Customer Reviews for

The Dark Half

Average Rating 4
( 130 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(44)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!!! But nooks version disappoints

This is my favorte book. It has a great story line and is typical king gruesome. Couldnt put the book down when i read it first. Nooks version, however, is laced with errors that are distracting from how wonderfully great the book is. A must read whether on nook or old...
This is my favorte book. It has a great story line and is typical king gruesome. Couldnt put the book down when i read it first. Nooks version, however, is laced with errors that are distracting from how wonderfully great the book is. A must read whether on nook or old fashioned with a paper book.

posted by 17387877 on February 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

The nook copy is bad!

I love this book, it is another great by Stephen King. However, the NOOK Book or eBook is not worth the money. The nook copy has a lot of problems that do not exist in the real copy, the worst of which is the spelling errors on every page that uses the wrong words. ...
I love this book, it is another great by Stephen King. However, the NOOK Book or eBook is not worth the money. The nook copy has a lot of problems that do not exist in the real copy, the worst of which is the spelling errors on every page that uses the wrong words.

To me this book looks like someone used a bad OCR to scan the book and no one checked what had been scanned. For exammple, in the book the word "closed" is used many times, but in the NOOK book it reads "dosed" every time. Unfortunately, this happens with a number of letter combinations leading to wrong words on every page.

So, my recomendation for anyone wanting to read this great book is to go buy a hard copy rather than wasting your money on an eBook with so many errors.

posted by Akeman on May 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    Amazing!!! But nooks version disappoints

    This is my favorte book. It has a great story line and is typical king gruesome. Couldnt put the book down when i read it first. Nooks version, however, is laced with errors that are distracting from how wonderfully great the book is. A must read whether on nook or old fashioned with a paper book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    Classic King! FANTASTIC...but the publisher should be ashamed.

    This is truly one of King's finest works. It is also however the worst quality ebook I have paid for yet. The number of typographical errors is staggering. Nothing that actually affects the readability...but enough to make you question how Penguin could have the nerve to charge $7 for such a shoddy product. I've downloaded Internet Project free books with fewer typos! They should be ashamed. Despite their attempts(Penguin's) to make this an unpleasant experience...the book is a must read/must own for any true Stephen King fan! Thanks Stephen...I'm your biggest fan! ; )

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2012

    Tecno

    This book is amazing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    KRONOS CABIN

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent, a MUST read

    Stephen King at his best, had me hooked from the firt word, not the ending I expected but even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Review

    Great story as usual. However you should buy a regular copy because the typos are just too much in the nook version. No excuse for such sloppy editing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Pierce

    Nect result

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2014

    BATTLE STRATGY SCHEDULE

    3:00-3:30- Group 1. 3:30-4:00- Group 2. 4:00-4:30- Group 3. 4:30-5:00- Group 4. 5:00-5:30- Group 5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    kars A Gghny

    Nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2013

    Fantastic.

    Wonderful read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    One of the masters bests

    The dark half is trulcreepy novel and and one of kings best. My only gripe is that the nook version is full of typos.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Loved it!

    This book was amazing! I didn't want to put it down. I could read it again and again, even as viciously gruesome as it is, which in my opinion gave it more of a sinister memory scar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Great story!!!!

    Could not put it down...King strikes again!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    All time favorite!

    This is my all time favorite King book. I think I have read it 5 times, its that good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2008

    My favorite Stephen King (so far)

    It's been a while since I read this one and I still consider it my favorite Stephen King. Iread it in 2 nights (a record for me) and dreamt about it! To this day I still do a double take when I see a gathering of sparrows.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2008

    There's just something about it...

    I just cant say how much I enjoyed this book. There was a lot going on and it kept me thinking about it until the end. Even when I wasnt reading it I was trying to figure it out (this is without reading the back, I had no idea what it was about when I started). There was just something about the story that kept me wanting more, and I also thought that it was really eerie, especially in the beginning. This is my second favorite book just behind Misery. I would highly recommend reading this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2003

    Excellent book, hands down.

    Excellent book. If youre a King fan, you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2003

    David

    This is the first Stephen King book i read. it had me never stopping. I put it down and 2 minutes later i pick it back up. One of the greats.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2003

    Really Good

    This was a really good story. It was really suspenseful and I couldn't wait to see how Thad would finally beat George. This book is highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2002

    the best thriller

    Steven kings the dark half is the thriller that you want to read if you want a real thinker of the other half of your life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3