BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Dark Divine (Dark Divine Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 469 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing debut!!!

The Dark Divine has been highly anticipated since I first heard of its release... and I must say that it did NOT disappoint! Bree Despain's debut novel has easily made its way onto my favorites of 2009! The story spiraled into a darkly, thrilling romance with twists and...
The Dark Divine has been highly anticipated since I first heard of its release... and I must say that it did NOT disappoint! Bree Despain's debut novel has easily made its way onto my favorites of 2009! The story spiraled into a darkly, thrilling romance with twists and turns that keep you captivated from the very first LINE of the book! Our new author has clearly made an entrance! Through our heroine, Grace Divine, you're with her every step of the way as she tries to understand the mystery behind what had happened to her brother and the disappearance/re-appearance of the boy she loved 3 years prior to the story. The story unraveled in a quick, but not hurried pace, which made this one a real page turner. The story was wrapped up cleanly... but not without some loose ends... but not enough to feel unsatisfied at closure. It just leaves you dying for more! I have not heard whether or not The Dark Divine is the start of a series or if this will be a stand alone, but I could almost bet there will be a follow up! Because I know I won't be the only one wanting to find out what the future has in store for Grace & Daniel!

posted by Stellarx1587 on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

BLah

I don't get why everyone is saying this book is so great. It wasn't. The characters weren't original. Daniel was in my opinion just plain weird, and he's so problemed obviously he needs some mental help. He doesn't even seem to care for Grace. And Jude, I knew there was...
I don't get why everyone is saying this book is so great. It wasn't. The characters weren't original. Daniel was in my opinion just plain weird, and he's so problemed obviously he needs some mental help. He doesn't even seem to care for Grace. And Jude, I knew there was something not right about him the whole time. The ending was awful! It just wasn't anything new to me. You want a fantasy/romance with action? Read Vampire Academy, Twilight, Need,The Morganville Vampires, The Mortal Instruments series!

posted by Anastasia17 on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 473 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24
  • Posted December 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazing debut!!!

    The Dark Divine has been highly anticipated since I first heard of its release... and I must say that it did NOT disappoint! Bree Despain's debut novel has easily made its way onto my favorites of 2009! The story spiraled into a darkly, thrilling romance with twists and turns that keep you captivated from the very first LINE of the book! Our new author has clearly made an entrance! Through our heroine, Grace Divine, you're with her every step of the way as she tries to understand the mystery behind what had happened to her brother and the disappearance/re-appearance of the boy she loved 3 years prior to the story. The story unraveled in a quick, but not hurried pace, which made this one a real page turner. The story was wrapped up cleanly... but not without some loose ends... but not enough to feel unsatisfied at closure. It just leaves you dying for more! I have not heard whether or not The Dark Divine is the start of a series or if this will be a stand alone, but I could almost bet there will be a follow up! Because I know I won't be the only one wanting to find out what the future has in store for Grace & Daniel!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    BLah

    I don't get why everyone is saying this book is so great. It wasn't. The characters weren't original. Daniel was in my opinion just plain weird, and he's so problemed obviously he needs some mental help. He doesn't even seem to care for Grace. And Jude, I knew there was something not right about him the whole time. The ending was awful! It just wasn't anything new to me. You want a fantasy/romance with action? Read Vampire Academy, Twilight, Need,The Morganville Vampires, The Mortal Instruments series!

    6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This book was truly DIVINE!

    I really enjoyed this book. I liked that I went into the book not really knowing what it was about (vampires, werewolves, angels, demons, etc.) and it does keep you guessing for a while. I really liked the love story between Grace and Daniel in this book. I felt like Bree put a lot of passion behind their attraction to each other. The writing was good too. You are given all the information that you need to solve the story's mysteries in bits and pieces throughout the book. I recommend this book to YA supernatural fans!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Dark Divine

    i will be honest i was not a big fan of it. i think it dragged on way too long, and it was a little predictable,not very creative. i wouldnt read it again, but i guess for a one time read it is ok, i dont necessarily recommend it, because i was pretty much bored. i dont believe there will be a sequel but if there was i would hope it would be better than this, however i am not sure i would even read because of how much i didnt like this one.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    The Dark Deception more like it

