BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Dark Matter

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    A Nice Escape...

    Dark Matter, the second installment to Five was disappointing to me. The author really came into her own at the end of the first book and I was really looking forward to reading Dark Matter however I really found the character Rayla to be quite annoying. At the end of the book I found myself frustrated and upset. I was going to give the book 3 stars and then it dawned on me that the author spun the tale so artfully that I became "involved" with the book. The author really developed all the characters and the storyline in such a way that I became emotionally invested in how the story evolved. I may not like in what direction the story is going or the decisions the characters make but that is the true talent of the author, to help you escape and forget who you are and where you are even if its only for a little while.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Awesome

    First of all let me say the length of the book threw me off. The book is over 1100 pages. But i couldnt put down the book, the book captured my attention completely. The author writes wonderfully, the story flows so smoothly. I can wait until the third book is released. The series is awesome and i highly suggest the book and series to everyone. Secretly im hoping rayla will finally be bonded to Heath, but right now who knows lol

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 6, 2012

    So what did I love(some of this is copied from book 1's review)?

    So what did I love(some of this is copied from book 1's review)? The plot is complex, mysterious and intriguing. I love Ms. Rich's striking verbiage. She paints the most beautiful scenes, ones of which you can practically feel the texture without being bogged down with useless details. Her stories ooze with creativity and magic!

    Then, the characters: Rayla is the perfect protagonist. Likable from the start, but with room for character growth, I immediately connected with Rayla. That character growth (which I love) is steady, believable and well written. The characters surrounding her are well-rounded with their own back stories and issues. The antagonists (and those we aren't sure are which they are) are dimensional, not merely evil with their own inner struggles.

    Then there's the sizzling chemistry between Rayla and these mysterious fellas hanging around! You'd think that having so many men involved would not gel right with the reader, but Ms. Rich has an incredible way writing each of these characters in a way that you completely empathize with Rayla in not being able to choose. In book 1, I was 100% Zach, but then came Luke ... and in book 2, there's even more!!! It's hard to express how well Ms. Rich writes chemistry. And the crazy thing is, there's never anything more than kissing. Rayla has standards (good for you, girl!).

    Book 2 picks up right where book 1 left off. Thrown right into the action, I read this book cover to cover in 2 days. Sleep's overrated anyhow. I was shocked that there was still even more sexy men introduced and found myself rooting for Heath in no time flat. Poor Rayla just doesn't know who to trust, and who to let in to her heart. The whole compulsion thing makes everything all the more confusing. This makes for some crazy good reading! Then, just when we've gotten deep into fae issues, BOOM we are hit with the human bad guy side and again nothing is as it seems. Hmmm... crazy intriguing! I must read book 3 ... which came out just last month ... right away!

    See more of my reviews on my blog, Known to Read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Exhilarating sequel, filled with beautiful fairy men fighting for one woman *sighs* why can't I be so lucky :)

    After reading Five I just had to know more about this story and thank god there is a second book already out. Now my only problem is I read it in a day :( and there is no third book to appease my dying curiosity. The Second book ends on a cliff hanger of mass proportions, having said this that is the only complaint I have about this entire book. Like with most writers Christie seems to hit her stride with her second book. The writing is smoother and paints a more vivid picture. This story so intrigued me that I didn't even notice I was coming up on the end of the book, the end took me by such surprise I had to scroll back to make sure I hadn't accidently skipped a page. The story line is wonderfully paced with just the right amount of information to action sequences. The romance continues and the main character is actually being wooed by more men than ever before. I'm a little on the fence about Rayla's choices of men I'm not even sure with how the story is playing out which one to vote for her to end up with. There is a one that is a front runner for me that I would gladly pick if I could only find him lol. I fell in love with this story and its characters I just wish we got a different perspective sometimes than just Rayla's, or that she would learn more about the men and other people that surround her everyday life. You find out a lot of information in this book but I'm still dying to know more there are so many things left hanging that Rayla seems to forget about once the action starts, I can't blame her for getting distracted she's constantly in danger of being malled, molested, stolen, or killed. Rayla is really coming into her power in this book but with all the action she was a little behind the times for trying to use it or learn about herself. I think for a bit she got to dependent on someone always rescuing her, when she finally figures out she's strong enough to rescue herself and everyone around her the book shortly comes to an end. I think book three is going to be filled with amazing revelations *fingers crossed* I really liked the book cover on this book also it is beautiful. If you haven't read this series I recommend you buy both books wont regret getting lost in this story, but reading them out of order is not recommended you will miss a lot of important information from the first book and ruin reading it second.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Awsome!!

