Customer Reviews for

Dark Fire (Matthew Shardlake Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2011

    FICTIONAL SUSPENCE

    Im facinated by the tudor period. This was a special treat to add mystery and suspence to a time period that was filled with so many un-certainties. It was a most enjoyable read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2007

    Brilliant

    The 2nd book in the Matthew Shardlake novels. This one too is a masterpiece. It is every bit as historicaly accurate and suspense filled as the first, the third is Sovereign.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2005

    Excellent Tudor Whodunnit!

    From start to finish this was a gripping, intense page-turner. I couldn't put it down. The climax at the end was wonderful. This novel also contains some very interesting historical facts about lawyers and alchemists and people in the 16th century that I was unaware of. I love Matthew's viewpoint and also the irreverant and rough Barak, he made me laugh and lightened the sometimes grim tone of the novel. I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Epsilon

    Followed her.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Infinity &psi

    She spread her wings happliy, and nuzzled him before flying off. ((DRAGONET DUE DATE- APRIL 26TH))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Wonderful read

    Great characterz great storyline keeps you glued to the book dont expect anything about henry tudor though this book its not about him just a historical timeframe

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    Matthew Shardlake may be in over his head

    Dark Fire really grabs you right from the beginning and doesn't let you go until the last page; it's even better than his first Matthew Shardlake story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Greek Fire, Devils Breath

    Reminiscent of London by Edward Rutherford with the detail to historical settings and mannerisms yet, this book is much more playful and easier to read through. The characters are so much fun and easy to fall in love with. The story is weaved so brilliantly it had me second guessing what I always thought the end to be, and did not disappoint me when I did reach the end. I had a hard time putting this book down and only wish it would not end. The escape into historical London, with both lovable villains and rough heroes was a fantastic delight. I wasn't entirely sure who I was voting for by the end, but really loved the journey of the tale. I love historical fiction and fantasy and this book was able to capture both, with the setting and people & add a fantastical substance as the main plot, without compromising excitement, enjoyment, and detail. Highly recommended for a brief escape from the current world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2009

    Too boring

    I just couldn't get into this book. I read the first 125 pages or so, but it just didn't draw me in. It seemed like a science fiction novel, given the search for this incredibly destructive material. The characters were believable, but the story just dragged too much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great Read

    It took a little bit to get into this one then Dissolution. Once I got hooked it ws impossible to put the book done and I read 250 pages in a day and a half.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2