Customer Reviews for

The Dark Divine (Dark Divine Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 470 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(262)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing debut!!!

The Dark Divine has been highly anticipated since I first heard of its release... and I must say that it did NOT disappoint! Bree Despain's debut novel has easily made its way onto my favorites of 2009! The story spiraled into a darkly, thrilling romance with twists and...
The Dark Divine has been highly anticipated since I first heard of its release... and I must say that it did NOT disappoint! Bree Despain's debut novel has easily made its way onto my favorites of 2009! The story spiraled into a darkly, thrilling romance with twists and turns that keep you captivated from the very first LINE of the book! Our new author has clearly made an entrance! Through our heroine, Grace Divine, you're with her every step of the way as she tries to understand the mystery behind what had happened to her brother and the disappearance/re-appearance of the boy she loved 3 years prior to the story. The story unraveled in a quick, but not hurried pace, which made this one a real page turner. The story was wrapped up cleanly... but not without some loose ends... but not enough to feel unsatisfied at closure. It just leaves you dying for more! I have not heard whether or not The Dark Divine is the start of a series or if this will be a stand alone, but I could almost bet there will be a follow up! Because I know I won't be the only one wanting to find out what the future has in store for Grace & Daniel!

posted by Stellarx1587 on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

BLah

I don't get why everyone is saying this book is so great. It wasn't. The characters weren't original. Daniel was in my opinion just plain weird, and he's so problemed obviously he needs some mental help. He doesn't even seem to care for Grace. And Jude, I knew there was...
I don't get why everyone is saying this book is so great. It wasn't. The characters weren't original. Daniel was in my opinion just plain weird, and he's so problemed obviously he needs some mental help. He doesn't even seem to care for Grace. And Jude, I knew there was something not right about him the whole time. The ending was awful! It just wasn't anything new to me. You want a fantasy/romance with action? Read Vampire Academy, Twilight, Need,The Morganville Vampires, The Mortal Instruments series!

posted by Anastasia17 on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark & Divine

    Quick & Dirty: A must read debut novel that will give you thrills and chills.

    Opening Sentence: Sacrifice - Blood fills my mouth.

    The Review:

    Despain does an excellent job of showcasing themes and mythology in this beautifully written story. Character motivations and conflicts aren't always what they seem and the story will definitely keep you guessing until the very end. The plot and pacing of the story arc moved along with an interesting telling of the story in sections or events if you will. Grace, the narrator of the story, easily connects with the reader. Her family is very important to her and the more she tries to fix the situation and become what other people want her to be, she begins to second guess her own motivations. I think Grace finds herself in a place where she starts to shoulder the burdens of everyone else and the weight of it becomes unbearable. From the very beginning the reader is teased with the mystery of what happened between Daniel and Jude. Both characters are sympathetic and likable despite their flaws. Daniel is the dark and mysterious love interest with baggage, while Jude is the ever loyal and "good son" - essentially perfect in everyone's eyes. I loved the dynamics between the Divine family and how each member dealt with the events that unfolded. The Dark Divine has a satisfying ending that left room for the sequel without ending on a cliffhanger. I think the book is an easy read with plenty of plot twists. I enjoyed the back story, character development, and sense of danger.

    Notable Scene:

    I felt a bit dizzy as I inspected the at least ten-foot drop down to the other side. Crap, that's high. I was wondering how I was ever going to get down when I lost my balance and stumbled off the pillar. Before I could shriek, something hard and tight wrapped around my arm, wrenching me to a stop a couple of feet from the ground.

    I dangled for a moment, my feet swinging above the frozen earth. I tried to catch my breath before looking up. But I found it even harder to breathe when I saw Daniel kneeling on the top of the pillar, holding me with only one hand. His face completely smooth and calm, not puckered or creased by the strain of my weight.

