Customer Reviews for

Dark Life (Dark Life Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(59)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    Great book!

    Because of the sea rising, people are packed into cities on what remains of the land. Ty and his family are settlers who live on the ocean floor where they have a farm. When a school of carnivorous fish chases Ty onto a submarine, he meets a "Topsoiler" girl named Gemma who is looking for her brother. Before they can even leave the sub, they have a run-in with a band of outlaws called the Seablite gang. With the threat of the outlaws hanging over them, Ty's parents start to think about moving out of the ocean, leaving everything Ty loves. When I picked up this book, I didn't expect it to be very good. For one thing, I've read a few books that were pretty preachy about global warming. I had also read another book about the oceans rising and it hadn't been very good. When I started reading Dark Life, it didn't take me long to realize I'd been wrong. The way the author described the ocean made me want to go to the ocean and dive in. Zoe, Ty's little sister, was so realistic it seemed like she was going to jump out of the book. I could easily relate to Ty, who, like me, likes wide-open spaces rather than cities. I appreciated the fact that the author kept the book pretty clean and didn't bog it down with lots of bad language like some young adult books I've read. Overall, it was a great book for all ages and there was a cool twist that made the ending really good.

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    The ultimate Dark secret book - Highly Recommended book!!

    Well, the point of reading this book is to entertain yourself. This book is an action, science-fiction, and adventure-type story which is worth a read in your spare time. There is plenty of action with gun shooting, blood squirting, painful hitting sentences. This also includes many secrets to find out in the interesting details of the deep, deep Dark Life science with a combination of big underwater world adventures with many clues to find as you read from the very first page to the very last word.
    Once you start reading you will be introduced to a great variety of characters to examine and find out clues that lead to the finished explanation in the drowned East Coast of America. Also you become introduced to the great laboratory of Dark Life science with great secrets to find out.
    Finally, as you become to end, you suddenly find out about an unusual love bond of a Dark Life experienced couple.
    So come and dive deep into the epic world of Dark Life!

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    Safe Book for Your Tween

    The novel plopped me in the middle of nowhere. I was afraid it would be one of those books full of random events which would leave me lost. Thank goodness, it wasn’t. By the end of chapter one, everything had smoothed out, and I was totally on board. An underwater adventure. The setting wasn’t my typical read. However, Ms. Falls did a glacial job with the world building. It didn’t take long for my misgivings about the watery world setting to evaporate. I could almost picture a community under the sea. How I would love to visit a place like that, even if freaky things did happen to my brain because of it. The story was told entirely from Ty’s perspective, a teenage boy, living at the bottom of the ocean with his family. For the most part, I liked Ty. He was practical and water smart, yet still fallible. He also had a bit of child recklessness in him. Not the crazy risk-taking like he was a superhero, but rather the kind I remember as a child–it’s not too bad if I don’t get caught and my parents are overreacting about the dangers. Gemma was the supporting actress in Dark Life. The girl had quite a bit of spunk, which I loved. Where Ty was responsible, she was rash–100%. The only thing which gave her pause was occasional doses of fear. Even then, she wouldn’t let fear keep her from accomplishing her goals. I do have to say, my girl wasn’t the brightest crayon in the box and did her share of stupid thing, dragging Ty along for the ride. She was still a fun character though. Plot wise, we had two going–Gemma’s missing brother and saving the underwater ranches. Ms. Falls was awesome about weaving these two pieces together to form a big picture at the end. The only complaint I had is about the deep POV. As you all know if you keep up with my reviews, I hate being left in the dark when inside a character’s head. There was a lot of that going on when it came to the “Dark Gifts.” I knew Ty had one, as well as his sister, early in the novel. Yet the big reveal didn’t occur until after the halfway mark. On one hand, I could see why Ms. Falls wanted to keep the info as a surprise. On the other, not knowing what the main character knows kind of detracts from the POV, but that’s just me. Others may feel differently. For parents looking for a safe book for your tween or teenager, I’d recommend this one. It had romantic elements which were sweet, and age appropriate behavior for youngsters. I certainly plan on passing this one on to my 13-year-old. There was a bit of violence which drew a sympathy wince or two. Of course, I’m a baby about pain. Do I want more? You betcha! I’m looking forward to Rip Tide.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Awsomness put in a science fiction book it is possible!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The book is awsome and it grabs the readers attention in the first chapter and they littery got me to read more and it has all these secrets and mysteries that come from Ty and Gemmas adventures witch really had me saying... Ockward? Thats wat made me read the book more because every chapter there is a new secret and thats wat readers want in their books. In every great book theres a great mystery or secret to be found or anwsered. I LOVE IT!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    So happy they have this

