Customer Reviews for

Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction invo

For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction involving angels of any kind. I've just read a couple that I haven't been too impressed with. However
, I decided to give DARK KISS a try after seeing it on Net Galley and hearing some positive things ab...
For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction involving angels of any kind. I've just read a couple that I haven't been too impressed with. However
, I decided to give DARK KISS a try after seeing it on Net Galley and hearing some positive things about it. I am sooo glad I did.

The story starts with an average teen girl, Samantha, who FINALLY gets a kiss from her longtime crush. And instead of a choir of angels singing (hehe), and bells ringing, we find out the kiss wasn't exactly a GOOD thing.

After Sam experiences this kiss and decides to go home, she runs into Bishop, an angel sent from Heaven. And, Bishop is everything you'd expect an angel to be. He's dreamy, kind, and level-headed. Well, at least that's what we know of him now
. It's apparent from the beginning that there's some supernatural connection between Sam and Bishop and that they are just NOT going to be able to stay away from each other.

I liked that as the story unfolds, so do the characters. I learned that what you see isn't necessarily what you get with any
of the people in this book. Right down to Kraven, the demon who is a part of Bishop's team on earth, to keep order in Sam's town. I started out assuming certain things about everyone and then gradually came to realize that there was so much more under the surface. I'm hoping the next book explores more of these characters' personalities. I have a feeling that some of the people I thought were "bad", may not really be.

I definitely suggest reading this book. Even if, like me, you may not really be into angels. DARK KISS is a very original story and I'm eager for the rest of the series, already.

posted by CaptivatedRding on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at thi

I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at this from what I liked and disliked. First, here's what I liked:



The entire concept for this story was pretty unique. Although I've read quite a few angel stories, Michelle Rowen did bring a new and inter...
I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at this from what I liked and disliked. First, here's what I liked:



The entire concept for this story was pretty unique. Although I've read quite a few angel stories, Michelle Rowen did bring a new and interesting angle to it in that things aren't as cut and dried as angel vs. fallen angel. There are other entities involved, the Grays, and this is what brought the uniqueness to the story. I haven't previously read about these creations that can suck out a soul with a kiss. So this definitely had me very interested and intrigued. And Samantha being lured into this by a longtime crush was suspenseful.



I also liked most of the characters. The biggest draw for me were Bishop's "friends." As they began to appear, it really added a great dynamic. Some of my favorite scenes were between these guys, Bishop and Samantha. These guys were interesting and I loved watching them interact with each other. Some of them are sweet, some are somewhat irritable and abrasive, but it made for really fun reading.



The few little things I didn't like... I wasn't quite sure how Samantha and Bishop ended up becoming so enamored of each other in no time flat. I would have liked to have seen a little bit more of a progressive buildup to the romance. Additionally, there just wasn't much excitement to this pair for me. I actually was more interested in her interactions with the demon on Bishops team, Kraven. There was some great tension there.



The second thing for me was how quickly Samantha trusted. This woman who was the ultimate cause of everything that's going wrong for her right now arrives, gives her a story to explain away her actions...a story that doesn't even justify anything, and Samantha bought right into it without a second thought. The woman has stolen her soul, ultimately, but hey, she just did it because she's trying to help Samantha. It wasn't logical, even if you consider the fact that the woman is her aunt. She still wasn't trustworthy in any way and had no proof for her words. But Samantha swallowed it whole.



These things aside though, the story was still very interesting. The strength lay in the author's writing. It was suspenseful and intriguing. Bottom line, I did enjoy the story and I will pick up the next in the series.

posted by Readergirl_Revus on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction invo

    For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction involving angels of any kind. I've just read a couple that I haven't been too impressed with. <i>However</i>
    , I decided to give DARK KISS a try after seeing it on Net Galley and hearing some positive things about it. I am sooo glad I did.

    The story starts with an average teen girl, Samantha, who FINALLY gets a kiss from her longtime crush. And instead of a choir of angels singing (hehe), and bells ringing, we find out the kiss wasn't exactly a GOOD thing.

    After Sam experiences this kiss and decides to go home, she runs into Bishop, an angel sent from Heaven. And, Bishop is everything you'd expect an angel to be. He's dreamy, kind, and level-headed. Well, at least that's what we know of him <i>now</i>
    . It's apparent from the beginning that there's some supernatural connection between Sam and Bishop and that they are just NOT going to be able to stay away from each other.

    I liked that as the story unfolds, so do the characters. I learned that what you see isn't necessarily what you get with <i>any</i>
    of the people in this book. Right down to Kraven, the demon who is a part of Bishop's team on earth, to keep order in Sam's town. I started out assuming certain things about everyone and then gradually came to realize that there was so much more under the surface. I'm hoping the next book explores more of these characters' personalities. I have a feeling that some of the people I thought were &quot;bad&quot;, may not really be.

