Customer Reviews for

Dark Inside

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite YA Read of 2011

There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn R...
There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn Roberts) is one of those rare finds. It's been a long, long time - probably since I first read the Hunger Games books, that I would have run out to buy the next book had there been one. I sat around wanting to read more, hours later finding my mind back inside that world, with those characters, that fascinated and horrified me.

Goodreads describes it as 28 Days Later meets The Road, and it is a novel about the apocalypse, but one unlike any other that has passed through my hands this past year. This one isn't due to something supernatural, something paranormal, or anything too hard to believe. It's caused when those dark recesses of humanity, the ones we suppress and beat back, rise up and take over.

As a historian, this concept fascinates me. The author alludes to this being the driving force behind the fall of every great civilization, and there's something to that. Most great cultures have shown marked disintegration of their collective morality during the centuries leading up to their undoing.

I won't tell you anything more specific, because this is a beautiful, philosophical, thought-provoking story. Peeling away the layers will be more satisfying when you jam them under your own fingernails. I will say this: the characters are REAL. They're flawed, they do bad things, and they struggle with not giving into the darkness themselves. There are four POV characters, all of whom I felt connected to (some more than others, of course) but any of their deaths would have devastated me. There is a fifth POV, a character known as Nothing, who is slipping back and forth between the darkness trying to claim his soul and the tattered remains of his humanity, and that character tells us so much in his broken, anonymous words.

posted by trishaleighkc on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Apples and bananas

I like to eat eat eat apples and bananas. This book looks good but i havent read it yet.im watching dodgeball rightbnow and it is really funny. Feel free to write a response to this

posted by 7516831 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite YA Read of 2011

    There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn Roberts) is one of those rare finds. It's been a long, long time - probably since I first read the Hunger Games books, that I would have run out to buy the next book had there been one. I sat around wanting to read more, hours later finding my mind back inside that world, with those characters, that fascinated and horrified me.

    Goodreads describes it as 28 Days Later meets The Road, and it is a novel about the apocalypse, but one unlike any other that has passed through my hands this past year. This one isn't due to something supernatural, something paranormal, or anything too hard to believe. It's caused when those dark recesses of humanity, the ones we suppress and beat back, rise up and take over.

    As a historian, this concept fascinates me. The author alludes to this being the driving force behind the fall of every great civilization, and there's something to that. Most great cultures have shown marked disintegration of their collective morality during the centuries leading up to their undoing.

    I won't tell you anything more specific, because this is a beautiful, philosophical, thought-provoking story. Peeling away the layers will be more satisfying when you jam them under your own fingernails. I will say this: the characters are REAL. They're flawed, they do bad things, and they struggle with not giving into the darkness themselves. There are four POV characters, all of whom I felt connected to (some more than others, of course) but any of their deaths would have devastated me. There is a fifth POV, a character known as Nothing, who is slipping back and forth between the darkness trying to claim his soul and the tattered remains of his humanity, and that character tells us so much in his broken, anonymous words.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    shockingly fantastic

    Dark inside by Jeyn Roberts

    Earthquakes rock the earth places crumble to ash and people are killed within a blink of an eye but the worse is still to come. Evil has been set free and is changing people into something dark. Killers and hunters ready to tear you apart.

    Four teens Mason, Aries, Clementine and Michael each in different places fighting to stay alive and to keep the darkness out there souls. Will they live through the horror that awaits them at every corner.

    In the course of the book you manly follow four characters they are all different and the author has put them together really well. You follow the journey of these characters from the beginning from the not understanding what's going on to the having to survive. It's emotional and scary and you sometimes wonder if the characters are just going to give in.

    The book was dark and deeply twisted in a way I really loved. Each character was not only trying to stay alive but was trying to keep this evil from getting inside them. It was a rollercoaster of action and fear and horror and I loved every page till the very end.

    The book was well written and easy to get into because you are thrown right into none stop action from the very start. There are scares, shocks and so much more I don't want to give too much away but you need to read this book.

