Customer Reviews for

The Dark Divine (Dark Divine Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 469 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(261)

4 Star

(121)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Amazing debut!!!

The Dark Divine has been highly anticipated since I first heard of its release... and I must say that it did NOT disappoint! Bree Despain's debut novel has easily made its way onto my favorites of 2009! The story spiraled into a darkly, thrilling romance with twists and...
The Dark Divine has been highly anticipated since I first heard of its release... and I must say that it did NOT disappoint! Bree Despain's debut novel has easily made its way onto my favorites of 2009! The story spiraled into a darkly, thrilling romance with twists and turns that keep you captivated from the very first LINE of the book! Our new author has clearly made an entrance! Through our heroine, Grace Divine, you're with her every step of the way as she tries to understand the mystery behind what had happened to her brother and the disappearance/re-appearance of the boy she loved 3 years prior to the story. The story unraveled in a quick, but not hurried pace, which made this one a real page turner. The story was wrapped up cleanly... but not without some loose ends... but not enough to feel unsatisfied at closure. It just leaves you dying for more! I have not heard whether or not The Dark Divine is the start of a series or if this will be a stand alone, but I could almost bet there will be a follow up! Because I know I won't be the only one wanting to find out what the future has in store for Grace & Daniel!

posted by Stellarx1587 on December 24, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

BLah

I don't get why everyone is saying this book is so great. It wasn't. The characters weren't original. Daniel was in my opinion just plain weird, and he's so problemed obviously he needs some mental help. He doesn't even seem to care for Grace. And Jude, I knew there was...
I don't get why everyone is saying this book is so great. It wasn't. The characters weren't original. Daniel was in my opinion just plain weird, and he's so problemed obviously he needs some mental help. He doesn't even seem to care for Grace. And Jude, I knew there was something not right about him the whole time. The ending was awful! It just wasn't anything new to me. You want a fantasy/romance with action? Read Vampire Academy, Twilight, Need,The Morganville Vampires, The Mortal Instruments series!

posted by Anastasia17 on January 25, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Ashwick15@gmail.com

    I read this book at my library wjen i was in the seventh grade now im going into the eleventh grade. I like in the middle of nowhere so there is not much to do but read. I came across this book and fell in love with it. When i went back to get the second they didnt have it. After a few years i was able to pick books that would be good in the library. Now we have the second and the third is on its way. Since reading this book i have gotten nine other people to read it. Nnot many people where im at can read well.. i really do wish that these books would be turned into movies. They are ao much better than the twlight books. I can say that to because i have not been able to get past page five in the first book. They are just that bad.

    My favorite part in this book has to be when daniel saved baby james and also the part where grace saved daniel. Becky shouuld have saved jude when grace had saved daniel. It would of saved the drama but then again that would totally just take away the second book. What got me lost in the second book is how grace is so much "stronger" daniel. If she really was so called "stronger" then why did she have to be trained to kill bad things when really she didnt need to do that. Also if she was so strong why didnt she see the weird things happening infront of her eyes. She acted like daniel was not trying to help her. I mean forreal she could have asmked what was going on with daniel. I even saw that something was up. Or how about the time when "jude" was in daniels shower calling grace wouldnt she have smelt him or daniel. Somethings just bug me and even with all the things that bugged me i still love the books. The first is not as good as the second. So if you read book one you just have to read book two. I dont know about book three yet im working on
    Reading it lol. I know though that it is going to be just as good. I love bree despains work <3 :) :p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Really good book

    I checked this bookbout at my library and i also checked out tempest by julie cross and bothbof these books were awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Amazing

    this book was amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    Priceless

    I fell in love witht, this book as soon as i picked it up. The dark divine makes your heart race . I love this bookk and i cant wait o read the 2nd and 3rd!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2012

    what a great book a kinda quick read with lots of supernautral e

    what a great book a kinda quick read with lots of supernautral elements and an engaging love story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Great read

