Customer Reviews for

Dark Kiss (Nightwatchers Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction invo

For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction involving angels of any kind. I've just read a couple that I haven't been too impressed with. However
, I decided to give DARK KISS a try after seeing it on Net Galley and hearing some positive things ab...
For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction involving angels of any kind. I've just read a couple that I haven't been too impressed with. However
, I decided to give DARK KISS a try after seeing it on Net Galley and hearing some positive things about it. I am sooo glad I did.

The story starts with an average teen girl, Samantha, who FINALLY gets a kiss from her longtime crush. And instead of a choir of angels singing (hehe), and bells ringing, we find out the kiss wasn't exactly a GOOD thing.

After Sam experiences this kiss and decides to go home, she runs into Bishop, an angel sent from Heaven. And, Bishop is everything you'd expect an angel to be. He's dreamy, kind, and level-headed. Well, at least that's what we know of him now
. It's apparent from the beginning that there's some supernatural connection between Sam and Bishop and that they are just NOT going to be able to stay away from each other.

I liked that as the story unfolds, so do the characters. I learned that what you see isn't necessarily what you get with any
of the people in this book. Right down to Kraven, the demon who is a part of Bishop's team on earth, to keep order in Sam's town. I started out assuming certain things about everyone and then gradually came to realize that there was so much more under the surface. I'm hoping the next book explores more of these characters' personalities. I have a feeling that some of the people I thought were "bad", may not really be.

I definitely suggest reading this book. Even if, like me, you may not really be into angels. DARK KISS is a very original story and I'm eager for the rest of the series, already.

posted by CaptivatedRding on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at thi

I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at this from what I liked and disliked. First, here's what I liked:



The entire concept for this story was pretty unique. Although I've read quite a few angel stories, Michelle Rowen did bring a new and inter...
I have some mixed feelings about this one. So let's look at this from what I liked and disliked. First, here's what I liked:



The entire concept for this story was pretty unique. Although I've read quite a few angel stories, Michelle Rowen did bring a new and interesting angle to it in that things aren't as cut and dried as angel vs. fallen angel. There are other entities involved, the Grays, and this is what brought the uniqueness to the story. I haven't previously read about these creations that can suck out a soul with a kiss. So this definitely had me very interested and intrigued. And Samantha being lured into this by a longtime crush was suspenseful.



I also liked most of the characters. The biggest draw for me were Bishop's "friends." As they began to appear, it really added a great dynamic. Some of my favorite scenes were between these guys, Bishop and Samantha. These guys were interesting and I loved watching them interact with each other. Some of them are sweet, some are somewhat irritable and abrasive, but it made for really fun reading.



The few little things I didn't like... I wasn't quite sure how Samantha and Bishop ended up becoming so enamored of each other in no time flat. I would have liked to have seen a little bit more of a progressive buildup to the romance. Additionally, there just wasn't much excitement to this pair for me. I actually was more interested in her interactions with the demon on Bishops team, Kraven. There was some great tension there.



The second thing for me was how quickly Samantha trusted. This woman who was the ultimate cause of everything that's going wrong for her right now arrives, gives her a story to explain away her actions...a story that doesn't even justify anything, and Samantha bought right into it without a second thought. The woman has stolen her soul, ultimately, but hey, she just did it because she's trying to help Samantha. It wasn't logical, even if you consider the fact that the woman is her aunt. She still wasn't trustworthy in any way and had no proof for her words. But Samantha swallowed it whole.



These things aside though, the story was still very interesting. The strength lay in the author's writing. It was suspenseful and intriguing. Bottom line, I did enjoy the story and I will pick up the next in the series.

posted by Readergirl_Revus on July 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted June 11, 2012

    For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction invo

    For awhile now, I've been steering clear of most YA fiction involving angels of any kind. I've just read a couple that I haven't been too impressed with. <i>However</i>
    , I decided to give DARK KISS a try after seeing it on Net Galley and hearing some positive things about it. I am sooo glad I did.

