Customer Reviews for

Dark Destiny (Dark Series #13)

Average Rating 4.5
( 229 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(154)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    action-packed thriller intermingled with a terrific romance

    Her childhood was a nightmare when a vampire brutally murdered her family and converted her into a creature of the night. Only the angelic male voice in her head kept her alive and helped her survive the changeover. Her adulthood is more loneliness as she goes alone killing her own kind for Destiny is a vampire who works the night ridding the world of this pestilence.----- Ancient hunter Nicolae knows patience, but his wait for his soul mate has become wearying as he has only connected through the minds and not the flesh. Although he continues to meet his centuries-old pledge to rid the world of vampires and protect Carpathians and humans, he waits to find his Destiny as soulmates forever. When he does meet her, he hopes that in the Carpathian Mountains, the Prince can heal her vampiric disease. First, he must find her and second he must overcome her distrust of him, but while he begins making progress, the duo falls into the midst of a vampiric conspiracy nothing like the world has ever seen before and never will again.----- DARK DESTINY may be the best of the long running Carpathian tales as readers obtain an action-packed thriller intermingled with a terrific romance starring a rarity, a female huntress. The story line never slows down, as Nicolae knows his Destiny is his soulmate, but will need help, something this lone ranger never wants, for them to finally make it. The subplot involving the vampiric conspiracy is devilishly devised so that between this exhilarating potential world-ending calamity and the deliciously impossible romance, the audience has Christine Feehan¿s best work perhaps in the entire series.----- Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Riveting

    Dark Destiny is one of the more intense Carpathian books I have read. There is tons of action as well as romance going on in this novel. In this book Nicolae has finally caught up to his lifemate and is anxious to finally meet her. He is also accompanied by his brother Vikirnoff who helps out when he is needed.
    Destiny was not born Carpathian, but was changed by a vampire when she was a child. It is because of this that her blood is poisonous to herself and other Carpathians. Destiny was a very strong character with a lot of depth. I really felt for her and her fear that she was evil. She has a good heart and because of this the thought that she is somehow tainted tortures her, but she very rarely shows it. The development of a relationship with Nicolae was believable and sweet.
    Nicolae has waited a long time to meet her and feels guilty because he was unable to save her as a child. He is not overly protective like other Carpathian males. He actually stands back a bit allowing Destiny her space. He does watch over her though helping out whenever he is needed. He really was a sweet guy and when these two finally come together it is definitely worth it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Destiny

    Dark Destiny is about Destiny who had her childhood snatched away from her and brutally forced to drink the vampire's blood and watch him killing her family,she should go insane but a voice in her head,a sweet male voice is the only thing that saves her from insanity,Nicolae is a Carpathian hunter and an ancient if he does not find his life mate soon,he will turn into a vampire,as time goes by for Carpathian males and they do not find their life mates they loose the ability to feel and see colors,Destiny in all her despair and strong psychic ability connects with Nicolae as a child and he teaches her to hunt as a way to help her not lose herself,Destiny has come to Seattle for a while and she feels the need to protect it's residents,she finds true friends in father Mulligan,MaryAnn Delaney who i am sure will return as a major character in future novels,Inez and Velda two elderly women who can see things and are kind,Nicolae has finally found her and when Destiny meets him,she finds it hard to trust him but Nicolae is patient and soon she warms up to him and finally sees him as her life mate but battles ensue of course,Great romantic novel and addition to the Dark series,look forward to future books

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    Highly recommended...

    Love it. Though whom ever is saying that Destiny or Francesca are the first Carpathian women that the author introduces they are mistaken. They first Carpathian women they introduced is Savannah. If you do not count her because she is young or because she was born from Raven who used to be human, then there is Desari or Syndil in Dark challenge (book 5) of the Dark series. Anyway love all the books in the dark series and I recommend them all. Especially Dark Celebration, I love how the book brings back everyone and introduces you to more characters who will be in later books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2006

    One of my favorites from CF.....

    This book was great!!! It was different than the rest. I love the fact that Destiny was a hunter, which didn't make her character look weak. I recommend this one to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2015

    Well worth the read

    I enjoyed the story of Nicolae & Destiny much more than the xters in Dark Melody. There wasn't the continous repetition of thoughts that made Dark Melody a boring read. It was well worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Outlands

    Go back!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    Destinyclan apprentice den

    Destinyclan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 4, 2013

    Anonymous

    Love the author and all her books!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    I loved Destiny and Nicolae's story. I'm re-reading this series

    I loved Destiny and Nicolae's story. I'm re-reading this series and it is just as good the 2nd time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I love all her books and have read or listened to all the Dark series, but somehow missed this one. It was GREAT just like all the rest. I highly recommend all her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great series...

    Love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    I love this book

    I love this book, they make a great couple, and i love the fact that destiny was so kick a$@@.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Very good book.

    It is a very interesting read. I ready it in 2 hours.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    Hot, Steamy, sexy! A real page turner.

    I loved it ! I couldn't put the book down. Lots of fast moving action. Great characters, funny, touching, with a positive underlying good message!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2010

    Amazing

    Wow.. this is my favorite Christine Feehan story so far. This book made me laugh, smile, and cry. The depth of the characters is so well written that I felt like I knew them. I can't wait to see how the next Carpathian male deals with finding his lifemate and how the fight to save their race continues...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2010

    Loved this book along with her enrire Dark Series!

    Just wanted to say that I love all of Christine Feehans books, but contrary to what some are saying that this book has the first female Carpathian, the book Dark Legend (series book #8) has Francessca, Gabriels lifemate. She is already a Carpathian. If you haven't read that one its fantastic too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Another Carpathian Female With Such Power!

    What a great book. Two great warriors, both meant to be together for eternity, and both with their own demons.
    Destiny has been turned Carpathian and has been forced to be alone for all time as such. She wakes with pain every rising, and with a voice that is like an angel, calling her to him. But Destiny is a fighter, always fighting for her survival every waking hour of the day. Her strength is what keeps her going.
    Nicolae feels Destiny no matter how far away he is from her, and he continues to find her, to bind her to him. He can feel her lonliness and pain and wants to help, but her fierce will to keep others from the evil that taints her, the evil in her blood, is stronger than her love for him.
    The two will find each other, both lost in madness and darkness, and begin to heal the wounds of their souls.

    I love this book. Destiny is fighter at heart and she will be a challenge for Nicolae. Now, it seems like Christine is putting in more women who will fight against their lifemates and against the age-old tradition that these males know when it comes to keeping their lifemate safe and out of harm's way. Destiny is indeed not a stay-at-home type of woman. Not at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2009

    Top in series.

    This is one of the best in the Carpathian Series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 231 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12