Customer Reviews for

Dark Inside

Average Rating 4.5
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(60)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite YA Read of 2011

There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn R...
There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn Roberts) is one of those rare finds. It's been a long, long time - probably since I first read the Hunger Games books, that I would have run out to buy the next book had there been one. I sat around wanting to read more, hours later finding my mind back inside that world, with those characters, that fascinated and horrified me.

Goodreads describes it as 28 Days Later meets The Road, and it is a novel about the apocalypse, but one unlike any other that has passed through my hands this past year. This one isn't due to something supernatural, something paranormal, or anything too hard to believe. It's caused when those dark recesses of humanity, the ones we suppress and beat back, rise up and take over.

As a historian, this concept fascinates me. The author alludes to this being the driving force behind the fall of every great civilization, and there's something to that. Most great cultures have shown marked disintegration of their collective morality during the centuries leading up to their undoing.

I won't tell you anything more specific, because this is a beautiful, philosophical, thought-provoking story. Peeling away the layers will be more satisfying when you jam them under your own fingernails. I will say this: the characters are REAL. They're flawed, they do bad things, and they struggle with not giving into the darkness themselves. There are four POV characters, all of whom I felt connected to (some more than others, of course) but any of their deaths would have devastated me. There is a fifth POV, a character known as Nothing, who is slipping back and forth between the darkness trying to claim his soul and the tattered remains of his humanity, and that character tells us so much in his broken, anonymous words.

posted by trishaleighkc on November 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Apples and bananas

I like to eat eat eat apples and bananas. This book looks good but i havent read it yet.im watching dodgeball rightbnow and it is really funny. Feel free to write a response to this

posted by 7516831 on March 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite YA Read of 2011

    There are so many good books out there. Books that make me laugh, that make me think, that scare me, and many that I recommend to friends. It is a rare thing, in my mind, to uncover a GREAT book. A novel that makes me sit up and take note. For me, Dark Inside (by Jeyn Roberts) is one of those rare finds. It's been a long, long time - probably since I first read the Hunger Games books, that I would have run out to buy the next book had there been one. I sat around wanting to read more, hours later finding my mind back inside that world, with those characters, that fascinated and horrified me.

    Goodreads describes it as 28 Days Later meets The Road, and it is a novel about the apocalypse, but one unlike any other that has passed through my hands this past year. This one isn't due to something supernatural, something paranormal, or anything too hard to believe. It's caused when those dark recesses of humanity, the ones we suppress and beat back, rise up and take over.

    As a historian, this concept fascinates me. The author alludes to this being the driving force behind the fall of every great civilization, and there's something to that. Most great cultures have shown marked disintegration of their collective morality during the centuries leading up to their undoing.

    I won't tell you anything more specific, because this is a beautiful, philosophical, thought-provoking story. Peeling away the layers will be more satisfying when you jam them under your own fingernails. I will say this: the characters are REAL. They're flawed, they do bad things, and they struggle with not giving into the darkness themselves. There are four POV characters, all of whom I felt connected to (some more than others, of course) but any of their deaths would have devastated me. There is a fifth POV, a character known as Nothing, who is slipping back and forth between the darkness trying to claim his soul and the tattered remains of his humanity, and that character tells us so much in his broken, anonymous words.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    shockingly fantastic

    Dark inside by Jeyn Roberts

    Earthquakes rock the earth places crumble to ash and people are killed within a blink of an eye but the worse is still to come. Evil has been set free and is changing people into something dark. Killers and hunters ready to tear you apart.

    Four teens Mason, Aries, Clementine and Michael each in different places fighting to stay alive and to keep the darkness out there souls. Will they live through the horror that awaits them at every corner.

    In the course of the book you manly follow four characters they are all different and the author has put them together really well. You follow the journey of these characters from the beginning from the not understanding what's going on to the having to survive. It's emotional and scary and you sometimes wonder if the characters are just going to give in.

    The book was dark and deeply twisted in a way I really loved. Each character was not only trying to stay alive but was trying to keep this evil from getting inside them. It was a rollercoaster of action and fear and horror and I loved every page till the very end.

    The book was well written and easy to get into because you are thrown right into none stop action from the very start. There are scares, shocks and so much more I don't want to give too much away but you need to read this book.

    5 stars
    This book is dark and deeply twisted and shockingly fantastic

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Training Area

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    A great read

    This book was amazing. It's unlike anything I've read. The story plot was driven and left me wanting more. I love this book and can't wait to read the next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2012

    Fantastic.

