Customer Reviews for

Dark Eden (Dark Eden Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 39 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(23)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Engrossing and Suspenseful!

Dark Eden is as engrossing as it is suspenseful, and it will have you guessing up until the end. The story revolves around a group of 7 teens, all which have crippling phobias. Together, they are sent to a rehabilitation center by their therapist, in an attempt to help ...
Dark Eden is as engrossing as it is suspenseful, and it will have you guessing up until the end. The story revolves around a group of 7 teens, all which have crippling phobias. Together, they are sent to a rehabilitation center by their therapist, in an attempt to help them face their fears. We read the story from Will¿s point of view. I found will to be a very interesting character. I was really able to connect with his character because we have a phobia in common, although mine is not quite to the extent that his is. I enjoyed reading the book through his eyes. The secondary characters were quite interesting as well. The other teens were well developed; I really enjoyed them, and would have enjoyed reading more about them. Each teen had a distinct phobia that set them apart, and I found them all to be interesting. There were a few characters in the book that were really mysterious to me. They are the ones that you will love to hate, mostly Rainsford. While the book was a bit slow in some parts, for me, it was just building the suspense. I just had to know what was going to happen! The book was still very quick paced, and I had it finished in just a few hours time. Toward the end of the book is where we see most of the action, and it was definitely an ending I wasn¿t expecting. Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book. It was definitely a lot different from a lot of the books I have been reading lately, and it was a really nice change of pace.

posted by thereaderbee on November 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dark Eden

This book is way different from something i would normally read. Its a mystery book. Its from the point of view of Will. Seven teenagers go to this place, Dark Eden, where they get "cured" of their acute fears. The writing style threw me off at first, but then i got use...
This book is way different from something i would normally read. Its a mystery book. Its from the point of view of Will. Seven teenagers go to this place, Dark Eden, where they get "cured" of their acute fears. The writing style threw me off at first, but then i got used to it. For most of the book, the chapters were very dull and boring until the end, making me not want to read the book. Even though half the stuff in the book seemed pointless when i read it, there ended up being a point to almost everything that happened. I would recommend this book to someone who wants a short read and likes mysteries.

posted by 17184073 on July 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Engrossing and Suspenseful!

    Dark Eden is as engrossing as it is suspenseful, and it will have you guessing up until the end. The story revolves around a group of 7 teens, all which have crippling phobias. Together, they are sent to a rehabilitation center by their therapist, in an attempt to help them face their fears. We read the story from Will¿s point of view. I found will to be a very interesting character. I was really able to connect with his character because we have a phobia in common, although mine is not quite to the extent that his is. I enjoyed reading the book through his eyes. The secondary characters were quite interesting as well. The other teens were well developed; I really enjoyed them, and would have enjoyed reading more about them. Each teen had a distinct phobia that set them apart, and I found them all to be interesting. There were a few characters in the book that were really mysterious to me. They are the ones that you will love to hate, mostly Rainsford. While the book was a bit slow in some parts, for me, it was just building the suspense. I just had to know what was going to happen! The book was still very quick paced, and I had it finished in just a few hours time. Toward the end of the book is where we see most of the action, and it was definitely an ending I wasn¿t expecting. Overall, I really enjoyed reading this book. It was definitely a lot different from a lot of the books I have been reading lately, and it was a really nice change of pace.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    Original, suspenseful, thrilling! Loved it!

    Everyone has fears, right? Imagine having phobias so debilitating, they prevent you from living a normal life, doing things that most people take for granted. For the seven teens who are sent to Fort Eden (a sort of rehab for people with severe phobias), therapy to has failed them and this is their last chance to be cured.

    The entire story is told from Will Besting's perspective and he is a great main character. Even though Will is quirky, Patrick Carman writes these little details that make the character so endearing and well rounded. I love the way Will depends on his recorder and listens to everything, preferring audio over video, choosing sounds over words. While we don't spend a lot of time with the other characters, we get to know them through Will.

    Carman does an excellent job of building suspense throughout the book. I was on the edge of my seat to know what all the character's fears were and exactly how Rainsford was curing them. I'm happy to say that I was a good girl and restrained myself from peeking at the end of the book while still in the middle of it and I was rewarded with the cool way the story unfolded. I don't want to give too much away because experiencing Dark Eden's mystery as it unfolds is a huge part of enjoying the novel.

    Dark Eden is original, thrilling, suspenseful and an all around enjoyable read. While I recommend it for anyone who likes a really good YA thriller, I especially recommend it for reluctant readers. Another thing I love about this book, no cliffhanger! This book could totally stand alone even though I would love another book in the series.

    Content: Kissing, some scary imagery.

