Customer Reviews for

Dark Inside

Average Rating 4.5
( 87 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite YA Read of 2011

There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn R...
There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn Roberts) is one of those rare finds. It's been a long, long time - probably since I first read the Hunger Games books, that I would have run out to buy the next book had there been one. I sat around wanting to read more, hours later finding my mind back inside that world, with those characters, that fascinated and horrified me.

Goodreads describes it as 28 Days Later meets The Road, and it is a novel about the apocalypse, but one unlike any other that has passed through my hands this past year. This one isn't due to something supernatural, something paranormal, or anything too hard to believe. It's caused when those dark recesses of humanity, the ones we suppress and beat back, rise up and take over.

As a historian, this concept fascinates me. The author alludes to this being the driving force behind the fall of every great civilization, and there's something to that. Most great cultures have shown marked disintegration of their collective morality during the centuries leading up to their undoing.

I won't tell you anything more specific, because this is a beautiful, philosophical, thought-provoking story. Peeling away the layers will be more satisfying when you jam them under your own fingernails. I will say this: the characters are REAL. They're flawed, they do bad things, and they struggle with not giving into the darkness themselves. There are four POV characters, all of whom I felt connected to (some more than others, of course) but any of their deaths would have devastated me. There is a fifth POV, a character known as Nothing, who is slipping back and forth between the darkness trying to claim his soul and the tattered remains of his humanity, and that character tells us so much in his broken, anonymous words.

posted by trishaleighkc on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Apples and bananas

I like to eat eat eat apples and bananas. This book looks good but i havent read it yet.im watching dodgeball rightbnow and it is really funny. Feel free to write a response to this

posted by 7516831 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book!

    I love these types of books! It always makes me real excited to read a book that not only held up to my every expectation, but left me longing for more.

    What I loved most about this book is the plot. Man, did it rock! The pacing is perfect from page one. This book has many point of view switches. It did not confuse me at all. It anything it enhanced the book making me read it faster. I loved that each point of view is connected to one another. I like how the Ms. Roberts captures the reader from the very first pages holding them down for something that they never expected. The reader is taken down roads never seen, things never told and eyes awakening to a whole new reading experience.

    I really enjoyed all the elements in the books as well. So much sacrifice, love, fighting and death. It made the book so much real with the emotions swirling between the pages. I adored jumping from character to character, seeing things from different views. Ms. Roberts made me love the point of view switching in this book. As the reader, I was completely excited to see what characters I can fall into next. Her writing is easy to read and very easy to fall into.

    If you want a intense, fast read with surprises coming at you read this book! A very enthralling read from the beginning to the end, Dark Inside is intense.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2012

    Must read!

    The book is about four different teenagers, Mason, Aries, Clementine and Michael as they each share their own perspectives and thoughts on the world crumbling around them. A huge earthquake happens which results in a tonne of people all over the world going crazy. The people who were affected by the earthquake begin killing people brutally just for their own pleasure and the four teenagers must find a way to survive the apocalypse.

    It was a very interesting read, Usually I'm not too fond of apocalypse-type books but this one definitely sucked me in right from the start. There's always something going on and it never gets boring even for a minute. Each chapter is from a new person's perspective because the four teenagers haven't crossed paths yet. That was probably the only thing I disliked about it. I can't stand when there's more than one person telling the story. But in a strange way, it didn't bother me too much. Jeyn definitely made it work.

    The character's were brilliant! Their lives were all so very different but yet they each ended up in the same predicament. I think Aries was my favourite. Even though she was terrified throughout most of the book, she still remained strong and brave for the sake of her classmates that also survived and they all looked up to her like she was their leader. Mason was completely badass. I always come across males in books where the author basically made them cold with no emotion but Mason was definitely the opposite. He felt all the pain in his life and he tried to deal with it but it overcame him at one point and he lost it, just like any other normal human being would.

    There's another mysterious person in the book called 'Nothing' who gets a chapter here and there telling the readers about his life. He came across as psychotic but it was definitely interesting and fun trying to guess who it was. I think I may have figured it out towards the very end but I'm not entirely sure because we never actually get told. Hopefully we'll find out in the sequel!

