BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dark Demon (Dark Series #16)

Average Rating 4.5
( 213 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(142)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Terrific Carpathian tale

After the death of her brother by, she believes Carpathians, Natalya Shonski continues her quest of fighting vampires. At the same time the solitary female warrior continues her vigil, Carpathian Vikirnof Von Shrieder fears he on the verge of becoming a vampire as he f...
After the death of her brother by, she believes Carpathians, Natalya Shonski continues her quest of fighting vampires. At the same time the solitary female warrior continues her vigil, Carpathian Vikirnof Von Shrieder fears he on the verge of becoming a vampire as he failed to find his soulmate who would anchor him. Vikirnof thinks that Natalya is his woman and begins his search for her. He finds her as she duels two vampires he helps her. --- Natalya rejects Vikirnof as she distrusts Carpathians. However, in spite of her rage, she knows she cannot allow Vikirnof to die from wounds he received while fighting at her side. As she comes to know him better while he heals, she realizes he is her soulmate. They learn that a devious powerful mage plots to destroy all the Carpathians unless they can stop him, but neither knows who he is though Natalya assumes her evil grandfather is the culprit. --- DARK DEMON is must reading for long time fans of the Carpathian novels, not just because it is a terrific action-packed romantic thriller, but also because many subplots dangling from previous books tie together. The lead duet are fantastic star-crossed soulmates, but they have so much trouble ahead that it makes their path to eternal happiness look bleak. Natalya and Vikirnof make this a superb entry that can stand alone as a fabulous paranormal romantic suspense, but to savor the full taste newcomers would be better suited finding much of the backlist. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing Dark

The Dark Series has been one of my favorite series in the past. Dark Secret, the previous book in this line, was rather disappointing also, but I know that in series' books, some are better than others. In Dark Demon, I expected the normal angst of a 'lifemate couple' a...
The Dark Series has been one of my favorite series in the past. Dark Secret, the previous book in this line, was rather disappointing also, but I know that in series' books, some are better than others. In Dark Demon, I expected the normal angst of a 'lifemate couple' as they found their way to each other, along with romance, and, of course, danger! The fighting with the bad guys took up so much space in this book. Then, it almost seemed like, 'oh, we need to throw some romance in here, it IS a romance.' And then, right back to the fighting. I didn't come to a point where I even really liked the characters, or even really cared what happened to them. This was too bad, because I have really enjoyed this storyline(I have them all!)and have always waited impatiently for the next book! I hope for better romance, in the Dark series, in the future!

posted by Anonymous on March 31, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific Carpathian tale

    After the death of her brother by, she believes Carpathians, Natalya Shonski continues her quest of fighting vampires. At the same time the solitary female warrior continues her vigil, Carpathian Vikirnof Von Shrieder fears he on the verge of becoming a vampire as he failed to find his soulmate who would anchor him. Vikirnof thinks that Natalya is his woman and begins his search for her. He finds her as she duels two vampires he helps her. --- Natalya rejects Vikirnof as she distrusts Carpathians. However, in spite of her rage, she knows she cannot allow Vikirnof to die from wounds he received while fighting at her side. As she comes to know him better while he heals, she realizes he is her soulmate. They learn that a devious powerful mage plots to destroy all the Carpathians unless they can stop him, but neither knows who he is though Natalya assumes her evil grandfather is the culprit. --- DARK DEMON is must reading for long time fans of the Carpathian novels, not just because it is a terrific action-packed romantic thriller, but also because many subplots dangling from previous books tie together. The lead duet are fantastic star-crossed soulmates, but they have so much trouble ahead that it makes their path to eternal happiness look bleak. Natalya and Vikirnof make this a superb entry that can stand alone as a fabulous paranormal romantic suspense, but to savor the full taste newcomers would be better suited finding much of the backlist. --- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Keep Bring On the Good Stuff!

    Wow. I mean, wow! This book was amazing! It brought on a whole new level of other wordly beings and the strength that they wield. All in all, I say this book was filled with action and suspense around every corner. New secrets arose and questions that were unanswered are being answered while more begin to arise as the Carpathians find out that their age-old enemy, Xavier, is back with a vengence.
    Vikirnoff first got a picture of Natalya when he was with his brother Nicolae. The picture was shown to him in color, and color he saw when he gazed at the photo of his lifemate. From then, he hunted down the female in the photo, the one who would be his lifemate for all time. But little did he know of who she was, or what for that matter.
    Natalya is a strong-minded female. She has the blood of the mage, Dragonseeker and Carpathian flowing into her veins. A rare female, truly power unto herself, she will come into this series with a fire of action and adventure as she looks for her brother who has been tortured by her grandfather. A life of torture and questions sprung up from Natalya's past as we delve into an action packed part of this series.

