Customer Reviews for

Dark Light

Average Rating 4.5
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    Dark light

    Bought this book on a whim and was really impressed. Thought the cover looked cool as i stumbled across it and was glad i read it. The romance is pretty hot and the basis for the story is pretty interesting if your into the paranormal.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    Do you remember being twenty and thinking, " what am I goin

    Do you remember being twenty and thinking, " what am I going to be when I grow up"? Meet Gabriella, a young college student, who has no idea what she wants to do in life. She just knows that something is missing. But WHAT? Gabi is given some pretty heavy information by her adopted parents. She is left to discover a whole new world on her own. The unbelievable secrets she uncovers puts her line for the insane asylum, but do they ? Magic? Yeah, Right. Gabi has many decisions to make in life. Already, feeling lost she embarks on a journey to disccover her TRUE self and choose between the light and the dark. Easy, Right? Nothing is ever easy, her personal life continues to pull her in different directions causing friendships to be strained and tested. IN walks Dorian, the mysterious guy who makes her tingle, pulls her in like a magnet and makes her world feel PERFECT. Not everything is as it seems. 




    This book was an unexpected pleasure. I honestly didnt know what to expect. I love itl. Following along with Gabi as she grows,denies and loves has been an easy task. S.L. Jennings takes you through the motions of Gabi's life with an ease that puts you front and center. The layers built in to the first novel leave you anticipating and contemplating the next move. I have so many theories about what is to be that Im chomping at the bit for THE DARK PRINCE.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Fantastic book.

    I absouletly LOVED this book. Love love LOVE Dorian!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Light by S.L. Jennings Rating ¿ ¿ ¿ ¿ ¿ R2R review... Than

    Dark Light
    by S.L. Jennings

    Rating ¿ ¿ ¿ ¿ ¿
    R2R review... Thank you!

    Summary
    Love. Sex. Magic.

    Before her 20th birthday, Gabriella was pretty much clueless about all three. In love with her best guy friend since the age of 14 and too crass and intimidating for most of the male population of Colorado Springs, love and good sex were virtually a myth.

    And then there's magic. Freakin' magic. There's no way that legend could have a place in her less than exciting life. So why after twenty years of utter obscurity do her adopted parents hit her with the ton of bricks that is her true identity? And how the heck is she supposed to accept all this and become what she was truly created to be?

    Lucky for Gabs, sexy as sin Dorian is more than equipped to help her embrace these new revelations. And while everything about him feels oh so good, she soon learns that there's more behind his crystal blue eyes, chiseled body and exotic beauty. Something dark, menacing and downright unnatural. Yet Gabs is in way too deep to even try to turn away from him now.

    Dark Light, Book 1 of the Dark Light Series, is the raw, emotional story of a young woman's journey of self-discovery in a world that was not meant for her. And her scorching hot, lip-biting addiction for the man she can't deny, no matter the cost.
    *Contains strong adult content

    My Thoughts

    First I want to say that I absolutely LOVED this story. S. L. Jennings did an amazing job!

    Dark Light has me hooked from the beginning. Gabriella is a young woman trying to find herself when on her twentith birthday her whole world changes. Everything she thought she knew to be true might not be true anymore. You follow Gabriella's struggle with her new life and the choice between light and dark. Which needs to be made before her twenty first birthday. Which is when her acsention into her power is supposed to take place.

    Along her journey you meet everyone that is close to her along with the struggle in each relationship after the introduction of her new life. To add even more to that stress Dorian comes along....

    Gabriella and Dorian seem to be drawn to each other, but why? They both have secrets that they can't seem to admit to one another. One of my favorite things about this story is the way S.L. jennings uses the HOT STEAMY sex scenes to add to the story. With every mouth watering scene you delve deeper into the emotion between them. They were all tasteful and classy, but HOT! Some of the best I have read in a while.

    Gabriella struggles with the choice between light and dark. She seems drawn to both, but at the same time she doesn't seem to feel that either choice seems RIGHT. Why can't she just stay neutral? Is that even a choice?

    Overall this book was awesome. I am (not) patiently waiting for the next book in the series.

