Customer Reviews for

Dark Desire (Dark Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 515 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(322)

4 Star

(108)

3 Star

(47)

2 Star

(23)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

By far, my favorite yet!

I have yet to read the entire 'Dark' series, but after reading 4 or 5 books from it, I have to say Dark Desire has to be one of the top two of the series!! I recommend anyone thinking of reading this book to first read Dark Prince. I don't believe I would have truly ...
I have yet to read the entire 'Dark' series, but after reading 4 or 5 books from it, I have to say Dark Desire has to be one of the top two of the series!! I recommend anyone thinking of reading this book to first read Dark Prince. I don't believe I would have truly understood the character of Jacques had I not done so. Dark Prince gives the reader a slight glimpse of the innocent boy Jacques was before his torment and Dark Desire gives you the story of the man he became and what he overcome. From the first chapter of this book I was consumed until the very end. It was unlike any other in the series I have read. I was saddened by the torture and sorrow Jacques suffered and felt the hatred myself for the people that did that to him. The first chapter of the book is heartbreaking but seeing what Jacques endured help to understand his reactions and emotions in dealing with his lifemate and his family and friends. It is obvious the writer was dearly attached to this character. Out of all her characters in the 'Dark Series', I feel I knew the characters of Jacques and Shea more intimately than any other. The detail in which this book was written is astounding and at the same time heartwrenching. It is a great read for anyone searching for a great love story filled with hurdles and triumphs!

posted by Anonymous on August 22, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

TOO REPETITIVE

I wouldn't want to be criticizing a writer since I myself do not even come close to professional writing. I hold great respect for writers. However, this particular book is way too repetitive. While reading I felt as if Christine Feehan were 'going in circles' (in terms...
I wouldn't want to be criticizing a writer since I myself do not even come close to professional writing. I hold great respect for writers. However, this particular book is way too repetitive. While reading I felt as if Christine Feehan were 'going in circles' (in terms of constantly repeating the same words, phrases, and even situations within this story). I was utterly bored reading this book. The story seems dull. In the first half of the book basically nothing happens. Although I realize it is a sort of a fictional and paranormal story, it seems way too fantastic and the characters are not very believable / credulous. I wish this author didn't have to repeat the same words and phrases over and over again. Such excessive repetition only makes the story look worse than it could have actually been. And as I have mentioned above - utterly boring. Very disappointed. P.S. Here are some examples of repetition: endless assertions of Jacques of how Shea is over and over his 'lifemate;' how small Shea's body is; Feehan had to repeat hundreds of times that Shea had red silky hair (as if once wasn't enough); the word 'clenched;' etc.

posted by Anonymous on June 21, 2005

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Another great one

    Could not put it down!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Dark Desire is AWESOME!

    This book is awesome! I highly recommend this and every other book in this series. You will not be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Great

    Good i like it much better thank "dark prince"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Can't Get Enough!. This series is breathtaking!. Totally hock

    Can't Get Enough!. This series is breathtaking!. Totally hocked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2012

    My first read of these books was "Dark Symphony". My second favorite was "Dark Melody". I especially enjoyed the stories about the famous band memebers stories.

    I am on my 15th book by Christine Feehan. I enjoy each of the Carpathian males as I read about how they find their Lifemates. I have enjoyed all, but some more than others. I especially love the telepathic comunication they have with each other. I love the way the people of their species join in to help, when they are asked or when they know they need help. I especially enjoyed the trials of this book because of the torture he endured and still stayed true to his species and people even though he seemed to have lost all else. I only started reading these books last month. I wish they would make a movie combining all their trials and encounters. There is a lot deeper meaning to the stories. They could help people learn compassion and more. It shows how important the females really are to the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2012

    New to the Series

    I am new to the Dark series and love it. I have pre-ordered many for my Nook so I have continuous reading - think I'm on #5 right now. The men are so dark and dangerous but highly protective and loving towards their lifemates. The women are beautiful, coy, and wind them around their fingers. A great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    Omg

    I absolutly LOVE Christine Feehan!!! Too bad the first one isnt on here :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2011

    Highly Recommended- I love her books!!!