    5 stars
    This book is dark and deeply twisted and shockingly fantastic

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I love these types of books! It always makes me real excited to read a book that not only held up to my every expectation, but left me longing for more.

    What I loved most about this book is the plot. Man, did it rock! The pacing is perfect from page one. This book has many point of view switches. It did not confuse me at all. It anything it enhanced the book making me read it faster. I loved that each point of view is connected to one another. I like how the Ms. Roberts captures the reader from the very first pages holding them down for something that they never expected. The reader is taken down roads never seen, things never told and eyes awakening to a whole new reading experience.

    I really enjoyed all the elements in the books as well. So much sacrifice, love, fighting and death. It made the book so much real with the emotions swirling between the pages. I adored jumping from character to character, seeing things from different views. Ms. Roberts made me love the point of view switching in this book. As the reader, I was completely excited to see what characters I can fall into next. Her writing is easy to read and very easy to fall into.

    If you want a intense, fast read with surprises coming at you read this book! A very enthralling read from the beginning to the end, Dark Inside is intense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Training Area

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2013

    Wow

    So at first i didnt like this book. Even though there is tons of action, plotwise it is slow. But as the characters develop you really get into it. My problem with this book is the unanswered questions of WHY. Why are people turning into crazy killers? What made everything turn upside down? It ia frustrating to invest time into a book only to be dissapointed by the ending. The ending is an important part of any story and Dark Inside just didnt have a worthy one.

    Parts of this book made me scared for the characters. They showed couragr and survival skills i wonder if i could possess. Tha is the best part about this book. It makes you wonder whatyou would do to survive. Oh and i love how Nothimg FINALLY reveals who he isat the end. Of course i suspexted it would b him from the moment he was introduced so it was gratifying to be right!

    (Written on tiny nook keypad)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    A great read

    This book was amazing. It's unlike anything I've read. The story plot was driven and left me wanting more. I love this book and can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Fantastic.

    Absolutely wonderful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Must read!

    The book is about four different teenagers, Mason, Aries, Clementine and Michael as they each share their own perspectives and thoughts on the world crumbling around them. A huge earthquake happens which results in a tonne of people all over the world going crazy. The people who were affected by the earthquake begin killing people brutally just for their own pleasure and the four teenagers must find a way to survive the apocalypse.

    It was a very interesting read, Usually I'm not too fond of apocalypse-type books but this one definitely sucked me in right from the start. There's always something going on and it never gets boring even for a minute. Each chapter is from a new person's perspective because the four teenagers haven't crossed paths yet. That was probably the only thing I disliked about it. I can't stand when there's more than one person telling the story. But in a strange way, it didn't bother me too much. Jeyn definitely made it work.

    The character's were brilliant! Their lives were all so very different but yet they each ended up in the same predicament. I think Aries was my favourite. Even though she was terrified throughout most of the book, she still remained strong and brave for the sake of her classmates that also survived and they all looked up to her like she was their leader. Mason was completely badass. I always come across males in books where the author basically made them cold with no emotion but Mason was definitely the opposite. He felt all the pain in his life and he tried to deal with it but it overcame him at one point and he lost it, just like any other normal human being would.

    There's another mysterious person in the book called 'Nothing' who gets a chapter here and there telling the readers about his life. He came across as psychotic but it was definitely interesting and fun trying to guess who it was. I think I may have figured it out towards the very end but I'm not entirely sure because we never actually get told. Hopefully we'll find out in the sequel!

    Dark Inside was definitely a book I enjoyed reading. It had just the right amount of suspense to keep you coming back for more. It was a quick read, only having 336 pages. You could most likely finish it in a day if you really wanted to. It was interesting, fun, captivating and Jeyn Robert's writing was brilliant. She's a really talented author and I think she deserves to be known by more people. So everyone, I recommend that you read this book! Even if you're not into the apocalypse genre (I'm not into much myself), I still think you should read it. You won't be let down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Shelley thinks

    Wow this is better than hunger games and i would also read dust lands by???????but the talk folkish sO b? careful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    At first i didn't think i would like this book at all. Afer i go

    At first i didn't think i would like this book at all. Afer i got a few chapers in i started loving it. It's a GREAT read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Great!!