    FTC Advisory: Egmont USA provided me with an ARC of The Dark Divine. No goody bags, sponsorships, "material connections," or bribes were exchanged for my review. In addition, I don't receive affiliate fees for anything purchased via links from my site. Note: I am a member of Bree's street team contest. I will be holding various contests to giveaway my autographed ARC along with other promotional items that I received.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 15, 2010

    Devinly Weird

    I started this book a few days ago. At first you think "oh did I miss something?" when they bring back a character, but it's the first and hopefully only book in the imaginary series.
    But I will say that it is gripping and hard to put down, even if it does have a dull moment here and there

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Dark Divine

    What happens when you put the pastor's daughter, a bad boy, and a good brother together? You get a story that takes the prodigal son myth and gives it a supernatural spin. Is that a good thing or a bad thing? I think it's pretty creative. Bree Despain gives her own myth/history/story line of the supernatural beings in the book. Now you must be thinking, Well that must be a complicated book! But guess what, it isn't. The author is able to mange that, not make it complicated, and it's understandable. Which is very nice, and easy for readers. The book is fast pasted, is easy to imagine, and a fun read. It's interesting to see how appearances can easily be deceived in this book. I mean one example of this is, everyone outside of Divine family think that the Divine's are a perfect, holy family. But really inside it's become very corrupt and they're having a hard time maintaining there role of a Pastor family. Which shows you shouldn't believe everything you see.

    The book will definitely make readers dying for more, but it isn't a cliffhanger. Also everything that confuses you through the book will be nicely explained at the end, which is perfect. Bree Despain writing style is clear, easy to understand and imagine, and definitely realistic. I give props to her for this being her debut novel, seeing as this book was truly divine.

    The Characters are very life-like and there motives and actions are understandable and very realistic. Though I felt that the emotion in the book was lacking, of course everything that was happening made sense. But when something happen to a character you wouldn't feel what the character would feel. Another thing that annoyed me was one of Grace's personality traits. This might just be me, but I felt that Grace was a bit closed minded. I mean she believed things to easily, and wouldn't change her mind until you practically shove the information in her face. Which made me, as a reader, a bit angry with her. But I think it's also might be very reasonable, seeing as she grew up in a family where she was taught to tell the truth and her family would tell her the truth as well. Which sort of taught her that believing the first thing she heard was the truth. But Grace also doesn't believe in the rumors everyone spreads about her at school, which could make this debatable. If your confused by this last little paragraph, your not alone. I understand what I'm trying to say in my head, but it's not coming out well on blog paper.

    The Last thing that confused me was the whole Gabriel thing. It was explained in the end, but it still left me thinking. If you haven't read the book then your probably going to find this little rant confusing. I understand that she read the letter many times, but does that mean she read it earlier? So when they kept talking about going to see Gabriel, she knew because of the letter. Or she didn't? My oh my!!!

    So now I'm going to talk about Daniel, and how much I loved him. He was very frustrated throughout the book, but as readers you cannot help but fall in love with him. Not much more to say then that.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    The Dark Divine Review

    What happens when you put the pastor's daughter, a bad boy, and a good brother together? You get a story that takes the prodigal son myth and gives it a supernatural spin. Is that a good thing or a bad thing? I think it's pretty creative. Bree Despain gives her own myth/history/story line of the supernatural beings in the book. Now you must be thinking, Well that must be a complicated book! But guess what, it isn't. The author is able to mange that, not make it complicated, and it's understandable. Which is very nice, and easy for readers. The book is fast pasted, is easy to imagine, and a fun read. It's interesting to see how appearances can easily be deceived in this book. I mean one example of this is, everyone outside of Divine family think that the Divine's are a perfect, holy family. But really inside it's become very corrupt and they're having a hard time maintaining there role of a Pastor family. Which shows you shouldn't believe everything you see.

    The book will definitely make readers dying for more, but it isn't a cliffhanger. Also everything that confuses you through the book will be nicely explained at the end, which is perfect. Bree Despain writing style is clear, easy to understand and imagine, and definitely realistic. I give props to her for this being her debut novel, seeing as this book was truly divine.

    The Characters are very life-like and there motives and actions are understandable and very realistic. Though I felt that the emotion in the book was lacking, of course everything that was happening made sense. But when something happen to a character you wouldn't feel what the character would feel. Another thing that annoyed me was one of Grace's personality traits. This might just be me, but I felt that Grace was a bit closed minded. I mean she believed things to easily, and wouldn't change her mind until you practically shove the information in her face. Which made me, as a reader, a bit angry with her. But I think it's also might be very reasonable, seeing as she grew up in a family where she was taught to tell the truth and her family would tell her the truth as well. Which sort of taught her that believing the first thing she heard was the truth. But Grace also doesn't believe in the rumors everyone spreads about her at school, which could make this debatable. If your confused by this last little paragraph, your not alone. I understand what I'm trying to say in my head, but it's not coming out well on blog paper.