    The story starts with an average teen girl, Samantha, who FINALLY gets a kiss from her longtime crush. And instead of a choir of angels singing (hehe), and bells ringing, we find out the kiss wasn't exactly a GOOD thing.

    After Sam experiences this kiss and decides to go home, she runs into Bishop, an angel sent from Heaven. And, Bishop is everything you'd expect an angel to be. He's dreamy, kind, and level-headed. Well, at least that's what we know of him <i>now</i>
    . It's apparent from the beginning that there's some supernatural connection between Sam and Bishop and that they are just NOT going to be able to stay away from each other.

    I liked that as the story unfolds, so do the characters. I learned that what you see isn't necessarily what you get with <i>any</i>
    of the people in this book. Right down to Kraven, the demon who is a part of Bishop's team on earth, to keep order in Sam's town. I started out assuming certain things about everyone and then gradually came to realize that there was so much more under the surface. I'm hoping the next book explores more of these characters' personalities. I have a feeling that some of the people I thought were &quot;bad&quot;, may not really be.

    I definitely suggest reading this book. Even if, like me, you may not really be into angels. DARK KISS is a very original story and I'm eager for the rest of the series, already.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    unique twist on demons and angels

    The tale begins in heaven with Bishop being hurled to Earth on a life or death mission. The scene then jumps to introduce us to seventeen year old protagonist Samantha. She is headed home when she passes a very handsome dark hard boy who appears to be in trouble. Remembering her past runaway stint, she offers to help. Bishop is confused, very confused. He has been sent to Earth to find another angel and two demons. Together they must stop an evil that is consuming Trinity, New York. If they fail all of humanity could be lost and he is unable to locate them. When Samantha touches Bishop, there is an electrical current. He begins to have clarity and she has a horrible vision of the city destroyed. She sees herself falling into a giant swirling vortex and Bishop is unable to save her. As Bishop head clears, he mumbles about finding the spotlights and not being able to see them. Samantha points and says you mean like that? They quickly realize that Samantha can see the beacons and she leads him to the first one. The tale that unfolds is suspenseful as Samantha finds herself in the middle of an epic battle that’s results could change the world. The characters in Dark Kiss are all unique. Samantha is both brave and impossibly stubborn. She is quickly learning everything she thought about herself and her world is wrong. She has an insatiable hunger that cannot be fed and must face impossible decisions. The biggest problem is who to trust. I like Samantha, but I didn’t love her. I would have liked her to be a little more mature and more snarky. Bishop is an angel and has the weight of the world on his shoulders. He is dark and brooding and needs Samantha more then she even realizes. Other key characters were Kraven, Carly, Zach, Roth and Conner. I really liked the handsome demon Kraven and look forward to reading more about him. Carly is Samantha’s BFF and at first I didn’t like her, but she surprised me. There is also an old homeless man who appears to see things and I loved the way he spoke in riddles. It will be interesting to see how Rowan develops these characters and their individual story lines. Rowan’s world-building was fascinating. I really liked learning her take on souls and what occurs when we die. The history of angels and demons had me captivated. One of tales had me rooting for Samantha and Bishop. The threat she has created for humanity is interesting and the reaction of Heaven and Hell felt both believable and unique. Fans of Supernatural will see similarities with the angels and demons. I am anxious to see how this plot develops. I am hoping to see more of this fleshed out in book two and I’d really like to see character growth in Samantha. She has the potential to be an awesome protagonist. Rowan delivered a fast paced novel that flowed well and kept me entertained.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Not bad....

    I bought this book on a whim because, honestly, I liked the cover. So surprise, surprise when I read it and actually liked it....a lot. The author made me love the characters and really care about what happened to them. I would read this author again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2014

    Just the excerpt of the book made me TOTALLY into it, and it was

    Just the excerpt of the book made me TOTALLY into it, and it was barely anything!!!!! All out great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Must read!

