Customer Reviews for

Dark Curse (Dark Series #19)

Average Rating 4.5
( 275 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(181)

4 Star

(54)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The latest Dark novel is a superb entry that can stand by itself

Carpathian Nicolas De La Cruz has come home to report bad news to his prince. However, he also plans to commit suicide ending his centuries of loneliness.-------------- Lara Calladine has finally escaped the ice prison of her abusive father and even eviler grandfath...
Carpathian Nicolas De La Cruz has come home to report bad news to his prince. However, he also plans to commit suicide ending his centuries of loneliness.-------------- Lara Calladine has finally escaped the ice prison of her abusive father and even eviler grandfather. A half-breed she spent her childhood tortured by the pair in odious experiments to understand the dilution of her dragonkeeper bloodline with human DNA. She knows they are coming for her although that might be the nightmares that frighten her. When she and Nicholas meet, Lara knows she has found her soulmate so has Nicholas, but trust of another person is something she has learned first hand to never do. Still the time to confront her nightmares is now as she has a persistent champion demanding to be at her side.----------------- The latest Dark novel is a superb entry that can stand by itself as a powerful romantic fantasy yet also augments the super saga plot. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action both trademarks of Christine Feehan. Lara makes the tale excellent as a unique individual who has suffered torment and torture her entire life. Nicholas realizes rather quickly that he has her love, but gaining her trust seems impossible even as he risks his life to help her. Ms. Feehan provides a terrific thriller to the delight of the Carpathian crowd.--------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by Anonymous on August 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

No closure

I was very disappointed in this book. I did not like the portions regarding the "child". I do not care to read graphics regarding children. Also,the story started off just fine, but the ending left me hanging. I daresay I will wait a LONG time before considering her w...
I was very disappointed in this book. I did not like the portions regarding the "child". I do not care to read graphics regarding children. Also,the story started off just fine, but the ending left me hanging. I daresay I will wait a LONG time before considering her work again and I had read all of the books up until now.

I am sure that authors change their styles to what they feel their readers want, but I am not happy about this change.

posted by 1651231 on July 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2008

    The latest Dark novel is a superb entry that can stand by itself

    Carpathian Nicolas De La Cruz has come home to report bad news to his prince. However, he also plans to commit suicide ending his centuries of loneliness.-------------- Lara Calladine has finally escaped the ice prison of her abusive father and even eviler grandfather. A half-breed she spent her childhood tortured by the pair in odious experiments to understand the dilution of her dragonkeeper bloodline with human DNA. She knows they are coming for her although that might be the nightmares that frighten her. When she and Nicholas meet, Lara knows she has found her soulmate so has Nicholas, but trust of another person is something she has learned first hand to never do. Still the time to confront her nightmares is now as she has a persistent champion demanding to be at her side.----------------- The latest Dark novel is a superb entry that can stand by itself as a powerful romantic fantasy yet also augments the super saga plot. The story line is fast-paced and filled with action both trademarks of Christine Feehan. Lara makes the tale excellent as a unique individual who has suffered torment and torture her entire life. Nicholas realizes rather quickly that he has her love, but gaining her trust seems impossible even as he risks his life to help her. Ms. Feehan provides a terrific thriller to the delight of the Carpathian crowd.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A truly excellent hero. Even when Nicholas is doing things the r

    A truly excellent hero. Even when Nicholas is doing things the reader doesn't approve of, Feehan still manages to create sympathy and empathy for her tortured hero. By the end of the book, Nicholas is a terrific life-mate and one you won't soon forget. Feehan once again used the new Carpathian language which she introduced in Dark Demon. Her hero uses it constantly and the reader is forced to skim it, looking for the next English word to understand what he really said. It jars the reader from the story and makes it very frustrating to get a flow going - especially when you realize that it isn't really a true foreign language, but rather an imaginary one.  Nicolas De La Cruz was a very refreshing South American hero. I really really liked him, and thought, darn! Lara is one lucky lady. :) In the previous books that featured De La Cruz brothers, I thought they were obnoxious with their overly-chauvinistic attitudes (even for Carpathian males, they were way too chauvinistic - except for Riordan). Nicolas isn't really like that. He kind of starts off that way for about two minutes, but he catches on pretty quickly that his attitude just won't work with a partner in his life. He quickly evolves into a really nice, supportive (and hot!) lifemate for Lara, and you can see the evolution occuring in his mind. He's very aware of himself, his attitude, what Lara needs, and how he needs to adapt himself to meet her needs, etc... I thought that was very refreshing.  I think if you're a Carpathian fan, you'll enjoy this book a lot. I felt that it was a turn in a better direction for Feehan, and I'm looking forward to the next book. This book reminded me a lot of the Christmas book, and I really like that one. I like seeing a lot of characters interacting with each other, and finding out what previous couples are up to. In this book, you find out that several couples have moved back to the mountains to be closer to their people, and I really liked that.    

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing New Twist in the Series!