    The Last thing that confused me was the whole Gabriel thing. It was explained in the end, but it still left me thinking. If you haven't read the book then your probably going to find this little rant confusing. I understand that she read the letter many times, but does that mean she read it earlier? So when they kept talking about going to see Gabriel, she knew because of the letter. Or she didn't? My oh my!!!

    So now I'm going to talk about Daniel, and how much I loved him. He was very frustrated throughout the book, but as readers you cannot help but fall in love with him. Not much more to say then that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Review from One Book At A Time

    There's a lot of buzz about this book and for good reason! It fits right into the popular subject in teen fiction these days. But, it had more substance that a lot of books I've read. I really identified with Grace for some reason (and I think a lot of readers will). I liked her family dynamics. And Daniel was that elusive "bad" boy we love reading about. Maybe I wasn't reading the signs correctly, but for once I had a hard time figuring out the twists, and I loved that. I kept reading way past when I should have gone to bed because I had to know what happened next. Wonderful new book by a promising new author!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    3.5 stars

    I thought this book was alright. A little predictable in some areas of the story. I kinda guessed early on who Daniel was especially after what happened with baby James. The story was an interesting one, it kept me up late a few days to read what was going to happen next. I only wished that Grace was written a little different. At times she was very naive and said/thought idiotic things but other than that she was an okay character.

    I liked the fact that most of the story has religion in it one way or another (dad's a pastor, goes to some religious school, etc.) and it's not rubbing your face in it completely. Me being in the opposite spectrum and it didn't bother me. So that was good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I loved the Dark Divine and honestly I wasn't so sure I was goin

    I loved the Dark Divine and honestly I wasn't so sure I was going to because the author uses a lot of religious undertones and I don't always like that. However with this, it really added to the story, not only because Grace is a Pastor's daughter and religion is part of who she is, but because the religious mythology was something completely new to me.

    I really liked Grace, she's extremely loyal and sticks very strongly to the things she believes in. She's also incredibly brave even risking her life to save other people. I loved everything about Daniel, from his protectiveness over Grace, to his sense of humor. I wouldn't consider him a bad boy, though I suppose he does fall into that category. I found Daniel to be much more of a wounded soul. I adored the relationship between him and Grace, it isn't rushed or forced on you, but rather has a nice build up and exposes just how well these two young people know each other.

    I didn't always care for Grace's family, besides Jude they all came off rather cliche. Speaking of Jude, I felt that he was a bit underused for having such a strong presences and importance to Grace and the story.

    The novel doesn't really have a bad guy/villain and I found that refreshing. Bad things do happen during the story but no one person is the cause of it and you don't find that very often in YA books.

    The beginning is a bit slow in places, but then it picks up and doesn't really slow down. If you have been putting off reading this, go and pick it up, the ending is amazing and will leave you wanting more, I promise!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE DARK DIVINE- Another young and forbidden love between human and otherworldy being and yet another I don't want to miss.

    The story of THE DARK DIVINE is based on past happenings between protagonist Grace, her brother, Jude, and their friend Daniel.

    Only after a few pages we meet Daniel, who has definitely changed since Grace has seen him the last time. I really like that Grace has to discover a completely different Daniel. He's got a bad boy flair and at the same time is still caring and very vulnerable, just like I like my fantasy male protagonists.

    THE DARK DIVINE has nothing like a love triangle, the story is more about former versus present relationship between the three teenagers and the hostility between Jude and Daniel. And at one point Grace can't avoid choosing one side over the other anymore.

    When it comes to exploring the past, Despain involves letters to provide Grace and the reader with hints to solve the mystery behind the incidents happening in this small town. These letters were totally slowing down my reading pace, not only because they were written in a horribly curly font, but beause their content was not necessary to solve the „mystery“.