    Such a great read. I have recommended it to many of my friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Desire

    Dark Desire is Shea and Jacques's story,on the surface,upon reading the summary,the reader has entirely no idea on how deep the story will be and how much they do not know about our main characters,Jacques starts out being buried alive and almost insane,he sees Shea in his mind and thinks she is the traitor,he lures her to the Carpathian mountains so he can do whatever he wants with her,kill her,control her,he is quite confused about what to do,the first part of Desire is about Jacques trusting Shea,he does not speak aloud only in his mind.The mystery on who betrayed Jacques is what holds the reader to the pages of this book as does the stirrings of a relationship between Shea and Jac.To have suffered so much pain and torment is truly horrible and the reader's heart goes out to Jacques and hangs on to him healing,Jacques was so badly tormented and tortured that he lost all his memories so Jacques in default is in the same position as the reader of the book.He does get snatches and fragments of memories but very little and over the whole period of the book.Dark Desire by far is one of the most,and I truly mean what I say,intense and complex novels from the Dark series,Desire goes so deep into the past and into characters that you never thought had such traumatic experiences yet with such capability for love ,reading about Shea and Jacques in Dark Celebration,it was as if nothing in the this book,no hardships touched them at all.But that's the beauty of Christine's writing,to be able to bring out so much life and richness for every single character's that she writes about whether beautiful or painful.I was very impressed by how Christine made the novel a heck of a mystery for the reader and finding out the truth in the end is just so satisfying for the reader.Dark Desire ticks off the boxes for beautiful,honest romance,intrigues that make you never want to stop reading and tons of action that balance out the romance just right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2011

    Dark desire

    This is the 15th time i have read the series.i have them in written and ebook. No matter how many times i read them i find myself totally immersed in the story. I still feel every emotion with the characters,i know them well. My only conplaint is on behalf of my family once i open dark prince they dont really see me without a book until i have gone through the series .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    One of my favorites

    I have read everything Christine Feehan has written and love every book. The Dark Series is my favorite and Dark Desire is one of my favorites in the series. I don't know how many times i have read it but it still entralls me.Jacques and Shea story just makes me want to cry on how hard it ia for them to come together and the obstacles that have to get through. Recommend anything by Christine Feehan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    re-reading

    I read the entire Dark series and am now re-reading them as e-books. They are great books and I want to store them on my nook shelves so I can read them over and over again. They are worth it. Ms. Feehan is a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    Must read.

    I read this book for the first time many years ago and have purchased it twice in paperback and now on my nook. It was not only put on my keeper shelf it is a book I have reread many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Book! Enjoyed tremendously:)

    It continues on with the Carpathian Clan..Loved it! 2nd in the series..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    I have found all of the Carpathian stories by Christine Feehan to be exceptional reading. This book is unique because Shea's background is more uniquely developed than that of many of the other early protagonists. If you read Dark Prince, the first Dark book, you will get more out of this story because it closes up some ties from that book. However, if you did not read the first, you will still enjoy the story, as it stands on it's own, but reading the series in order greatly shows how this series shines.

    I loved this entire series and have even convinced a few of my male friends to give it a try by giving them a copy of Dark Prince (Book #1) to read. Most of them have purchased this one on their own and are continuing with the series. A small story plays out with the characters of each individual book while progressing a much larger story through the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2010

    Excellent!

    Christine Feehan has created a world with her Carpathians that pulls you in more deeply with every book. You genuinely care about her characters and want to know what happens to them. Yes, some parts may be repetitive regarding the lifemates but that's part of the seduction.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    If you like paranormal romance, this is it!

    It a must get if you a Christine Feehan's fan.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 2, 2009

    Dark Desire

    I thought that Dark Desire was one of the best book in the dark series because it really when in to detail of the things that jacques had to go through and it makes him seem more real it shows how he became the way he is and why he is so posessive over Shea I like the fact that she didn't just jump in to he book she really too the time to tell you everything. The only thing i didn't like was the book cover : ( sorry i think they could have chosen a better one that suits the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!

    Wow! Jacques and Shea really had a bond that could surpass losing one's self to insanity. Poor Jacques. I couldn't believe that he was put through such torture from the Carpathian's enemies, but that certainly threw the plot on a roll from the start. I was anxious to see how Shea would react to such an unstable male, one that couldn't control his emotions for her, let alone control his sanity. And I was excited to see that their love endured the test.
    I was also excited to see that Mikhail and Raven made an appearance because I loved them in the first book! The first was indeed the best, and I will always love those two. But for Jacques, it is sad to see him going from such a joking, teasing male in the first book to a tormented, unstable male in this one. But it is good to see that he has his lifemate to keep him sane and to show him the same love that his brother experiences.
    Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 322 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 17