    Dark and delicious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2012

    5 stars

    5 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2012

    Truly Divine

    I was on YouTube when I saw a video about this book. The cover looked beautiful and the plot seemed interesting. It was. I had no problems with any of the characters and I was shocked at the end. Did not see that coming. Over all, The Dark Divine was an amazing novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Loved Loved Loved- Spoiler alert

    The Dark divine series, containing three books total, is honestly my favorite book series of all time. I love romances and this book had romance and my favorite- werewolves.
    I love how Daniel literally cherishes Grace and i loved reading the struggle of Graces thoughts as she came to the sad conclusion that their love can never be. Their love is the only thing that could possibly save Daniel.
    My favorite pages were 214, 304, 287, and the pages when they were up in the tree working on Graces project in art. These pages show their struggle and the difficult decisions ad sacrifces Grace has to make. These pages also showed Graces AND Daniels true feeligs for each other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2012

    I loved this series!

    This is the first book in a great series about a girl named Grace Divine, whose father is a Pastor and mother is a perfectionist. She doesn't have much confidence in herself, but deep down is a very selfless person who wants to help everyone. Especially a certain boy who lived next door with an abusive father. Daniel is gorgeous, wild and broken. Can she fix him? You will have to read all of them to find out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    LOVED IT

    Awesome!!! Cant wait to read the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2012

    Zaqpzlqwsjw!slmfka

    Jls10)@1
    Sz qdaqzjV we tiwpasas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Hohoho i m a santa banannator.

    The drk divine is great but lets talk about me first. I kind smart and generous not to mention way too wide. Um chocolatr rules he world. My house is made of chocolate. For those who dont know alreaady i have a choco cat.harry potter loves the dark divine series. I am random but i dont care because chocolate rules.
    If you dont like choco,
    GET A LIFE.
    I mean, white chocolate is great but if had a girlfriend(which i dont because im a GIRL) i wouldnt give her roses on valentines day. I would give her a chocolate ipad.
    Pike says chocolate is delishious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ! Kitty says chocolate is as good as jello!!
    The best ting evrr is a walking chocolate monkey. But i also like caramel and Chester ( figment of my crazy friends imagination who is jewish and eats dreidels. I swear it true.).
    Hello
    Hello
    Hello
    I dont know why you say goodbye I say hello.
    Blah blah blah.
    Thus post is total crap but so am i. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    DONT BOTHER WATCHING FANTASIA
    The Russian Danc is basically a bunch of tulips doing painful split jumps.
    I love plastic bags. dont you?
    Bob the titan is your freind!! He lives in a fridge
    AHHhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!HELP ME I TURNED INTO A MUSHROOM BY EATING A MUTAT RADIOACTIVE STRAWBERRY AND CATNIP EVERGREEN (THERES THE HUNGER GAMES FOR YOU CAPITAL LOVING FOLKS) ATE ME BECAUSE PEETA BREAD MELLARKY TOLD HER TO!!!!!!!!! SOS!!!!! PLEASE-*sound of someoneeaing a mushroom*
    *silence*


    This post is total crap but so am i. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    Love this book

    Who doesn' t love this! I'm obsessed with this series! I just finished reading it and wow i hav to say,Just Wonderful

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Bree Despain

    I LOVE THIS SERIES!!!! SO FAR I HAVE READ IT 2 TIMES!!!! I RECOMEND READING THIS SERIES! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2012

    The dark divine

    I loved this book from the first time i picked it up to all the other times i have read it... bree is an amazing writer and really cares about her fans... the dark divine is one of the best books that i have ever read and will always be in the top ten of my fave books... everyone should read these books because they are so different from the whole werewolve scene going on now-a-days

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    AMAZING BOOK SERIES

    My friend told me about this book, I read it and fell in LOVE!!!
    It is such a great read!!!! You will love this book. Trusr me!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2012

    Best ever

    I think itwas the best book EVER!!!:) you must read it if u like drama and romance!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Amazing book

    I really did love it... It's very simular to Shiver...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    My fav part

    My fav part of this book is the part were grace says i love u to daniel and the action at the end

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 261 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14