Customer Reviews for

Dark Lord of Derkholm (Derkholm Series #1)

Average Rating 5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2012

    DWJ Always Worth The Time

    The Dark Lord of Derkholm is set in a fantasy world whose inhabitants have been pressured into signing a contract that forces them to conduct D&D style tours for folks from OUR world. You can just imagine the opportunities for chaos and humor that ensue.....! This book is full of memorable characters drawn with a few effortless brush strokes, tongue-in-cheek yet affectionate jabs at Tolkien and D&D fans, and a clever plot told in vivid prose. The style and wit of this story put me in mind of the Doctor Who stories written by Douglas Adams, and for a weekend read, it doesn't get any better than that!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantasy Stood On Its Ear

    What if there was actually a world where fantasy adventures happened? What if they were only put on for the benefit of people from our world? What if the people from that world were made to do the pretend adventures by someone from our world? What if the people from the magical world got sick of it all? This book answers all of these questions and more in a wonderful story based around something you don't see in a lot of fantasy novels: a family. I bought this book after I'd read it from the library for years. I look forward to visiting it over and over again--it's one of my firm favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    Amazing Books that the World Should Read

    Confession: I have been waiting for the Harry Potter book to come out forever. But I must say that since I was forced to find substitutes I have come across some of the best books ever written. Fantasy has never gotten the credit it deserves and this is an author who has several exceptional works. This is not my favorite, that title goes to The Lives of Christopher Chant but this is probably my second favorite. I'm rereading this book for the first time in over a year and I forgot how much I truely enjoyed it. This author has tons of books that are equal to almost any fantasy book I've ever read. I'd recommend this book one hundred times over.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    Shadow club~ cat room.

    It is in an abandoned two-leg tree-house. The fresh kill pile is on a small moss-covered stool. The tree has many branches, providing easy access. The kits are kept in a large wooden box lined with moss.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2013

    Best fantasy book of my childhood

    I have so many fond memories of this book. It is funny, dramatic, and incredibly well written. It is, however very much aimed at teenagers, not adults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Sgjdevt

    I p

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2013

    Good read

    It took me about a week to read this book.
    I could not put it down.
    The story is awsome.
    Any fan of fantasy will love this, even those who hate fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2012

    Impressive

    Dark lord of derkholmis awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It!

    I just finished reading this book so I wanted to write a review before I forgot any of it, not that I ever will! I fell in love with this strange family and their magical world. This book had me laughing out loud one minute and practically in tears the next. But don't worry, you'll be laughing again by the end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2008

    THE BOOK TO READ!!!

    Derk is the main character and he is the Dark Lord of Derkholm. People pay to take tours of Derk's world. Some people in Derk's world want the tours to stop, but others want them to continue. Read to find out what happens. My opinion is that this is a book that most people will like if you like reading about magic, different worlds and the old times. If you read fantasy books, you would like this book. So, I recomended it to all the fantasy book readers out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2007

    Awesome book

    This was a little confusing at first, but once you got into it, it was very funny and entertaining. The laugh out loud part for me was when no one wanted to push the wizard into the moat so he jumped in by himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2007

    Different.... In a Good Way!

    I read A LOT! And something I've realized is... I read because of books that I can't put down. something different, and excellent about this book is it isn't leading up to one bif adventure. Throughout, different things are thrown at you. As one mishap is dealt with another appears. It goes on, and suddenly they are all linked together. This book is excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2006

    Excellent... Except for the butchered ending.

    This book was almost an excellent read. I couldn't put it down, until the extremely disappointing ending. Jones ties up so many loose ends at once, it seems as if she got sick of writing this particular book and just wanted to get the rest of it over with. What a let-down!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2005

    Awesome

    this is an outstanding book I'am a high school student so most of my free time is used for music, video games, and hanging around my firends so its rare that I pick up a book that I'am not forced to read but this book was so great I was even spending my lunch hour reading it free time in class I spent reading it I was reading about 100 pages a day so it did not last too long but the book was so great I was sad to finish it knowing there was nothing more to be said I took the book back to thew libary but to my surpirse I want to read it again so I will be checking it out soon but it was weird when I first found the book on one of the back shelfs in the libary I was looking for a drawing book but they were all gone as always so I looked for some fantasy I found the book and I checked it on the school computer to learn we only had one copy at first I was a little confused with the story but as it went on I started to love it after every event from meeting the old dragon to learning he was the dragon king also learning the about the demon only derk could summon to finding out he was the demon king I loved the story I was hooked like a fish to bait it was outstanding the first time I was reading it this time it should be better to tell the truth I wish there was a second half to the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    not her best, but still good

    this book is really confusing at first, but the dark lord and his son are the main characters. DWJ is one of my favorite authors, but this isn't one of her best books. You should read it though. It's really good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2004

    A REALLY ENTERTAINING BOOK!

    I got this book after looking at all the good things people said about it on this website. I think everyone who reviewed it was absolutely right! I like books about animals and fantasy, and this book managed to tell a story about both. I REALLY LIKED THE GRIFFINS!! (Kit, Callette, Don, Lydda, and Elda) Griffins have always been one of my favorite fantasy creatures. Dragons too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2004

    Captivating!

    I read this book (Library book), and I finished it a few days after I ot it! It was so good and enthralling that I could stand outside in the freezing cold and not notice anything! (Which I did). I really enjoyed this book, and I hope to read The Year of the Griffin soon! (Callette was the coolest of the Griffins!!!)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2004

    Great and captivating book even for younger people!

    This is one of the best books I've every read from this author. Its really captivating and the characters are 'different' but in a good way. I hope to read her next book the Year of the Griffin.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2003

    this book rules! 5 stars * * * * *

    i want to the library to look for a good book to read at school the librarian told me this book would be perfect for i looked at it and said i would give it a try i got home and started to read it i could put it down. this book has it all adventure, humer, action, romance, Ect.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Totally Worth Reading

    This is the best book I ever read in my whole life. The charactors were sooooooo Loveable. My favorite was Kit. He's really cute. The plot was wonderful. This book was full of action. You can't not like this great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2