Customer Reviews for

The Dark Garden

Average Rating 3.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

The Dark Garden Eden Bradley Bantam, Jun 2007, $13.00 ISBN: 0553589733 In California Rowan Cassidy works the perfect job for someone with her dominant personality she is mistress at Club Prive bondage club. However, much of what her peers and customers believes ...
The Dark Garden Eden Bradley Bantam, Jun 2007, $13.00 ISBN: 0553589733 In California Rowan Cassidy works the perfect job for someone with her dominant personality she is mistress at Club Prive bondage club. However, much of what her peers and customers believes about her is image as she hides the psyche damage from her last relationship. Christian Thorne meets Rowan at the club he wants her like no one he has been with before, but this alpha male must be on top. He also feels she has a submissive soul that she conceals behind the leather dominatrix impression she emits. He offers her a deal of thirty days to prove to her he is her master and that her preference is that of a ┬┐bottom┬┐. She wants him to dominate her, but fears returning to the hurt of her past. --- This complex erotic relationship drama hooks readers from the moment Christian and Rowan meet and never slows down as Eden Bradley takes her audience not just inside the BDSM scene, but into the inner minds of her prime players. The fascinating story line is a psychological study especially of Rowan who struggles between her fears and her desires. The hunk who loves her as his submissive and the strong secondary cast enhance the deep peep at the BDSM landscape. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

I was disappointed in the characters

This storyline had a lot of potential but the author failed to provide any depth to the characters. The main characters never talked to each other, never let the reader see anything about them, it was all about sex and then suddenly they were in love. Too shallow for ...
This storyline had a lot of potential but the author failed to provide any depth to the characters. The main characters never talked to each other, never let the reader see anything about them, it was all about sex and then suddenly they were in love. Too shallow for me. It was compared to Fifty Shades, but came no where close to the character development and story line of that trilogy. I was disappointed.

posted by 2cquarterhorses on October 26, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    The Dark Garden Eden Bradley Bantam, Jun 2007, $13.00 ISBN: 0553589733 In California Rowan Cassidy works the perfect job for someone with her dominant personality she is mistress at Club Prive bondage club. However, much of what her peers and customers believes about her is image as she hides the psyche damage from her last relationship. Christian Thorne meets Rowan at the club he wants her like no one he has been with before, but this alpha male must be on top. He also feels she has a submissive soul that she conceals behind the leather dominatrix impression she emits. He offers her a deal of thirty days to prove to her he is her master and that her preference is that of a ¿bottom¿. She wants him to dominate her, but fears returning to the hurt of her past. --- This complex erotic relationship drama hooks readers from the moment Christian and Rowan meet and never slows down as Eden Bradley takes her audience not just inside the BDSM scene, but into the inner minds of her prime players. The fascinating story line is a psychological study especially of Rowan who struggles between her fears and her desires. The hunk who loves her as his submissive and the strong secondary cast enhance the deep peep at the BDSM landscape. --- Harriet Klausner

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 8, 2012

    Great, easy read

    This is a great book, easy read and entertaining. If your looking for depth and deep thought this isn't the book for you. If your looking for great scenes into the BDSM lifestyle and just pure entertainment this is the book for you. It's exciting, fun, and down right dirty. :)

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    I was disappointed in the characters

    This storyline had a lot of potential but the author failed to provide any depth to the characters. The main characters never talked to each other, never let the reader see anything about them, it was all about sex and then suddenly they were in love. Too shallow for me. It was compared to Fifty Shades, but came no where close to the character development and story line of that trilogy. I was disappointed.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2007

    I couldn't put it down!

    I loved it! This is the first Eden Bradley book I've read and loved it. Just when I thought I got a break, the excitement started again!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    Boring...

    Hard to review without a spoiler.. I read it in three hours because there is so much sex that I eventually skimmed through it. It is boring. The characters don't get developed. It's a story about 2 different couples in a 200 page book???? From previous research about BDSM, I found it to be unrealistic, especially the very predictable ending. I guess I just need to stop looking for another 50 shades and wait for the movie. One of the worst books that I have read in this genre.... ever....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Lilaa

    Sits on the bench waiting to be told what to do.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Mislead

    Thought it was going to be a good book...but it really was all over the place. This is the first book I actually decided to review.i am just warning you guys. Its not great.

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    Loved it!

