Customer Reviews for

Dark Flame (Immortals Series #4)

Average Rating 4
( 1343 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(704)

4 Star

(327)

3 Star

(193)

2 Star

(52)

1 Star

(67)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

Synopsis...since there isnt one listed yet

Ever is helping her friend Haven transition into life as an immortal. But with Haven drunk on her new powers and carelessly putting them all at risk, their friendship becomes more and more strained. At the same time, Ever delves deeper into magick to get control over he...
Ever is helping her friend Haven transition into life as an immortal. But with Haven drunk on her new powers and carelessly putting them all at risk, their friendship becomes more and more strained. At the same time, Ever delves deeper into magick to get control over her enemy Roman and free Damen from his power. But when the spell she casts on Roman backfires, she's bound to her deadliest enemy. Frantic to reverse the spell the moment the moon enters a new phase, she finds her efforts are fruitless-there's a strange, foreign pulse coursing through her, one that propels her toward Roman. Desperate to break free of the curse before Damen discovers what she's done, she turns to Jude and delves deeper into dark magick, ultimately risking everything she knows and loves- including her beloved Damen.

posted by acsimps on January 28, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Decent start that has dragged out to a boring and sad point...

I picked up a couple of books from a stores 50% off rack. Evermore was one of the them..I liked it. It was ok for what it was, I didn't expect very much. I liked it well enough to go buy the second and was still happy and looking forward to number 3...major let down. Ma...
I picked up a couple of books from a stores 50% off rack. Evermore was one of the them..I liked it. It was ok for what it was, I didn't expect very much. I liked it well enough to go buy the second and was still happy and looking forward to number 3...major let down. Made me question if I want to bother with 4 and get more annoyed then I already am with this series. There was a great idea here and a sweet romance that has taken the wrong turn and left the reader wanting some thing more, some thing better. Now that I see this whole garbage with Roman, who I don't like at all, and Haven being made immortal and acting stupid? I think this is where I get step off the teenager platform and hop the train to adult.

There was also another book I picked up at the same time and while it won't knock your socks off, I found it a much better read, a fun time and kept me wanting more. I still want more...
The Vampire Academy Series...

posted by 3878813 on June 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 704 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36
  • Posted January 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Synopsis...since there isnt one listed yet

    Ever is helping her friend Haven transition into life as an immortal. But with Haven drunk on her new powers and carelessly putting them all at risk, their friendship becomes more and more strained. At the same time, Ever delves deeper into magick to get control over her enemy Roman and free Damen from his power. But when the spell she casts on Roman backfires, she's bound to her deadliest enemy. Frantic to reverse the spell the moment the moon enters a new phase, she finds her efforts are fruitless-there's a strange, foreign pulse coursing through her, one that propels her toward Roman. Desperate to break free of the curse before Damen discovers what she's done, she turns to Jude and delves deeper into dark magick, ultimately risking everything she knows and loves- including her beloved Damen.

    31 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    READ ME! DONT READ ME?... What the hell is the matter with Jude. Darn! Ever was so so close to the antidote to the antidote.

    First of all people... This aint no ordinary book, there's so many twists. You never know what will happen next. I thought 'Hmm, i sure hope Ever can be with Damien again', but nooooo. (Jude): A boy who is supposeably Ever's reincarnated soulmate, stuck in a love traingle between himself, his endearing love Ever Bloom, and Damien. This part is at the very end. Last chapter specifically... Roman, (Bad Boy!) lol, Stranger Danger. He wanted to she Drina, where she went when Ever killed her, well not Kill Kill... Ever hit her main chakra and Drina was sent to the Shadowlands for all eternity. The eternal hell of Darkness. Thats what i call it. I'd rather go to Summerland, where i could manifest a damn cheesebuger and a rootbeer float and not gain weight. Well back to the topic. Where was i, oh yea, Ever? Ever sees the good in people when others may not, she saw the good in Roman. See, the reason he was so you know, A be-otch... was because his mother died giving birth to him, his father was so defistated, angry, and blamed the wrong person for his wife's death. He blamed Roman, abused him since he was a little kid, practically out of the womb. So that's why he was so cold hearted, being raised in that enviornment is'nt healthy what so ever. Ever thought if maybe she took him to go see Drina, he would give her the antidote to the antidote. He went to the Shadowlands and saw, how awfully dark $ quiet it is. 'Is this where Drina has been all this time', he say's. Ever Nods. Here comes Judes, ugh! i was so mad, i was yelling. To what excactly?, i keep forgetting its just a book, but no odinary book. So, in comes Jude thinking 'Oh, ima be all macho and save Ever from this evil prick', he jumped on Roman, (This is the part where i started yelling). lol. Ever had told Jude about The Immortals and that they have vulnerable spots, AKA: Chakras. Jude aimed straight for it. Killed him instantly, sent him to the Shadowlands with his love Drina. There was nothing left of Roman but his ashes and the clothes he was wearing. Ok, im gonna admit i felt for the guy, i even shed one tear. But i also felt for Ever $ Damien. Jude destroyed the Antidote to the Antidote, along with Damien's and Ever's life, sort of. Ever thought he did it on purpose to keep her away from Damien, she thought he was jealous because she chose Damien, Again. For the past 6 centries. But he was only trying to protect her, he's always been and always will. And Damien cant come between what him and Ever have, even if that means him and Ever will never be together.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Wow, you guys...

    I think you readers really dont understand how this book goes and the stresses involved. Be Ever for a day. See how stupid YOU act. I love Ever, and this series completely!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    WoW!!!! Love the series!