    I loved this book. There was action around every corner. Natalya is truly power and she comes to learn her place besides Vikirnoff, not as a lifemate, but as a partner and his right hand. The two will learn to love each other with an unbending love that can't be doubted. But she will have to doubt the lies that her brother had planted in her memories so long ago. This book is a ride thriller and I love how Christine just keeps the goods coming!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2006

    Disappointing Dark

    The Dark Series has been one of my favorite series in the past. Dark Secret, the previous book in this line, was rather disappointing also, but I know that in series' books, some are better than others. In Dark Demon, I expected the normal angst of a 'lifemate couple' as they found their way to each other, along with romance, and, of course, danger! The fighting with the bad guys took up so much space in this book. Then, it almost seemed like, 'oh, we need to throw some romance in here, it IS a romance.' And then, right back to the fighting. I didn't come to a point where I even really liked the characters, or even really cared what happened to them. This was too bad, because I have really enjoyed this storyline(I have them all!)and have always waited impatiently for the next book! I hope for better romance, in the Dark series, in the future!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    This book kept me up all night.

    This book is something else. I couldn't put it down. The plot has so many twists and turns I never knew what was going to happen next. There was never a boring moment. Christine Feehan is a wonderful author. She doesn't put a whole lot of humor in her books, but they will keep you on the edge of your seat. This book is good for people who like to read books that have a twist most vampire stories don't have. Dark Demon is one of the best of the Dark series. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2007

    hit the spot

    Christine Feehan¿s Dark Demon is a tale of two enemies, Natalya, a fierce vampire hunter, and Vikernoff, a Carpathian warrior. It tells of how they fall frantically head-over-heals for each other in passionate desire. Love seems to turn up in the oddest places in this narrative. Natalya, stubborn as she may be, finds it in her heart to save Vikernoff as he is almost eaten alive by evil vampires. Vikernoff, stunned by her heroic bravery, feels ashamed to be saved by a woman. Natalya takes him to her home and treats his injuries. When she discovers his true identity and realizes he is a Carpathian, she can not turn away from his love. They fight battles together and learn to live with their differences. As the storyline takes a new spell of twists, Natalya is caught between believing Vikernoff or trusting her own family. Will the truth set her free? Will it bind her to this horrible past forever? What twisted secrets still lie behind Vikernoff, her family, even Natalya herself? Christine Feehan really ¿hit the spot¿ with this twisted tale. She takes the readers to a new way of thinking. This is her thirteenth book in the series, and also the best.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2007

    Great book so what's everybody fussing about?

    This was the first ever book i read from Feehan. I picked it up in store intent on buying another novel but the cover caught my eye. Dark Demon is a soft romance compared to other Feehan novels i have now read. The action scenes were great but i didn't like the sex very much so skipped that. Vikirnoff is just a really really nice guy. No other way of putting it. Maybe other reviewers like the hard mean type, i don't know. Overall, i loved this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2006

    Really Liked It

    This is the first of Ms. Sheehan's books I've read. I really did like it. I ordered it online, though, and didn't realize it was a romance. I'm not a fan of romance. Thankfully there was enough action and story of the Carpathians in it to make it good, even though I had to skip over all those sex scenes. Reading the other reviews, if there is more sex and all that in the rest of the series, this will be the only one I read. But I do recommend this one. Good book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2006

    This thirteenth edition has set a new standard for us fans.

    I've thoroughly enjoyed most of Ms. Feehan's books and most of them have been similar. Out of all her series I prefer the ¿Dark Series.¿ There have been 1 or 2 I wasn't crazy about, but this one is right up there. Natalya is a great heroine who can shape-shift. This novel mixes it up with a stronger heroine who can battle alongside the males with just as much skill. It's a bit different, in that it features a mixed blood female lead - Carpathian, human & dragon seeker. I'm really interested in hearing more about the dragon seekers and hope Dominic gets his own story, and I truly hope so because he¿sexceptionally strong and magical individual. It¿s a good change from Ms. Feehan. The dark series fans will also appreciate the appendix of Carpathian language, glossary, and healing chants. Recommend to ALL readers out there who are interested in this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    Christine Feehan's best book to-date