    I definitely suggest reading this book. Even if, like me, you may not really be into angels. DARK KISS is a very original story and I'm eager for the rest of the series, already.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at thi

    I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at this from what I liked and disliked. First, here's what I liked:



    The entire concept for this story was pretty unique. Although I've read quite a few angel stories, Michelle Rowen did bring a new and interesting angle to it in that things aren't as cut and dried as angel vs. fallen angel. There are other entities involved, the Grays, and this is what brought the uniqueness to the story. I haven't previously read about these creations that can suck out a soul with a kiss. So this definitely had me very interested and intrigued. And Samantha being lured into this by a longtime crush was suspenseful.



    I also liked most of the characters. The biggest draw for me were Bishop's &quot;friends.&quot; As they began to appear, it really added a great dynamic. Some of my favorite scenes were between these guys, Bishop and Samantha. These guys were interesting and I loved watching them interact with each other. Some of them are sweet, some are somewhat irritable and abrasive, but it made for really fun reading.



    The few little things I didn't like... I wasn't quite sure how Samantha and Bishop ended up becoming so enamored of each other in no time flat. I would have liked to have seen a little bit more of a progressive buildup to the romance. Additionally, there just wasn't much excitement to this pair for me. I actually was more interested in her interactions with the demon on Bishops team, Kraven. There was some great tension there.



    The second thing for me was how quickly Samantha trusted. This woman who was the ultimate cause of everything that's going wrong for her right now arrives, gives her a story to explain away her actions...a story that doesn't even justify anything, and Samantha bought right into it without a second thought. The woman has stolen her soul, ultimately, but hey, she just did it because she's trying to help Samantha. It wasn't logical, even if you consider the fact that the woman is her aunt. She still wasn't trustworthy in any way and had no proof for her words. But Samantha swallowed it whole.



    These things aside though, the story was still very interesting. The strength lay in the author's writing. It was suspenseful and intriguing. Bottom line, I did enjoy the story and I will pick up the next in the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    unique twist on demons and angels

    The tale begins in heaven with Bishop being hurled to Earth on a life or death mission. The scene then jumps to introduce us to seventeen year old protagonist Samantha. She is headed home when she passes a very handsome dark hard boy who appears to be in trouble. Remembering her past runaway stint, she offers to help. Bishop is confused, very confused. He has been sent to Earth to find another angel and two demons. Together they must stop an evil that is consuming Trinity, New York. If they fail all of humanity could be lost and he is unable to locate them. When Samantha touches Bishop, there is an electrical current. He begins to have clarity and she has a horrible vision of the city destroyed. She sees herself falling into a giant swirling vortex and Bishop is unable to save her. As Bishop head clears, he mumbles about finding the spotlights and not being able to see them. Samantha points and says you mean like that? They quickly realize that Samantha can see the beacons and she leads him to the first one. The tale that unfolds is suspenseful as Samantha finds herself in the middle of an epic battle that’s results could change the world. The characters in Dark Kiss are all unique. Samantha is both brave and impossibly stubborn. She is quickly learning everything she thought about herself and her world is wrong. She has an insatiable hunger that cannot be fed and must face impossible decisions. The biggest problem is who to trust. I like Samantha, but I didn’t love her. I would have liked her to be a little more mature and more snarky. Bishop is an angel and has the weight of the world on his shoulders. He is dark and brooding and needs Samantha more then she even realizes. Other key characters were Kraven, Carly, Zach, Roth and Conner. I really liked the handsome demon Kraven and look forward to reading more about him. Carly is Samantha’s BFF and at first I didn’t like her, but she surprised me. There is also an old homeless man who appears to see things and I loved the way he spoke in riddles. It will be interesting to see how Rowan develops these characters and their individual story lines. Rowan’s world-building was fascinating. I really liked learning her take on souls and what occurs when we die. The history of angels and demons had me captivated. One of tales had me rooting for Samantha and Bishop. The threat she has created for humanity is interesting and the reaction of Heaven and Hell felt both believable and unique. Fans of Supernatural will see similarities with the angels and demons. I am anxious to see how this plot develops. I am hoping to see more of this fleshed out in book two and I’d really like to see character growth in Samantha. She has the potential to be an awesome protagonist. Rowan delivered a fast paced novel that flowed well and kept me entertained.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    This book is full of challenges both mentally and physically. Me

    This book is full of challenges both mentally and physically. Mentally because Samatha has to resist her very
    nature to suck peoples souls but to tell herself that she'll be alright. She also has to come over her hunger in
     order to be with the one she loves the most, Bishop- a smart and good looking angel from heaven (literally).
    She also has to overcome physical issues. Some of the physical issues include long distance running and restraint around
    Bishop. She has to do all of this in order to save Bishop and three other angels and two demons in order to
     ride the world of all the creatures like her, incubuses. They suck souls and that is how their population keeps
    growing to were the devil and God see it fit to unite and destroy them but Bishop and Samantha stand in the
    way with emense love and affection for each other.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Not bad....