    I came across the series just needing another book to read. I love the characters. . .I can't wait to read this book! 2 1/2 more wks. I love the characters: Ever's amazing with out knowing it-but extremely impatient. Damen so focused and in love with Ever-his yearning and desire for her is almost palpable & when he has to stay away from Ever extremely painful. Romy & Rayne (the twins)-Romy is so sweet and nice, patient and lovable, she knows how to sugarcote things. Rayne is direct & straight to the point, bluntly honest. She doesn't know how to express her feelings where Ever is concerned. There are so many times where she seems to really not like Ever, but in smidgens of moments she shows that she does care; kind of like a frienemy. Haven is a pain the the butt. She's such a poser, her individuality is soo lost, she doesn't really know who she is. She tries so hard to be the star of her own group, she is always getting into trouble, that Ever & Damen have to get her out of. She is soo easily swoon by the wrong people. Jude, well, his character is freshly new, I am unsure of him still; Alyson Noel did a great job leaving him as unfinished business for Ever! I don't believe that he is one of the bad guys, not yet anyway! Roman, is a very dangerous bad! He is a poisoned apple, a spiked punch, gorgeous & delicious on the outside, but rotten on the inside. I am still unsure what drives him to be the thorn in Ever & Damen's side. In Blue Moon & Shadowland, I thought his motives were one thing, but I am still left daunted! I think he just wants to hurt Ever & Damen, just b/c they are happy and he isn't, but again, still questionable. Drina, was a typical jealouse woman drunk with power! Her life ended as it began in Evermore. Miles & Sabine are important in Ever's life, but kind of like fixtures in a story, there just to add ironic issues for Ever, kinda like-"as if what is going on isn't enough, now. . . " Stacia, Honor, & Craig are the typical high school bullies that are powerfully annoying in a group, but harmless when separated, with their own feebile agendas! Ava seemed to be interested in helping Ever, until she broke her promise. Not even I trust her, but there is something more, she tried to explain. Alyson Noel did a wonderful job with all the characters, in all the books. I felt what they felt, was surprised at how I actually jumped in suspensful and surprising events. I was cheering Ever on, gasping with everyone, screaming Nooo!, when Ever was about to make a mistake, along with everyone else. Just as confused and unsure when Ever had to decide between Haven's life and fixing the dilemma her and Damen face. I love it, love it, love it!!!!! It has everything I could ask for. I read all three books in 1 wk. I couldn't put them down. I vowed to catch up to all of them before Dark Flame would be released and now, I can't wait for Dark Flame. I recommend this series!!! I REALLY DO! ENJOY!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I believe Dark Flame will be Alyson Noel's most seductive book in the Immortals series.

    The way the summary sounds is very seductive and very interesting. Interesting may not be the word,I believe luring is the right word. Dark Flame will probably be the best book in the series.I am very curios to know if Ever will ever give up and do something that she should be doing with Damen instead with Roman. Looking foward to reading the 4th book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome!

    I loved this book begining to end. I recommend this to anyone who loves the twilight series. Hope you like this book as much as I did.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    super young adult fantasy

    With the new power of being an Immortal, Haven behaves like a child with a new toy. Her conversion places Haven and her friend Ever in strife as the former wants to irresponsibly show off her nouveau skills while the latter wants her to conceal them for fear of what exposure will cause to the Immortals.

    Ever also tries to liberate Damen from her enemy Roman's control. She attempts a very dark magical spell to free her eternal beloved from the curse. However, instead of unbinding Damen from Roman, her incantation binds her to her adversary. As Ever struggles to keep free from what she wrought onto herself, she pleads with Jude to help her as she risks all she cherishes; on the other hand Roman gleefully turns on the heat to bring the enervated female Evermore under his thumb.

    The fourth Immortals young adult fantasy is a strong entry in a powerful series (see Shadowland and Blue Moon) although the heroine is not quite as feisty as she has been; part of that is psychological as she knows she erred. Fans of the saga will enjoy Ever's latest adventure as she struggles to avoid surrendering her Immortal soul to the Dark Flame of her most loathed foe for ever more.

    Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Immortals are back people! =D

    OMYGOSH! I can't wait for this book to come out! I found out this series from my friend Amanda and love it from the start. Immortal series has to be one of my top ten books =D. So this book is about how Ever is helping her friend Haven transition her life as an immortal and at the same time she is delves deeper into magick to get control over her enemy Roman and free Damen from his power. When she casts a spell on Roman it backfires and now she is drawn to Roman. She turns to Jude for help and starts to risk everything she knows and loves- including her beloved Damen. O= I can't wait!!! I really hope this answers my questions I had at the ending of Shadowlands =D.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 27, 2014

    Another wonderful book I couldn't put down till it was completel

    Another wonderful book I couldn't put down till it was completely read. Wonderful!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    Love love love

    Love love love

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Immortals

    Best book I have ever read except for Divergent .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    :)

    Im batman

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Bios

    Post bios here.. ill post mine a bit later

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Such an amazing series!!!!!!!!!!

    I love this series. I can picure myself as Ever and my boyfriend as Damen. I love this series i want you to write more.....plz.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Flame

    Ice?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    ZeeReviewer*

    I saw this book in my class and decided to read it. I could have never chosen anything as amazing as this! Even without reading the other books in the series, I fell in love with it instantly. Alyson Noel has proven many to be a fantastic writer and she has become one of my favourites! It's very interesting and keeps me wanting more. The perfect book for magic-loving teens!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Did we move?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Immortal junkie

    I love this book! Ever and Damen have 3 kids to take care of now(Romy,Rayne, and Haven)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Flamepool

    Hears wavekit snoring and also falls asleep

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    To did we move

    No not really.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 704 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 36