Customer Reviews for

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3438 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2484)

4 Star

(596)

3 Star

(203)

2 Star

(76)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

103 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

It will draw you in!!

Dark Lover is my first read of a vampire storyline. I couldn't put it down. I admit I had few expectations of a romance sort of novel and even less for a story about a group of vampires. I was shocked at the detailed world the author has created, and she presents unique...
Dark Lover is my first read of a vampire storyline. I couldn't put it down. I admit I had few expectations of a romance sort of novel and even less for a story about a group of vampires. I was shocked at the detailed world the author has created, and she presents unique attributes to her vampires that extend beyond those typically found in popular culture. Like, their preferences for vampire blood and not human blood! I ended up reading the entire series and loved every book. This book drew me in, and even though I found the book somewhat profane in its use of language, it didn't detract at all from the overall quality of the book. I will say that if you are bothered by graphic sex and language, this book (series) might be hard for you to read. Having said that, there is much more to this book than the sex and rough language. Overall, excellent!

posted by 148617 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

Sample is Not Long Enough

The sample portion of this book only contains definitions for the book. While a glossary is helpful to a book in which you introduce uncommon words and concepts, the sample needs to be long enough to actually show the reader what the writing is like. This sample does ...
The sample portion of this book only contains definitions for the book. While a glossary is helpful to a book in which you introduce uncommon words and concepts, the sample needs to be long enough to actually show the reader what the writing is like. This sample does not provide any clue for the reader to determine whether they are interested in buying this book, and for the cost of the book, that is a huge mistake.

posted by AvidReaderToo on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3463 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 174
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    It will draw you in!!

    Dark Lover is my first read of a vampire storyline. I couldn't put it down. I admit I had few expectations of a romance sort of novel and even less for a story about a group of vampires. I was shocked at the detailed world the author has created, and she presents unique attributes to her vampires that extend beyond those typically found in popular culture. Like, their preferences for vampire blood and not human blood! I ended up reading the entire series and loved every book. This book drew me in, and even though I found the book somewhat profane in its use of language, it didn't detract at all from the overall quality of the book. I will say that if you are bothered by graphic sex and language, this book (series) might be hard for you to read. Having said that, there is much more to this book than the sex and rough language. Overall, excellent!

    103 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Who Thought Vampires Could Be Sexy?

    Dark Lover was my first paranormal romance. I had a LOT of reservations and I was positive there was no way vampires could in any sense of the word be sexy or romantic. In fact, my mother had read all the books and loved them. But I stuck to my case, no way was I going to like this book. Well, I can say with no shame, that J.R. Ward proved me wrong. I loved it and can't wait to read the other 5. <BR/><BR/>Dark Lover is about a woman who is about to go through her transisition and the sexy vampire who is going to help her through it. There is a lot of action as far as the Brotherhood having to protect there species. There is a lot of steamy scenes that will probably knock your socks off too. If you have any reservations about reading this book, just give the first book a try. It may change your mind.

    52 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Sample is Not Long Enough

    The sample portion of this book only contains definitions for the book. While a glossary is helpful to a book in which you introduce uncommon words and concepts, the sample needs to be long enough to actually show the reader what the writing is like. This sample does not provide any clue for the reader to determine whether they are interested in buying this book, and for the cost of the book, that is a huge mistake.

    31 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Intoxicating Temptation!

    This is the best romance vampire series I have ever read and probably will ever read!

    When I read the first page, I was compelled to continue and not just because of the steamy hot guys. I was almost certain, it had to be because I was holding my breath with anticipation and tension. I think it was also because of the way they introduced Wrath.

    These series are rare because the relationships linger on the edge of a dagger. Between rough and tender. Beautiful and cruel. Love and Hate. Reminding us all, that you can still find beauty in the dark.

    I'm completely taken with this series and I will certaintly be reading them outloud to my Wrath!

    I cannot thank the author enough!
    Please read this, you will never put it down!

    30 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it!

    I just finished reading the "Anita Blake Vampire Series" and wanted another vampire series to sink my teeth into. I saw this book listed as a recommendation from another reader and saw that several people thought it was really good, so I bought it. I bought it yesterday, started reading it today and now I'm done with it. It was so good! The storyline really drew me in from the first few pages... I'll definitely be buying the rest of the books in the series.

    26 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    It had potential...

    I wanted to like this book but seriously a big bad blind vampire... Vampires that have to sewn up their arm? I also thought the writing was lacking plus parts were cheesy to say the least. I liked the vamps names and wanted to get into to this book but felt somewhat tortured just to finish it. I would suggest reading these books instead.

    15 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent book! Great sexy series!! Great Read

    Excellent book! Great sexy series!! Great Read

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great Books!

