Customer Reviews for

Dark Heat: The Dark Kings Stories

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 21, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4 REVIEW:  Dark Heat is a set of novella¿s fro

    NUMBER OF HEARTS: 4
    REVIEW: 
    Dark Heat is a set of novella’s from Donna Grant’s new Dragon King series.  Each story follows one of the Dragon Kings and how a simple twist of fate will change everything for these Kings that are older than time.  

    Dark Craving:  Characters: Dragon King Haldor Wilson & Cassandra Hunter
    This was a good story, short and sweet and to the point.  Not a whole lot of drama per se.  But a great beginning to Donna’s Dragon King series. 

    Night Awakening: Characters: Dragon King Guy & Elena Griffin
    Another Dragon King falls.  :)  But in a good way.   Guy and Elena’s story is a bit of a whirlwind story starting with a death and end with one of them going under cover.  Night Awakening sets up perfectly for the next novella Dawn’s Desire. 

    Dawn’s Desire: Dragon King Brana & Jane
    Brana & Jane are just too sweet together.  How can you not love a story where the Plain Jane girl is the ultimate prize for the very handsome, yet dangerous King of the blues?   In Dawn’s Desire we finally get to meet up the the Dragon Kings enemy and get a little insight into the why.

    Passion’s Claim: 
    This was a bonus story about two Dragon Kings who don’t have any clue on how to woo their women.  These to very short stories made me laugh, cry and want to slap some Dragon Kings around. 

    I loved that Donna put all these stories together into one book so that there was no waiting to read the next story.   I am very much looking forward to the first full length book in the Dragon King series.  Darkest Flame will be out in April 2014. 

    Disclaimer: 
    I received a complimentary copy of the book from NetGalley & St. Martin's Press in exchange for an honest review. This review is my own opinion and not a paid review. 

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A great series with sexy dragons! Dark Heat is a collection of

    A great series with sexy dragons!

    Dark Heat is a collection of previously released Novellas of the Dragon Kings plus an exclusive new short story. This is a great way of getting to know the characters and read the stories in the correct order. I’m a huge fan of Donna Grant and I love this series.  Ms. Grant's stories are always filled with steamy romance, suspense and action - everything that I love in a story.

    The dragon kings are men that are half human and half dragon, sworn to protect the human world.  After a devastating war between the humans and dragons, the dragon kings were put under a magic spell to protect them from having any human emotions (especially love).  But as hundreds of years have passed some of the dragon kings feel the loneliness their isolation has left, so these novellas are their journey to finding their soul mate.

    I can’t decide which story is my favorite since they were all filled with passion and swoon-worthy scenes.  This is a great series for all shifter and paranormal fans.  And I also recommend this to anyone looking for something new to read!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Heat: The Dark Kings Stories contains novellas written by D

    Dark Heat: The Dark Kings Stories contains novellas written by Donna Grant all preceding the Dark Kings series.




    Grant writes steamy, passionate characters with action intense plots. I enjoyed her stories but found that the development of the storylines were rushed. I do realize this is meant more for a teaser of what is to come in the series, whetting your imagination for what might happen next...and you know me, I'm always up for more dragon shifting alpha males with awesome powers and prowess. Kilts, I'm sure they can wear kilts too. 




    I found Dark Heat: The Dark Kings Stories is an enjoyable introduction to Donna Grants work and look forward to more Dragon Kings falling for their mates.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2014

    Digital content

    Would love to read... however, I've ordered 3 times and still getting wrong book... right cover... still Donna Grant just wrong content... will be glad when publishers get digital content right... luckily B&N as courteously refunded me each time...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Heat is a compiled version of the first three Dark Kings pr

    Dark Heat is a compiled version of the first three Dark Kings prequel novellas plus a BONUS STORY that you can ONLY get in this version… So even if you’re read Dark Craving, Night’s Awakening, and Dawn’s Desire separately, you should still buy this book for the awesome bonus story! Hehe…




    Dark Craving: In this book, things with Cassie started slow but quickly came to light. I loved the raw passion in the characters. Occasionally the story went a bit fast, but not too bad. There were times I felt as if I were right there with Cassie experiencing everything. Amazing story. Looking forward to seeing if Constantine gets his own story as that would be a very strong woman indeed.