    Great book. This book stole me from life for 2 days.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Cat for TeensReadToo

    Life has become grim in the futuristic world of debut author Kat Falls' novel, DARK LIFE. Climatic and tectonic shifts have caused sea levels to rise and continents to fall, leaving humans fighting for precious space in "stacked cities" of the skies, or submerging themselves in "dark life" on the ocean floor. Ty Townsend is one of those people. As part of the first generation born and raised farming his family's underwater plot , he dreams of reaching his eighteenth birthday in order to claim and farm his own hundred acres. Trouble is afoot, though, as the Benthic Territory and their supply ships are being raided and the settlers terrorized by a ruthless group of bandits. In response, the topside government, the Commonwealth of States, issues a "request" to the territory's inhabitants: help us capture the Seablite Gang and their mysterious leader, Shade. Just in case the threat posed by the bandits isn't enough, the Commonwealth provides three incentives: a halt on all supply shipments, reassignment of the territory's doctor, and no new homesteads until the gang is apprehended. Ty is determined to ensure the realization of his dream, but his love for exploring vast underwater canyons has also thrown him another complication in the form of teenage Topsider runaway, Gemma. While searching the outpost for her missing brother, the Seablite Gang's attacks intensify and hit closer to home than either Ty or Gemma ever could have imagined. It's not long before they realize their best chance for survival and success resides in each other. Despite a slow start, the characters soon plunge right into action. Ms. Falls has created an eerie, haunting world filled with mysterious creatures, nefarious villains, and two genuine protagonists, who are well-supported by a passel of quirky, intriguing secondary characters. Without a doubt, DARK FALLS will satisfy anyone with a dystopian future craving.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    I work in a High School library and have had rave reviews on bot

    I work in a High School library and have had rave reviews on both Dark Life and Rip Tide from the students. I have had students
    searching for more of her books or readalikes with no luck. We will be sure to order the next book available by her. 
    They are very complex, contain romance, sci-fi, western adventure.They capture your interest from start to finish.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Dark Life

    Dark life is an awesome book about a sub sea pioneer named Ty. I recommend this book to antyone who has a craving for some adventure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    Good

    I have nit read this book, but it sounds really good according to my friend. She said i should read it...

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Good book

    It s an awesome book i want to read it again and again

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    This This is a fantastic book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It a great science fiction book for teens and its cool how it took place under the water. It was a very good book!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Pleasant Surprise: I'm not one to read books in first person P

    A Pleasant Surprise: I'm not one to read books in first person PoV when it's a male protagonist but I really enjoyed this book. The main character, Ty, is passionate about what he believes in and tries to do the right thing, whether his parents and the government believe in it or not. He made reading Dark Life very enjoyable.

    Post-Apocalyptic Goodness: I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic based novels. Whether it be zombies, world war three, or in this case a new underwater society, I'll read it. This was an interesting new take on the aftermaths of the apocalypse. Falls created a whole new world based around the land-living Topsiders and the underwater subsea society, filled with pioneers, outlaws, and a whole world yet to be discovered.

    Lovable Characters: Especially for YA/MG readers, the characters of the novel are easy to relate to. The main characters, Ty and Gemma, are both teens struggling with the same basic things that modern teens deal with. I love the almost innocent relationship between Ty and Gemma that develops over the course of the novel; the same goes Ty and his sister, Zoe's, relationship. I always felt like I was really part of the story, seeing it through Ty's eyes.

    Overall, I liked Dark Life and look forward to the next book in the series.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Dinobelle

    This book is an excellent book and not inapropriate at all i am 12 years old and i trying to find books that aren't inapropriate which is hard since alot these books are. Hey B&N can you guys put in more apropriate books please ilove reading but not inapropriate books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    dark life

    Great book needs to be longer

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Amazement

    This book kept my attention even on the slowest parts. Every chapter something excited happen, i could not put my nook down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    Great Y A adventure!!!

    A setting that literally glows with suspense, danger, eerie beauty, and glorious wonder !!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Dark Life

    Very nice mix of action, adventure, and romance! Hiley recommended read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2013

    Awesome

    I have only gotten half way through and its awesome i usually dont read be cause it cant keep my attention but this one does get ot its AWESOME SAUCE

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Great

    An amazing sci fiction book. Could not put it down until i was done
    Lina Stei

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Dark

    Awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4