    I have read the Sookie Stackhouse series and the Twilight series and I am saying right now, that by far this series has knocked them out of the park. The "Brotherhood" men just sound so rugged. The sexual tension in these books keeps you on edge. I am on the 4th book and can't wait to read the rest....

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Cheesy and over-the-top

    I wanted to like this book, and I admit aspects of the plot were exciting and fast-paced. However, the dialogue is adolescent at best. When the vampires talk to each other, it is stereotypical "macho guy talk." The conversations between the men and women are also cliches - stereotypical "dangerous sexy talk." I couldn't decide whether to laugh or yawn.

    In fact, the entire romance was one big cliche - the dangerous vampire in love with the reluctant, sassy heroine... this is a popular formula for a reason, yet Ward does nothing to add any life to the characters or make the book read like anything but a formula.

    As a side note, I found the inclusion of a dictionary of terms to be extremely pretentious. Unless you're J.R. Tolkien, you should not need a dictionary for readers to understand your novel! Just take the time to offer some context or explanation of any unfamiliar terms!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 10, 2008

    This Series is a real heartbeat accelerator...

    This series is so good. I love to read and each book took me about 6 hours to read because I COULDN'T PUT THEM DOWN! The series has action, romance, thrilling love scenes and plot twists to boot! I highly recommend this series to everyone who is looking to read a series where you become immersed in the characters, and their lives, and the hot and steamy romance that ensues.... The 'brotherhood' has something for everyone, trust me! Enjoy!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2010

    not my fav was expecting better

    i didnt like the lingo used in this book, it was hard to imagine any of the characters as being attractive, Wrath was ok I guess but sometimes reminded me of a mix between Dog the bounty hunter and the brother from the movie barbed wire. ...hmm not really sure that I will go to read the rest of the series, I like my vampires hot sexy and old fashioned gentlemen, this was not the case :( sorry it seemed pretty cheesy

    6 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Can't Get Enough!

    WOW wonderful book. Great characters and great story line. Couldn't put it down. Read the book in two days. Not boring. Lots of action and hot steamy love scenes. If you into vampires I highly recommended this book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2010

    Disappointed

    After all the hype about this series, I was expecting this book to WOW me. Maybe my expectations were too high. The book was somewhat entertaining, but I never felt attracted to Wrath. The "steamy" love scenes that I kept hearing about were okay. The story line was also just okay. I never fell in "reader love" with any of the characters. I did read the entire book because I never put a book down even if I'm not enjoying it...I always give them a fair chance up until the last page. Sadly, I just didn't think this book was good enough to continue reading the rest of the series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Amazingly SEXY!

    I was hooked on this book within a few pages in. The writing style is very catching and unique. The characters are very unoriginal and dangerous. Yet the romance is very exciting and the sexual dialogue is at the very least..extremely HOT! If you've ever wanted to be ravaged by a hot vampire then this story brings it to life. It's like the Rated R version of twilight! Love it! can't wait to read the second one. Good work J.R Ward!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read, very well paced. Highly recommended for vampire fans

    Great read, very well paced. Highly recommended for vampire fans.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    Okay, Clearly I've been hiding under a rock that I didn't know a

    Okay, Clearly I've been hiding under a rock that I didn't know about this series until now. WOW. I love the way the author peppers hip hop culture with vampires and love and action. Just wow. Now how do I get me one of those brotherhood guys. Cause although that mine stuff is a little sexist, it's also hot as hell.

    I just loved Beth and Wrath's story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    What preview?

    I read the reviews and thought I would read the free preview and check it out! I received 16 pages of acknowledgments, dedications and a glossary of terms and proper nouns! I didnt get to read a single page of an actual story line!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2010

    One of the best series I've read yet..

    I came across this book just looking for something to read, little did I know I will be hooked...the first book I read in 2 days I could not put it down, I then rushed to B&N and got the rest of the series..can't wait till her latest in april..a co-worker borrowed the series and in 1 day read the first book..It goes to show how Mrs. Ward brings you in to this world and then you can't get out... but then who does?? Awesome books a must read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Black Dagger Brotherhood *Wrath's Story*

    This is one of my favorite series. I've read this book about 20 times and I can't get enough of it. Wrath is the King of the Brotherhood, but he's not happy about that. He doesn't want to be king or to have the brothers treat him any differently, but the reality is that he is king and somebody needs to lead. He's very nearly blind, but in no way does that make him any less fierce. This story is about his struggle to fulfill his friends dying wish and become the king the brotherhood needs.......

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!! If I am going to read a romance I

    I loved this book!!!!!!!!!!!! If I am going to read a romance I normally
    want it to purely be a romance, but the author did such an amazing job
    of drawing you in and making you fall in love with the characters that
    it was so much better with the added element of the vampires. I am a big
    twilight fan and I never thought I would find another vampire book that
    would rival it but I did with the Black Dagger Brotherhood series!!!!!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3463 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 174