Customer Reviews for

The Dark Glory War (DragonCrown War Cycle Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2005

    Greatest book ever

    Okay, the ending may be very sad and depressing, but one must remember that there is a whole series that comes after this book and all loose ends are taken care of. The battles are amazing, the charectors are very likable, and the story is captivating. Tarrant Hawkins lives in a society that uses masks to show who they are which contradicts the automatic assumption that a mask is used to conceal an identity.Throughout the story you journey with Tarrant as he goes and finds who he is. A jolly good read, and quite possibly the best book ever writtin. When it ended I cried, and I'm not a very emotional guy, and the point I'm trying to get across is that this book changed me. Go out and buy it emmediatly, and you will not be disapointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2005

    Very Good

    'The Dark Glory War' was the first book I read from Michael A. Stackpole. It was very different. The creatures in this book were very well descibed such as gibberers. They were all different and created by Stackpole. I like that kind of change of creatures instead of goblins, orcs, and minotaurs. Michael A. Stackpole described all of the characters very well. I only give this book 4 stars because of the ending. I thought it was a great twist to the book but it was also sad in a way. My favorite character in this novel was Resolute. Although you don't get to hear from the Vorquelf very much, he still plays a good role in the book and the books to come. This a great book with good action and good fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2002

    Wow

    Stackpole is just.... wonderful. He describes the desire for power, love and honor beautifully. Although kinda depressing at the end, it is still a hard-to-put-down book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2002

    3 STARS until the End

    This is a fantastic read. Great to keep. ONLY GIVING THREE STARS UNTIL CLOSURE. still waiting the last chaos book. If this series finishes...i can virtually GUARANTEE a 5 star rating this book is to be the standard.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2001

    Yet another golden tale, spun wonderfully from a brilliant mind

    Stackpole does it yet again. Continuing his tradition of pleasing his fans. He perfectly targets the desires of the reader. Immediately he sucks you in with vivid imagery and wordplay so fantastic, it enlives your mind as though you were side by side the heros therein. The heros themselves are described and portrayed with such maticulous detail that it is all but impossible to not be submerged wholly in the text. Stackpole has this uncanny ability to unfold a multifaceted story arc with such finess and ease that one simply marvels at the refined style in which he expresses himself. he has discovered the key to perpetual page turning. Upon finishing a chapter, you find yourself forsaking sleep and reason to see where the tale will head. This book is so amazing it leaves you gasping and waiting for the next novel to come. The adventures of Tarrant and company, will excite and enrapture you. Read it, you will see what I mean. My words do it nor its author any justice. So write on Mr. Stackpole, we will keep reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2001

    More solid fantasy from Stackpole

    Michael Stackpole's latest book, this novel is the introduction to the DragonCrown cycle. This book introduces you to four young men who are entering their 'moon month,' a coming-of-age ritual that sets an individual's life path. Events move quickly, with an invasion of Northern creatures interrupting the festivities and tests, and starting a series of events that eventually leads to a major siege by Chytrine's forces (the 'Forces of Evil') at Fortress Draconis. Of course, this being a Stackpole novel, there are a number of sub-elements working through the story. Early on you are introduced to Resolute, a Vorquelf. These are elves from the Island of Vorquellyn, which was overrun by Chytrine's forces many years (in human terms) ago. I have a feeling that Vorquellyn will play a significant role in the unfolding saga. Second, Chytrine is tyring to collect the pieces of the DragonCrown, a magical artifact that lets her control dragons, which are devastatingly powerful creatures. Then there are secret societies, internecine politics, and some real backstabbing, some of which you can kind of see coming, and some of which hits you out of nowhere. This was an enjoyable book. It isn't earth-shatteringly great, but it is fun, and I read it when I should have been doing other things, because I couldn't wait to see what happened next. I look forward to the next installment in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2000

    stackpole does it again

    excellent writing pulled me in fast and kept me reading into the long night. started reading stackpole when he did rouge squdron since then devoured all his works before and since

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2000

    WHEN IS THE SECOND BOOK COMING OUT!!!

    LOVED THIS BOOK. CANNOT WAIT FOR FORTRESS DRACONIS TO COME OUT. PLEASE HUURY.. ITS ONE OF THEM BOOKS THAT JUST HAS YOU ITCHING FOR THE NEXT IN THE SERIES.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2000

    Inspiring

    Mr. Stackpole weaves a wonderful tale with just the right elements of action, adventure, romance, and friendship. The elements come together to keep the reader on their toes, and to keep the pages turning. This is a truly gripping tale, and the first in what will hopefully be a series of wonderful stories

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2000

    Excellent Book ... but book 2 better come out real soon

    This was one of those in between books for me i usually read 2 series of books at one time but unfort i ran out so i pulled this off the self I will give Michael one thing he had me pulled into this book from the beginning and unfortunally I pray he now hurrys to make another just the ending by itself makes this book worth while... High Recommendation

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2000

    Stackpole Strikes Again!

    I devoured this book. As always, the author has created excellent characters and a great storyline for them to flow through. I eagerly anticipate 'Fortress Draconis' the next book in I hope a long series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2000

    Wonderful!!!

    I just finished reading this wonderful book and I must say that Stackpole outdid himself this time. I have been a longtime Stackpole fan and when I saw this book, I just had to pick it up and I'm very glad I did. The Dark Glory War has everything that a good fantasy novel needs and then some. I anxiously await the second book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2000

    WOW!

    Mr. Stackpole did it agian. I am a die hard Stackpole fan and was not let down by this, his newest work. The Dark Glory of War has everything you would expect, excitment, intrigue, love, live, a little mystery to keep you thinking, and a few things you would never expect in a million years... If you saw me when I finished I'm sure the expression on my face would have been priceless. I hope Mike devotes a lot of time into releasing the sequel (and know he will). Godspeed Mr. Stackpole.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2000

    There Better be a second one.

    In another jump into fantasy, Stackpole weaves a very strong tale from the viewpoint of Tarrant Hawkins. He does too good a job. I spent a long night reading to finish this book because it was so hard to put down. I kept thinking to myself just one more chapter. The story is very well told and background is brought in just when needed to keep the reader 'in the know' The only thing bad about this was the abrupt end. Not knowing that this was the first of a set of books had me horrified at the end of it. I am extremely glad that Stackpole will be finishing up this tale and hope him Penspeed so that he may finish the tale quicker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1