Customer Reviews for

Dark Legend (Dark Series #8)

Average Rating 4.5
( 296 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(197)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A Look At the Ancients!

    Wow. Now it's Francesca and Gabriel, both ancients of their race, and both destined to be together.
    Francesca has been loyal to Gabriel, though he hadn't known her for decades. She had spotted him among a group of warriors, yet he hadn't noticed her to know that she would be the one to bring color and emotions back into his life. So she moved on from her people and the duty she had to her lifemate. Starting a new life in the city, helping out those in need, Francesca suddenly meets up with Gabriel and her world is turned upside down as she is thrusted back into her people's world.
    Gabriel, an ancient and powerful warrior, must make up his past mistake to his lifemate now that he has found her and does not intend on giving her up. He has lived a life of no feeling for too long and must make Francesca believe in him, trust him, and love him. The two is brought into a world of trust as a young girl, Skyler, is in need of their love and trust.
    This book is extraordinary in that it brings a tormented and bruised, young girl Skyler into the picture. Gabriel and Francesca will nurture the battered and abused girl, but will find that she has already found someone who takes her pain away from a distance.
    Francesca and Gabriel has problems of their own as well as Gabriel's twin, Lucian, comes into their lives and threatens their happiness. But the love Gabriel shares for his twin will prove Lucian's innocence in his cruelty and evil. The two will embark on a journey to prove their love for each other after years of torment for the both.

    Francesca is a strong willed Carpathian woman, and it is the first book in the series where Christine has made the woman a full-blooded Carpathian. Truly extraordinary in how she makes the woman and it is fun to see the differences between the males finding a Carpathian female or a human female. Gabriel is like a teddy bear in that he has such a soft and tender heart. A beautiful and captivating ancient. Amazing!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2010

    as good as expected

    any fan of christine feehan would not be disapointed. keeps with the carpathian story with NEW ancients. i like how she pulls out new surprising characters and mixes with the family from previous books

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Legend

    I have waited for this story! I have read the first seven and Gabriel and his brother have been mentioned as the most powerful of all the Carpathains. The story is Gabriel's and it is wonderful. I love the story of his life mate Franchesca. It is so refreshing. Gabriel is very powerful and always the hunter. He hunts his brother Lucian who has become vampire. The story has many twist and turns and in the end does not end up how I thought it would. I am very happy with this book and look forward to the next. I hope Gabriel has more of his story told in the next books. GREAT READING!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2014

    Stormstar

    She sits on a large rock overlooking the clearing. "My hopes of sucess might be to high" she thinks to herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    Highly Recommended - a must read!!

    Christine Feehan in this book continues to over exceeds the boundaries of all readers expectations. Definitely riveting, and one not to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Great read

    Love the dark series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I loved Francesca and Gabriel's story.

    I loved Francesca and Gabriel's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Full of life. A must read for paranormal lovers. Ms. Feehan has outdone herself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Awesome

    :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Amazing

    I love the book. I just did not like how they made i look like that Lucian is a vampire against Gabriel. It made me sad when it looked like how gabriel was going to die because of his brother and how he was giing to leave francesa and there baby and skylar. I liked how she gave Lucian hope of a lifemate. Also the story was sad in certain parts an it made me sad. I sure as heck did not like tje doctor he was mean disrespectful man. -Dakota

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Loved it!

    Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    Amazing

    So good. I just keep buying more and more of her stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Even better than the first 7 books!

    I have always loved Christine Feehan’s Dark series, but this is the first one I have read that has had an older Carpathian woman as the heroine. Unlike the others she is not human so there is not the same type of problems facing her and Gabriel as there usually is for these couples. There is however, some problems that prevent Gabriel from being able to claim her as his lifemate.
    Francesca is such a great character she proves that although she was born a Carpathian she still does not take any crap from the males of her species, especially her lifemate Gabriel. She is exceedingly kind and gentle, yet very strong. I think she may be one of my favorite Carpathians so far.
    Gabriel is an ancient and as is usual with male Carpathians, especially ancients they tend to be stubborn and protective. Aside from these traits though he has some very endearing characteristics that help him woo his lifemate Francesca. These same characteristics made me love him as a hero as well. Gabriel is surprisingly gentle and sweet when it comes to Francesca. He also has a lot of patience and you can really tell how much he truly loves and cares for Francesca.
    Another part about this book that I really like is the relationship between Gabriel and his twin brother. All of these characters come together creating a wonderful reading experience full or romance, hope, laughter, action, and suspense.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Love Gaberial and Lucian!

    I love how Feehan continues to add layers to the series! Gaberial and Francesca have a great story but leaving the intrigue there for Lucian and Skyler makes the reader want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 26, 2011

    Would recommend. Enjoyed the book

    I would recommend this book to anyone that likes this series. I am almost finished with the Dark Series by Christine Feehan and not sure what I will read next. I am only a couple books short of finishing this series but I have really enjoyed these books. I like Christine's style of writing and after all a girl can never get too much romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2011

    Definitely recommend

    Definitely one of the best in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great for Vampire junky

    The entire Dark Series is pretty good for the die hard vampire junky. Found them hard to put down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Dark Legend

    This is by far my favorite novel in Christine Feehan's Dark series replacing Dark Slayer as it stood out of all the novels i had read so far,Francesca is so different from the usual Carpathian women,she is strong,able to keep herself hidden from vampires and Carpathian hunters alike,she experimented and was able to walk in the sun and act like a human,rich and having many connections in social circles,you would think Francesca is stuck up but no,she is the exact opposite,she is a healer,she acres for everyone,she finds her lifemate Gabriel staggering around Paris,weak from the lack of blood and being buried with his twin,Lucian for so long,when she sees who he truly is,she is shocked and angry,Gabriel abandoned her all those years ago and she was crushed and now he comes barging back into her life,even though she cannot stand him she can't deny the lifemates pull to him.I loved how much Francesca connected to Skyler and brought her back to life along with Gabriel's help.Francesca connected so well with young Skyler and Francesca felt like a friend and a mother.My heart went out to Lucien at the end of the novel when it was revealed that he had been faking turning into one of the undead,he deserves a lifemate for all he did to protect Gabriel and he would find her Francesca assures and much to my joy,As always Christine's Dark novels are touchingly romantic and erotically sexy.def treat,if i could give it ten out of ten i would!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2010

    Gabriel!

    This was the best one so far. Can't wait to read about Lucian. The story line was great, more developed than some of the previous books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2010

    my FAVORITE book ever!!!

    i was given this book after having surgery done years ago. at first i was kinda of warry of reading an adult book, i was 14 at the time, but once i started reading i could NOT put the book down. The tale of the two lovers is amazing.

    TO me Gabriel seems like a perfect guy. loving but protective, stubborn but not pushy. He loves Francesca and his "evil" twin with all his heart. The story had me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. Since then i have read the book so many times i have actually had to replace the book 3 times :)

    If your a vampire book fan this series is GREAT and if you love the series you'll love this book :)

    LOVE THIS BOOK MORE THAN ANY OTHER I HAVE READ!! 10/10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 197 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10