Customer Reviews for

Dark Curse (Dark Series #19)

Average Rating 4.5
( 272 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(179)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

The latest Dark novel is a superb entry that can stand by itself

Carpathian Nicolas De La Cruz has come home to report bad news to his prince. However, he also plans to commit suicide ending his centuries of loneliness.-------------- Lara Calladine has finally escaped the ice prison of her abusive father and even eviler grandfath...
Carpathian Nicolas De La Cruz has come home to report bad news to his prince. However, he also plans to commit suicide ending his centuries of loneliness.-------------- Lara Calladine has finally escaped the ice prison of her abusive father and even eviler grandfather. A half-breed she spent her childhood tortured by the pair in odious experiments to understand the dilution of her dragonkeeper bloodline with human DNA. She knows they are coming for her although that might be the nightmares that frighten her. When she and Nicholas meet, Lara knows she has found her soulmate so has Nicholas, but trust of another person is something she has learned first hand to never do. Still the time to confront her nightmares is now as she has a persistent champion demanding to be at her side.----------------- The latest Dark novel is a superb entry that can stand by itself as a powerful romantic fantasy yet also augments the super saga plot. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action both trademarks of Christine Feehan. Lara makes the tale excellent as a unique individual who has suffered torment and torture her entire life. Nicholas realizes rather quickly that he has her love, but gaining her trust seems impossible even as he risks his life to help her. Ms. Feehan provides a terrific thriller to the delight of the Carpathian crowd.--------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

No closure

I was very disappointed in this book. I did not like the portions regarding the "child". I do not care to read graphics regarding children. Also,the story started off just fine, but the ending left me hanging. I daresay I will wait a LONG time before considering her w...
I was very disappointed in this book. I did not like the portions regarding the "child". I do not care to read graphics regarding children. Also,the story started off just fine, but the ending left me hanging. I daresay I will wait a LONG time before considering her work again and I had read all of the books up until now.

I am sure that authors change their styles to what they feel their readers want, but I am not happy about this change.

posted by 1651231 on July 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2009

    No closure

    I was very disappointed in this book. I did not like the portions regarding the "child". I do not care to read graphics regarding children. Also,the story started off just fine, but the ending left me hanging. I daresay I will wait a LONG time before considering her work again and I had read all of the books up until now.

    I am sure that authors change their styles to what they feel their readers want, but I am not happy about this change.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2011

    Cookie cutter plots

    I read all of these books and let my money spent be your warning....the books are, for the most part, just a spin off of ONE storyline. The same story over and over with different names and circumstances. I do not recommend them and would not read them again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    dark curse by christeen fehan

    its ok i have read nearly every book in the dark series and have been mostly let down i still have not figured out what her point is the 5 w s ( THE WHO WHAT WHERE WHEN AND WHY) for nearly immortal vampire race lets face facts thats what they are they are on the hunt for mates and when they find them they become pigs instead of a man who thinks just because its female its weak and helpless so the try to force their ideas on the women and it always turns out badly for her. 20 some odd books later you find out a little about the reason why they are losing children /the evil mage whohad taken a woman and forced her to have three babys her lifemate was destroyed and yet she lived on WHY AND HOW has never been answered that its been said in some of the books that only lifemates can have kids but shea was part human razvan fathered it appears quite a few kids how has he been so successful and yet there hasnt been any say that any of those kids have died from what has been killing the carpathian kids even xavier the evil mage has been using carpathian blood to stay alive just as those children are half carpathian . then you got wannabe evil human hunters who are after carpathians they keep popping up to be a huge pain in the ass and yet they are not shut down and now you got them doing esp search for a data base on potential lifemates .then there is lara a main character in this book who has to eat food and yet its not really explained why she needs this and now the new twist is fehan is trying to do a sex scenes be more descriptive and its just not something she has done in the other books her early books were so wonderful but now with all her different series it lacks what it used to have solid attention to detail .i like fehans she is talented but needs lots of improvement she is not the queen of paranormal romance sherrilyn kenyon is followed by jr ward

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2008

    Where's the ending?

    I used to love Christine Feehan, but she has been going downhill with her books. Turbulent Sea was not anywhere near what the other Drake Sister books were and now Dark Curse doesn't have an ending. I was all excited to turn the page and read more and instead all I got was page after page of Carpathian junk. A few words of their language is fine, but if you feel the need to put in a dictionary at the end to translate, then there is too much. I wish I would have waited and bought this book used because it was a waste of money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2008

    Trouble

    I have read all of Christine Feehan's works and have been very satisfied and excited about her work. This book is a hard read and even harder to listen to. The gentleman reading the male character roles sounds as if he is playing in the old dracula movies'I vant to suck yoor blood.' I purchased 'Dark Prince', 'Dark Magic' and 'Dark Desire' and they were all great to listen to. I hope in any future books the artists reading the books sound more believable and not so dramatic. The character Mikhail sounds like a creepy old man, not like a sexy Carpathian .

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Self less or selfish?

    This book was terrible. I had been looking forward to it, but it was a waste of time. I've read the entire Dark series but this one doesn't measure up. The rest of the Carpathians are selfish not wanting Nicolas to turn Lara so she can save their children. Preventing her and Nicholas from going to ground and only giving her a half live. Unable to go in the sun or the ground. Unable to eat real food, but not able to live 100% off of blood. I know there's always turbulence in the novels, but this one had no type of resolution in the end for the major characters.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1