Customer Reviews for

Dark Harbor (Stone Barrington Series #12)

Average Rating 3.5
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(19)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

better than what many say though not the best

This novel, in the Stone Barrington series, is better than many reviews would lead one to believe. Tony Roberts does a fine job of reading the book and providing a variety of voices to the characters. The story isn't bad. It may not be Mr. Woods's best novel but it keep...
This novel, in the Stone Barrington series, is better than many reviews would lead one to believe. Tony Roberts does a fine job of reading the book and providing a variety of voices to the characters. The story isn't bad. It may not be Mr. Woods's best novel but it keeps a fair amount of suspense, as one wonder's if Holly (one of the characters) is going to be found alive or dead. is also good.

posted by Anonymous on August 28, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

This is a pleasant enough read, but the plotline is pretty simple. Better writers create stories with numerous twists and turns, hidden clues, surprises, and clever writing. You won't find any of that here. You just go to the Dark harbor, meet some nice people, learn wh...
This is a pleasant enough read, but the plotline is pretty simple. Better writers create stories with numerous twists and turns, hidden clues, surprises, and clever writing. You won't find any of that here. You just go to the Dark harbor, meet some nice people, learn who the bad people are, and then live happily ever after.

posted by KenCady on January 29, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2008

    better than what many say though not the best

    This novel, in the Stone Barrington series, is better than many reviews would lead one to believe. Tony Roberts does a fine job of reading the book and providing a variety of voices to the characters. The story isn't bad. It may not be Mr. Woods's best novel but it keeps a fair amount of suspense, as one wonder's if Holly (one of the characters) is going to be found alive or dead. is also good.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    This is a pleasant enough read, but the plotline is pretty simple. Better writers create stories with numerous twists and turns, hidden clues, surprises, and clever writing. You won't find any of that here. You just go to the Dark harbor, meet some nice people, learn who the bad people are, and then live happily ever after.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2006

    A Great Easy Read

    I've never read this author before but this was an easy, quick murder mystery. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 26, 2012

    Great mystery writer

    Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    NOT EVEN CLOSE TO HIS BEST!!

    I have read about every book Mr.Woods has wrote. This one is okay, but has some very slow parts in it. Repeats the same thing time and time again. As Mr. Woods ages, so does his sex scenes.......big snoozer's!! (and they never get up and wash afterwards...yuck!) but, all in all, I am still a fan of his work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2006

    The last two have been dissapointing

    I'm sad to say it, but it appears that Stuart Woods is on 'auto pilot'. His last two efforts have been dissapointments. I don't know if it has anything to do with it, but I'm not a big fan of bringing the characters from three separate series together. A slight nod or acknowledgement is clever, but co-mingling has lost any appeal to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2006

    Below Par

    What a disappointment! Storyline weak and choppy - very predicatable. I have read all his previous books and this one was well below par.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2006

    WHAT A DISAPPOINTMENT

    I have read all of the Stone Barrington series and this is one of his worst yet. The plot was uninteresting and he should just retire Stone Barrington! Add in Holly Barker and Lance Cabot and it becomes a mish mosh of his book series. It was a fast read which was a plus since I could not wait to finish it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2006

    Great disappointment

    This book appears on the NY Times best seller list? Let me let you down gently. The book has about as may curves and twists as the NJ pike. Don't even know if the author has ever been to the area as Rockland ME has no airport. Owl's Head is the closest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    A Great Disappointment

    I waited eagerly for Stuart Woods next Stone Barrington novel but was highly disappointed. First, my Stone would never end a phone conversation with 'bye-bye' especially in light of a murder of family and the kidnapping of his bed mate Holly. Arrington had no business in this novel. Her character has become very shallow and no six year old uses a vocabulary that Peter did in this book. Second, Stone requested that Dino bring Holly's dog to the Maine compound. I'm sure that all readers figured that his intent was to help find Holly but when Ham suggested that they use the dog for this purpose Stone slapes his head and wonders why he didn't think of that first! The ending was very predicable with little intregue. I love Stuart Woods books and will buy the next one but hope that he gives me back my 'macho man' Stone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Mr. Woods, Tear Down This Wall!

