Customer Reviews for

Dark Flame (Immortals Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 1344 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(704)

4 Star

(328)

3 Star

(193)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Synopsis...since there isnt one listed yet

Ever is helping her friend Haven transition into life as an immortal. But with Haven drunk on her new powers and carelessly putting them all at risk, their friendship becomes more and more strained. At the same time, Ever delves deeper into magick to get control over he...
Ever is helping her friend Haven transition into life as an immortal. But with Haven drunk on her new powers and carelessly putting them all at risk, their friendship becomes more and more strained. At the same time, Ever delves deeper into magick to get control over her enemy Roman and free Damen from his power. But when the spell she casts on Roman backfires, she's bound to her deadliest enemy. Frantic to reverse the spell the moment the moon enters a new phase, she finds her efforts are fruitless-there's a strange, foreign pulse coursing through her, one that propels her toward Roman. Desperate to break free of the curse before Damen discovers what she's done, she turns to Jude and delves deeper into dark magick, ultimately risking everything she knows and loves- including her beloved Damen.

posted by acsimps on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Decent start that has dragged out to a boring and sad point...

I picked up a couple of books from a stores 50% off rack. Evermore was one of the them..I liked it. It was ok for what it was, I didn't expect very much. I liked it well enough to go buy the second and was still happy and looking forward to number 3...major let down. Ma...
I picked up a couple of books from a stores 50% off rack. Evermore was one of the them..I liked it. It was ok for what it was, I didn't expect very much. I liked it well enough to go buy the second and was still happy and looking forward to number 3...major let down. Made me question if I want to bother with 4 and get more annoyed then I already am with this series. There was a great idea here and a sweet romance that has taken the wrong turn and left the reader wanting some thing more, some thing better. Now that I see this whole garbage with Roman, who I don't like at all, and Haven being made immortal and acting stupid? I think this is where I get step off the teenager platform and hop the train to adult.

There was also another book I picked up at the same time and while it won't knock your socks off, I found it a much better read, a fun time and kept me wanting more. I still want more...
The Vampire Academy Series...

posted by 3878813 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent start that has dragged out to a boring and sad point...

    I picked up a couple of books from a stores 50% off rack. Evermore was one of the them..I liked it. It was ok for what it was, I didn't expect very much. I liked it well enough to go buy the second and was still happy and looking forward to number 3...major let down. Made me question if I want to bother with 4 and get more annoyed then I already am with this series. There was a great idea here and a sweet romance that has taken the wrong turn and left the reader wanting some thing more, some thing better. Now that I see this whole garbage with Roman, who I don't like at all, and Haven being made immortal and acting stupid? I think this is where I get step off the teenager platform and hop the train to adult.

    There was also another book I picked up at the same time and while it won't knock your socks off, I found it a much better read, a fun time and kept me wanting more. I still want more...
    The Vampire Academy Series...

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    good...but getting old...

    i fell in LOVE with Evermore. i read it 5 times and each time loved it even more than the time before. but blue moon and shadowland, i feel like i have to force myself to read them...i kinda want Dark Flame to be the last in the Immortal Series because it feels like Alyson's just dragging them outt. :S

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Ehh, not really.

    I have read the whole series so far, and to tell you the truth I am not really looking forward to this. Evermore was really good, blue moon was good, but Summerland was not all that great. I find the series a tad repetitive, always the same problem. A lot of the things Ever does just makes me angry. I think she has become less intelligent as the series progressed. And of course she is going to fall for Roman, I did not predict that at all!(sarcastic)I will probably finish this one just to see what happens, but that should tell you that I did not think it was a complete waste of time; it had its moments that I was interested.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    Great book to keep you interested.. and thats it

    This whole series is amazing,the story was creative and very interesting...but there are alot of un awnsered questions and the ending is terrible. you read book after book and it really captures you and you can really feel for the characters.. but throughout the books the author just creates problem after problem and by the end of the book only a few of your questions are awnserd. you are left wondering what happend to alot of the characters, and it almost seems like the book ended because the author just got tired of writing..

