BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dark Legacy: The End of the Kai

Average Rating 4.5
( 63 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

40 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Very Compelling Tale

Dark Legacy: Trinity is the the first foray into the world of SF by Domenico Composto. To describe the book with a single word: staggering. Detailing the clash of two civilizations, one technogenic and the other spiritual, this book is told from the perspective of a chi...
Dark Legacy: Trinity is the the first foray into the world of SF by Domenico Composto. To describe the book with a single word: staggering. Detailing the clash of two civilizations, one technogenic and the other spiritual, this book is told from the perspective of a child thrust into the rural world of lemuria, grappling with his Atlantean past. The book details the coming of age of Kieko (the child), as the two nations clash. The characters are believable, the setting is seamlessly integrating fantasy with reality, but the most compelling factor of the book is the atmosphere: at times frustrating, foreboding or alternately light and full of hope. At times, the book is nigh on impossible to put down.

posted by 11106521 on August 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

This book is a disjointed beginning of a series. It can in no wa

This book is a disjointed beginning of a series. It can in no way stand on its own as a story. I suppose that is a tactic to get you to read the next book. Half of the book is a poor attempt to create the Atlantean background, while the second half I guess creates the ...
This book is a disjointed beginning of a series. It can in no way stand on its own as a story. I suppose that is a tactic to get you to read the next book. Half of the book is a poor attempt to create the Atlantean background, while the second half I guess creates the backgroung of the main character for the rest of the series. The end felt like an arbitrary stop, and me feeling like my dish lost its signal in the middle of a movie. I am not sure if the rest of the story is worth the time. I do not understand all of the high reviews. maybe I am a snob that just likes a story that stands on its own.

posted by ssl829 on January 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    Very Compelling Tale

    Dark Legacy: Trinity is the the first foray into the world of SF by Domenico Composto. To describe the book with a single word: staggering. Detailing the clash of two civilizations, one technogenic and the other spiritual, this book is told from the perspective of a child thrust into the rural world of lemuria, grappling with his Atlantean past. The book details the coming of age of Kieko (the child), as the two nations clash. The characters are believable, the setting is seamlessly integrating fantasy with reality, but the most compelling factor of the book is the atmosphere: at times frustrating, foreboding or alternately light and full of hope. At times, the book is nigh on impossible to put down.

    40 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Dark Legacy: Trinity, is a fantasy novel with a blend of science

    Dark Legacy: Trinity, is a fantasy novel with a blend of science fiction that will appeal to both preferences in readers. It is a coming of age story of Kieko, son of the last Kai guardian of Atlantis. He is trained by the priest, Shinsei, as the relentless force that took Atlantis draws closer to his peaceful home of Ikishi.

    The oldest mystics of the Orient against the pinnacle of human kind--Atlantis, fused together seamlessly. When the technology of science fiction clashes with a primitive culture, sparks fly. When it collides with rich characters who are rooted deep in their spirituality, then it becomes a battle of absolute willpower against a merciless evil. Add just the right touch of vivid detail, characters and story, and you have this epic tale that is hard to put down.

    Kieko, Aiko and Kira are all lovable and thoroughly entertaining to follow to where their youth takes them next. As they become adults together, their trials and tribulations grow a powerful and unbreakable bond that the reader can easily connect with and follow alongside.

    Domenico Italo Composto-Hart has made a most impressive step into the fantasy and science fiction genre. This first book of the Dark Legacy series will join my shelf alongside my all-time favorites.

    34 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    My eldest son is an avid reader and read through this book in tw

    My eldest son is an avid reader and read through this book in two days. He insisted that I read it because he knew that I was going to appreciate the deep Eastern philosophy that permeated the story (I was stationed at the Royal Navy's base in Hong Kong back in the late 70's and became immersed in Chinese philosophy). While on holiday in August I took my son's copy and read through the book in three days. I found it nearly impossible to put down, which my wife did not appreciate. The beginning of the story, entitled The End of the Kai, provided an intriguing introduction where the point of view flows wonderfully from that of a dove to an impoverished child to a black crow to characters in peril. This was the first time that I had ever come across such a unique writing technique. Other writer's I'm sure will appreciate this technique and add it to their toolbox. Although The End of the Kai was dense with characters, background, history, and detail I found it a fascinating portrait of an Atlantean civilization that was completely distinct.

    But as I was to discover The End of the Kai was really a prologue leading to the story of Kieko in Book I - Trinity. Kieko is an adolescent caught between two worlds: the Atlantean world of his deceased father and the Lemurian world he lives in with his mother. Atlantis is an oppressive empire eating away at the lands of the planet to soon reach the village of Ikishi in Lemuria where Kieko and his people reside. Kieko is treated as an outsider and only has a small group of people to look up to for guidance. He is eventually taken into his master's temple to learn not how to fight (although Ki sword is a part of his training), but how to heal, cook, plant, clean, write, and meditate as a means to cut down his anger and his ego. This is the part of the book that I found absolutely incredible. The detail of the book here is accurate in its portrayal of what living in a Buddhist temple is like - I know, I lived in one for a time. The Zen ethos here is wonderful and I found myself wanting to begin meditating again.
    This all aside the book is so rich with so many wonderful, three-dimensional characters that I simply could not put this book down as I raced toward an ending that really reflected the harsh realities of our world as one technologically sophisticated civilization invaded, conquered, and destroyed a weaker society. There is a lot being said in this book. Perhaps the author's own commentary on the Cold War . . . I don't know, but as one who lived through the Cold War I found a lot of parallels between this story and what I experienced in the 60's, 70's, 80's, and today when I think of how still First World nations continue to invade and occupy Third World ones.
    In the end, Dark Legacy is a first class read!

    33 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    A real page turner!