    I loved this book! It was great and I couldn't put it down. The new twists that Christine keeps putting into her books is amazing and keeps be off my seat.
    Nicolas De La Cruz is another ruthless one of the De La Cruz brothers. He returns to his homeland to see the new Prince before he walks into the sun and end his life. But as he returns, he comes across a petite woman, Lara.
    Lara is much like Natalya. She has mage blood in her veins, Dragonseeker and Carpathian, but not strong enough to have an affect on her. Lara came to the Carpathian Mountains to find out more about her past. When she was a child, she had lived in an ice cave, a blood supply for her father and great-grandfather, Xavier. Now, with unclear clues to her past, she and Nicolas will come together, with Natalya and Vikirnoff, to find out more about Lara's past and the aunts that had saved her life from Xavier.
    But not all is as it seems. Carpathian women are having trouble bearing children as Xavier has planted new enemies into the soil and another attack against their race.

    I loved this book! A thriller and new questions arise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2009

    love the dark series

    christine feehan has an excellent creative mind. the dark series are my favorites. i truely hope they never end. the graphics, the plots, the intense romance scenes, the shocking discovery as you go on is so good that i never want to put the books down. and right now i am waiting for the two new series to come out. i have just about all the books except the two new series and i will wait for them. mrs. christine feehan you rock at these novels. thank you for introducing these novels into not just my life but everyones life who enjoys reading them.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2009

    The BEST

    i didnt think this series could get any better but i was proven wrong. once again christine feehan thrills with her depth of character, feeling, and thrills. cant wait for the next installment!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2009

    Can't wait for the next book!

    I began reading Feehan's "Dark Series" on January 11, 2009 and I just finished this book a few minutes ago. Boy, I have to say it has been quite the adventure getting to know the Carpathians, their lifemates, and their stories. I feel like I've blew through each book yearning to read the next one and then next, they were hard to put down. It was so nice having all of the books and now that I'm done with this one I'm having withdrawals because there's not another book out. Now we have to wait until September when "Dark Slayer" comes out and I'm so looking forward to reading it. I loved all of the books in the series but I'll have to admit that I truly enjoyed the books from "Dark Hunger" and on much more. I think it was probably due to how Feehan wove stories bringing different species into the mix and it made it much more interesting. Several times in the latter books it felt very "Lord of the Rings-ish" which I loved because I love those stories. I also love how she is interweaving our current environmental concerns into the stories and I feel like I've actually learned a lot from reading her books. I hope that she continues this series for a long time but their just great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    Dauntless Compound! (Hex too)

    She sits down and throws knives at a target, yawning and hiting the head each time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Nicolas was at the end his last night he finds Lara. She is Razv

    Nicolas was at the end his last night he finds Lara. She is Razvan's daughter. I think the Dark Curse was great. Nicolas had to re-evaluate his entire way of thinking on how to handle his life mate. Xavier is exposed. A daring rescue is underway. Crucial information for the salvation of the Carpathain children is discovered. I love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    I am a huge fan of Christine Feehan's Dark Series. I have read several times and I learn something new everytime. Her Characters are outstanding and she writes so that I can even picture the Carpathian Mountains. I love the way she incorporates the real with fiction. Just love her style of writing.. will continue to read her books as long as she writes them.. Thank you Christine Feehan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Love the book

    Love the whole seres. I want to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    All of The Dark Series Are Great...

    A friend of mine told me about her books and I started with the first one and couldn't stop. I have now read all her Dark Series books. I can't wait to read more. Its sexy, drama, family, thriller, etc.. all wrapped in one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend

    I love this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Review

    Only DeLaCruz brother I could actually tolerate. I really enjoyed Lara & fact she was willing to put her completion on hold to help the others was a nice twist. I've seen people call her weak but I think she is tough as nails relatable. On a side note Savannah is so whining & annoying, have never understood why someone as strong & wise as Gregori would be attracted to a whiney basic brat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    in love

    i love this auther she always works magic. and this book was just proof of how good she is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    Re-Readable factor, 100%

    I'm a long time Feehan fan, and well the Dark series has been like a fine wine, it gets BETTER and BETTER the further down you go. I loved the twists and turns the series is taking, along with all the new characters being developed (for their own books later I hope) and the intereactions between our new favorite Carpathian and Laura. You won't be able to put the book down and will have to rush out and get all the rest. This series is that amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2010

    Great Book

    Christine does it again with another hit! I love how prior characters are brought back into the story line. As an owner of each of the Dark Series books, I love to be able to catch up with them. This Author always impresses me with each story and the characters she creates. She has a great writing style. I captivated by every book she writes from the first page to the last. Christine Feehan weaves her spellbinding magic into a plot that has it all, action, romance, sensuality and intrigue sporting a story line that is unique and different from the rest. A fast paced adventure that never gets boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    Great!

    I actually started reading her work with Dark Celebration, which I loved, and this book so far is my favorite. Her books are exciting and captivating, while occasionally making you blush. I just wish you would hear more about the characters you grow to love. Lets have another reunion soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2009

    Another amazing book in the Dark series

    Christine Feehan has done it yet again with the latest book in the Dark series - Dark Curse. This is a must read for me and did not disappoint. The characters pull you into thier lives and bring you to understand why they are who they are. While they are lifemates who have found each other, they also find that though they are loners, they can still help the Carpathians as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    Christan Feehan's best Carpathian book to date!

    I reall, really loved this book on many levels. I's a great love story yet it shows the interworkings and traditions of the Carpathian people.
    All of her books are outstanding but this book captures the essence of the race. Highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 181 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10