Customer Reviews for

Dark Lycan (Dark Series #24)

Average Rating 4.5
( 201 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(131)

4 Star

(37)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(14)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

I am a die-hard Carpathian fan. I own all of Christine's 22 book

I am a die-hard Carpathian fan. I own all of Christine's 22 books of the Dark series and I love them ALL. This one left no room for negativity nor did it lack in grabbing my attention.
Fenris Dalka and Tatijana Dragonseeker are the main characters and I was surprised at...
I am a die-hard Carpathian fan. I own all of Christine's 22 books of the Dark series and I love them ALL. This one left no room for negativity nor did it lack in grabbing my attention.
Fenris Dalka and Tatijana Dragonseeker are the main characters and I was surprised at how early she found her lifemate when she and Branslavia just recently got out of Xavier's ice caves. Anyways, so this book focuses on the two and how different Fenris is. Of course, here comes another species into the mix of Carpathians and the Carpathian people must figure out how to deal with this new "lycan" species, if they are a threat or not. The love story between these two aren't as powerful as she has made previous love stories, or let me say love "scenes", but they are madly in love nonetheless as all lifemates are. There is a twist in the book as Fenris is the brother of one of the Carpathian hunters that we have known and loved for a while now.


I was pleasantly surprised by how much action was in this book. There was action on every turn of the page and I didn't want to put it down, which allowed me to finish this book in one day. Loved every scene, loved how there are more questions now for the future of the Carpathian species. If you are a fan of Christine's Dark series, this book will definitely not disappoint.

posted by MauiGurl on September 3, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

I use to love anything Ms Feehan's wrote...not any more.  The se

I use to love anything Ms Feehan's wrote...not any more.  The series started going downhill in earlier installments and this is no exception.  This book is awful. I started skipping pages hoping it would get better.  She kept repeating their background like she was tryi...
I use to love anything Ms Feehan's wrote...not any more.  The series started going downhill in earlier installments and this is no exception.  This book is awful. I started skipping pages hoping it would get better.  She kept repeating their background like she was trying to make her 300 page quota.  I was even gritting my teeth thru the love scene's.  Was looking forward to Skyler's story but don't think I can force myself to buy it.  Maybe Ms Feehan can reread the Dark Prince and get back to her old style so I can put her back on my "must read" list.

posted by kateW23 on September 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I am a die-hard Carpathian fan. I own all of Christine's 22 book

    I am a die-hard Carpathian fan. I own all of Christine's 22 books of the Dark series and I love them ALL. This one left no room for negativity nor did it lack in grabbing my attention.
    Fenris Dalka and Tatijana Dragonseeker are the main characters and I was surprised at how early she found her lifemate when she and Branslavia just recently got out of Xavier's ice caves. Anyways, so this book focuses on the two and how different Fenris is. Of course, here comes another species into the mix of Carpathians and the Carpathian people must figure out how to deal with this new "lycan" species, if they are a threat or not. The love story between these two aren't as powerful as she has made previous love stories, or let me say love "scenes", but they are madly in love nonetheless as all lifemates are. There is a twist in the book as Fenris is the brother of one of the Carpathian hunters that we have known and loved for a while now.


    I was pleasantly surprised by how much action was in this book. There was action on every turn of the page and I didn't want to put it down, which allowed me to finish this book in one day. Loved every scene, loved how there are more questions now for the future of the Carpathian species. If you are a fan of Christine's Dark series, this book will definitely not disappoint.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2013

    I use to love anything Ms Feehan's wrote...not any more.  The se

    I use to love anything Ms Feehan's wrote...not any more.  The series started going downhill in earlier installments and this is no exception.  This book is awful. I started skipping pages hoping it would get better.  She kept repeating their background like she was trying to make her 300 page quota.  I was even gritting my teeth thru the love scene's.  Was looking forward to Skyler's story but don't think I can force myself to buy it.  Maybe Ms Feehan can reread the Dark Prince and get back to her old style so I can put her back on my "must read" list.

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    CF is back to the Carpthian Mountains and back to her original w

    CF is back to the Carpthian Mountains and back to her original writing style:  :  DARK LYCAN is the 24th installment and the first of a three part trilogy in Christine Feehan’s paranormal Dark Carpathian series focusing on the lives and loves of the supernatural beings known as Carpathians.  Dark Lycan advances the series timeline two years.