    I've been DECIEVED!!
    I came into the book store thinking I was reading a book about a NORMAL, troubled teenager and his "problems." But noooo.. 185pgs. into the book i realized it was all about supernatural beings. Werewolves? What?! where in the summary does the book talk about werewolves? If i had known i was reading about werewolves i would've put the book down immediately but there was no way of knowing the book was about werewolves. I wanted to get away from all these "creatures" and read about normal humans that aren't possessed by any demons especially after the whole "twilight" phenomon but once again another supernatural book was regurgitated back to readers.
    and btw the ending totatlly sucked! In the dark divine, it isn't a good thing to be a werewolve. It's actually a curse because the wolf inside of you supposedly possesses the person and forces it to do "horrendous" things such as kill. A bit bizzare, different from other werewolve books because in those book being a werewolve is actually a good thing. And teh only way to get rid of this curse is to be killed by a true loved one. O.o? yes that was my expression. The only tradition this book has is that when bitten my a werewolve the victim becomes infected also.
    If you like werewolve drama.. go ahead and indulge yourself into this book but otherwise.. if you want to read a book containing normal people who don't possess supernatural powers like me.. then this book isn't your pick!

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Edgy, mysterious, surprising

    okay so when i first looked at the book, the thing that caught my eye was the cover, i read the details of the book and thought really nothing of it but that it might be a really good book. BUT i was wrong, it so surprising. there were times where i couldn't put the book down, because i wanted to know what would happen next, what was to become. i loved all the characters in their own different way, although i loved Daniel the most. i never excepted this book to be so jaw dropping, also so dark and deep. mysterious too. the book had everything i wanted. hidden secrets, a bad boy, a love til the end. you couldn't ask for anything more.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great read

    This book left me speechless. I absolutely loved it. Grace Divine a pastors daughter meets Daniel who has disappeared from her life almost three years ago. Jude her brother, wants nothing to do with him and makes her promise not to see or speak to him.

    The dark pull between Grace and Daniel causes her to wonder why Daniel had left all these years and now suddenly came back. She knows it has to do with a fallout between her brother and Daniel. There have been some mysterious murders going on in town. All of the sudden people are scared of some monster wondering the streets.

    Man, this book was just agghhhh! I loved it. The tension of reading the book had me sitting at the edge of my seat. Bree did a wonderful job building up the suspense in the book. And the secret! Half way through the book I sort of figured out what the secret was, but she did such a excellent job with building up to revealing it.

    The romance in the book was awesome. I enjoyed watching Daniel and Grace love one another. They had so much history with one another it was hard not to see them together. Daniel and Grace's love for one another was one I don't see in most books. This love was strong and never ending. Grace was willing to give up everything for him. I love this type of love. It's not lust, or just a need, its something that they can't live without.

    If you haven't read this book, you should. The mystery, suspense, love, and tension was great. Bree wrote a heart stopping dark romance, one that shows what love it really about.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    My favorite book

    When I first looked at the book I thought how cool the cover looked. My mom was rushing me to pick a book because i'd been there for a little less than a half hour. I grabbed it and i SO do NOT regret it! Of all the books ive read in my 14 years i will NEVER find a book like this ever again. It is my all time favorite and i do NOT regret buying it and I never will. I recommend it to everyone. Its thrilling, romantic, sad, and wonderful. You can just imagine everything in your mind its so amazing. DONT EVER let ANYONE tell you otherwise

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Easy to Get Lost in this one!

    It might be cliche to say that this book had me hooked from page one, but it most definitely had my undivided attention at page 6.

    Grace and Jude Divine haven't seen their childhood friend Daniel ever since he disappeared one mysterious night three years ago. Then he turns up one day in Grace's AP art class, and she is immediately reminded of how much she liked him. But then terrible things start happening in the neighborhood and it looks like Daniel may know more about that than he lets on. Grace will have to figure out her feelings for Daniel while she avoids the growing danger and learns the truth about what happened to her brother that fateful night.

    THE DARK DIVINE is extremely gripping and engaging mystery unfolds. The characterization and dialog is so realistic and natural that it makes you believe it could really have happened, despite the paranormal elements. There is a delicious brooding man in Daniel that will appeal to all Edward Cullen fans.Despain is a debut author to watch!