    I was a little sceptical because I am an adult reading a TEEN book, BUT it was a very good read. The book is well written and holds your attention through every twist and turn. I recommend to taking the ride ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    An enthralling journey about the reluctant yet fiery heroine Sam

    An enthralling journey about the reluctant yet fiery heroine Samantha Day and the team of angels &amp; demons she must help to save the world. A thoroughly enjoyable read. That said, I found the vocabulary to be a bit juvenile. 4/5 Stars. Fans of Rachel Vincent, Cara Lynn Schultz, Tracy Deebs, and Rick Riordan alike will enjoy this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    Whats not to love?

    Great book. Pleasently surprised..... cannot wait to read the next one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2012

    so this is the only book in this series ? I am almost done and f

    so this is the only book in this series ? I am almost done and feel like this could go places maybe i ma looking at the authors list incorrectly ? is there a book two
    I give this book 4 stars

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Okay everybody, if you being reading my posts about books that I

    Okay everybody, if you being reading my posts about books that I have angels in them, you know I totally love them. If I could, I would read about angels all the time, if I could. But than what would that make of me.

    The cover, looks enchanting but dark. It entangled me to want to read this book more and so when taking the chance, I dived into the book and from the first page, I was hooked.

    The whole point of being kissed and from there, everything goes downhill. Lets just say that's one bad kiss. Or in this case a dark one. The plot was one that I found not boring and kept me wanting more. Although Kraven is not always the nicest person, I find him to be my favorite character. Werid!

    Loving this book, till the very end. I recommend this book to all people who are fans of angels.

    I give this book 4 souls!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    We start this book out by meeting Bishop who is cast from Heaven

    We start this book out by meeting Bishop who is cast from Heaven for a secret mission. At another location we are also introduced to Samantha who is finally being noticed by her crush. She soon learns that everything is not what it seems and once kiss may change life as she knows it. After the kiss Samantha notices that she is has a weird craving that she can't seem to sedate. She is walking home and meets Bishop and this is when things get interesting.

    She soon learns that Bishop is an angel sent to try to stop the evil that is threatening to take over Trinity,NY. He is looking for some others to help him but he can't seem to find them. We soon learn that Samantha can see the lights and can find them. I liked Samantha as a character because she wasn't a pushover and stuck up for herself. She could manage to hold her own and took all that was going on around her in stride. I liked the chemistry between her and Bishop and am excited to see where their story goes. The next person that is found is a demon named Kraven. Kraven had the whole bad boy vibe going for him and I would love to find out more about him. The rest of the team is assembled and they start trying to end the evil.

    We learn more about who Samantha really is and she has to come to terms with so major revelations. I loved the take on demons and angels that Rowan spun. The tale was a different one and made you really question what team you would side with. I loved all the interactions between Bishop and Kraven because they had such a love hate relationship. They had some funny moments with all of Kraven's snarkiness. He was just so lovable and I hate that he wasn't more of a major character as he was one of my favorites. We learn the evil is in the form of Natalie who Samantha learns something major about. The epic battle is started between good and evil and you have to read this book to find out who comes out on top.

    I loved all aspects of this book. There was suspense,romance, and an epic battle. The world building was awesome and so in depth. I loved this book from start to finish and was sucked into the world through Samantha's eyes. I felt what she felt and ached when she ached. The writing was on point and the character development was well written. I highly recommend this book to all lovers of angel and demon stories.

    I received this book for review but that is no way influnced my review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Chapter by Chapter's review of Dark Kiss

    Sexy angels and demons working together for the good of mankind? More please! Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen is a story that will thrill fans of angel reads and mysterious demons who are sexy bad boys.

    The story revolves around Samantha, the female protagonist in Dark Kiss who is the lucky little vixen who gets to spend most of her time with lost and confused Bishop, who is all sorts of yum, and with Kraven, the bad boy we just can’t get enough of.