    Some background about the series:  All Carpathian males, must find their lifemates before they turn vampire or greet the dawn. Without a lifemate, the males no longer see in color, feel pain or experience emotions. A lifemate is the light to their dark. She is the keeper of his heart and the keeper of his soul. 
    Fenris Dalka knows he has found his lifemate in Tatijana of the Dragonseekers but he also knows that her life is at risk as the lifemate to a Carpthian male who is something much more. Living with the elusive Lycan for centuries, Fenris is hiding in plain site and one wrong move could put him in the path of a hunter who is bound to destroy everything that Fenris has become.
    Christine Feehan has gone back to the stylings of some of her original storylines.  For those of you who have read Dark Celebration or Dark Demon, you know that many of the previous storyline characters played a major role in these two particular novels, and with Dark Lycan, Christine has woven another tale of vampire, Carpathians, Lycans and something new.  The secretive Lycans have resurfaced and there is a ‘new species’ of hybrid more powerful than anything the Carpathians have every seen. Looking to the future, there is a definite war on the horizon as the battles have already begun.
    The relationship between Fenris and Tatijana is loving and sensual but more of a surprise, there is almost an equal partnership, which is odd, considering the protective alpha that is bred into every Carpathian male.  For two ancients, Tatijana and Fenris readily accept the world and all of its’ quirks, but Tatijana is the biggest surprise of all. She is a Dragonseeker female who had been imprisoned for centuries and with her latest bid for freedom she has enmeshed herself into the real world with very little difficulty. She is a proud female of the species and a competent warrior in her own right.  After all, she is Dragonseeker and we all know what Natalya is capable of when pushed to her limits.
    For those who anticipate Dimitri and Skyler’s story in Dark Wolf, Dimitri is feature prominently alongside his brother Fenris in Dark Lycan and in doing so Christine begins to build on his upcoming story.  Although Skyler is not physically present in Dark Lycan, she is with Dimitri, none the less.
    If you are a fan of the older Dark Carpathian storylines, Dark Lycan will have a familiar feel.  We welcome back many of the previous storyline characters as well as get a glimpse of the next generation of Carpathian warriors and potential mates.  Poor Gregori has his hands full.
    And of course, I am looking forward to Dark Wolf-Skyler and Dimitri’s storyline-January 2014.

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Great new bad boys in the making, but felt it could have been wr

    Great new bad boys in the making, but felt it could have been written better. Skipped a lot of pages either due to repetition or poorly thought out moments for the characters.  Sex scenes over done and felt it was to meet a word quota instead of being natural.skipped most all of sex scenes since they come at end of book.  Should have kept those as the others...low profile and stuck to introducing the new bad boy characters.  This book could have been great, but was mediocre instead.  Even the female character seemed whimsy in fighting scenes and became easily tired compared to the other female fighters. 

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Dark Lycan is the 24th book in Christine Feehan¿s wonderful Dark

    Dark Lycan is the 24th book in Christine Feehan’s wonderful Dark series. The Dark series has always been one of my top favorite series for many years. I would always look forward and anxiously await the next book. However, the three books that followed Dark Slayer were somewhat of a disappointment for me. I thought the three books were ok, but not up to the standard I was used to for Feehan. Well, I must say that in Dark Lycan….CHRISTINE FEEHAN is back. I loved Dark Lycan. It had the same exciting and adventurous storyline we loved, with a wonderful couple; a major villain, and many of our favorite characters from earlier books. It was like a homecoming, and I am happy to say this series is back on the front burner for me.

    Dark Lycan is Tatijana Dragonseeker’s story, and I for one have been waiting for her and Bronnie’s story since they were rescued. Fen Dalka, who is Dimitri’s brother, is the hero in this book, and he is awesome. Finally a hero who treats his mate as an equal partner, not just a sex slave. From the start, this story kept my interest, and it was just great to watch both Tatijana and Fen’s romance build.

    The crux of the story is a new breed of vampire & wolves, who have mixed blood of both, and are stronger and better then even the Carpathians. The new breed is a mix of vampire (or Carpathian) and werewolves, creating a breed called Sange rau Fen having just recently returned to the Carpathian Mountains to be with Dimitri, is both Carpathian and Werewolf, and hides that he is Sange rau, even from the elite wolves. He knows that the wolves kill the Sange rau, even if some of them are not bad, like Fen. But the wolves fear them as too dangerous, as they are so much stronger then anyone.