    Night’s Awakening: This book was very fast paced and very well written. The tension raised between Guy and Elena. I enjoyed how in tune to each other the two were from the get go. I am interested to see where the next book takes us! I wish this book was a little longer but loved how even though the novella was short.... there were no details spared. Only deepening my Donnaddiction!!




    Dawn’s Desire: OK, So after reading intently for time frames that caused me missed sleep and meals (couldn't put it down) Here goes...




    This book starts off exactly where the last one left off. (Which is a good thing to me because then I don't feel like I missed anything. Jane is a simple plain girl that feels nobody notices her until.... Banan. OK, so some parts of the story are corny as some have mentioned... But I am that girl that went unnoticed and still does, or used to until my hubby ^_^ hehe ... It was nice to find a story about a sexy librarian type plain simple girl that found her Mr. right...
    The scenes in this book were same as the first two... Very descriptive and enthralling. Donna has a way to where when you are reading these stories, it is not simple titillation. There is passion read and felt. I liked that it wasn't exactly easy as pie to get the girl this time. It wasn't exactly an enormous challenge, but it wasn't a walk in the park. I was a bit sad at the end that... well, you'll see what I wanted that had to be put off... ;)
    I will continue to re-read this series and impatiently await the 2014 release of the next Dragon King book.




    Passion’s Claim:
    With both Guy and Banan wanting to make sure their women are fully ready and understand their choice that is to be made about the binding ceremony and all of the stipulations that come with it, they begin giving their women all the wrong signals.
    In part one Banan and Jane continue a bit further. It's been a few months since the two met and fell madly in love, yet the pair still haven't been mated. There were a couple of times when I wanted to shake them... both, Banan AND Jane, for one reason or another. Jane not bringing up the mating ceremony she wanted so badly, and thinking Banan lost interest in her... Banan for not asking her hoe she felt about the ceremony. You just want to hand cuff them together and feed them truth serum and say "now talk!" haha. I loved that Banan had the big elaborate thing planned and enjoyed the excitement of the other ladies with the news.
    In part two, Guy and Elena are at a stalemate as well. Again, I wanted to knock their heads together. I understand the reasons they both had but my gods man! If you want something, go get it! Don't wait around for it to decide... Guy, although he thought he was doing the right thing in this, should have not been such a coward and when his fellow dragon kings tell him this, I was right there with them. I cried in this part and was so upset with Guy that he was being such an arse... This short bonus story will have your emotions all over the place so have kleenex handy and be ready to control your anger and "aww" factor.




    I give this awesome start to an amazing series 5 out of 5 shields!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2014

    I was really excited to start reading this book because I have

    I was really excited to start reading this book because I have read the first novella that is in this book in the past. I am not usually a fan of dragon paranormal books, but this author has written them in a way that I completely loved!
    Once I started this book, I really couldn’t put it down. The different characters in this book were all written extremely well in my opinion. It was amazingly easy to follow along with the stories and who was who throughout the whole book. I really do enjoy the fact that this book has such a wide variety of characters that all play very important roles throughout the whole book.
    My only real complaint about the stories would be how predictable they were. I did enjoy them still even with an idea where they were going, but I just hoped that there would be some big surprise that would happen.
    Overall, I can’t recommend it enough to people who enjoy paranormal books, especially ones about dragons.

    Reviewed by Crystal for Crystal’s Many Reviewers
    *Copy provided for honest review*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Tulane

    She lay on her back in the sand, trying to tan in her lemon yellow string bikini. In her hand was a copy of 'Fifty Shades of Grey'. She had reached a particularly steamy scene and was starting to become aroused, her bikini bottoms dampened slightly. Black Raybans concealed her brown eyes, and her strawberry blonde hair was in a pixie cut.

    0 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1