Customer Reviews for

The Dark-Hunters, Vol. 1

Average Rating 4
( 76 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

avid reader

amazing book... sherrilyn kenyon does not disappoint!! you'll love the dark-hunter series!!

posted by crystal1983 on April 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

This is the first manga I've ever read. The only other full length comic-style books I've read are ones like Alan Moore's or Will Eisner's, and this book has nothing on them. First off, I didn't expect it to be black and white, which isn't a huge issue normally, but it ...
This is the first manga I've ever read. The only other full length comic-style books I've read are ones like Alan Moore's or Will Eisner's, and this book has nothing on them. First off, I didn't expect it to be black and white, which isn't a huge issue normally, but it would have helped this book to have some color. Also, this book is extremely short. I just read it in less than 2 hours, and I'm not a fast reader. In that span, I got a very rushed basic history of the dark-hunters, and a lot of back and forth banter between the two main characters, but no real development for anyone. I'm sure this will come over the duration of the series, or at least I hope it will, but at $10 a pop, I do not see myself shelling out to find out. Also, the first time I saw the main guy's face after the girl turns over his unconscious body, I thought it was a girl, seriously. Then she made a comment about him being hot or yummy or something and I was just hoping there wasn't going to be a lot of that teenage girl sounding talk throughout the book. The annoying thing for me is that Kenyon has created such an interesting and original world with a vast web of characters, but they are plagued by "bubble gum" talk like the aforementioned "yummy." This book is for a younger audience than her normal fare, but even those clearly adult novels, with lots of sometimes overly pervasive sexuality, are chock full of cheesy lines. I think if Kenyon could write a novel outside of a teenage girl's mindset when it comes to the male characters, her books could make it to my favorite list. Oh, she would also have to spice up her general formula of the guy and girl hating each other or not being able to be together for some reason, then they can't resist each other by the middle or end of the book... overkill...

posted by NJ_Eric on August 6, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    avid reader

    amazing book... sherrilyn kenyon does not disappoint!! you'll love the dark-hunter series!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    I love Sherrilyn Kenyon

    I have read every book Sherrilyn Kenyon has wriiten. I loved the way this book was done in Traditional Japanese Magna Style. I is fun and creative and makes a great additional to any book collection.
    I strongly recomended it to anyone who loves graphic novels.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2009

    Book is better than the cover!

    Love the book, HATE the cover!!!!! entertaining, compelling, a good read if you don't have to look at the front!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Perfect to add to you Dark-Hunter collection

    If you haven't read Manga(like me) before, it takes some getting used to reading backwards but after a few pages I got the hang of it. This book follows the story perfectly and the illustrations were great. I am very happy with it and can't wait for the next one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Disappointed

    This is the first manga I've ever read. The only other full length comic-style books I've read are ones like Alan Moore's or Will Eisner's, and this book has nothing on them. First off, I didn't expect it to be black and white, which isn't a huge issue normally, but it would have helped this book to have some color. Also, this book is extremely short. I just read it in less than 2 hours, and I'm not a fast reader. In that span, I got a very rushed basic history of the dark-hunters, and a lot of back and forth banter between the two main characters, but no real development for anyone. I'm sure this will come over the duration of the series, or at least I hope it will, but at $10 a pop, I do not see myself shelling out to find out. Also, the first time I saw the main guy's face after the girl turns over his unconscious body, I thought it was a girl, seriously. Then she made a comment about him being hot or yummy or something and I was just hoping there wasn't going to be a lot of that teenage girl sounding talk throughout the book. The annoying thing for me is that Kenyon has created such an interesting and original world with a vast web of characters, but they are plagued by "bubble gum" talk like the aforementioned "yummy." This book is for a younger audience than her normal fare, but even those clearly adult novels, with lots of sometimes overly pervasive sexuality, are chock full of cheesy lines. I think if Kenyon could write a novel outside of a teenage girl's mindset when it comes to the male characters, her books could make it to my favorite list. Oh, she would also have to spice up her general formula of the guy and girl hating each other or not being able to be together for some reason, then they can't resist each other by the middle or end of the book... overkill...

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 11, 2011

    What was i thinking!

    Wanted a novel but bought the comic on accident ugh!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Good first manga read

    I am a dark hunter fan, but have never read manga before. At first it was tricky getting the hang of reading from right to left. But, the farther I got into the story, the easier it got, and I truly got caught up in the story. This is a great option for a dark hunter fan who has never given manga a try. I will definitely be getting Volume 2.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Acheron would be proud

    DH's gone Manga, very cool. Ash would love it.
    They changed things around a bit- to keep them from an X rating I guess. I did not like the way Talon was portrayed and Julian looked waaaay too young, didn't like the fact it was done in black and white either. Overall it is part of my Dark Hunters collection and it was a fun read. Read Night Pleasures to see the story behind the comic.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Interesting

    I heard of the series but haven't read any of the books. So I finally got around to reading this volume and the premise, lore was interesting. The art was good to okay. And couldn't help but laugh at some of the expressions. Not saying the art is bad. It wasn't. Anyway, interesting is how I'd describe this volume. A lot of exposition going on but still good. I don't know if its the hair or the way he's drawn, but does Hunter remind anyone of Claude from Vampire Kisses Blood Relatives? Just me...maybe?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2013

    Very good

    I always enjoy a good story like this

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Wtf

    I spend$10 on a 15 page comic are you kidding me!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    disappointing

    I had read several of the later books in the series when I found this I wanted to read how it all began. I was not aware that this was a graphic novel (comic), found it impossible to follow or comprehend. Do not recommend reading this in electronic form.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    it's a Comic

    It's a comic i cant believe i spent $10.00 for a comic ugh i so wanted a book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    Pages

    How many pages are in here???

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2011

    Duhhh

    Well make sure u know what ur getting this is a comic (duhh) n if u wat to read this well guess what u can its the second book of the darkhunter series. Cant think of the name off hand look it up. N trust me the book worth it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    waste of time

    I felt this book was a waste of time and money. I wanted to read a book and I got a comic book.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great!

    The Manga was almost like the book and I really enjoyed seeing how the characters looked in someone elses eyes.
    Sadly, a lot of the characters [Julian and Talon] looked A LOT younger than they should have which was my only problem.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 76 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4