    Ive read a few books after 50 shades of gray....and i gotta admit the begining was shocking....mostly because its a whole other world....but i deff could not put it down and loved the twist of becoming a love story.....must have!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    A must read after 50 Shades!

    If you loved Christian Grey, then you will love Christian Thorne. Great characters, sexy with romance. Perfect mix! Loved it!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Dark Garden?

    I have read other Eden Bradley stories and loved them all. However I was a little disappointed in this one. This story is sort of two couples stories combined in one. The secondary couple is April and Decker. Decker is a Dom at the BDSM club and April has heard all about his past. She is a newbie at the BDSM scene and absolutely loves and embraces the submissive role she plays. When she is invited to Decker's home she throws herself into it and actually is invited to spend the night which Decker never does. <BR/><BR/>The primary story is of Christian and Rowan. Rowan always thought she was the perfect Domme. However, when incidents occur she is forced to examine why she chose the role of Domme because she is sincerely turned on by Christian, another DOM. Christian offers her a challenge by telling her that the only way to be the ultimate DOmme is to experience the Sub's side of things. Little did he know she had already experence that side as a young woman and the situation went totally astray, scarring her emotionally. The only thing left for her to do was take the agressive side. <BR/><BR/>While this story was interesting it did become quite slow in places.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    This was nothing like "Fifty Shades of Grey", except f

    This was nothing like &quot;Fifty Shades of Grey&quot;, except for the fact that there was BDSM play in the story. I feel a little mislead. I've read: The Crossfire series, On Dublin Street, Down London Road, and the Fifty Shades trilogy, all of which I ABSOLUTELY LOVED. I feel like because I read such amazing books before &quot;The Dark Garden&quot;, my standards were quite high and this book did not even come close to any of my favorites (listed above). In essence, I recommend this book if you're into BDSM, but don't expect it to be anything like the Fifty Shades Trilogy (except the BDSM). Plus, if you have read any of my favorites above, you might be a little disappointed; since this book isn't as mind-blowing and awesome, but most importantly: there aren't any head strong heroines that make smart remarks that make you piss your pants reading ;).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Aphrodite

    She kills her

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    Read

    Ok

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Madi

    I will do u

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Elane

    No im horny as fuq and he ditched. (Im bi)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2013

    Rowan is a Domme but when Christian meets her both feel an attra

    Rowan is a Domme but when Christian meets her both feel an attraction to one another. Christian is also a Dom. Both have not been satisfied with their lives. Could their attraction fix what is wrong in their lives? Christian proposes an experiment. Give him 30 days and he will bring out Rowan’s submissive side. Rowan’s pride makes her take the challenge in Eden Bradley’s THE DARK GARDEN. Will it work or will it break them both?

    I like Rowan and Christian. Both are strong-willed. Rowan fights all the way. Along the way she has to face her past and the damage done there. These are two equally matched characters. Walls get broken down. Honesty comes out. I loved these characters.

    There is also a side story of April and Decker. April turns to Rowan for advice. Will Rowan take the same advice herself? Both story lines are good. I needed April and Decker’s story to relieve the strong emotions coming through Rowan and Christian’s story.

    This is a story worth reading. The BDSM is correct as is the aftercare. Strong characters make a strong book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Dark's Destiny

    Once a cat named Dark had a friend named Dismay. Dismay knew a tom named Togi. Togi annoyed the cr<_>ap out of Dark with his se<_>xing inamitate objects and thing cats cant do s<_>ex with. She killed all kids and burned the "mates" to try and get rid of them. She even told him he was needed to be in a mental hospital for players. After three moons of this she snapped and ate Togi's face. Dark lived happly ever after! Now if only she could deal with Dismay on her tail that easy...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Yjjmkjjhsnnjdjjxxjkouufjfjeeikjikifjjfjjrjrtuuycncggjgjjfjgmgfkfkf ?ffrkfmcc..c.c.f.f.flf.c.krcceksAssieierufkx.z.x.xx.dmd.zxfjfjjfjrytjjjrjriririie

    QprUuo

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Steamy and erotic in all the right places

    First i just have to say, I love the name Rowan. Its beautiful and gives the heroine of the story that extra touch. I really liked the two intertwined love stories of Christian and Rowan and Decker and April. That was new to me and found it refreshing. I'm a total sucker for romance novels like these. It was an great read, I truly enjoyed it. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 70 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4