Customer Reviews for

Dark Horse

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(38)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A reviewer

i spent one day flipping through this gripping page turner.the unmentionable romance, the twists in the plot, they keep you wondering till the very last page. 569645 thumbs up

posted by Anonymous on May 6, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not a book to love

This was my first book by her and I was so looking forward to it But I have to say that I was disappointed greatly The plot kept repeating itself over and over and there were so many bad people and then a quick final twist that left you thinking what?? It could have bee...
This was my first book by her and I was so looking forward to it But I have to say that I was disappointed greatly The plot kept repeating itself over and over and there were so many bad people and then a quick final twist that left you thinking what?? It could have been a good short story but to waste all that time reading a book that just doesnt draw you in was a disappointment I will read another and give her another try but couldnt recommend this one

posted by Anonymous on October 26, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2007

    A reviewer

    i spent one day flipping through this gripping page turner.the unmentionable romance, the twists in the plot, they keep you wondering till the very last page. 569645 thumbs up

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2008

    A Really Good Read

    I usually don't read mysteries. Ever. I picked this up because of the tie-in to the horse world. It was captivating and held my interest page after page. I usually "speed read" and skip the unimportant trivial words in some novels but I loved Tami Hoag's style of writing so much, I read every single word. I found myself sneaking in time to read more of the book when I should have been doing other things! Just couldn't put it down! I highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2006

    By far... the best ever

    This is by far the best story I have read by Tami Hoag. The main character had such a personality that will forever be memorable, she should write a series about Elana Estes. A recommended read for everyone.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2005

    Excellent reading

    As a Tami Hoag fan, I was thrilled by this book. It follows the equestrian life closely and gives wonderful insight into that world. The plot was good and the characters even better. The main character is someone that I would like to read more about. Don't miss this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2004

    Not a book to love

    This was my first book by her and I was so looking forward to it But I have to say that I was disappointed greatly The plot kept repeating itself over and over and there were so many bad people and then a quick final twist that left you thinking what?? It could have been a good short story but to waste all that time reading a book that just doesnt draw you in was a disappointment I will read another and give her another try but couldnt recommend this one

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2015

    A new twist on a mystery. This one keeps you involved,as  always

    A new twist on a mystery.
    This one keeps you involved,as  always can't wait to get to the last page on Tami's books.  This is a good book for the airplane.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Dark horse

    Hope the book is as good as the song!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Horse - Won't Be My Last Hoag Read This review first appea

    Dark Horse - Won't Be My Last Hoag Read

    This review first appeared at Chorley Chronicals!!

    This was my first read by Tami Hoag, and I must say that I wasn't disappointed, so I certainly will pick up more by her in the future.  This was book 1 in the Elena Estes series, and I absolutely will (at some time) seek out book 2 to read! 




    The narrator does an excellent job of not only bringing the characters to life, but also distinguishing the characters throughout the book.  There were quite a few characters to keep up with, but I thought that Beth McDonald did a great job of helping me distinguish which character was which while she was reading.  I wouldn't hesitate to listen to another audio book narrated by Beth McDonald!




    My favorite type of character is a strong, independent female, and I found just that in Elena Estes. That was probably one of my favorite things about this book, Elena's character and her ruthlessness and brutal honesty!  I also couldn't help but fall in love with Molly Seabright, and have nothing but utter dismay and disgust at her mother and step-father! 




    Dark Horse did a great job of making me feel the emotions of the story that I was reading, although it felt like the story did drag on a bit at times, which is why I only gave this book 3 of 5 bookworms!  The plot was suspenseful and was initially difficult to figure out the kidnapper was!  I did enjoy the extra "drama" included throughout the story!  I heard many people complain that they didn't care for all of the horse talk and reference throughout the book, but that didn't bother me a bit, but then again, I love horses!  I just thought it was fitting, giving the kidnapping took place at a pretty prominent stable! 




    Overall, other than the story seeming to move a little slower than I would have liked, I don't have any complaints about Dark Horse and will absolutely eventually get around to reading The Alibi Man, Book 2 in the Elena Estes series, mainly because I loved Elena so much!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    PART THREE

    Two more hours passed and jack returned with a small peice of meat in his hand. I glared at him. "If its gonna change me in any way im not eating it." He chuckled and put in inside. "Its fine. Its just dinner. My parents wont be home today. They have to do something at work upstate. So its just you and me." I looked away. This wasnt going well at all. <p> once he left. I took a bite. It was warm chicken. I kept eating untill it was gone. I felt better-less empty. I sighed and spotted a small peice of cloth, a cotten ball, and penny. I layed my head on the cotten ball and wrapped myself in the cloth. I herd jack come in and wrapped myself tighter in the cloth. He opened the cage and plucked me out. Putting the cloth back in. He put me on the bed and held me there. I didnt even try to escape. I knew i wouldnt make it. He pulled out a small red collar-like object from his pocket. "This is for you untill you grow an inch. Then ill replace it with a blue one." He linked a small chain on it and straped it around me waist so I bit him. He didnt even wince. He finished and chained me to a cage bar as he shoved me back inside. I yanked and yanked but it wouldnt budge. I soon managed to grab the cloth and curl up under it. Jack layed on the bed and turned the light out. <p> i drifted off. To be continued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    I love this booj

    :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    APPRENTICES DEN

    APPRENTICES DEN

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    Seen the movie

    In the movie after you think things are going to go right they go wrong again. I dunno. Mabey the book is diffrrent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    ~Sagekit~

    Sagekit is the guardian of WispClan; this means she walks in the leader's and medicine cat's dreams in order to warn them; she makes sure all the kits are unharmed.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Twilightdove

    Name: Twilightdove
    Gender: Female
    Age: 26 moons
    Build: Slender, flexible, long-legged, and fast
    Pelt: Pale gray, tinged with ice blue, and fluffy
    Eyes: Amber, flecked with gold
    Personality: Quiet and shy, never really stands out in a crowd, gives very good advice, loyal friend, good secret-keeper, extremely trustworthy, kind, sweet, lovable, and a peacekeeper
    Mate: None
    Crush: None
    Kits: None
    Family: Dead
    History: Swore she would never talk about it
    Other: Nothing unless I think of something else

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Dovekit

    Adoupted farther- fireclaw......white shekit with black and ginger daples.....misty gray eyes..........name- dovekit............theme song- Sober by unknown artist.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Flowersong

    Name*facepalm* if you cant see the Headlines its Flowersong.
    Age: 24 moons
    Description: Pretty white shecat with bright green eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Clay

    You love my owner..his names Hunter..you will never feel alone again..he will fix you up..hes nice..please come with me to stable res 1..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    Ebook quality

    This ebook looks like a poor quality scan. DO Not BUY the ebook format. I'm requesting a credit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    CANT OPEN THIS BOOK

    I AM SO MAD IT SEEMED LIKR A REALY GOOD BOOK+I LPVE HORSES SO MUCH -sorry for the capitalization ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    Corny, corny and corny

    Could not stop laughing. Took few month to finish up

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4