Customer Reviews for

Dark Highlander (Highlander Series #5)

Average Rating 4.5
( 789 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(584)

4 Star

(150)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 800 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Oh, where do I get one my own???

    I read a lot. Paranormal romance is my preferance. This is definitely my favorite book of all I've read. <BR/>Dageus MacKeltar is an amazingly compelling character. He'll do anything for those he loves. And he pays for that dearly by saving his twin brother. A twin by the way that he'd already lost to an enchanted sleep. Determined that Drustan will make it to the future and his wife Gwen he uses the stones to go back and save Drustan from the fire that kills him and in the process Dageus is taken over by the Draghar. <BR/>And how could Chloe resist him? He's gorgeous, intelligent, attentive and dotes her. Thanks to 13 evil druids living within him he keeps himself on a very tight leash. With everyone except Chloe. Imagine being the one that can shatter that control. "There was a time, long ago in Scotland, when a man would select the finest from his trencher and feed his woman...Only after he'd sated her desires-fully and completely-did he sate his own." That line melts me every time. Of course, it had me at 'long ago in Scotland'.<BR/>Some of the reviewers called Dageus arrogant. Perhaps. He's a product of his time. Others don't understand why he and Chloe are together. Try to follow along with us people. The concept of one true mate is a recurring theme in these books and the genre in general. It isn't really that hard to grasp. <BR/>I go back to this series over and over again. The Dark Highlander never fails to be my favorite.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    great romantic fantasy

    Druid mage Daegus MacKeltar used his powers to travel back in time to save the life of his twin brother Drustan (see TO KISS A HIGHLANDER). However, Daegus pays a high price for his good deed as he released the spirits of thirteen evil Druids that share residency with him in his body. Desperate to re-incarcerate these malevolent beings, Daegus steals ancient Celtic texts in search of the spell that will do this. The Manhattan press dubs the thief the ¿Gaulish Ghost¿. Medieval expert Chloe Zanders is shocked to learn that a curator of the Cloisters collection wants her to deliver a five century old reprint of the third book of Mannannan to some private collector who has provided artifact donations in exchange for reading the text. A wary Chloe delivers the book to Daegus, who recognizes his soul mate has arrived. Holding her prisoner, Daegus and Chloe travel to Scotland where he hopes to free his soul by imprisoning the Druids and to persuade her that they belong together through time and space. This sequel is a great romantic fantasy that should provide Karen Marie Moning with a loyal cross genre audience awaiting her next book. The story line is action-packed, filled with tension, and never slows down even when the lead heroes debate their fate and attraction. The good vs. evil battle will hook fantasy readers with its feel of authenticity even with magic, incantations, and otherworldly demons. Ms. Moning seems heading to the read realm of greatness with THE DARK HIGHLANDER proving she is one of the best writers on the market today. Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 26, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    betcha read the entire series

    read the first book and was hooked. Purchased the series the next day. Moning has incredible talent, her highland series makes u wanna call your travel agent, and skoot off to scotland.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    The best!

    This is may favorite Highlander book. Actually it is one of my favorite books period. It has an amazing story to it. Way above the old 'I've had a tough life and I don't trust anyone' kind of mentality that so many romance novels have (yawn). Dageus couldn't be any hotter and Chloe is adorable. A definate reread! This was the first of the series that I read. And because of this book, I have read all of the others as well.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2006

    Unforgettable!!!!!!

    This has to be the most sensual and memorable romance that I've ever read! Dageus MacKelter is beyond hot and makes me wish for a highlander everytime I remember how darkly sensual he is. If you've never read a romance before this then don't miss the chance to read this book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2008

    Awsome Book!!!

    I love this book...i've read all of the highlander books but this one is favorite out of all them..i just fell in love with the characters...def. recommended..its a great read!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2006

    FABULOUS!

    I LOVED every moment of it. KMM has an extraordinary ability to mix the right amount of blazing passion, historical intreage, and humorous antics to make a book not just a book, but an experience!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    So awesome!!!

    So well written and so enthralling in every way with humor sensuality and a fantastic story line to make it all coalesse in a way you will be thinking about the characters for days to come!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2006

    Tasty in every way

    I read 'Kiss of a Highlander' and I fell in love. I read 'Dark Highlander' and now I've fallen head over heals. Another late-nighter, it rocked my world, and if I could I'd be buried with them both. Her writing is incredible, and that's putting it mildly. MUST READ BOOK!!!!!!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Loved it!

    Really loved this book. It was almost like I was taken back in time too!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Delicious

    I'm so glad that the story continued from the 4th book of the Highlander Series. Dageus character is every girl's fantasy come to life in each word. Dangerous, Seductive and Loving. Could not stop reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Ahhh Daegus! This is my favorite of the Highlander series. Sex

    Ahhh Daegus! This is my favorite of the Highlander series. Sexy all around. Karen Marie Moning is one of the best in writing about mighty Highlanders. You won't be disappointed in reading all about Daegus or Drustin or Adam or Chrisitan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2012

    My favorite of the Highlander series

    If you love the highlander series this is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Super!

    Love getting the story of the other twin! KMM has done it again.....taken me to another world & held me captive to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I love this book. I like how it was closely tied to the one bef

    I love this book. I like how it was closely tied to the one before in the series. I also like how it sets up the next book. I am just starting to read that one. I have really enjoyed all the books in this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2012

    Great

    Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Highly Recommend. Great read!

    Having read all of Karen Marie Moning's "Fever" series, I was a little reluctant to read her books that were in a historical setting. I started reading the series with "Dark Highlander". It is the fifth book in what I think is a 7 book series thus far. I usually like reading her books in the order they were written, but it was a great book in itself and written so that you knew everything without reading all the other books. I do however intend to read the other books in the series because I liked this book and I liked the characters. It was a very exciting read and held my interest to the very surprising end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    This was a very exciting novel,

    I truely loved the way this book was written. The relationships held a strong bond, which spoke of deep enduring commitment . I love the way the 16 th century was connected to present time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    My most favorite of all time!

    I will always love this book. Karen kept me interested and guessing throughout! Great storytelling!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2010

    Awesome

    A great part of the series. I love KMM's highlanders.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 800 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 40