    I was worried that I wouldn't like Grace's family or Grace because I always associated her being a pastor's daughter with the image of an always-behaving and a prude little girl, but this female protagonist is religious and rocks!
    Each chapter or paragraph is provided with a short info about time and setting so one can follow the story and characters easily. The story flows well, especially the end was really exciting. You have to expect several surprises!
    The paranormal elements were expected, but really fitting.

    THE VERDICT

    Grace and Daniel convince with their belief in love. Bitter and sweet moments intermingle in times of war between the dark and divine.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful!

    The Dark Divine was absolutely wonderful! I managed to snag a copy from the library, and I¿m so glad that I did! The book really kept me guessing¿ Awesome, awesome read!

    I loved the storyline, the character¿s, the setting. It all blended beautifully into a wonderful story. I really connected with the characters as well. Especially Grace. I could feel her struggle with herself. She wanted to be her own person, but also wanted to please her family. She was a very down to earth, with is a nice change.

    Just when I thought I had Daniel figured out, he threw me for another loop. I was eager to get as much information about him as I could. He turned out to be such a great character!! I also really enjoyed reading about her family. All the characters are well written in this book.

    If you haven¿t read this book yet, you totally should. It¿s a quick, fascinating read that will leave you wanting more. Well, it certainly left me wanting more. I can¿t wait to read the second book in the series, The Lost Saint! Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    The Dark Divine is a really good romance fantasy.

    Grace Divine is the daughter of a pastor. The Divine's are the perfect family, they easily forgive, they do charity work regularly and sit every night at the table and talk about their day and their struggles. One thing they don't talk about is something that happened 3 years prior and is a mystery to Grace of why.

    Bree Despain kept me guessing just about everything throughout the whole book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great story

    I read this book in about four days- very fast for me. The characters are all well written and the story was excellent. It has everything you could possibly want in a book. The romance is sweet. The action is so thrilling. Its just a really fun read. Good luck trying to put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    BookWhisperer Reviews The Dark Divine

    Dark Divine combines a highly spiritually referenced book with the current Werewolf rave that all readers are drooling over. Admittingly this book was a very slow starter. The process of building the story could potentially loose some readers. Although, once the books hits it climax this turns into an action packed rollercoaster throughout the remainder of the story. Grace Divine is a very ordinary character that readers will easy follow and understand. With such a mysterious story that is waiting to be unfolded; many of the other characters are a mystery throughout most of the story. The outward appearance of the Divine family is a normal loving and supporting family. As the story progresses Grace begins to fold that her life has been built on lies and betrayals; that she was once to young and sheltered to have seen. Now as a seventeen year old things are beginning to shine through the lies, and she will soon have to determine if she is strong enough or brave enough to handle the truths. Dark Divine is told by Grace in a present setting, but the flash backs and memories from her childhood allow the reader to see the knowledge that comes with age. Despain has an intensity and charge to this book that shows the mark of true talented writing. I look forward to seeing what the remainder of this series will have to offer. I had a late start on this one, so I am immediately starting my review copy for The Lost Saint be on the lookout for the review soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome, awesome book

    At first, I didn't expect to like this book. The reason is simple: religion plays a huge part in the life of the Divines. Now, don't get me wrong. I'm not slandering religion, being religious myself. But when you find religion in literature, it's usually displayed with substantial amounts of distasteful bigotry and has made me come to dislike any books with religious portrayals. After a while into this book, though, I realized that while religion played a big part in the familial dynamics of the Divines, the book wasn't preachy or stubborn. Grace, the main character, does some things that go against the way of her religion, and she struggles with her decisions. Her father, who is a pastor, is okay with new ideas being brought to him and tries to help anyone in need, regardless of what they do. This is the first book in a while where I could stomach the religion, so that was a plus for me.

    After I got over my forthcomings about religion, the book got a lot better. I was driven to read it so quickly because I needed to know Daniel's secret and what happened between him and Jude, Grace's brother. The inquisitive stage of the book takes up the entire novel - from the very first page to the last. What was going on? What is Daniel? What's going to happen now? Those are the questions I most wondered about as I read. The plot itself isn't that exciting: you could pretty much guess Daniel's secrets from the get-go. But there were plot twists! Not exactly dealing with Daniel himself but... let's just say the "antagonist" is someone you would never expect. I for sure didn't! I totally fell for the red herring Despain threw at me. I accused that guy from the very beginning. So un-predictability? Pretty good in some parts, but pretty predictable in others.