    I love how all the characters stories end up converge......I wonder who the "nothing" guy id.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Awesome!

    DARK INSIDE is awesome!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Yes!

    For all those wondering (including me), there is going to be a sequel to this, called "Rage Within" and its expected for release on Sept. 4. I hope that changes... I love this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    The best book in the world

    If you can tead any read this one.This book was a total page turner the way jean roberts writes is so gripping she always knows what to say so if u like to read the best book ever tead this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Wow, this story is pretty intense. I think if somebody had take


    Wow, this story is pretty intense. I think if somebody had taken my picture while I was reading this book I would have a slideshow of variations between heartbroken, shocked/ wide eyed.
    With the story being told from several perspectives there is very little down time. The reader travels from one event to the other. From hundreds of schools getting bombed around the nation to random shootings and acts of violence. There was also several earthquakes worldwide which caused tsunamis and all of the things that come with catastrophic events happening all at once. There is no internet, phones and then people start attacking each other. Some are taken over by the darkness, shooting and attacking, seeking out all living people until the "danger" is gone.
    I did not quite catch on to why some people had the darkness arise in them and some didn't.
    There is nowhere to hide, no one you can trust and where are you supposed to go now?
    It was an amazingly dark story, as the title and summary say. There were several gruesome and horrific things happening. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Second book?

    Just finished the book. It was great. Will there be another one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Makes you think...

    I loved this book and recommend this book to everyone. This book makes you think aboit what you would do to survive. Would you betray your famuly in order to save yourself? Or are you goin to become a leader to save others? Would you kill for your own safety? These are qusetion i hoped i never have to ponder but this book made me ponder these qeustions. I love this book and can't wait for the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Amazing

    No words to describe how wonderful this book is. I literally JUST finished, and I'm speechless. I fell in love with the characters. Beautifully written. Worthy of more than 5*.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    Dark Inside is probably one of the darkest books that I have ever read. I usually write my reviews right after finishing, but this time, I just couldn't. I still can't really decide how I feel about this book. Most parts of me could not put it down, but I just couldn't let myself, I had to know how the characters fared and I couldn't stop until I finished.
    The last chapter really confused me and I wish that it wasn't there, because everything I thought I understood kinda disappeared, and I would have been fine stopping just before. But the "nothing" chapters didn't really do much for me, so maybe that is why.
    The fear is really palpable, and the characters all are truly survivors, regardless. I have to admire and hold onto hope with them, no matter what keeps happening around them. The only complaint I have is with the multiple perspectives, I didn't feel like I was in the characters heads long enough to completely keep straight what happened to who, and I had to flip on more than one occasion to their previous chapter to remind myself.
    This is definitely for mature teens and those who can handle dark themes and some gore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Live To Read

    This book is a must-read for dystopian readers. Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are the main characters. The novel is told from their view point. Each experience odd occurrences right when the earthquakes occur, literally shaking their world upside down.



    The main characters appear unaffected by this pervading rage that infects much of the population. There are people attacking others in horrible ways, to the death. The author captures the hatred from these people and can really make the reader feel it. There is a sense of doom in the novel, aided by the evil "Nothing" that shows up to speak its say. Nothing is supposed to be the evil that is, perhaps, influencing all of these people to forget societal norms and turn into marauding killers.



    The main characters would never have met in real life had this evil not occurred. They each have differing qualities and quirks that are likely to allow a reader to choose at least one character he/she feels he/she likes the most. The events are incredibly fast-paced, the reader can't put this novel down before another brutal attack occurs. The ending is somewhat frustrating, a bit of a cliff-hanger. The only other negative in this book would be that, at times, it was hard to follow four different point of views. This book is recommended to readers who enjoy dystopian novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 87 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5