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    review taken from One Book At A Time http://onebooktime.blogspot.com

    If you've made it this far in this series, I don't think you'll be surprised by any of the actions that take place except maybe the ending. I was afraid it was going to be the same old things again. Ever does spend most of the book acting as if she doesn't need anybodies help. But, in the end she actually surprised me and acted completely unselfishly. Although, I think if she would have told someone what she was doing instead of once again acting on her own the outcome could have been much different (but then again we likely wouldn't have two more books to look forward to).

    I do have to say that Haven drove me crazy in this book. Her attitude reminded me a lot of when Drina was in the picture, but so much worse. She's the obnoxious friend who thinks everyone is out to get her and she's always right. I did think the twins get some closure in this one, but not really sure what their final purpose in the story might be. I still love Damen, but I'm beginning to think he is way to forgiving. I sometimes think Ever needs someone to put her in her place.

    Overall, the events are interesting. I don't think there's any firm closure on anything. But, you can tell the story is reaching it's peek. I'll be looking for the next one when the library gets it in (although I'm sure I will be the one to request it lol).

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I hope it is better than the first 3.

    Ok as much as i love the series...Ever needs to grow a brain. I am so sick of her screwing up. Just once i want her to be smart. The story is good but as i said, Ever needs to quit being stupid.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Noo

    I did not like this book, it was the WORST book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Flame

    Yep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Freak21

    I absolutley HATED the twilight series but i like the immortals execept for Shadowland

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    Ommmyyyyyyygoodnessss

    This girl is sime freking dummmm! Its soo annoyingg reallly

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    I can't deny the oxymoron love of Dark Flame.

    Another beautiful novel by Alyson Noel. Her characters never fall flat, and her writing never fails to entertain. I'm looking forward to continuing this series.

    I also wanted to give two-thumbs up to Katie Schorr, the narrator of Dark Flame audio. Her voice is quite soothing. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A good read.

    Well, I must say I was not expecting that ending. That's always a good thing right; Having a twist you didn't really expect. That being said I was a little ehhh with the beginning. It just seems as if the characters constantly deal with the same issues. I'm not saying I didn't like the book, because I did. It was a good book, just not my favorite in the series.

    I never really liked Haven, and I did find her annoying through out the book. When you get about half way through it does seem to pick up a bit, at least for me. I found myself wanting to keep reading to find out what was going on within Ever. Damen, is his sweet, sweet self of course, sometimes you want to hit Ever for being so cruel towards him. He is the best boyfriend in the entire world! Now, Jude... I found myself liking him a bit more in this installment, such a down to earth kind of guy. Also, Roman we know he's the enemy, the person you should hate, but by the end of the book I was feeling sympathetic towards him, semi-understanding him.

    Though the ending was good, and sets up perfectly for the next book in the series, I didn't feel a huge "suspense" feeling for this book. You know how some books you're reading and it builds and builds and then you're like 'omg what's going to happen?!' ... well I didn't feel that way about Dark Flame, though I did enjoy it. It's a dark book, with love, magic, torment, and understanding. I'm curious to see where she takes it in book #6: Night Star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    What

    Haven gets on my nerves and doesn't take anything serious and Ever thinks she's always doing the right thing knowing she's not and screws everything no matter how hard she's trying not to do anything. Sometimes I think Ever should have let Haven die.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2011

    These books

    Have become annoying. Its the same story for every book. Really its all about her trying to get the antidote so she can have sex with her boyfriend. So its a waste of time. Sure it keeps u entertained, the reason i still gave it 3 stars but if i wasnt OCD about finishing every series that i start these books would be history.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Haven

    She pisses me off. She always has, I'm not even to the hundreth page and I already wish Ever had let her die. I hope Roman gets rid of her, and quick.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Teens will love this book