    I bought this book on a whim because, honestly, I liked the cover. So surprise, surprise when I read it and actually liked it....a lot. The author made me love the characters and really care about what happened to them. I would read this author again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2012

    EtwrafCxv

    ZcdgafqeafsfetzxsgqradwrdgX

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2014

    Just the excerpt of the book made me TOTALLY into it, and it was

    Just the excerpt of the book made me TOTALLY into it, and it was barely anything!!!!! All out great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2014

    Loved it

    Couldn't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Ehh!

    This book wasn't all that great. The cover art is beautiful but the story line wasn't all that great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Great reading!!

    A Dark Kiss and the second book called A Wicked Kiss were both excellent!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    Fast Read

    Read this about a year ago. Thrilling and unexpected!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2013

    I've read Michelle's Nightshade series so I was intrigued by her

    I've read Michelle's Nightshade series so I was intrigued by her writing a YA series. Book 1 came up on an Audible sale, so I thought I'd try it out.

    I will start by saying I LOVED it! I couldn't stop listening! The characters are sarcastic and fun even as they are surrounded by darkness and drama. The chemistry between them is perfect and you can almost see the story playing out in your head as you read it. Now I will say, it does have a Vampire Diaries feel to it... A girl that is a rare paranormal anomaly, her love interest the Angel, but the attraction to his brother the demon. The storyline does make for great suspenseful drama though and I've already started on book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Must read!

    I was a little sceptical because I am an adult reading a TEEN book, BUT it was a very good read. The book is well written and holds your attention through every twist and turn. I recommend to taking the ride ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    An enthralling journey about the reluctant yet fiery heroine Sam

    An enthralling journey about the reluctant yet fiery heroine Samantha Day and the team of angels &amp; demons she must help to save the world. A thoroughly enjoyable read. That said, I found the vocabulary to be a bit juvenile. 4/5 Stars. Fans of Rachel Vincent, Cara Lynn Schultz, Tracy Deebs, and Rick Riordan alike will enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    AWESOME

    I hav tis book an i loved every bit of it i can not wait til next book comes out this one was so awesome ^_^

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Whats not to love?

    Great book. Pleasently surprised..... cannot wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly recommended! Read it!

    Wasn't sure what to think at first but this book had me hooked soon after I started it. Finished it in one day because I coudn't put it down. I love the unique twist with angels and demons. A must-read! Can't wait for the second book, Wicked Kiss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    ?

    When does the second book come out? I read this months ago and theres still the say when the second book comes out or if there even is one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Who do does the chick end up dating, Bishop or Kraven? Who did y

    Who do does the chick end up dating, Bishop or Kraven? Who did you like best too??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Kiss blurs the lines between good and evil in a world where

    Dark Kiss blurs the lines between good and evil in a world where the number of souls in Heaven and Hell must be balanced in order to maintain stability. IIt is entirely possible for angels and demons to work together, and Bishop's group is made up of demons and angels working together to save the world from the &quot;Source.&quot; They just have a natural aversion towards one another. Samantha becomes mixed up in the conflict when the &quot;Source&quot; takes an interest in her and has one of her underlings turn her into one of them.

    I have conflicting feelings towards this novel. I didn't click with the characters. Bishop tries too hard to be the hero, but he believes that he isn't a good person inherently and it seems to have something to do with his human life. As for Samantha, I never really felt like I got to know her or her normal life. From the moment she meets Bishop, it seems as though her life revolves around him and his mission. The romance between the two of them develops too quickly to be believable. My favorite character is Kraven. He is a demon and a bit of a bad boy; however, he's the most real out of all the other characters. He doesn't give his trust quickly and isn't afraid to voice his opinion.

    I do love the plot and how being an angel or a demon doesn't necessarily make someone good or bad. Throughough the novel, I continued to ponder over Bishop's reason for coming down to Earth. I couldn't believe that he would reveal the purpose behind his mission to Samantha right away, especially after finding out what she's become. I was right. There aren't many subplots and plot twists, the romance isn't particularly electrifying, and this isn't the best angel-demon book that I've read. Nevertheless, it does make a unique addition to angel-demon mythology in YA lit. Readers who love reading new takes on angels and demons might be interested in picking this up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3