    Dark Legacy is a real page turner, reminiscent of "Dune" by Frank Herbert which is one of my all time science fiction favorites! The characters are well delineated, the culture is beliveable and the relationships are three dimensional . . . a rarity in a book that's full of adventure and suspense.

    30 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2012

    Dark Legacy is a sweeping blend of epic fantasy and science fict

    Dark Legacy is a sweeping blend of epic fantasy and science fiction written in a 'high fantasy' style. It begins with the destruction of the Kai Order, and the society they are tasked to defend, by the evil Maniok and his devastating armies. The mix of magic and technology by the author is compelling and effective as he describes in chilling detail the final stand of the Atlantean forces against their ambitious and ruthless foes.

    In a faraway land, the son of the last Kai guardian is growing to manhood among a people who despise and abuse him because of his mixed-blood heritage. Here, the tale turns into a coming of age story as Kieko embraces the way of a Ki warrior and the mentorship of a warrior priest. He must learn to accept his past and seize control of his future, a destiny that has the potential for darkness and evil should Kieko fail to grasp the knowledge that his Shinsei attempts to impart.

    The author has succeeded in building a rich and detailed world with distinct cultures, where the characters act in accordance with their personas and within the wider societies they populate. They are presented with great detail and consistency, while they also grow and develop as the story progresses.

    Whether you are a fan of fantasy or science fiction—or even if you've never read genre fiction before—you will not be disappointed by Dark Legacy: Book 1 — Trinity.

    25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2012

    Dark Legacy is a distinct and compelling sci-fi/fantasy read tha

    Dark Legacy is a distinct and compelling sci-fi/fantasy read that begins with the destruction of an Atlantean spiritual order at the hands of Maniok and his relentless cyborg and colossal droid forces. But as I was to discover the book was really centered around the adolescent Kieko, the last Kai guardian, who is reaching adolescence within a nearly isolated Lemurian fishing village. Because of his mixed Atlantean and Lemurian blood he is treated as a despised outsider with only a hand full of people to look to for direction. The Eastern philosophy and traces of Japanese culture make this book, which leans more toward the fantasy side of sci-fi/fantasy, very unique. Finally, a fantasy book that draws upon Eastern mythology and culture as opposed to Western mythology and culture. Kieko grows and develops under the tutelage of Shinsei, the village priest, and is forced to confront his inner demons so that he is prepared to face a destiny that may lead toward a darker path. The ending is shocking and a reflection of the cruel realities of our world. In the end, a gripping read. Looking forward to Book II.

    21 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2012

    A very interesting and well written epic . . . after reading thr

    A very interesting and well written epic . . . after reading through The End of the Kai I went ahead and picked up Book I - Trinity and found the expanding story to be an absolutely fascinating read that was filled with so many rich characters.

    19 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2012

    Dark Legacy is a beautifully written but haunting tale of the st

    Dark Legacy is a beautifully written but haunting tale of the struggles of an adolescent outsider who confronts both his inner and outer demons through the guidance of his Ki sword master as an oppressive, technologically advanced Atlantean civilization looms on the horizon. This is a character driven book that I would recommend to fans of any genre.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Great book- you won't be able to put it down, so beware :) can't

    Great book- you won't be able to put it down, so beware :) can't wait to read more from the author. I recommend this to everyone. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2012

    A very sophisticated and philosophical sci-fi/fantasy book that

    A very sophisticated and philosophical sci-fi/fantasy book that has the power to break down one's psychological paradigms. After reading through The End of the Kai I picked up Book 1 and found the Zen teachings and dialogues of Shinsei with his students Kieko and Aiko refreshing . . . a reminder of the importance of living in the present . . . as opposed to being attached to a past that one can not change . . . or dreaming of a future that may never come. I really appreciated the ideas in this book . . . which were presented along a fast-paced and graphic story that was at times hard to put down.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2012

    This book is rich, detailed ... and epic in scale! Happy I picke

    This book is rich, detailed ... and epic in scale! Happy I picked it up ...

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2012

    Wonderful piece of sci-fi/fantasy literature that will entice an

    Wonderful piece of sci-fi/fantasy literature that will entice and captivate any reader!

    14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    A unique and original story that was vivid, dark, but so full of

    A unique and original story that was vivid, dark, but so full of hope and inspiration!
    Enjoyed the writing style and especially enjoyed the relationship between Shinsei, Kieko, Aiko, and Kira in Book I (Trinity).

    13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2013

    I enjoyed this book more than I expected! This book is an extend

    I enjoyed this book more than I expected! This book is an extended prologue leading to Book I - Trinity.
    Taken together it was an excellent read - intimate, dark and inspiring.
    Any book that is difficult to put down automatically gets my approval. It grabbed my attention in the first ten or so pages.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    A wicked good book! Excellent fusion of fantasy and sci-fi.

    A wicked good book! Excellent fusion of fantasy and sci-fi.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2013

    AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING Dark Legacy is just amazing. The book st

    AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING Dark Legacy is just amazing. The book starts out a bit complex but after I got into the story of Kieko I could not put it down.It is very very well written, and just amazing! 

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2013

    I am not really into fantasy but Im happy I read this book and t

    I am not really into fantasy but Im happy I read this book and the next in the series - recommended by a friend. I kept thinking how realistic the story was although it was sci-fi fantasy. An amazingly well written book!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2013

    Pretty cool fantasy freebie. Skaton-ka and the Kai guardians kic

    Pretty cool fantasy freebie. Skaton-ka and the Kai guardians kick ass!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    This and Book 1 - one of the best books Ive read in a long time.

    This and Book 1 - one of the best books Ive read in a long time. Was totally drawn in by the detail and realism of the story. Need Book 2 now!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    A great sci-fi novella that is lyrically written!

    A great sci-fi novella that is lyrically written!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2