    Plus, the ARC came with matching nail polish, which is now on my toes!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Devinely entertaining

    This book fits the genre of paranormal YA perfectly... Which is what I most prefer to read, but I will also say that though this is a paranormal book, there are a lot of great aspects about this book that will captivate a wide range of readers. For instance, I am not a religious person and this book is filled with religion. So why would I like it so much then, you ask? Mainly because I feel that Despain did a great job of not preaching to her audience, but instead uses faith and mythology to entangle us in this mysterious story she's created. I think that the way that she writes this book can speak to anyone really.

    The characterization that is put forth in this novel is fantastic and that I think draws a lot from the religious aspects that I mentioned before. In every story there is a struggle and in this case that struggle seems to surround the things that we try to encompass as good human beings like forgiveness and sacrafice. I absolutely love every single character in this book. I fell head over heals for Daniel, I also found Grace to be a wonderful narator, and I can't wait to see where this story continues for Jude. Probably my favorite character was Pastor D-vine because to me he represents more than just faith. He is flawed so he seems human, but he tries his best to see the good in everyone and help everyone that asks, it's inspiring.

    I can't wait to see where Despain will take this story because there really are so many possibilities for it and I commend her for creating such a story that so many different types of people are sure to enjoy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark & Divine

    Quick & Dirty: A must read debut novel that will give you thrills and chills.

    Opening Sentence: Sacrifice - Blood fills my mouth.

    The Review:

    Despain does an excellent job of showcasing themes and mythology in this beautifully written story. Character motivations and conflicts aren't always what they seem and the story will definitely keep you guessing until the very end. The plot and pacing of the story arc moved along with an interesting telling of the story in sections or events if you will. Grace, the narrator of the story, easily connects with the reader. Her family is very important to her and the more she tries to fix the situation and become what other people want her to be, she begins to second guess her own motivations. I think Grace finds herself in a place where she starts to shoulder the burdens of everyone else and the weight of it becomes unbearable. From the very beginning the reader is teased with the mystery of what happened between Daniel and Jude. Both characters are sympathetic and likable despite their flaws. Daniel is the dark and mysterious love interest with baggage, while Jude is the ever loyal and "good son" - essentially perfect in everyone's eyes. I loved the dynamics between the Divine family and how each member dealt with the events that unfolded. The Dark Divine has a satisfying ending that left room for the sequel without ending on a cliffhanger. I think the book is an easy read with plenty of plot twists. I enjoyed the back story, character development, and sense of danger.

    Notable Scene:

    I felt a bit dizzy as I inspected the at least ten-foot drop down to the other side. Crap, that's high. I was wondering how I was ever going to get down when I lost my balance and stumbled off the pillar. Before I could shriek, something hard and tight wrapped around my arm, wrenching me to a stop a couple of feet from the ground.

    I dangled for a moment, my feet swinging above the frozen earth. I tried to catch my breath before looking up. But I found it even harder to breathe when I saw Daniel kneeling on the top of the pillar, holding me with only one hand. His face completely smooth and calm, not puckered or creased by the strain of my weight.

    FTC Advisory: Egmont USA provided me with an ARC of The Dark Divine. No goody bags, sponsorships, "material connections," or bribes were exchanged for my review. In addition, I don't receive affiliate fees for anything purchased via links from my site. Note: I am a member of Bree's street team contest. I will be holding various contests to giveaway my autographed ARC along with other promotional items that I received.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommended - you must check it out!!

    i decided to read this book because it looked cool and i like to read books with cool look's. this book, the dark divine, was a book that had every thing i like in a book. it was mysterious, kept me thinking about what might happen and it was spine chilling... it gave me goose bumps!
    this girl named grace was trying to forget about the boy that dissappeared and then she found him in one of her classes at her school. she try's to decide between her brother and this boy but dosent know who to choose? grace gets closer to daniel and figures out the truth about a certian night and how she is to save her loved ones... but it might cost her the one thing that means the most to her: her soul.
    kinda like another twilight book only diffirent in its own unique ways. read this book if you are a fan of mystical warewolves and mysterious stories.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Epic!!!!!

