Customer Reviews for

Dark Day in the Deep Sea (Magic Tree House Series #39)

Average Rating 4.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Book!

The most recent addition to the series, "Magic Tree House" is a book called, Dark Day in the Deep Sea (2008). Jack and Annie are at it again with another adventure to tell. In this 39th book of the series, author Mary Pope Osborne takes the reader on an exciting adven...
The most recent addition to the series, "Magic Tree House" is a book called, Dark Day in the Deep Sea (2008). Jack and Annie are at it again with another adventure to tell. In this 39th book of the series, author Mary Pope Osborne takes the reader on an exciting adventure to the South Pacific in the 1870's. The two siblings stumble upon the crew of the HMS Challenger and take part in their deep sea exploration. The two main characters meet scientist Henry Moseley and Professor Charles Wyville Thomson who while aboard the Challenger from 1872 and 1876, sailed around the world finding multiple species of sea life for the first time. While aboard the ship, Jack and Annie face fierce storms and giant octopi (as beautifully illustrated on the cover) and they begin to question whether or not they will make it home again to share their new secret of happiness. You'll have the read the book to find out!

As a teacher, I would highly recommend this or any other book from "Magic Tree House" series. The characters are compelling and the author makes you feel like you are right in the middle of the action. There are many, many, many teachable moments that can be found within this book! One fascinating fact for this book in particular is that students can learn that just a little over one hundred years ago, scientists did not have near the ideas that they have now. The students have the potential to see how discoveries are made, and how the knowledge that we possess now was developed. Each book gives the reader insight to historical facts and geographical locations. These books provided perfect opportunities for interdisciplinary units and with over 40 books to choose from, the author has basically covered any topic this reading level would study. I think this book and this series are excellent and any middle elementary teacher would benefit from using these books as learning tools.

posted by 1375451 on May 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

woud like it

I did not read the book but, I think I would like it!

posted by 17191512 on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2009

    Fantastic Book!

    The most recent addition to the series, "Magic Tree House" is a book called, Dark Day in the Deep Sea (2008). Jack and Annie are at it again with another adventure to tell. In this 39th book of the series, author Mary Pope Osborne takes the reader on an exciting adventure to the South Pacific in the 1870's. The two siblings stumble upon the crew of the HMS Challenger and take part in their deep sea exploration. The two main characters meet scientist Henry Moseley and Professor Charles Wyville Thomson who while aboard the Challenger from 1872 and 1876, sailed around the world finding multiple species of sea life for the first time. While aboard the ship, Jack and Annie face fierce storms and giant octopi (as beautifully illustrated on the cover) and they begin to question whether or not they will make it home again to share their new secret of happiness. You'll have the read the book to find out!

    As a teacher, I would highly recommend this or any other book from "Magic Tree House" series. The characters are compelling and the author makes you feel like you are right in the middle of the action. There are many, many, many teachable moments that can be found within this book! One fascinating fact for this book in particular is that students can learn that just a little over one hundred years ago, scientists did not have near the ideas that they have now. The students have the potential to see how discoveries are made, and how the knowledge that we possess now was developed. Each book gives the reader insight to historical facts and geographical locations. These books provided perfect opportunities for interdisciplinary units and with over 40 books to choose from, the author has basically covered any topic this reading level would study. I think this book and this series are excellent and any middle elementary teacher would benefit from using these books as learning tools.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Magic tree ouse

    I really ike this book

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    March 25, 2012

    My little brother loves it. He usually doesn't read books but he was so interested in it he did not want to go to bed! When I was little like him I loved these books. Jack and Annie ( the kids in the books) go on all these adventures. It's really good for a kids imagination. I sometimes read them and there usually for my brothers age ( 7 ). If you have a child, brother or sister that has a big imagination and loves to get in action then this is the book for him or her. Actually there's a series of these books! You could get them all and your child's or sibling's imagination will be a blast!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    E

    Hi,I'm Audrey.I love it.Its my secont faverit book.


    GET THES BOOK!!!!!!
    YOU WOUNT REGRAT IT.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Hey! You know what?

    I wish it was a lend-me!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    woud like it

    I did not read the book but, I think I would like it!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2011

    This is a really good book

    I think this is a very good book kids love it

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2011

    Love+these+books

    Im+11+years+old+and+i+still+love+these+books%21%21%21%21%21%21

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    GGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAATTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2011

    this is a pretty good series

    i cant wait to reead this one even tho im a little too old for it

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Good

    Good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Awesome

    FANTASTIC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2012

    Review

    All ik is that this particular series is for a certain age group. After a while as you get older it becomes boring. Well thats my opinion.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    F ff thgtyhjt

    Dff((((((u

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2012

    I think that this book is wonderful!!!

    Rb feb 21

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ilove it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    I love the book

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    Book person

    Never red it,but sounds good.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    awesome!!!!!!!!!!!

    it was very seaful anybody will enjoy it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great look at past scientific thought

    While Jack and Annie have their usual adventures, this time on a ship in the 1870s looking for sea monsters, the book gives kids a very different take on science as it was at the time. Scientific thought was much more hunches, guesswork and misunderstanding, the concept of 'scientfic theory' as we are taught today just forming. Today schools seem to have a religious faith in the scientific theory, with scientists seen as miracle-working gods, but it was very different 140 years ago, and Pope does a good job highlighting this fact.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5