenly begins to hear and see things that even her own husband can't explain (or see.) But when she returns from a Book Tour to find a grisly scene in her kitchen, things take a turn for the worst. One year later, Ella is an over-medicated alcoholic who has been socially outcast since the police announced she was no longer a suspect in her husband's death.

    The journey that Ella takes while trying to find who (or what) killed her husband is fascinating and very, very suspenseful. I spent most of this book trying to figure out the ending. As a person who believes in ghosts and who has had her own encounter with one, I found all of the mysterious (and terrifying) things going on in Ella's house fascinating.

    One major part of the book was Ella's constant flashbacks, which gave you insight into her relationship with Danny and her personality before his death. I thought that those were an amazing way to add to Ella's character development.

    All-in-all, this is a truly great book. I didn't want to put it down the minute I picked it up, and Liz Schulte definitely knows how to draw a reader in. I wouldn't recommend reading it in the dark though!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Suspense

    I was drawn into this story almost immediately. It was a great suspense filled story, filled with twists and turns.

    You really dont know what to believe until the end of the story. Is Ella crazy, is someone making her that way, or can it really be that the house is haunted.

    The story flows so well you are never lost, even in the memories or flashback scenes. You really feel for Ella and hope that she does either get away or figure out what happened to her husband.

    The supporting characters were good, you get to know the most about the detective that investigated the murder, and while his past and situation do raise some questions. He is still a great character. Although I would love another story where we do learn a bit more about what made him leave the city.

    If you are looking for a good thriller/suspense novel with a hint of a haunting. This is one not to miss. I look forward to reading more from this author soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    Super Creepfest!

    Excellent. Compelling, suspenseful, and hard to set down. Don't want to go into details, but it's a great murder/thriller, and a fabulous read. Ms. Schulte is a talented writer. Her characters are well drawn and engaging, the plot and pace compel the reader forward, and her imagination is ... all that.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A fantastic read that kept me guessing

    Dark Corners is an excellent psychological thriller.It kept me guessing until the very end and it did not lack surprises or suspense at all. I especially liked the flashbacks Ella had to when Danny was alive because it helped me get a better sense of Danny as a character.Dark Corners is the perfect type of book to read on a dark and stormy night.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2011

    A FANTASTIC read!!

    Ella's husband was murdered and now she's living alone in the house she's been hating since she first stepped inside. Ever since that day, she feels like she's being watched. Doors get unlocked by themselves, strange noises can be heard, a creepy neighbor shows up on her doorsteps...Everyone seems to think she's lost her mind and killed her husband. Ella must figure out what is going on inside that house before she becomes a victim like her husband.

    You can't help but feel pain for Ella. She's been suffering ever since her husband's death. She doesn't socialize with others and finds refuge in alcohol.

    Schulte does a great job at keeping the readers guessing. At times I was sure Ella was just plain crazy and sometimes I believed her. I had no clue who or what was causing all that trouble. The ending left me truly surprised.

    Dark Corners reminded me of Paranormal Activity. This is one of the few books I've read that I truly found scary. I can guarantee you'll be on the edge of your seat. I'd recommend not reading this book in the middle of the night like I did. You might find yourself jumping at every little noise in your house!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 19, 2011

    I have to start this review by saying: I ABSOLUTELY LOVED THIS BOOK!!!

    My thoughts:

    Dark Corners is brilliantly written. Liz Schulte is obviously a very talented writer.
    I was captured by the prologue and didn't put the book down until I was finished.
    The writing is visually descriptive. It's vivid, detailed, and concise. This story reads so smoothly that it was as if I was hearing it played out instead of reading words. You literally "feel" the emotional turmoil that is Ella's life.
    When I got to the bar scene I laughed out loud. After 20+ years working as a bartender, I was thrilled to see such a genuine bar scene and she captured it so perfectly!
    The world that she has built for her story is realistic and her characters are so lifelike that they are easy to invest in. Ella's experiences with the people in her town, the police, her so called friends, and her horrid doctor became personal; it was like I knew her!
    The story is filled with mystery and intrigue. I was on the edge of my seat many times, wondering what was coming next! You will have to read it to find out more!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Great Suspenseful Read

    The story will draw you in from the get-go. I can honestly say I enjoyed the suspense of this 'Who done it' story. You won't be able to put it down, as you get tangled in the characters web of lies and deceit. There are several lengthy flashbacks, but they work well with this story as they are an interracial part of the plot. I look forward to reading more books from Ms. Schulte as they become available.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3