Customer Reviews for

Dark Deceptions (A-Tac Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 26, 2013

    Loved

    I loved the whole A-Tac Series. I love being able to finish one and got right to the next one. Very good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    LOVED IT

    I love Dee's books. The A-Tas series is my favorite though. I love ghe way her stories center around the government and the different letters of the government.
    This was an exciting read suspense, heartache and confusing feelings which makes for a good read for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    Good read

    I loved this series, i read the frist two while on a long drive. They made time fly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    Kept Me Interested...

    I recently decided I needed to get out of my comfort zone, and Dark Deceptions seemed like the perfect book to do that with. I'm not usually a fan of military-type storylines, but Dark Deceptions may have changed my mind.

    Annie Gallagher and Nash Brennon were a team - undercover, covert operations. But they were more than a team, they were lovers. Until an assignment where everything went wrong.

    Eight years later, Nash is with an elite military team, learning his lesson long ago to only rely on himself. He tries not to think about the past, and why Annie deserted him when he was injured in that fateful assignment.

    Annie's no longer involved with the government - she left when she got pregnant. She's now living a different lifestyle as a mountain climbing guide with her young son, Adam. Then, Adam is kidnapped and her past has come back to haunt her. If she wants him back, she's got to assassinate a U.N. ambassador.

    Nash's unit gets word that there's a possibility that Annie is working to assassinate the ambassador, and they're sent out to stop her. Once they find out her son has been kidnapped, they agree to help, but don't know if she's working against them to kill the ambassador anyway.

    I really enjoyed this book! The political intrigue was interesting and kept me guessing, but wasn't so complicated that I got bored or couldn't follow. I like that every time I thought the main conflict was over, it really wasn't. Something new would pop up and all signs would point to Annie again. Who was framing her?!? The romance was simmering, and when mixed with the CIA intrigue became full of twists and turns - Will they? Won't they? How are they going to work this out? The back and forth between Annie and Nash was hot - they were at each other's throats one moment and down each other's throats the next - even after eight years the attraction was still there full force! And, I'm suspicious of one of the team members - there's a mystery that's not solved yet...

    Nash's team was full of great characters. I didn't realize when I started the book that this is actually the first in a series. As I was reading, I was hoping we'd see some of them in their own books, so I was pleasantly surprised to see that Nash's buddy Drake's story is next - Dangerous Desires, out in July. I will definitely be watching for that one, I have the feeling it's going to be hot!

    This book had only two drawbacks for me: As a general rule I don't like kids in books and while Adam didn't drive me crazy I didn't really warm up to him either. And, I thought the romantic storyline wrapped up a bit quickly. Don't get me wrong, I was happy with the outcome, it just seemed to come on quickly.

    I give Dark Deceptions 4/5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and Dangerous

    Quick & Dirty: An intense tale with an equal mix of romance, suspense and rapid-fire action.

    Opening Sentence: "So do you think we're ever going to feel like a normal couple?"

    The Review:

    Nash Brennon leads an elite black-ops team known as American Tactical Intelligence Command (A-Tac). The team is comprised of the best covert agents in the business. They operate under cloak and dagger at an Ivy League university, waiting for the next high-level assignment to show up on their radar. The team is pulled in to stop an assassination attempt on the U. N. Ambassador and unfortunately for Nash, the assassin is someone he knows. Annie Gallagher is an ex-CIA operative with a long history with Nash. Former lovers and partners, their relationship ended on an explosive note when Anne left Nash twisting in the wind mid-op. Anne has surfaced eight years later, blackmailed into assassinating the U.N. Ambassador. Despite Annie's betrayal, Nash is reluctant to believe that Annie would commit treason. When Annie's son is kidnapped, she will stop at nothing to get her son back.

    Dark Deceptions is a perfect blend of action, romance, suspense, and danger that will keep readers captivated. Ms. Davis does a wonderful job of keeping the danger intense and weaves an intricate web of betrayal, espionage, and political intrigue. I especially appreciate strong female characters. It was great reading about kick-butt female operatives that had no problem going toe-to-toe with men twice their size. Annie is no mere damsel in distress, proving herself just as capable as Nash. Annie had her flaws, but overall I found her to be a very believable character. Nash on the other hand was a bit disappointing at times. I expected him to be more Alpha, but he is surprisingly agreeable. Nash is more of the cool, calm and collected variety. After certain events unfold and new things are brought to light, Nash's acceptance was immediate. This was a bit predictable, but not enough to detract from my enjoyment of the story. Annie and Nash have an undeniable chemistry, but they oftentimes couldn't see past their disagreements. It's an understatement to say that their relationship suffered from lack of communication and trust, which is odd given the business they're in. Great secondary characters and complex villains make Dark Deceptions a thrilling read.

    Overall, Dark Deceptions is worth reading. Ms. Davis delivers a fast-paced, action-packed thrill-ride that will leave your pulse-pounding and your heart skipping a beat. Full of suspense, twists and turns, Dark Deceptions is a strong addition to the genre.

    A-Tac Series
    1. Dark Deceptions
    2. Dangerous Desires (07/2010)
    3. Desperate Deeds (08/2010)

    Notable Scene:

    As if he'd heard her, Drake bent down, and Annie closed an eye as she gently squeezed the trigger, the motion at once intimate and deadly, everything coming back to her with one fluid motion. She was a trained killer and nothing-not her life in Creede, not her absence from the Company, not even her love for her son-could change that fact.

    Using the scope, she ascertained that the man was indeed down. Nash and Drake had already pulled his body deeper into the shadows. She struggled for breath, the past and present coming together in nightmarish fashion. Angrily, she pushed away her rioting emotions. There was no time for introspection. Her son's life and quite possibly Nash and Drake's depended on her ability to keep a c

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    Nash doesn't fall easily and has only fallen in love with one woman, his partner at A-Tac - Annie. As much as he would like to forget her very existence because of how she hurt him and then simply disappeared. Out of nowhere she reappears and is back to work. They try to extinguish the flame but it only seems to run more wild. Her son was kidnapped by terrorists and the only way they will release him is if a UN ambassador is killed. Even in the face of this disaster, they cannot fight the attraction. Will this help them with the task at hand or will their passion be the death of them?

    I liked this book. I thought the writing was fun and the storyline was really good. If you like the combination of thrill, romance, suspense and drama, this is your book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1