Customer Reviews for

Dark Haven (Chronicles of the Necromancer Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 233 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(124)

4 Star

(65)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

This is a super third tale that fans of the Necromancer fantasy saga will enjoy

Three months have past since King Martris "Tris" Drayke defeated his brother, Jared the Usurper, and his ally Blood Mage Arontala (see THE BLOOD KING). Winning a war seems easy to Tris in retrospect. Now he must move on and rule a devastated kingdom. Apprehension rem...
Three months have past since King Martris "Tris" Drayke defeated his brother, Jared the Usurper, and his ally Blood Mage Arontala (see THE BLOOD KING). Winning a war seems easy to Tris in retrospect. Now he must move on and rule a devastated kingdom. Apprehension remains high as some forces loyal to the Usurper continue to fight with enemy Lord Curane and his troops trapped at Lochlanimar and rumors spread that to the south a child has a legitimate claim to the throne. With all that Tris must find a way to feed and shelter his displaced refugee population especially with winter coming to freeze the lands to the north. Meanwhile Tris also prepares for his wedding ceremony with Princess Kiara.

He appoints his protector best friend Jonmarc Vahanian to take over as Lord of Dark Haven, a key estate to the north. Finally as the lord of their realm Margolan, Jonmarc negotiates with the Blood Council of vampires the Vayash Moru at a time when some of the vampires believe the mortals are unworthy of ruling especially since the Flow of magic The Flow is unbalanced, which means the blood magic of vampires is stronger than the light magic of the SUMMONER.

This is a super third tale that fans of the Necromancer fantasy saga will enjoy. Tris and Jonmarc learn how complex it is to change from rebel to ruler as they struggle to insure the kingdom's subjects don't starve to death or are further victims of war. Although well written, DARK HAVEN is a middle book that sets up the next entry as no major plot line is completed. Still exciting and well written, Gail Z. Martin provides a deep tale that makes the case that John Milton's "Better to rule in Hell than to serve in Heaven" omits how much more difficult to rule is than to serve.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on July 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A very good read. However...

It's September 4, 2010. I found the first installment in this series about a month ago, purchased it in "e-book" format for my Nook, and found it to be a very good read. It was so good in fact, that when I finished it, I searched for the next "e-book" in the series. ...
It's September 4, 2010. I found the first installment in this series about a month ago, purchased it in "e-book" format for my Nook, and found it to be a very good read. It was so good in fact, that when I finished it, I searched for the next "e-book" in the series. There were 2 more "e-books", and I purchased both of them immediately. I did not realize that the series continued beyond the 3 "e-books" until after completing "Dark Haven." I searched for books by Gail Z Martin, hoping to find out when the next in the series would be available, and discovered that a 4th "book" existed in the series, but not in "e-book" format. Happy? NO! I entirely agree with another reviwer, if Barnes & Noble is going to care the first 3 in the series in "e-book" formats, then the 4th book should be available that way also. I am disappointed, and upset that I can not read the next part of the series, even though it was release back in December of 2009 (9 months ago). Almost makes me want to go back to purchasing hard cover books, from "Amazon."

posted by unclegreg on September 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This is a super third tale that fans of the Necromancer fantasy saga will enjoy

    Three months have past since King Martris "Tris" Drayke defeated his brother, Jared the Usurper, and his ally Blood Mage Arontala (see THE BLOOD KING). Winning a war seems easy to Tris in retrospect. Now he must move on and rule a devastated kingdom. Apprehension remains high as some forces loyal to the Usurper continue to fight with enemy Lord Curane and his troops trapped at Lochlanimar and rumors spread that to the south a child has a legitimate claim to the throne. With all that Tris must find a way to feed and shelter his displaced refugee population especially with winter coming to freeze the lands to the north. Meanwhile Tris also prepares for his wedding ceremony with Princess Kiara.

    He appoints his protector best friend Jonmarc Vahanian to take over as Lord of Dark Haven, a key estate to the north. Finally as the lord of their realm Margolan, Jonmarc negotiates with the Blood Council of vampires the Vayash Moru at a time when some of the vampires believe the mortals are unworthy of ruling especially since the Flow of magic The Flow is unbalanced, which means the blood magic of vampires is stronger than the light magic of the SUMMONER.

    This is a super third tale that fans of the Necromancer fantasy saga will enjoy. Tris and Jonmarc learn how complex it is to change from rebel to ruler as they struggle to insure the kingdom's subjects don't starve to death or are further victims of war. Although well written, DARK HAVEN is a middle book that sets up the next entry as no major plot line is completed. Still exciting and well written, Gail Z. Martin provides a deep tale that makes the case that John Milton's "Better to rule in Hell than to serve in Heaven" omits how much more difficult to rule is than to serve.

    Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2010

    Shame on you BN

    This book and series was excellent. However, I can't believe that BN has such shortsightedness that they would offer only part of a story leaving us loyal customers out to dry. If BN is going to offer a series then they should offer the entire series. Or don't offer it at all! I am disappointed, in their lack of customer concern. I love my Nook but if BN cannot support it with sensible content then I'm reluctantly going back to hard copy print... or maybe I'll try another bookstore. Shame on you BN!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2010

    Fun Series But Barnes and Noble Doesn't Provide Book #4

    Seems to me that if you are going to provide the first three books of a series in ebook format, you would include book #4 in ebook format. I am not interested in purchasing the paperback, ergo the Nook. Come on B & N, either carry the entire series or don't carry any of the series. Seems like simple logic to me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Vampires were finally the good guys!

    I really liked this book because I finally saw vampires in a different light. I empathized with the vampires and saw them as real people and not in the typical stereotype of them being hunted down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent novel and series

    I found the first book while randomly stopping at my local Barnes and Noble. Generally I try to find one-shot stories or stories in their genesis. I wasn't sure how many were out but the plot line drew my interest.
    Although it was a bit different from what I expected, it more than met up to my expectations of a good novel. Diverse characters and relationships, both subtle and and elegant magic, epic battles, the series covers everything I look for in a story. When I finished it, I looked up the author and found out that she had the sequel out already. I not only bought the second book, I also pre-ordered this one.

    I definitely look forward to more by Martin.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    Super series

    This trilogy was a marvelous read -- I really enjoyed the characters and stories. The only drawback I saw was an error in the editing of 3rd volume (Dark Haven) where a space after the word "moru" had been deleted throughout the book. It was a bit jarring at first but the story writing more than made up for that. I will definitely keep an eye out for more of Ms. Martin's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Good

    Good book spelling error on page 281 "in s storage chest" a would most definitely be the correct replacement for s

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2012

    Love the series

    My new favorite aurthor for sure. I am on the fourth book now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2011

    Mlp (dosnt mean my litle ponies)

    My faverite book out of the three

    Sorry if i missed spelled

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2011

    I hate it when that happens!

    I just finished Dark Haven and I truly love the book. But I really hate it when a book get so absorbing you can't put it down. Then, to add insult to injury, the book reaches the start of the climax and ends. Man, I hate that!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 124 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7