    The characters were believable. I really enjoyed Grace as a protagonist. She still held firm with her beliefs, but she was willing to experiment and try new things - all in the favor of helping someone who she wasn't allowed to see. I'm glad her love - for Daniel and her brother - ran as deep as it did. Daniel was also an enjoyable character: he was mysterious, cynical, and a general bad boy, but he was always so sweet and gentle to Grace when they were alone. I couldn't help but love him, even as I questioned everything about him.

    I also enjoyed that Grace's parents were somewhat around. They - especially her father - played active roles in the book, and I enjoyed reading Grace's interactions with them (even though she didn't get along well with her mom, which is understandable with any teenage girl).

    I thought it was pure genius that nearly everyone we're introduced to has a unique role. Literally. Even characters we only meet for a sentence or so get a somewhat significant role in the book - from Don, to a girl with green hair, to the mysterious Gabriel. Everything interweaved amongst themselves really nicely, and I have to applaud Bree for writing her story the way she did.

    And lastly, the name meanings in this book were interesting. All of the Divine's were given names that reflected God in some way. Daniel's name means "God is my judge" (which makes perfect sense). Jude's name is a bit ironic, depending on the root meaning of the name (it means praise, admired, or thanks, but also to acknowledge and confess man's character) - and Jude is also a brother of James (baby James). I absolutely adore authors who take careful consideration into name meanings and incorporating that

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Good paranormal, but room for improvement

    Daniel is Grace Divine's former neighbor, and he's back in town after a mysterious 3-year absence. Grace's uber-sweet brother Jude used to be Daniel's best friend, but now he shuns him and won't tell Grace why. Grace herself has conflicted feelings about Daniel--he's a rebel and she's a pastor's daughter, yet she's drawn to him. But Daniel is harboring a truckload of secrets, and it doesn't look like even Grace can save him (don't you love puns? This book does).

    There were plenty of elements in The Dark Divine that I appreciated. 1. Grace is an artist, but Daniel's the one with real talent. He wants to be an industrial designer; an artist who crafts the aesthetic appeal of practical objects like phones and vacuums. 2. There are a few neat-o variations on the origin story of a supernatural species we all know very well. 3. The wonderfully scruffy Daniel is genuinely likable, and I melted into a puddle when he started doing heroic, sacrificial things. The romance worked for me, and I wanted Grace and Daniel to get together and for her to help him heal.

    Downsides: 1. Some of the characters have oddly formal speech. Grace's 18-yr-old brother says of their charity work, "We do no more than anyone else" (pg 31). Verily, Jude saith unto them, that they didst do no more than anyone else. Again, Jude saith: "a fortuitous place..." (pg 249). Grace gets in on the act, too: "Daniel is quite proficient" (pg 81). 2. While we're in Grace's POV, there are a few sudden jumps into present tense. 3. Just personal preference, but I'm not so much into YA where one of the big mysteries that carries on for a couple hundred pages is "what is this guy?" This is one of those stories, and it drops anvil-sized hints about Daniel's identity.

    I will say that The Dark Divine gets more exciting toward the end, and that the romance is fun to read, but if this book were a person, it would be a pleasant acquaintance of mine, not a best friend. It's sweet and nice, but not consuming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun Read

    I really enjoyed the story, but too many parts just went on for too long.
    Good characters, good mystery, and sweet forbidden romance.
    The dad's role in the "mystery" was a bit unsettling to me and not very realistic!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Seductive and Tantalizing, Divine, Indeed

    Three years ago Grace Divine's brother Jude came home covered in blood. That same night, Jude's best friend, Daniel, disappeared. Pastor Divine and his wife sent both Grace and her sister away for three weeks and when they returned, the Divines acted as if nothing had ever happened. Three years later, Grace runs into Daniel at school and after a few mysterious and dangerous encounters, Grace decides she needs to discover what happened between Jude and Daniel and what everyone is really hiding.

