Customer Reviews for

Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 3435 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2482)

4 Star

(596)

3 Star

(203)

2 Star

(75)

1 Star

(79)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

99 out of 105 people found this review helpful.

It will draw you in!!

Dark Lover is my first read of a vampire storyline. I couldn't put it down. I admit I had few expectations of a romance sort of novel and even less for a story about a group of vampires. I was shocked at the detailed world the author has created, and she presents unique...
Dark Lover is my first read of a vampire storyline. I couldn't put it down. I admit I had few expectations of a romance sort of novel and even less for a story about a group of vampires. I was shocked at the detailed world the author has created, and she presents unique attributes to her vampires that extend beyond those typically found in popular culture. Like, their preferences for vampire blood and not human blood! I ended up reading the entire series and loved every book. This book drew me in, and even though I found the book somewhat profane in its use of language, it didn't detract at all from the overall quality of the book. I will say that if you are bothered by graphic sex and language, this book (series) might be hard for you to read. Having said that, there is much more to this book than the sex and rough language. Overall, excellent!

posted by 148617 on November 2, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

30 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Sample is Not Long Enough

The sample portion of this book only contains definitions for the book. While a glossary is helpful to a book in which you introduce uncommon words and concepts, the sample needs to be long enough to actually show the reader what the writing is like. This sample does ...
The sample portion of this book only contains definitions for the book. While a glossary is helpful to a book in which you introduce uncommon words and concepts, the sample needs to be long enough to actually show the reader what the writing is like. This sample does not provide any clue for the reader to determine whether they are interested in buying this book, and for the cost of the book, that is a huge mistake.

posted by AvidReaderToo on February 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Sample is Not Long Enough

    The sample portion of this book only contains definitions for the book. While a glossary is helpful to a book in which you introduce uncommon words and concepts, the sample needs to be long enough to actually show the reader what the writing is like. This sample does not provide any clue for the reader to determine whether they are interested in buying this book, and for the cost of the book, that is a huge mistake.

    30 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 25, 2010

    Cheesy and over-the-top

    I wanted to like this book, and I admit aspects of the plot were exciting and fast-paced. However, the dialogue is adolescent at best. When the vampires talk to each other, it is stereotypical "macho guy talk." The conversations between the men and women are also cliches - stereotypical "dangerous sexy talk." I couldn't decide whether to laugh or yawn.

    In fact, the entire romance was one big cliche - the dangerous vampire in love with the reluctant, sassy heroine... this is a popular formula for a reason, yet Ward does nothing to add any life to the characters or make the book read like anything but a formula.

    As a side note, I found the inclusion of a dictionary of terms to be extremely pretentious. Unless you're J.R. Tolkien, you should not need a dictionary for readers to understand your novel! Just take the time to offer some context or explanation of any unfamiliar terms!

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2011

    What preview?

    I read the reviews and thought I would read the free preview and check it out! I received 16 pages of acknowledgments, dedications and a glossary of terms and proper nouns! I didnt get to read a single page of an actual story line!

    4 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2013

    Nope

    I was looking for a good series to read, but could not even get past the first fifty pages. The names alone are enough to make you laugh wrath, torhment, rhage.....are you kidding me? With names like that you might expect some hard scary guys, not guys who use the phrase " I'm outtie". Apparently this is blade meets clueless. To top it all off the big hancho vamp is blind. I also couldn't stand the author's desire to use too many adverbs and adjectives when less could paint the same picture. The author seemed determined to show their vocabulary off. Seriously don't waste your time or money unless you are looking for a laugh.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    ??????

    Ummm bored *yawns*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    Cant believe everyone gives this great reviews

    Seriously people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Dawne

    Well don't waste your time trying to read a sample of the book all you get is a dictionary of words

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Poor Darkeh. Her mate ditched her. Boo-hoo.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Booooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

    SUCKS WHATEVER THERE IS TOO SUCK BUT I REALLY ENJOYED RHE ENDING NOT BAD BUT STILL BOOOOOOOO
    I ONLY GIVE ONE STAR BECAUSE OF ENDIBG GOOD ENDING

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    B&n screens the reviews

    This author is to much for me.When 2 guyes kiss and they are the brothers. Not a book I would contiune with. Ewwwwww

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    Not Really that Great

    I got this book thinking that it would be good because there were so many reviews that said it was great. Honestly, I just can't agree. It seemed very amatuer and was just boring. I found myself skipping through most of it trying to get past the "blah, blah, blah" and get to the juicy stuff, but it never came. A lot of the things that happen aren't realistic. I mean I understand that it's fiction and fantasy, but if you think about it, in that fantasy situation a real person wouldn't react that way. For example: It was just silly to me how the main character just let the creepy guy in and slept with him on the first night (Never met him before or talked to him???). The author tries to justify it by having parts where the character questions what she's doing, but just fails. It seems to be like that around a lot of scenes in the book. If you haven't read a lot of Great books, you might like this one, but it just wasn't for me.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2005

    Not fabulous

    This is a poorly written first novel with no original ideas. Every author has potential and I think that the editors really need to rehash the characters and direction this book is taking. I honestly cannot recommnend this book as it is not worth the time to read or the money to buy.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4