    Absolutely wonderful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Shelley thinks

    Wow this is better than hunger games and i would also read dust lands by???????but the talk folkish sO b? careful

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    At first i didn't think i would like this book at all. Afer i go

    At first i didn't think i would like this book at all. Afer i got a few chapers in i started loving it. It's a GREAT read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2012

    Great!!

    I love how all the characters stories end up converge......I wonder who the "nothing" guy id.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2012

    Awesome!

    DARK INSIDE is awesome!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Yes!

    For all those wondering (including me), there is going to be a sequel to this, called "Rage Within" and its expected for release on Sept. 4. I hope that changes... I love this series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    The best book in the world

    If you can tead any read this one.This book was a total page turner the way jean roberts writes is so gripping she always knows what to say so if u like to read the best book ever tead this one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2012

    Wow, this story is pretty intense. I think if somebody had take


    Wow, this story is pretty intense. I think if somebody had taken my picture while I was reading this book I would have a slideshow of variations between heartbroken, shocked/ wide eyed.
    With the story being told from several perspectives there is very little down time. The reader travels from one event to the other. From hundreds of schools getting bombed around the nation to random shootings and acts of violence. There was also several earthquakes worldwide which caused tsunamis and all of the things that come with catastrophic events happening all at once. There is no internet, phones and then people start attacking each other. Some are taken over by the darkness, shooting and attacking, seeking out all living people until the "danger" is gone.
    I did not quite catch on to why some people had the darkness arise in them and some didn't.
    There is nowhere to hide, no one you can trust and where are you supposed to go now?
    It was an amazingly dark story, as the title and summary say. There were several gruesome and horrific things happening. I loved it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Second book?

    Just finished the book. It was great. Will there be another one?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Makes you think...

    I loved this book and recommend this book to everyone. This book makes you think aboit what you would do to survive. Would you betray your famuly in order to save yourself? Or are you goin to become a leader to save others? Would you kill for your own safety? These are qusetion i hoped i never have to ponder but this book made me ponder these qeustions. I love this book and can't wait for the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Amazing

    No words to describe how wonderful this book is. I literally JUST finished, and I'm speechless. I fell in love with the characters. Beautifully written. Worthy of more than 5*.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2014

    A great read! Hard to put down!

    A great read! Hard to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Cursed Cubit: Chapter 2

    ((I meant to say that Leafree stole food. And she didn't want to Mix with her tribemates because she felt like "strength in numbers" was the best strategy for the situation at the time. But anyway, on with the story!))<p>Flain couldn't believe it. They ki<_>lled Leafree. Enraged, he fought the Nixels. In ki<_>lling his gi<_>rlfriend, the Nixels had unknowingly unleashed a monster. Flain pu<_>nched a Nixel that sprang at him. He felt a se<_>aring pain in his side, and Flain batted away the Nixel that had given him a long, ug<_>ly scar than extended from his left shoulder to his left leg. Then Flain kicked away a Nixel that decided to kick him. He started to notice that the Nixels weren't trying to get the Cubit Flain held in his hand, but he didn't really care. As the fight went on, Flain accumelated more injuries, and he began to tire. When the an<_>dreniline wore off, Flain started to feel the pain. His vision began to blur. Suddenly, something pinned Flain down to the ground. He twisted his head, and he saw the blurred, pure black figure of a Nixel. "Pi<_>tiful," said the Nixel, and Flain knew instantly that it was Major Nixel. "You want the Cubit? You'll have to go through me," he said, sounding weaker than Flain intended. Major Nixel laughed. "I don't want the Cubit; I want you de<_>ad," the Nixel finally said. Then Major Nixel brought out a long, black and silver object. Flain had a vague idea that it was a kn<_>ife. Before Major Nixel could finish him, a red figure tackled Major Nixel. Flain struggled to his feet. He looked where Leafree was ki<_>lled, but her co<_>rpse had dissapeared. The only evidence that she was there was the blood. Flain tried to step forward, only to fall to the volcano floor. He saw the black figures of the bl<_>oodthirsty Nixels through his blurred vision. Then nothing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Dark inside

    MUST HAVE A STRONG STOMACH. Its a very good book, one of the better I've read recently. I highly recomend this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Moonsar to Rainpelt

    Come back to wolfclan we miss you and heatherfoot needs the help with my kits coming sunday remember we are at the lost whale first result

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    Frozen_Over

    Good! Please continue (read my non-warriors story at 'clareter')

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 60 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3