    Such a wonderful book,series!!! Love love love. I could not put it down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2012

    This follow-up to "Five" has more twists and turns tha

    This follow-up to "Five" has more twists and turns than a roller coaster and really delivers the goods! While the first half of the novel still had too many "gorgeous guy" passages for my liking--alas, I'm still not the target audience here (see the confession in my review for the aforementioned "Five")--the midway point saw the book suddenly rocket down a path that was unexpected, thrilling, and altogether enthralling! It was almost as if Rich grew tired of fun and games, ripped the kid gloves off, and decided to unleash something dark and dangerous upon the reader. And it works; it ups the ante by many notches and will dare fainthearted readers to find the courage to continue.

    YA and fantasy fans should definitely check this series out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    Loved

    I loved this book it was better then the first one can't wait for the next book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Carmen

    Loved the first!! Cant wait to read this one!!!!*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Good

    I enjoyed this book. I felt like it was a in between book that needed to set up for book three. It has some slow parts but overall it is a good book to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    i Interesting and Exciting

    Great read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2014

    Unique and grasping

    You will be wondering through each page, as well as constantly changing your mind through the entire series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2014

    Great Read

    Loved this series from start to finish. I read all of them within a few weeks. The writing and plot really sucks you in. Was sad to see it end. But it was an amazing ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2014

    This book was awesome!!!!!

    Totally worth reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2014

    Loved it

    Definitely worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Merry

    Likes it! Reminds me of a mlp episode too! Like when twilight gets her wings.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Amber

    CONTINUE!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Mystery

    This is starting to remind me of an actual episode...cool. This is much better quality writing than I expected. A lot of nookfic tend to have really [bleep]y spelling and grammar, but this one is really good! I'm not normally a big fan of MLP, but keep it up! This one's great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Zack

    Really good job! Ii really like it! Keep writing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Dark Elements - Chapter Two

    Fluttershy came to slowly, rising up to stand. "Fluttershy!! You okay?" Pinkie squeaked. "I'm fine." She replied icily.
    <p>
    Angel hopped over, confused. Fluttershy bucked him into a bush. "Move over." She growled, her eyes now glowing a ruby red hue. Angel shivered in fright, hopping away and going to hide.
    <p>
    "Are you sure-" Pinkie tried to say, but Fluttershy cut her off. "Get away from me, you pink party pony!!" Pinkie backed away. "O-o-kay....maybe you need some cake to cheer you up!!" Pinkie grabbed a piece of cake and held it out cheerfully.
    <p>
    Fluttershy glared at the cake and picked it up slowly. Pinkie Pie nodded. "Now eat the cake...." she said.
    <p>
    Fluttershy smashed the cake down into the grass, then flicked the smashed cake towards Pinkie. It covered Pinkie's face. Pinkie Pie, unfazed, licked off the cake in one slurp. "Or...I could just eat it!" She replied, laughing.
    <p>
    "Ha!! That's not meant to be funny!" Fluttershy scoffed. "There's something wrong with your brain, Pinkie Pie!!" Pinkie's happy smile crumpled. "I-i..."
    <p>
    Fluttershy made a sniff of satisfaction and turned-tail, mocking Pinkie. "La-la-la-la-laa..." she said as she cruelly imitated Pinkie Pie. Her voice trailed off in the distance. Pinkie's eyes filled with tears.
    <p>
    * * * * * * * *
    <p>
    "And that's how it happened!" Pinkie sniffed. Twilight Sparkle wrapped a wing around her upset friend sympathetically. "This sounds serious. It seems as if the Elements are reversing!" She said worriedly.
    <p>
    Twi turned to a stack of books and began searching through them, trying to find any information on the subject. "I don't see anything that can help us. Unfortunately after we put our Elements in The Tree of Harmony, there's no way to get them back to heal any Element-related issues."
    <p>
    "Maybe there's trouble at The Tree!" Pinkie put in. Twi gasped. "You could be right. Let's go!!" "Wait." Pinkie Pie said shakily. "I feel...dizzy." "Pinkie Sense?" Twilight asked, confused. "No..." Pinkie shuddered. Then, she passed out, dropping to the floor.
    <p>
    * * * * * *
    <p>
    Pinkie sat up in Twilight's bed. "Oh. Hi Twilight." She murmured. She got out of the bed and started to walk away."Better get home. Time for lunch." "What?" Twilight gasped, shocked. "Pinkie - "
    <p>
    "Bye." Pinkie said with no emotion in her voice. She opened the door and walked out. Twilight ran to the doorway. "But!!"
    <p>
    Pinkie walked normally towards the Sweet Delights Shop, not humming or skipping. Twi shook her head. What was going on??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2013

    Second book in the series...I loved it. It just seems to get mo

    Second book in the series...I loved it. It just seems to get more complicated and I couldn't wait to see what happens next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3