    While Fen hides what he is, he helps Tatijana, and immediately realizes she is his lifemate. At first Tatijana does not want anyone to control her, as most lifemates will try to do, but she begins to fall hard for Fen. Together, they are in the middle of this fight of the wolves and the Sange rau, against the Carpathians. This new breed has a hidden agenda that threatens them all.

    It is an exciting story, filled with action, bloody fights, and danger, with Fen, Tatijana, Dimitri and many of our Carpathians in the middle of this war. The main villain is someone new to us, but another vampire, who is the strongest one yet, with Mikhail constantly in danger.

    Dark Lycan was non stop entertainment all the way through. You could not put this book down, as it went from one action packed moment to the next. The romance between Tatijana and Fen was great, and their chemistry was very hot sexually. Again, I absolutely love when Christine brings in many of her other recurring characters that we have come to love, and they play a major role in this book…Mikhail, Gregori, Dimitri, Vikornoff, Natalya, Destiny, Nikolae, Falcon, just to name a few. We get to see an older and stronger Skyler for a short period, but we all know the next book, Dark Wolf belongs to Dimitri & Skyler, as the end of this book leads to that. Can’t wait.

    7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Redundant

    I have faithfully read every book written by Christine Feehan. That is not exactly a good thing because as each book is written, you notice a pattern and the authors writing style gets boring. There is too much descripted scenes that are not relevant to the story and the love scenes... pages and pages of dragged out crap. I found myself skimming through pages looking for the story to start back up. It is unfortunate because Christines characters and stories are very good. It's her penchant for filler that detracks from total enjoyment. This book is a little better than her last. At least I was able to finish this one.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2013

    So disappointed! The story line drags and there is such an exce

    So disappointed! The story line drags and there is such an excess of violence - beyond the normal fight scenes. Just not up to expectations from this author and I normally wait anxiously for each new book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    I loved it!

    I thought the new characters were terrific. Well developed characters and good story development. I enjoyed the inclusion of the other characters. The voices were so distinct that the characters seem real. Thanks for another great book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    This book was fantastic. It was everything I have come to expect

    This book was fantastic. It was everything I have come to expect from the Dark series and much more. I am so hyped for Dark Wolf now, and for the story to continue. Loved it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Best in the series. Can wait for Skylar to save Dimitri.

    Best in the series. Can wait for Skylar to save Dimitri.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    This book is very well written. While reading it the characters become your friends. I can't wait for the next one to come out. If you like Christine's Dark series you will love this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    Recommend

    Christine Feehan's series are based upon communities, containing both good and evil, filled with werewolfs, shape shifters, vampires, and people with extra-ordinary abilities. The books are filled with danger, mystery, love. I would recommend reading her series to those who wont' to get past just "they are all bad" and actually enjoy her spin on these "other" beings.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Paranormal romance plus erotica, I like that combo!

    Paranormal romance plus erotica, I like that combo!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Alicia's house description continued

    She has a bed that looks like rainbow dash's bed and she has mlp posters all over the walls. She has a rarity fainting couch with huge stuffies of the mane six and derpy and luna and celestia and all of the characters in mlp including the pets and bad guys. She has a whole wardrobe deticated to mlp!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2014

    NOT A COOKIE-CUTTER BOOK.....GOOD SERIES!!

    I enjoyed this particular book from Christine Feehan as it was different enough to keep from becoming a 'cookie-cutter' book. I thought the development of the characters was especially well done. I have read other series and found writers repeating the basic plot over and over and just plugging in different names and places. Also, when the places are described in this book, you are able to visualize what you are reading. I've enjoyed this author and hope she continues to write many years to come.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    I am a die hard Carpathian fan.. but I love all Christine's book

    I am a die hard Carpathian fan.. but I love all Christine's books.. keep them coming..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2014

    Good Read!

    Exciting! Christine is always putting in a good twist to her books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Dusk

    I already rp there. Gtg))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2014

    Megan

    Aww. Me gtg.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Read this....

    A really good written book, but borring as f---k!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11