    My Rating: Really Good!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Great twists and turns

    I liked this book! ohhhh the twists. One after another it just came at you. The idea of the plot is interesting by itself. A bunch of teens at an institution trying to deal with their own fears. Some of their fears were horrifying and made you want to cringe when you read through them. I liked how the book was divided up into their own fears (with the appropriate pictures to accompany it). The plot was good, the twists were appropriately placed and the overall mood of the story was dark and suitable. The characters were all right, I can’t really say they were likable. It was more like they were just there for your reading pleasure. I liked the explanation and the back story as to why this institution was created. I wasn’t expecting that AT ALL. It’s creative, and different and puts an interesting spin on this story. The ending leaves you wondering what’s going to happen but it keeps you curious and wanting more. The second book is out already and I’m going to grab it. The ending of Dark Eden was good enough to get me curious as to what was going to happen next. YA readers would enjoy this one. Especially fans who want a thriller.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting premise

    Will Besting has a crippling fear of being around groups of people. When his psychiatrist decides she can no longer help him, he is sent to Fort Eden. It is here that he and six other kids his age, also with crippling phobias, will meet with Dr. Rainsford who guarantees to cure them all of what ails them. Upon arrival at Fort Eden, Will purposely hangs back, distancing himself from the group, despite his immediate attraction to Marisa. He feels something is off here, and he does not want to be stuck in a house with a group of people he doesn't know. Will sneaks away and finds himself hiding out in a bunker. It is here that he discovers a room filled with monitors. On these monitors Will is able to watch the others as they socialize, and eventually, as they go one by one into a mysterious room to be cured.

    What Will discovers is that each of them is forced to face their fears head on, and Will is able to watch their fears played out on the screen before him. The "cure" definitely seems to have a negative side effect, as each kid develops an ailment that they didn't have before their procedure. The more Will witnesses in his hideout, the more desperate he is to get out of there before they find him. The only problem is, that may not be possible.

    The premise to this book definitely intrigued me; it seemed like it was right up my ally. In the end, I thought the book was just okay. It starts out kind of slow, but it definitely picks up by the middle.The writing is fluid, and I especially liked the cast of characters. Each one of them brought their own special dynamic to the story that made it feel real. My problem with the book is that it felt like it barely scratched the surface. There is so much material here and I really wanted to immerse myself in it, but I never got the opportunity. I could go on and on about everything I felt could have been expanded on, but that would ruin the book for others, so I'll just leave it at that. If you like a good mystery, especially one with an interesting premise, definitely check this one out.

    On a side note, there is an iPhone/iPad app that you can download that lets you experience Fort Eden and what Will discovers. You can download episodes which contain maps, videos and audio files. I downloaded it, hoping I would find information, and maybe more back story that wasn't in the book. Unfortunately, that wasn't what is contained in the app, but hearing Will's voice and seeing the characters in action in the small little videos is definitely an added plus. If you enjoy the book, I would recommend the app.

    (Review based on an advanced reader's copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2011

    Best book ever. Fear Is The Cure

    This is the best book to have. For any age excpet for the younger kids. This will keep you wanting to know what happens. And I know what I'm talking about. The main char. is Will Besting. He is the one telling the story. And the other 6 children. They all have to go to a creepy place. They are all trying to get cured. From.... their fear. Not going tell the rest. Leaving it for you to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Really enjoyed!

    I had no idea what to expect when I started reading Dark Eden. I ended up really enjoying it! The main character, Will Besting, goes to Fort Eden with six other teenagers who all suffer from different fears. Their fears all all extreme (I would consider them to be phobias), and apparently they can be "cured" at Fort Eden.

    It's interesting discovering what each of the six kids fear, and why the fear began in the first place. I liked seeing the characters develop as the book continued. The book did start off a bit slower than I would have liked -- Will isolated himself a lot, which didn't provide much dialogue -- but this worked for the plot, and I understand why the author had to do that for the story to work. I liked how everything going on at Fort Eden was a huge master plan that we don't find out the reasons behind until the end.

    And the end ... I really wasn't expecting it! I don't want to give anything away, but there's a big psychological twist that I loved, and the ending was cool. It was the type of ending that left me thinking about the book after I'd finished reading -- thinking about how far people will go to get what they want, despite the consequences.

    I definitely recommend picking up Dark Eden when it comes out in November. There's also going to be an app that goes with the book (Or that you can use instead of reading? Not sure how it will work) so I'm curious to hear people's opinions of the app once it's released.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Dark and rich with suspense!

    Dark Eden is one of the most exciting and thrilling reads of the year. I enjoyed the simplistic writing style and the dark and mysterious essence. Patrick Carman knows how to grab the reader in an intense and interesting story about teens who have phobias and a cure they'll never forget.

    I absolutely loved the main character Will Besting. His voice was quirky and cute, but definitely serious and his phobia wasn't taken lightly. I surprisingly liked the seven teens involved in the cure. I feel that it wasn't too far fetched to relate to each on different levels. They have these fears and phobias of things I've never been concerned about and it brings to light that this happens and its serious.

    I couldn't help but to feel as if I was Will and trying to survive in this creepy place in the middle of nowhere. One of the best things about Dark Eden is the psychological aspect, which was realistic. Everything was written with precision and detail that seeps under your skin and haunts you - in a good way!

    There were a few things that made me wonder if the book would have been that much better if it was laid out differently. I think if the final chapters were thrown in between the main storyline it could've taken it one step further with suspense and mystery. It depends on the reader, but some will really enjoy the crazy ending and some will side with me on this one.

    Overall, this book is a very mysterious read and I haven't come across a novel quite like it. I think the intensity made it creepy, but awesome. I loved every moment of this book and its still with me. The final chapters boggled my mind - definitely a read you'll never forget!

    Review based on ARC

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1