Customer Reviews for

Dark Light of Day

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I have read hundreds of sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal romance

I have read hundreds of sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal romance novels and I like this one a lot though I will agree that the ending was a bit abrupt. My hope is that there will be a novel about Nightshade coming.

posted by 1333956 on December 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

A bit confusing, very Harry Potterish

Dark Light of Day has a book synopsis that caught my attention and wouldn't let go. It presents an intriguing and one-of-a-kind premise that offers a satisfying conclusion while leaving some strings undone for any future stories. I will admit that I didn't always unde...
Dark Light of Day has a book synopsis that caught my attention and wouldn't let go. It presents an intriguing and one-of-a-kind premise that offers a satisfying conclusion while leaving some strings undone for any future stories. I will admit that I didn't always understand what was going on but with Ms. Archer's talents it didn't bother me that I didn't get everything a 100%. What I DID enjoy was the sweetly sensual love story between the cooly confident assassin Ari and the unexpectedly powerful Noon, whose father is one of the most powerful men in their community. Ari encourages her to be what she was meant to be even as she struggles with what fate has chosen for her. It's more than her longtime friend, and wannabe-boyfriend, Peter wants for her. He's desperately trying to find a spell to give her the mystical powers her kind is supposed to have. These differences create an emotionally charged lover's triangle that is a welcome distraction from the endless action sequences of training and killing demons.

During the events set at the school I couldn't help but be reminded of Harry Potter as these individuals go through much training to perfect their mystical skills. Once their skills are put to the test we get to see a roller coaster assortment of high energy action sequences which escalate into life or death consequences as a killer demon is on the loose hunting healers. These exciting scenes, as well as the likable and memorable characters, made for a fun story that kickstarts this new series nicely. I look forward to seeing these characters mature and the further earth shattering events that may befall them.

3.5 Stars

posted by jojoNE on October 27, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A bit confusing, very Harry Potterish

    Dark Light of Day has a book synopsis that caught my attention and wouldn't let go. It presents an intriguing and one-of-a-kind premise that offers a satisfying conclusion while leaving some strings undone for any future stories. I will admit that I didn't always understand what was going on but with Ms. Archer's talents it didn't bother me that I didn't get everything a 100%. What I DID enjoy was the sweetly sensual love story between the cooly confident assassin Ari and the unexpectedly powerful Noon, whose father is one of the most powerful men in their community. Ari encourages her to be what she was meant to be even as she struggles with what fate has chosen for her. It's more than her longtime friend, and wannabe-boyfriend, Peter wants for her. He's desperately trying to find a spell to give her the mystical powers her kind is supposed to have. These differences create an emotionally charged lover's triangle that is a welcome distraction from the endless action sequences of training and killing demons.

    During the events set at the school I couldn't help but be reminded of Harry Potter as these individuals go through much training to perfect their mystical skills. Once their skills are put to the test we get to see a roller coaster assortment of high energy action sequences which escalate into life or death consequences as a killer demon is on the loose hunting healers. These exciting scenes, as well as the likable and memorable characters, made for a fun story that kickstarts this new series nicely. I look forward to seeing these characters mature and the further earth shattering events that may befall them.

    3.5 Stars

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    I have read hundreds of sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal romance

    I have read hundreds of sci-fi, fantasy, and paranormal romance novels and I like this one a lot though I will agree that the ending was a bit abrupt. My hope is that there will be a novel about Nightshade coming.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Worth taking a chance!

    The book was great! I was wavering about whether to buy it or not from the reviews and I took the leap and it was worth it!

    Highest praise I can truly give is that I will buy the second book in the series!

    Armageddan has passed over a thosand years ago. Demons and angels live among us. In order to keep the peace, the laws must be kept and followed. We find ourselves following Noon to St. Lucifer's Law School, where she must declare her true powers or face death. The twist being that there has never been a female magistrate (one who has the power to control demons enough to mediate between them and their followers in order to find peaceful solutions or to kill them if the demon has become rouge). We follow Noon through the twists and turns of her life as she blazes a new trail through preconceived mores and fears to find who she truly is and that she is beautiful and worth being loved as she is by herself and by Ari (who wouldn't want her to change).

    I gave 4 out of 5 stars bc of the way the last couple of paragraph were structured. I would assume this would be an editor or publisher thing to keep to a certain amout of pages. But the ending should have been allowed a little more detail, instead it felt a little rushed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Demons and lawyers abide!

    I enjoyed the story greatly. I read a lot of fantasy and this was a unique spin on the post apocalyptic novel....demons AND lawyers hmmm... The ending was a little abrupt though. I feel like there was a missing scene...hence four stars! I'll be keeping my eye out for more by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    very unique

    this story takes place in a world post demon-angel war. it is a wonderful interpretation of what Could be. it takes place in a 'modern' world that the author does a fantastic job of placing the reader in. the characters are realistic and the story is really well written.
    the end leaves a lot of questions for the next book to interpret!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    I was pulled into the story with the first paragraph. Ms. Archer

    I was pulled into the story with the first paragraph. Ms. Archer has created a unique world filled with vivid characters and interesting scenarios based on the premise that Armageddon has already come and Lucifer's army won. With this in mind, I wasn't sure what to expect. But the world Archer created is not what you'd automatically assume it to be. I absolutely love the world she's created. Can't wait to see what's next, where the series goes from here.