    I have read all the previous 'Dark' books (and short stories) and have enjoyed them all however, this one is hands-down the best so far! Natalya is a modern woman with some very interesting powers of her own. She is a warrior who doesn't need a chauvinistic Carpathian lifemate to protect her from the bad guys ¿ she really can take care of herself. The romance in the story is perfect for these two characters. Both Natalya and Vikirnoff are lonely, weary fighters who long for contact but are too jaded to trust. The introduction of the Mage-lore gives a fresh storyline to this series. The only thing I did not like about this book was the prominence of the Carpathian language. I really didn¿t think it was needed and it was a bit of a distraction.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Wow.

    I'm so ready for the next in the Dark series. Dark Demon was fantastic! I ended up finishing it in about 7 hours. If you loved her other books, it'd honestly be hard not to like this one. I'd rate this as one of my favorites in the Dark series (but then I've rarely been disappointed with any of the books.) I won't bore you with a synopsis! But I will say that it was great to revisit favorite characters from past books and learn more about the world of the Carpathians.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    Great Book her best to date.

    I have read all of Christine Feehans Books. But like most of her readers I like the Carpathian books the most. Since this is another chapter to that series it is the best to date because it answers a lot of questions that were left unanswered in her last books. I highly recommend this book because not only is it romantic but it is entertaining. Chrstine Feehan will draw you into her world and not let go.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2006

    Oh My Gosh, So Good

    Wow! I loved the new Feehan book. It was amazing. I was sort of weary to begin it because truthfully I did not enjoy Dark Secret that much. I love that we get to see old characters again. I love Gregori and even though he did speak in the book I loved that he suprised me in the end. Wow, everyone seems pregnant in this story. ANyways, I loved Vik he is an amazing bossy arrogant Carpathain that I love from the early dark series. Can't wait for Dark Celebration in September, I already pre-order it. Natalya is an amazing women and I love when the tigress comes out espacially the part when she gets jealous of Slavica. I feel so sorry for Gabrielle and I hope she ends up with Gary. Totally READ THIS BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2006

    Wow!

    Christine Feehan really out did herself this time! She went back to the feeling of Dark Destiny, a strong female vampire slayer (although she never REALLY slays one until she meets Vikirnoff)Natalya is her strongest female character yet. Although the two main characters are expecting different characteristics from their lifemate they really have the fasted understanding of any of Feehan's characters that love can overcome anything. The Mage/Dragonseeker/Carpathian story is the icing on the cake. Although Feehan answers many questions asked in her other Dark books she also leaves a billion more unanswered. My only complaint is it did get a bit crowded with all the previous Carpathians mentioned or included in the action so I would recommend reading the earlier Dark books first. But the last 50 pages will blow readers away!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Outstanding! A definite read-through-the-entire-night-and-next-morning book!

    It was absolutely an outstanding book!I found myself reading it into the early hours of the morning! Feehan is an amazing writer and I love all of her work, but this one sold the ticket! She ties in romance, suspence, action, and the paranormal all into one. Feehan is quite hard to beat when it comes to Dark Demon. It's a definite must-read and I recommend it to ALL readers out there. It doesn't disappoint!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    3

    Meet Natalya and Vikirnoff. Reading this book is like reading thru mud. Easily the hardest reading book of the series. Unfortunitly also probably one of the most important ones as well. If you to understand the subplots, the dark mage and Dragonseekers you need to read it. Just as you need to read Dark Descent to fully understand this book.
    The 3 stars is because the book is a necessary read, not because its a good one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    In fact I love all the Christine Feehan series. They grab you and hold on to you until the next thing you know it's over and your wanting more, more, more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    Ah, Natalia and Vikirnof. I love the Carpathian's.

    Ah, Natalia and Vikirnof. I love the Carpathian's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Recommended

    I started the series by accident on a vacation. I purchaced three of the books a read one. When I googled the author realized I had a good series on my hand but had started at the end with book #21. Started the series from the beginning shortly after and have not been able to stop. Enjoying each book. Love how each one intertwined which each other. But it's best to read in order to know and understand each character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Jason

    Shoots a furie in the chest its body explodeing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Kathrine mina and dante

    Sell your soul very last res mina: looks like kathrine but isnt her child and now is 16 and has red streaks through her hair... relationship: i thinks so...dante: looks like his father si is now 3

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 216 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11