    Dark Inside was definitely a book I enjoyed reading. It had just the right amount of suspense to keep you coming back for more. It was a quick read, only having 336 pages. You could most likely finish it in a day if you really wanted to. It was interesting, fun, captivating and Jeyn Robert's writing was brilliant. She's a really talented author and I think she deserves to be known by more people. So everyone, I recommend that you read this book! Even if you're not into the apocalypse genre (I'm not into much myself), I still think you should read it. You won't be let down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Review from Blkosiner's Book Blog

    Dark Inside is probably one of the darkest books that I have ever read. I usually write my reviews right after finishing, but this time, I just couldn't. I still can't really decide how I feel about this book. Most parts of me could not put it down, but I just couldn't let myself, I had to know how the characters fared and I couldn't stop until I finished.
    The last chapter really confused me and I wish that it wasn't there, because everything I thought I understood kinda disappeared, and I would have been fine stopping just before. But the "nothing" chapters didn't really do much for me, so maybe that is why.
    The fear is really palpable, and the characters all are truly survivors, regardless. I have to admire and hold onto hope with them, no matter what keeps happening around them. The only complaint I have is with the multiple perspectives, I didn't feel like I was in the characters heads long enough to completely keep straight what happened to who, and I had to flip on more than one occasion to their previous chapter to remind myself.
    This is definitely for mature teens and those who can handle dark themes and some gore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    Live To Read

    This book is a must-read for dystopian readers. Mason, Aries, Clementine, and Michael are the main characters. The novel is told from their view point. Each experience odd occurrences right when the earthquakes occur, literally shaking their world upside down.



    The main characters appear unaffected by this pervading rage that infects much of the population. There are people attacking others in horrible ways, to the death. The author captures the hatred from these people and can really make the reader feel it. There is a sense of doom in the novel, aided by the evil "Nothing" that shows up to speak its say. Nothing is supposed to be the evil that is, perhaps, influencing all of these people to forget societal norms and turn into marauding killers.



    The main characters would never have met in real life had this evil not occurred. They each have differing qualities and quirks that are likely to allow a reader to choose at least one character he/she feels he/she likes the most. The events are incredibly fast-paced, the reader can't put this novel down before another brutal attack occurs. The ending is somewhat frustrating, a bit of a cliff-hanger. The only other negative in this book would be that, at times, it was hard to follow four different point of views. This book is recommended to readers who enjoy dystopian novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    LeAndra

    Im have way through it. I have it on paperback. FUDGING AMAZING

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Sammy smith

    It was so inrense and has many unexpected suprises

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    A great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2012

    Worth the read

    Loved it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Review of Dark Inside by Sandy @ Magical Manuscripts When I ope

    Review of Dark Inside by Sandy @ Magical Manuscripts

    When I opened the book to the first page I wasn't really sure on what to expect, but never did I imagine that Jeyn Roberts would introduce me to a world that would have me cringing with horror one moment and almost crying the next.

    Dark Inside tells the story with four narrators - Aries, Mason, Michael and Clementine and their fight to stay live in the madness their world had become. Each and everyone of them started off their story in some terrible way. From losing friends in an Earthquake to parents getting shot by madmen and women. If you're looking for a book filled with blood and gore, this is it.

    The thing that gets me about this book is that people who had been brilliant neighbors and friends turned into something really ugly in a matter of moments. For the survivors - those not chosen to be homicidal maniacs - everyday is a battle for survival.

    But, even in times of horror, friendships can be made. And that's what happens to each of the four mentioned above. Strangely, I think it is the girls in this book who seem so much stronger than the male main characters. They seemed to be like the glue that held everything together - the ones that fought the hardest to stay alive and outrun the 'Baggers' as they were called.

    The 'Baggers' are what you can imagine the worst criminals are like. They have no conscience - no regard whatsoever for human life and the scary thing is that in that world they could quite easily be you or me. I kind of felt sorry for them. They never went the way they did voluntarily - they were taken over. I can't tell you by what or even how, but I do know that it is open to interpretation and your imagination.

    I think the sheer genius of the way this book is written is that it's like four short stories that have been blended seamlessly into one great story. This book was by no means boring and it kept me anxious and tense, wondering what would happen next.

    Silly me, I almost forgot the fifth narrator - Nothing. I don't know how to explain this character apart from the feeling that he/she is one of the characters I knew, but from a different perspective. The only way to appreciate how he/she fits into the story is to read it.

    Now I must point out that the telling from five perspectives may become confusing - particularly if you stop reading it for some time. It is definitely not a book that you can put down and then start again without figuring out where you left each of the main characters' story. I made that mistake and had to skim the pages I had already read just so I could catch up again.

    But, even with that slight issue, I loved this book for the simple reason that it kept me thinking about what happened days after I finished reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Emily Fitzgerald

    I think this book would be good only for 12-adults... Sorry anyone who is younger than that!
    But it might be ok for you.. depends on your parents...
    Sounds like a good book, though!!
    Lol!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    Good read.

    It is very entertaining. Its worth the read. If you like Walking dead type of suspense you will like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Pretty good

    I thought it was a good story some of the dialog was... Bad. But you can over look that. Sometimes it was hard to stay into it because there are many narrators and there would be an action scene, the sky is falling, somebody got impaled, we're running for our lives then we're with another character in a bedroom. Just siting. But again overall I would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1