    The Dark Divine is an engrossing and addictive book. I had trouble putting it down. The mystery is so perfectly weaved into Grace's desires to see Daniel that you can't help but keep turning the pages. The characters are nicely developed and I felt so connected with Grace. Jude comes off as the good-two-shoes type, but that's addressed and Grace even comments on that. April, Grace's best friend, is likable enough, if not annoying, until she starts dating Jude and turns into the worst best friend ever. The minor characters all work well in their roles too, but it's Daniel that really steals the show. He's smart, mysterious, and oh-so sexy. It's easy to see why Grace is so taken with him.

    The overall mystery in The Dark Divine revolves around what happened between Jude and Daniel three years ago and boy does it pay off. I hadn't heard what the big mystery was before so I was so surprised when it all started to come together. Bree Despain has done a fantastic job weaving such a seductive, tantalizing tale together. This is definitely a story you do not want to miss.

    Opening line(s) - From prologueish first page: "Blood fills my mouth. Fire sears my veins." ~ pg. 1

    Favorite line(s): "And in that moment, something-an energy-passed between us. Like the thread that had drawn me to him was now a live wire, a lifeline, that bound us together, and I needed to pull him to safety." ~ pg. 116

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2010

    Clean fun

    Despite the edgy personality of her main character (the wolf), this book is youth approved. It has some stereotypical things that come in all fantasy books, but overall it was a quick interesting read. You won't necessarily remember anything super unique about this story from others like it, but that doesn't discount its interest to the reader. If you like the trendy books spurred on by the Twilight series then you will like this book as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Complicated Romance

    I've been wanting to read The Dark Divine since I first heard about it sometime last year. The cover is striking, eye-catching. The premise is very mysterious. And it's YA (I think we all know by now that I love YA).

    Daniel is the boy who grew up next door to Grace Divine. He was practically part of the Divine family. He even moved in with the Divine's for a while. Then something happened and Daniel had to leave town.

    Grace knew something was up, something had gone terribly wrong, when Daniel left town 3 years ago. No one will talk about whatever it was that had happened. Then Daniel reappears, unrecognizable with his now-black, shaggy hair. Grace had had a crush on Daniel growing up and now those feelings have returned, even stronger than before.

    There's something very mysterious going on and Grace is determined to find out what it is. I was determined to find out what was going on.

    When I first got The Dark Divine, I really didn't know what it was about or what to think. The blurb on the book doesn't really give anything away. I knew it had the dark, bad boy and the girl that was attracted to him. But I didn't know what the guts of the story was really about. And to be quite honest, now that I do know, I'm not going to tell you. I can't tell you because it would ruin the whole experience.

    The Dark Divine is told in first narrative, from Grace's point-of-view. Grace was a little annoying and naïve at times but her perseverance and courage made up for that. Grave is Miss. Goody-Goody. She always does the right thing. Always helping others. Very kind and good-hearted. Despain did a wonderful job of bringing these characters to life. I felt like I really knew Grace; her actions, her emotions, her desires. Daniel, of course, is a mystery throughout most of the book.

    The chapter layout made The Dark Divine easy to follow. Each chapter is titled accordingly and is also broken down by moments of time (present and past).

    Religion plays a big part in The Dark Divine but I did not find it distracting. Grace's father is a church Pastor. Their family have a tight bond and they are the epitome of family values.

    Despain brings romance (complicated at best), suspense, mystery, intrigue and coming-of-age all together in her debut novel. The Dark Divine kept me on the edge of me seat, desperately wanting to know what was going to unfold next. Despain knows how to capture a reader and pull them in with her writing. There were times when I had a fairly good idea on where things were headed. Then there were times when things would happen and take me completely by surprise. I'm definitely looking for more to come in The Lost Saint!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fast Read

    Grace Divine grew up with Daniel and always had a crush on him. Than several bad events led to his leaving town. He didnt show back up for a few years and when Grace sees him again in her art class, she is rude right back to him. She isn't sure if she wants to be angry or something else. When people start dying and disapearing, Grace can't help but wonder if maybe Daniel is somehow doing it. This was a fun and fast paced book. It had a mystery to it that was really exciting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Definite attention getter

    This was definitely a good read. It had me trapped within it's pages and I barely put it down. I couldn't resist being drawn into the story and emotions each character brought forth. This is a MUST READ for any person who enjoys the paranormal. Check this book out and if you like it, I suggested a few others for you below that I loved just as much!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 121 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7