    I absolutley, posotively LOVE this book!!!!!! Like it says up there, its EPIC!!!!! I totally recommand this book!!!!!!!!!! = D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    absolutly amazing :-)

    This book is phenomenal!! At first, i didnt want to read it because I thought the main chararcter(Grace) would to innocent and boring. Boy was i wrong! Grace is so fiery and clever and talented and cool. this bbok keeps you guessing whether or not it's about grace's relationship with a childhood friend/deadly werewolf or about why Grace's seemingly perfect older brother has gone wacko. i without a doubt reccomend this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but not as good as I thought it was going to be

    I liked this book but it wasnt amazing. I think it went all over the place. Sometimes it needed more detail but than others it needed to hurry up and get to the point. Good read but not one of my favorites. Good for a first time author. I feel like a lot of people are trying to make big on the whole vampire/werewolf craze that is going on right now. Sorry but nothing is going to even come close to twilight.

    I would recommend this book though.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    Fantastic Paranormal Debut!

    Wow. I was blown away by this book and can't say enough about its sheer awesomeness! Normally, I'm not a huge paranormal romance fan-I prefer dystopian future plots-but this book came highly recommended by a friend and I was not disappointed.

    So I knew from the onset that this was paranormal (as it has always been promoted as such and so if you didn't know, I'm not sure why you would hold that against the book like a couple other recent reviews have.) but I did not know how it was paranormal until it is revealed in the book. Totally surprising (though there were several subtle hints along the way). While I will not spoil it like others have, I was so impressed with how the author was able to take something that has been around for hundreds of years and make it new and fresh.

    The characters are so engrossing and empathetic. I almost cried along with Grace as her world came crashing around her, and with Daniel, who had been through some heart wrenching crap in his life as he desperately tries to overcome the influences of his inner demons.

    I was so impressed with how Despain develops the story into much more than an afternoon's entertainment-weaving in themes of forgiveness and love and then putting them in fantastical situations that could be just as real if the paranormal element didn't exist in the book.

    I also loved how the religion aspect is more a part of who the characters are than a driving force in the story. I think this gave Despain the ability to say something about truly caring for people regardless of religion. Enough babbling. I'm looking forward to reading more from this author. Very excited for the sequel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2010

    The Dark Divine

    First of all, I found this in the Christian Fiction section of my home store. The summary through my off, yet appealed to me, so I went ahead and bought it.
    Biggest regret ever.
    Was there a normal character in the book? Grace's narrating was poor. Daniel was horrible. Honestly, I was extremely disappointed.
    If I had the chance to return it, I would in a heartbeat.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    OMG i love this thing

    I loved this book so much i hated it. It was evil pure evil. It made me cry and get angry and made me ecstatic all at the same time. I hated Daniel at first, then when he was gone i missed him terribly. Then Pete i never liked him at all. Then Jude loved him the whole time, even at the end. Don, i cried when Don died; For just the fact that he was Don. I put the book down when I found out what she had to do. Then I felt bad for putting it down. What ever you do read the last couple pages, no matter how sad you think it's gonna end! Why do i fell like this review doesn't give the book justice? That is because it doesn't.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark, Delicous, and very Sweet.

    I have had my fair share of books, and let me tell you, Bree Despain has captured my eye from the first glance on the shelf. Witty, sexy, dark and very sweet. I reccomend this book to all teenage love birds.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    So loved this book!!! (:

    Really really great book. I LOVED Grace Divine, she was so strong, stubborn, and totally fun to listen to (: Jude was the mystery character...You'd think Daniel would be the REAL hard one to figure out, but Jude always seemed a little off to me. Daniel was soo interesting to read about, also. I adored his character, and Grace~ When they would be together, and talk together.
    I didn't have a desire to look for this book on the shelves of B&N. I was actually looking for Jason and Kyra by Dana Davidson...But since I couldn't find it, the cover of this book was really interesting (I STILL don't know what it means LOL), so I picked it up, and read the little summary.
    Great plot, I love how you got little glimpses of the past in the book, and how Bree titled some paragraphs, like 'After Dinner' I liked how she gave us a better feel for the setting :-) I LOVED that it was in Minnesota (HEHEHE that's where I live)You don't really hear many people talking about Minnesota, except the book, Shiver, I think, right?
    It made the book very relatable, and I thought that this book was sooo sweet, and very edgy/ sexy!!!!
    I <3 u Daniel!!! LOL!!
    And Bree, you are an amazing author!!!
    TERRIFIC book, thanks!!!
    10 stars in my head!!!
    <3 Lauren, TeamJacobGirl20 <3

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 473 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 24