    This book is a little better then the others, however, I feel the author is kinda dragging out this series a bit. There is still alot of unnecessary things and Ever seems to think she is a genius. What she doesn't realize is that the people she's dealing with are hundreds of yrs old and have been around the block hundreds of times and are more experience and much wiser then she. She blows that off like she is so intellegent and can figure things out all alone. Which if you read these books obviously she cant. I do like the plot of an immortal that is not a vampire or something along those lines and hope more of that history is revealed. I think that is what keeps me interested. Plus I like the fact that she dabbled a little with the magick involved with the story. I also like this Jade that was introduced in the previous book. He seems wise beyond his yrs and a honorable kind of guy. Also, I'm not one to start a series and not finish it unless its really bad or I find it a little to off the wall if you will. The story does have its lure I can see for teen's. Basically I just want to see what happens and if it gets any better and if Jade has a chance at all.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    HAVEN'T READ THE BOOK YET!!!!!

    I like the Immortals series, I really do, but there are those things that I dont like about it. And so far from the reviews I have read about this book I don't know if I want to finish this series (BUT IM PRETTY SURE I WILL). That saying I get right to what I don;t like about the series: 1)EVER: She has this HABIT of MAKING MISTAKES and no one seems to care! She goes off and make it able for Damen and her not to be able to get all physical with each other and if they do he dies (GOOD JOB WITH THAT ONE EVER) 2)STORY LINE: When will Ever get the antidote for the antidote for her stupid judgment decisions? I mean really how many books is this that they are looking for this stupid antidote. Alyson Noel knows hoe to drag out a story line she should become a Soap Opera writer (they have a habit out of doing that). 3)Sooo before they can solve one of Ever's many problems GUESS WHAT? she causes another problem BRAVO EVER!!! IM SOOOO PROUD OF YOU!

    That is all I got to say about the book sereies..BUT i LIKE THE SERIES AND CANT WAIT TO READ IT!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    Maybe the Next One...

    Ever's best friend, Haven, is now an Immortal. Ever hopes that she will be able to learn how to not become engulfed by all her new powers, but Haven loves the new her and doesn't understand why Ever cautions her to stay away from Roman. On top of "loosing" her friend to her enemy, Ever also is still unable to "touch" Damen. In an attempt to keep Roman at a distant, Ever preforms a binding spell that completely backfires on her. She suddenly finds herself attracted to Roman, and not in a friendly way, but in an obsessive can't-live-without-him way. Ever carries this 'burden' alone, refusing to tell anyone, including Damen. She even turns to Summerland just to feel normal again, as normal as an Immortal can feel, but finds only more questions.

    In an unlikely place, Ever is able to turn to Jude. She also finds herself soon questioning Ava and her motives. Throughout the book Ever finds her self in desperate situations and making desperate choices. While trying to protect herself she also tries to protect those she loves, but finds she can no longer do it alone.

    While this installment of The Immortals was good it was not as good as the previous books. I was continuously frustrated with Ever and the choices she made. I was at times screaming at the book yelling at her to tell Damen what is going on. I couldn't understand why she wouldn't just talk to Damen or anyone else for that matter. It started to become a little annoying, reading her inner thoughts without action. Whether this was done on purpose, I will have to wait for the next installment, Night Star.

    I gave this book 3 out of 5 stars more because of the plot line. While Alyson Noel did an amazing job at the writing style, there were too many time where the plot itself seemed to drag on. I feel like the book itself could have been compressed and made much shorter if some of the unnecessary plot points were taken out, as it just seemed to repeat itself. I do hope that in the next installment Ever's character become more adult and more plot is developed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 29, 2010

    different kind of good :)

    i enjoyed reading dark flame immortals series has been different most new paranormal crap comin out these days all kind of seem the same lol just my opinion :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2010

    I was disappointed

    i was all pumped for this and i thought "Hey! maybe Ever wont be so dumb in this book!" and i guess she wasn't as stupid but she still did some things that bugged the crap out of me. The whole book kinda felt like a wast of time... I mean don't get me wrong i love the evermore series! it was just i don't know i hated the ending and now Haven just pisses me off so much! god i hope the next book is better

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 193 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10