Customer Reviews for

The Dark Enquiry (Lady Julia Grey Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The story goes on!

    Julia and Brisbane are a mesmerizing and unusual couple. This series stays fresh and unique with every book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Will not disappoint fans of this series!

    #5 in Raybourn's series did not disappoint! Though in my opinion the mystery itself was a bit less enthralling than some of the other books, that did not take away from my enjoyment one bit. In fact, in this one the personal story of Brisbane is much stronger than some of the others and of course the growth and trials of their relationship are fantastic. And as always the eccentric March family and Julia's pets always add to the fun.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2012

    Deanna Raybourn strikes again!

    Lady Julia Brisbane and her husband Nicholas Brisbane are at it again! Brisbane is working on a new case and it involves the oldest March sibling, Lord Bellmont. He's gotten himself into some trouble and has come to Brisbane to demand his help. Julia is unaware until she spots them together and Brisbane tries to pack her off to the country. She disguises herself as a man and follows him to the Spiritual Club where she watches the medium at the seance die. Blackmail, more murder, and espionage are added to the mix to make it a very suspenseful and enjoyable read.

    It's the fifth book in the Lady Julia Grey series and it does not disappoint. You would think that the series would become slightly repetitive and stale, yet Ms. Raybourn has done a great job at keeping it fresh. There are some fantastic twists in this book. You never see them coming! Plus I feel there is more humor in this book. I found myself chuckling out loud at times. And the chemistry between Brisbane and Lady Julia is still quite explosive. Besides laughing, I also found my self getting slightly emotional. Plus by the way the book ended, there is surely a sixth Lady Julia book in the making. I am looking forward to finding out what new adventures and cases the two will face next!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The latest Lady Grey now Brisbane late Victorian mystery is a fascinating tale

    After taking the Dark Road to Darjeeling, Nicholas Brisbane and Lady Julia Grey marry in London. Whereas she wants to be his detecting partner, he wants her safe. However, he knows he must walk carefully or his brave wife will hang up a detective shingle of her own.

    Julia's prim and proper sibling Lord Bellmont hires his new brother-in-law to help him with a mess that he demands a pledge of silence from Nicholas. Julia knows her sibling is in trouble and will not sit on the sidelines. The inquiry leads to Madame Seraphine at the Ghost Club and from there into the newspapers. As the newlyweds argue over Lady Julia's role, the Brisbane pair and their client are in trouble as someone begins to kill to keep a dark secret hidden.

    The latest Lady Grey now Brisbane late Victorian mystery (see Silent in the Sanctuary, Silent on the Moor) is a fascinating tale that breaks gender lines for that time and place. The story line starts a bit slow as the heroine pontificates, but once her brother seeks assistance, the plot accelerates into a fast-paced action-packed historical thriller as the case turns deadly. Readers will enjoy the merging of detecting properly as the two sleuths in love work on their dysfunctional professional relationship which impacts their personal relationship.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Lady Grey

    I love these stories staring Lady Grey. I wish i had read the first story that introduced her first, because i could have seen her evolution. Unfortunately i started inthe middle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 25, 2012

    Eagerly Anticipated & NOT Dissapointed

    I particularly enjoyed the development of Brisbane's character in this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Very nice

    I really enjoy this series with the sense of humor and love between the characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2