Customer Reviews for

Dark-Hunter Companion

Average Rating 4.5
( 98 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Made for Fans of the Series

For those of us who are obscessed with the world of the Dark-Hunters, this book is a must have.

posted by 1107065 on March 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Interesting take on reference book

So I enjoyed all of Kenyons books. Though was dissapointed in the last release Bad Moon rising, but hopefully the C.O.N will make up for it. Back to the Dark-Hunter Companion. I did enjoy all the little tid bits and details on the characters but it left me a bit blah......
So I enjoyed all of Kenyons books. Though was dissapointed in the last release Bad Moon rising, but hopefully the C.O.N will make up for it. Back to the Dark-Hunter Companion. I did enjoy all the little tid bits and details on the characters but it left me a bit blah... I was hoping that it was going to be a little wittier and have juicy intell but was mistaken. If you're a die hard fan of Dark Hunter then you'll like it.

posted by Dulcet on September 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2009

    Made for Fans of the Series

    For those of us who are obscessed with the world of the Dark-Hunters, this book is a must have.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong resource for fans of the series

    In the five years since Sherrilyn Kenyon first introduced readers to the Dark Hunter saga, the mythos has expanded into an extremely complex universe. This companion tome serves as a resource for fans of the series. Besides the obvious bibliography with a brief description of the plots, the book offers a deep look at the various races and their history and customs that occupy the Kenyon world. By species classification, every character to appear in any of the books (I take the words of the author as to that) is included. There are also sidebar sections on Greek and New Orleans cultures and though connected especially the latter to the Kenyon mythos seems out of place (this reviewer skimmed those two chapters). Interviews with the ¿Author-Goddess (if you don¿t know who that is ¿ you need to pass on this book), Acheron and Simi are entertaining and insightful especially Acheron. Finally there are the outtakes that never made it into a final book and a new short story. In sum this is winner for readers who relish the complete Dark Hunter mythology (eleven novels, eight short stories and six official websites. --- Harriet Klausner

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2008

    A fun read.

    Ok, if you aren't at least familiar with the inner workings of the world of Dark Hunters, don't attempt this book. For those of us who have been initiated into the DH world, this is a must read. I laughed during most of the book. A few chapters are literally nothing but definitions of powers, characters, and weapons among other things. The stories and interviews included in this book are histerical and definately worth the time. As an Added bonus Ms. Kontis includes some recipies at the end, I now make the best Baklava in the county.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2010

    Dark-Hunter Lovers Must Have

    Goes over all the important information from Sherrilyn Kenyon's best series, The Dark-Hunters. Gives an overview of mythology Has amazing recipes as well!! Is not up to date since she has added several books since it's release but another should be out soon, hopefully.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Hunter Companion.....

    In the spirit of a Companion......this one is perfect!

    FYI....I enjoy ALL of Kenyon's books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    The Dark Hunter Companion is one of my favorites

    The Dark Hunter Companion is a book that I would recommend any of my friends to read. I have gotten several friends to start this series and they are waiting on my Companion to read.
    The Dark Hunter Companion really sums up how the Greek Gods view things in their world and ours. The Companion also has several receipes that I will have to try on my own when I get time. It also explains how the gods relate to one another. The book also sums up how different individuals in other books go along with the gods and the Dark-Hunters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark-Hunter Companion

    This is a very good book to have. It explains all her characters with background information on each one. She has so many characters, and they are mentioned here and there in her novels that it is difficult to remember them all. I am really glad that I bought it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1