Customer Reviews for

The Dark Hills Divide (The Land of Elyon Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(84)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Cool book!

This book was one of the two books I chose to read for the summer. At the beginning, I was very confused and didn't understand anything. But after a while, everything began to make sense. It's a great book if you're into magic, mysteries, and adventures. I am thinking a...
This book was one of the two books I chose to read for the summer. At the beginning, I was very confused and didn't understand anything. But after a while, everything began to make sense. It's a great book if you're into magic, mysteries, and adventures. I am thinking about reading the second book and the rest of the series, since the ending left me hanging. This is a good book, give it a shot! =D

posted by Anonymous on July 16, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Goodgood

Goodgood

posted by lak20 on July 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2008

    Cool book!

    This book was one of the two books I chose to read for the summer. At the beginning, I was very confused and didn't understand anything. But after a while, everything began to make sense. It's a great book if you're into magic, mysteries, and adventures. I am thinking about reading the second book and the rest of the series, since the ending left me hanging. This is a good book, give it a shot! =D

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Joan Stradling for Teens Read Too

    Twelve-year-old Alexa Daley's summer trip to Bridewell with her father is something she's looked forward to. She can't wait to explore, and comes prepared to get a better look over the immense walls that have blocked her view of the forests and the Dark Hills all her life. She never dreamed her explorations would take her outside the walls and lead to a strange little man who guides her to an ancient enchantment. Through the power of the enchantment, Alexa learns of a deadly plot that threatens to destroy Bridewell. Alexa can't save Bridewell alone, but there's a traitor in their midst, and she's not sure who she can trust. Choosing the wrong allies could prove fatal. Carman has an amazing imagination, and his skill in crafting a story seems effortless. THE DARK HILLS DIVIDE, the first story in THE LAND OF ELYON series, is magical and draws the reader in with lovable characters, a mystery full of danger, and a setting that evokes the imagination. I first borrowed THE DARK HILLS DIVIDE from my local library several years ago. Picking up Alexa's story again was like reuniting with an old friend. I knew I had loved the book back then, but had forgotten how much. I can't wait to reacquaint myself with Alexa's next adventure in the second book, BEYOND THE VALLEY OF THORNS.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    great story

    loved the book but it had a few plotholes and repitition such as alexa finds yipes and yipes takes her to darius and darius takes her to malcolm and malcolm takes her to ander but it hardly affects the books quality. its well written and the characters are very well developed (i love the wolves). i was kinda unimpressed by the ending, though. her stone stops working and sebastien isn't her dad, which would be more dramatic. and i dont get why the cats have to get squashed. i love cats! overall i think that this is a wonderful book to read in your spare time.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Whoa

    This book is awesome i totally want to read the second one

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    WONDERFUL BOOK!!

    This book caught my eye and I read it in two days. I am definately buying the second one!!!!! It was a lot of clues and surprises, but always kept me wanting to read more! I absolutely loved it!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Love it :)

    The only reason i tried this book out was because one of my friends was reading it and i saw it at the book store. I decited to try it and i loved it and i ended up begging my dad to get the rest of the series. :)

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Great

    I love this book you should so buy it . Best book ever it is for kids that really like too read hard books. It startes out slow but it picks up very fast once you get into it .

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2012

    Don't give away

    Don't give away everythimg please i want this to be a surprise

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2010

    The Dark Hills Divide

    The Dark Hills Divide was one of those rare books that my teacher had given to me at the start of middle school that I just didn't want to end, and when I finished it, I went looking for the next one almost immediately. I first read The Dark Hills Divide in sixth grade. It's not a hard book to read, but it's still fun and exciting. Now I'm in ninth grade, and I still love the book. I've read the series many times over and over again. I just never get sick of it.
    The Dark Hills Divide is about a little twelve-year-old girl who is ordinary beyond ordinary, and through her curiosity for the lurking world outside the three story walls that surround her home, she subconsciously weaves herself into a magical and passionate tale. I think the title is brilliant. In the beginning, the Dark Hills are part of the outside world that no one knows anything about and doesn't want to know, for that matter. But as Alexa journeys through them and experiences their power, something changes in the atmosphere. It's almost as if the Dark Hills lose their darkness in a sense. But don't let me spoil it. Read it!
    The Dark Hills Divide is a fiction book filled to the brim with talking animals, miniature humans, and criminal bandits that live underground. I'm sorry to say there aren't any pictures, but Patrick Carman does an outstanding job of creating images in your head. The book has a pretty amazing setting with maps for underground tunnels, above groun secret passages, and the library. To fully understand what's going on, you have to keep in mind where Alexa is at all times. Don't worry though. It's not that complicated once you start reading.
    If you like The Dark Hills Divide, you should also read the second and thrid books. The series has a fantastic ending. You may think that the first book is a little slow, but boy does it speed up. Or you may think that the first book is excellent, and then you'll be lost for words for the third book. I promise.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    Goodgood

    Goodgood

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2006

    Extremely disappointed

    This book is junk! The entire book is merely an introduction for the second book. The author doesn't understand subtlty or the meaning of the phrase less is more. I found the characters unlikeable and underdeveloped, the setting shallow and cookiecutter-ish, and action completely missing. The focus in this series is on selling subsequent books not on story telling. All in all skip it. I wish I had.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    What

    Stupid book way confusing dont buy or read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2013

    Dark hills divide

    Good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    The dark hills divide

    Magnificent book i dont know why i gave it a 1 i guess i was just playing with the stars :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved this book!!!! So intriguing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2012

    Good book

    Very adventurous

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Where┬┐s the Spark? This book was just below okay and rather dis

    Where’s the Spark?

    This book was just below okay and rather disappointing for me. To be fair I will say that the concept was interesting and writing decent. True I was never quite sure what to make of Alexa, but she wasn’t the most immediate issue I faced while reading. The real problem was the missing spark of life. The point where the story went from something you read to a place you could occupy in your imagination. I never felt a compulsion to enter into the Land of Elyon.

    I found the lifelessness more sad than anything else (especially since writing a book is a lot of work). I have read books much more mundane in their concepts and the writing with a lot to wish for, but they had the life giving spark which made a world of difference.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Hills Divide

    This book is slow to start but once you get into it you will love it! The characters are wonderful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2008

    A reviewer

    i love that book!!!! i thought it was thrilling,enthralling,and soooo great. i recommend reading it majorly!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2008

    The Best Book Ever

    it is just wonderful, perfect, outstanding, spectacular, magnificent, remarkable, and everything else!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 127 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7