    It all starts out like most good stories…with a kiss. At a club, Samantha thinks that all her dreams are coming true. Stephan, the “boy next door” that she has been crushing for most of her life finally notices her, and bestows upon her a kiss that she will always remember. Now, this is not your average, run of the mill, “I profess to you my undying devotion” kind of kiss. Au contraire mes amies. This is the infamous “Dark Kiss”, and it’s with this kiss that Sam’s life is changed…forever.

    The kiss that has been bestowed upon Sam by Stephan is now supposed to make her soulless and hungry…hungering to kiss someone in order to steal their soul. Enter Bishop and Kraven. This angel/demon team (along with their other angel/demon team mates) are sent to earth from whence they came to rid the world of these soul stealers named “Grays”, and to hunt down and destroy the one who started it all. Zee head honcho. But could Sam be the key?

    No, no, there are no love triangles found within these pages. Sam, of course, is head over heels for Bishop (all angsty, and lost, and troubled)…and it doesn’t hurt that Bishop gets something from Sam that he doesn’t get from anyone else…clarity. Just by touching Sam, Bishop’s mind is clear and rid of the confusion and fogginess that he seems to be plagued with since he fell from Heaven…literally!

    I will admit it took me a bit to start to get into Dark Kiss. It started off strong, and then everyone was just … angry! Like, all the time. I can understand the different circumstances that come up where, of course, I would be angry too! But at every turn, the main emotion that kept pouring out of the pages was anger. Yes, yes I understand you’re angry about the kiss. Yes, yes I understand that you’re angry at Bishop for being stalker boy. We get it! You’re angry… moving right along…

    Which guy stole my heart during this read? Seriously, it was a toss-up between Bishop and Kraven. There are times in the book where Bishop made me sigh and swoon, but then with Kraven’s smart mouth comments and sweet gestures, how can I not give him the attention he rightfully deserves! I had many a conversation with fellow bloggers about this sitch. These boys both had a special place.

    Author, Michelle Rowen, does a fantastic job of describing the events and surroundings in the book. I could literally picture the events as they were happening. The different twists and turns she has incorporated into the book will surely keep many readers glued to the pages until the very end.

    A must read for fans of angel fans everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2012

    (I was given a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-r

    (I was given a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to Harlequin Teen and Netgalley.)

    He spoke softly into my ear. &ldquo;I should warn you, it&rsquo;s a very dangerous kiss. It&rsquo;ll change your life forever, so you have to want it.&rdquo;

    If I wasn&rsquo;t feeling so flustered, I might have thought he was being cocky. I mean, please. A kiss that could change my life forever?

    17-year-old Sam can&rsquo;t believe what&rsquo;s happening when a crush from her past turns up at her local club &ndash; Crave, and starts to show an interest in her! Sam isn&rsquo;t the prettiest girl ever, in fact she thinks she&rsquo;s rather ordinary looking with her brown eyes and long brown hair, and she doesn&rsquo;t usually attract a lot of attention. But Stephen&rsquo;s kiss does something strange to her, and now she&rsquo;s constantly hungry, and boys are suddenly looking at her in a new light.

    Coming across a despondent looking boy on the streets she stops to see if she can help, and finds herself mixed up in something weird. She thought he was just a kid living on the streets, but when he pulls a shiny gold blade and stabs another kid who is rooting around in the garbage, she screams and runs.

    Sam&rsquo;s world has been turned upside down though &ndash; she eats and eats but never feels full, she&rsquo;s sure she saw the kid who got stabbed, alive and lurking outside her school, and she&rsquo;s strangely drawn to the boy with the golden blade who called her a &lsquo;gray&rsquo;.

    What did Stephen&rsquo;s kiss do to her? Who or what is the boy with the golden dagger? And what in heaven or hell is a &lsquo;gray&rsquo;?


    I really enjoyed this book. Right from the beginning I was totally sucked in to Sam&rsquo;s life and the difficult position she was put in, and didn&rsquo;t want to put this down!