    Thank you for creating such a fun and emotional story....and Dorian. Yum!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    Absoutely loved it

    Good azz book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2014

    I had heard great things about this series, so I decided to give

    I had heard great things about this series, so I decided to give it a go. It had been a while since I had read a PR and I have to say...it was refreshing. I loved the characters and I love where the plot is moving. And I loved the steam! I can't wait to dive into the Dark Prince!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Love, love, loved it.

    I love the story. Totally recommend anyone who is looking for a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Excelent

    Excellent read. Fyi if u r like me wait for book 3. Its not out yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    I really loved it

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Dragged along

    No one is this dumb. This could have been a good story if the author skipped developing this dingy character. She reminds me of Bella in twilight...so in love she asks no questions and just drinks at age 20.. and has sex with a dude unprotected and thinks about it a week later..This is more YA than adult except for the sex. I also did not feel the attraction with Gabriel and Dorian it felt more like a crush between the two teens.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2013

    This book was amazing. One of the most well written and engaging

    This book was amazing. One of the most well written and engaging books that I have read in awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Great book

    Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dark Light is an intriguing PNR story of beings from Light and D

    Dark Light is an intriguing PNR story of beings from Light and Dark. The story concept is original and has enough mystical qualities to keep you wondering. Gabriella is a complex character. She has a strong relationship with a group of friends that were her safety net through high school and great parents who have been honest with her about her adoption. Her devotion to her family and friends brings out the protective nature inside her. When Gabriella finds out the truth about who and what she is, she finds that she is in great danger along with those around her. The same time this revelation is made, Gabriella meets Dorian. Dorian allows her to let loose and show a side of herself that she didn't even know she had. Dorian becomes Gabriella's escape. When she is with him, all her worries and fears disappear. Dorian's character is the typical bad boy, but with looks, money and power. He is never made out to be the bad guy but always has that mysterious quality that keeps you guessing whether you like him or not. The relationship between Gabriella and Dorian is a major part of the story.
    I gave this book four stars because I loved the creativity of the story, I loved the characters, and the development and growth shown throughout the book. It was intriguing and romantic. I was disappointed a bit because I felt that the dark and light part was not given a greater part of the story. I wanted to know more about it. I was also hoping for a little bit of action. Seeing Gabriella actually use those fighting skills she been training for since she was a kid. I would definitely recommend this book for a mature reader. Now we wait for book two.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    Sooooo good!!!!

    I love this new series can't wait for the next installement!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Good read

    Happened upon this book. Couldnt put it down :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2013

    good read

    love this type of series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    So love this series.

    Worth my money. I love the story of Gabby and Dorian. I can't wait for the last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Have to read

    I was told to read this book. I have never heard of the author before so I wasn't sure what to except. Well I loved it and couldn't hardly put it down. Finished it in a couple of days and wanted more. It is a must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2013

    Paranormal is not my usual genre BUT I love this series! If





    Paranormal is not my usual genre BUT I love this series! If it's not your genre either, TRUST ME...it's a must read. The story follows the relationship between Gabi & the very mysterious Dorian.  While out celebrating her twentieth birthday, she has a brief encounter with the hot & sexy Dorian. Gabi has always known that she was adopted but has an even bigger bombshell dropped on her right after her night out. Her parents try to explain to her that she comes from magical parents. She is told that her birth-parents shared a forbidden love since one was "dark" & one was "light" and that they were both killed when their romance was exposed. She is also told that she will need to choose whether she is dark or light when she ascends & will be given her powers. We watch as Gabi & Dorian explore a relationship. When Gabi begins to think that several murders are revolved around her, she struggles with the thought that she may be more dark than light. When she decides to  move out on her own to enjoy her last year before she ascends she finds something in her room that could quite possible break her...The ending of this book definitely leaves you wanting more. It's a good thing book two is already out :)




    - "I've never been with someone like you either," I whisper. 
    -"I know," Dorian replies. "And you never will be."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2013

    Incredible story - A must read!

    The twists and turns keep you on the edge of your seat. Your heart swoons and breaks, and still you want more!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4