    Mr. Woods would have us believe that rudimentary historical accuracy is no concern of ours when he has a high-ranking CIA officer refer to some clandestine meeting and an overheard conversation that occurred at a card game 'last week in East Germany.' Huh? Thinking this was just some weird time warp thing that would all be explained later, this reader let it pass. But, whoops, there it was again a few pages later. East Germany. As some history buffs will no doubt remember, The Wall came down in 1989. In 1990, East Germany and West Germany were united. There is no East Germany today. Full stop. We don't need to get the thread counts on the sheets right, but, c'mon, a CIA guy says this? Beyond the pale. Some editor is taking way too much Ambien.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A SUSPENSEFUL TALE READ WITH PANACHE

    This makes the 12th in author Woods popular Stone Barrington series - each one better than the last. Woods has the ability to add new dimensions to this character we thought we knew, thus continually piquing our interest in Barrington, a high priced lawyer in the Big Apple. Actor Tony Roberts has read several of the Barrington books. Can't say that each narrative is better than the last because they've all been first-rate. What else would we expect from this stage and film veteran and two time Tony nominee? With Dark Harbor Barrington temporarily exits the concrete canyons of New York for a small town on the Maine coast. Barrington hasn't visited the town, Dark Harbor, in years nor has he had contact with his cousin, Dick Stone, a CIA agent. Now, he suddenly finds that he has inherited a house from his cousin. He's told that Dick Stone has murdered his wife and daughter then killed himself. A tidy package? Barrington doesn't believe a word of it. So, with the help of his former partner, Dino Bacchetti and Lovely Holly Barker Barrington sets out to discover the truth about his cousin's death. Poking around Dark Harbor proves dangerous - especially for Holly as she is kidnaped. Barrington believes a psycho may be on the loose but what is the tie with his late cousin? Once again, Woods weaves a suspenseful tale and Roberts delivers it with panache. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2006

    I WISH THERE WAS MORE!

    Outstanding read, I kept turning the pages and actually put the book down several times so I could savor the read only to find myself with the book back in my hands and reading feverishly! I feel like the charaters are my personal friends! What a fantasic read! Thanks Stuart Woods, a master!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2006

    Woods is always worth reading

    Not his best book, but still enjoyable. I'll always read anything Woods writes and hope for more Stone Barrington books. I don't know why he had to bring boring Arrington into this book. It was a waste of pages and added nothing to the story line. I thought maybe Peter copying the writing from the diary might help them, but it went nowhere. I thought for sure Stone brought Daisy to the island to help in finding Holly. If not for that reason, why would he have wanted her? Some unanswered plots....why were the the two housewives killed...just to add to the story? This book was still worth reading and I look forward to Stone and Dino being back in NY and at Elaine's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Delightful police procedural

    Attorney Stone Barrington dines with his former NYPD partner Dino Bachetti when CIA operative Lance Cabot and Agents Holly Barker arrive at the restaurant. Lance asks Stone what he knows about his first cousin Dick Stone, Jr. Stone says not much as they have seen each other once in the last two decades and that was eight or nine years ago. He said that following graduating high school he spent a summer with Dick and his family, but that was about it except for a package he received this morning. Lance informs Stone that the Isleboro sheriff department and the Maine State police believe Dick, recently appointed the CIA Deputy Director for Operations, murdered his wife Barbara and their eighteen years old daughter Esme before killing himself. Stone and Lance are to uncover the truth.----- They start with the package, which contains a letter of instruction, two wills, and a finance statement. From there the quartet travel to Dick¿s home in the village of Dark Harbor on Isleboro, an isle in Penobscot Bay, Maine. As they dig deeper into what happened, the evidence piles up that a double murder suicide occurred, but Stone finds it too perfect and wonders if his cousin¿s work as an operative or his estrangement with his brother Caleb led to what he believes is the homicides of three people.------ This delightful police procedural with espionage overtones hooks the audience from the moment that Stone and Lance discuss his cousin and never slows down until the final twin confrontation. The long running series is refreshed with Stone explaining aspects of his past but smoothly as part of the present investigation. This tale is a must for series regulars while newcomers will understand why the accolades for this very talented writer.---- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3