    Sam is still reeling from her parent&rsquo;s divorce, and the fact that she got caught shoplifting recently. The shoplifting was just something she did because she wanted to feel in control of something, and it was really out of character for her. Generally Sam keeps to herself, and spends time with her best friend Carly. Meeting Stephen at the club and him being interested in her was too good to be true really, which she soon realises. As much as Stephen thinks that what he has done to her will help her, she&rsquo;s sure she knows better.

    Meeting Bishop &ndash; the guy with the gold dagger, was possibly coincidence, possibly something more, but Sam knows that she should help him. Only when she&rsquo;s touched him does she realise that he&rsquo;s something more than a regular kid, and that she is possibly more than just a regular kid too.

    The romance between Sam and Bishop was sweet and forbidden, and there was the constant tension of whether or not they would give into their temptations and kiss, even when they didn&rsquo;t know the consequences of their actions.

    There are also lots of fun secondary characters &ndash; both good and evil, and plenty of twists in the tale that I really didn&rsquo;t see coming!
    Overall; this was a great, YA, paranormal read, and I can&rsquo;t wait to find out what happens next!
    8 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Michelle Rowen tackles the concept of angels, demons, Heaven and

    Michelle Rowen tackles the concept of angels, demons, Heaven and Hell admirably. I think that this is the first time I&rsquo;ve ever read a book about angels where there wasn&rsquo;t a specific religious ideology behind it. It was set up perfectly so that there was no clear cut line between who gets to become an angel in the afterlife and who becomes a demon. In fact, it&rsquo;s presented that there&rsquo;s an eternal war for soul currencies between Heaven and Hell, which is rather a unique twist on things, in my opinion, and serves to blur the line between good and bad.

    It was the idea that you could have your soul sucked out of you via a kiss that caught my attention with this one. It seemed so tantalisingly good! The story completely lived up to the fabulousness behind the concept. My emotions were pulled this way and that as I lived through the torment of being soulless right along with Sam. Rowen&rsquo;s style was so good that I could feel the desire to feed, to drain others of their souls as it battled with both Sam&rsquo;s and my sensibilities of right and wrong. Add Sam&rsquo;s best friend Carly to the mix with relationship issues of her own and you&rsquo;ve got the perfect recipe for a wonderful best friend relationship to build these teens&rsquo; lives from.

    The angels and the demons added to the paranormal fun set in motion with the soulless kissers. I liked the concept of angels and demons working together and Kraven, one of the demons, in particular made for a fantastic character. In fact, he often outshone the romantic interest, Bishop, but that could have been just because his personality was much better developed. The remaining angelic / demonic characters were a bit flat, though, and I found it hard to really get a grasp of a distinguishable personality from them. This is in part due to how little &ldquo;on page&rdquo; time they receive compared with Kraven and the angsty love-inspired scenes between Bishop and Sam.

    The romance wasn&rsquo;t really what I go for in a relationship in my fiction. The love word is thrown around but the characters don&rsquo;t know each other well enough, in my opinion, to be able to move beyond the lust stage of the relationship. A lot of the time Sam and Bishop would either be arguing or talking about the big bad behind all the soulless &ldquo;grays&rdquo; (as they&rsquo;re termed) running around town. They didn&rsquo;t really get to have any conversations that allowed them to get to know each other beyond the basics. As I mentioned, I think Sam gets to know Kraven better than she does the guy she&rsquo;s supposedly in love with!

    Despite this, the plot advances at a swift enough pace to not let the slightly disappointing relationship get the better of it. I was happy with it as it was and I found that I wanted to keep reading before bed to find out what would happen next &ndash; always a good sign, though bad for my concentration levels the next day if I give in to the urge!

    Dark Kiss leaves things in such a place that things can only get more intense in the second book. I certainly hope that certain devastating events can be resolved somehow and look forward to meeting a particular demonic character with a vested interest in Sam.

    It may have been superficial at times, but in the long run I found that I really enjoyed the book and I'm looking forward to seeing where things will be taken from here in the sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1