    I finished the book in two days but have taken two months to write the review because the story and characters stayed with me. I wanted to wait to see if my feeling about the story would change with time. But here it is two months later, and I still miss the characters and the world.

    I'm not usually a fan of first person because most authors can't write it well. Jill Archer is one of the few who writes it great!

    This reminds me a bit of Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy series except with demons and angels instead of vampires and damphirs and graduate school instead of high school. Also has a bit of a Chicagoland Vampires (Chloe Neill's series) feel to it.

    I highly recommend this book and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 24, 2014

    must read

    book starts slow, but pickups real nice

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Fascinating high fantasy

    The post-apocalyptic setting doesn't feature the wreckage of sky scrapers twisted grotesquely or an environment savaged by storms and shorelines lost to the greenhouse effect.

    Instead it's a fascinating look at a city that feels right for high fantasy rather than urban fantasy per se. References to a flash light and electricity are grace notes to steampunk-esque reinventions of "cabriolets" (transportation) and "harmonics" (phone-like communication).

    As for the plot, Noon faces challenges from several quarters, with the key elements being (1) mysterious abductions at railway stations & possibility of serial killer (2) Noon's trial by fire - literally - as a first year maegester in training assigned to a demon determined to divorce his insane wife, but there's no divorce for demons (3) figuring out a tangle of personal relationships, the hardest being her indecision about what she really wants to do in the future with her life.

    Some reviewers didn't click with Noon, but I can relate to he grad student moment when you've got to choose the path that will define your future. The sex scenes are adult in nature, and Ari is such a great love interest... mm.

    Can't wait to start book 2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2013

    So what happens when you go through Armageddon but the world sti

    So what happens when you go through Armageddon but the world still exists? I mean, how cool is that concept? Demons are definitely walking around like they are cool LOL and Lucifer has taken over, except he's in his own little predicament from all these battles. The main character has magical powers, but it's not really the nice kind... It freaking destroys things.... Hmmm, that would be cool if you needed to have a trash day and needed to obliterate it... but not so cool when you destroy things that you need. 




    Normally, I like to say that I think the heroine-Noon happens to be the coolest name ever- is way cool and bad ass, but *sigh* I think she needs to grow a little more. She is trying so hard to change her magic gifts into her sister's that she's forgetting to live, and make good decisions, like not dating crazy people hahahaha I actually still really like this book, I just want Noon to figure out that her magic can be used in good ways too, and to learn to love herself. However, I loved her relationship with her friends. When it wasn't surrounded around her magic, she's very much a likable character. I predict in future books, she's going to HAVE to grow up and get with it, or her magic and her craziness is going to get her into trouble. 




    I liked the world building. It's not so different that it's far-fetched , but different enough that it's still fantasy. There's some very interesting themes about laws and religions, and I liked the way they were done here. I am definitely looking forward to more from this series, and I really hope Noon can finish with her sad self, and become the kick ass self I know she can be in book two!!! 4 DEMONICALLY DELICIOUS PAWS!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Terrible

    There wasn't a whole lot that I liked about this book. The "heroine"--whiny, egotistical. I never did figure out what was so bad about having waning magic. So what if she was the first woman to ever have it. Her twin brother was the first male to have waxing magic but he wasn't whining and complaining about it. I agree with another reviewer that she acted like a 14-year-old. This was more of angst-filled love story than urban fantasy. I didn't like her, Peter, or her parents. The best part of the story is Ari. He is a great mature guy with a good head on his shoulders. There is no action in the story. It is basically Noon whining all the time because she isn't a healer. I won't be buying any more of the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    My den

    Glowingstars den

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2013

    Great premise but angsty

    Great premise and fairly interesting world, but the characters need to grow up -- their maturity levels are more like 14 year olds than 20 somethings. Other than the painfully angsty romance, decent fantasy book. Not at the top of my list but not at the bottom either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    This book is terrible

    This book is terrible.
    First if you are a Christian I urge you to stay away from this book. It will offend your religious beliefs. I don't consider myself a Bible thumping, go to church everyday type of individual, but the author writes of a world where the Savior (for Christians, that would be Jesus Christ)has been defeated by Lucifer. In this world Lucifer is made out to be a hero. Worshiping demons is acceptable. There's no conflict with this reality. The sacrifice of blood is considered an acceptable reality.
    Second this book is bad even if you're not a religious person. The main character can't be described as a hero. She's more of selfish self-centered individual. The book tries to be more of a romance novel than an actual sci-fi fantasy novel.
    Third from the storytelling perspective, the book lacks action, adventure,or intrigue. In the beginning the book reads interestingly enough, but after a while it continues to drag on. I'm deeply disappointed in this book and I do not recommend it.

    0 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1