Customer Reviews for

Dark Matter (Star Carrier Series #5)

Average Rating 2.5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tried and true

Not really sure what the other 2 reviewers problems are. I have been following Mr. Douglas since Heritage Marine and he always delivers. Keep them coming, I'll keep reading.

posted by 8361466 on June 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

No nook sex

I agree.

posted by Anonymous on June 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Tried and true

    Not really sure what the other 2 reviewers problems are. I have been following Mr. Douglas since Heritage Marine and he always delivers. Keep them coming, I'll keep reading.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Very good.

    Very good. Enjoyed this book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    I have read a lot of this author's books and enjoyed them as adv

    I have read a lot of this author's books and enjoyed them as adventure stories. I haven't cared a lot for the political theories, but heck this is fiction. However one of the main characters goes into a rant about big government that does not seem to have anything to do with the story. Any way he carries on about how big government in the early twenty first century nearly ruined everything. The early twenty first century is now and big government is not the problem, but the big problem is big political corruption led by the Republicans on the Supreme Court. This is the last book I will ever read by this author.

    2 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    subpar

    While the basic story is good, Ian Douglas gets carried away with himself and needlessly repeats back story or inconsequential "room dressing". I was able to skip several pages at a time without losing the story. Dialog is pages apart with characters ruminating on trivial topics in between.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    No nook sex

    I agree.

    2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2014

    Ian Douglas Loses His Way

    Star Carrier Dark Matter reads like that Physics book you had in College if it was written for graduate studies and you're a freshman under-grad. The author spends way too much time trying to impress you with random facts. Of course that saves him from that tedious task ofdeveloping characters you care about. I was a big supporter of Ian Douglas, but no longer.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2014

    Not as good as books 1,2,3,4

    Endless pages of ramblings that make no sense. It seems to be done just to eat up pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2014

    From the moment I read the first words of the first book in the

    From the moment I read the first words of the first book in the Star Carrier series, I was hooked. As a longtime sci-fi devotee, I found Ian Douglas' take on an expanding universe a nice change of pace: here we had a fantastic blend of real-world physics and larger-than-life happenings in the galaxy. The first, second, and third books made for a compelling trilogy with high reread value--but starting with the fourth book, it seemed like I was reading something of substantially lower quality, and this, the fifth book, continues that decline.

    In the pages of this novel, it was very difficult for me to focus on what events were actually taking place. A single, brief conversation can stretch across pages and pages, because the dialogue itself is almost buried in backstory, or worse, in a character's own internal monologue. Worse still, even events from earlier in the book find themselves explained again and again, repeatedly. Not even action sequences are safe from these significant flaws; one sequence in particular comes to mind, and while a fierce laser fight rages, Douglas wanders away from describing events and seems to get lost in yet more backstory.

    I, personally, tend to write, and favor the writings of others that do this, in a way that presents any necessary "room dressing" (to borrow another reviewer's phrase) and backstory at the beginning of a chapter, and from there focus on the actual events. Then, at the end of the chapter, filter any additional exposition through whatever character whose point of view the scene was told from, and even then only on those occasions when I couldn't work the necessary information into the scene itself.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Stupid author

    Whoever wrote this book should go to jail

    0 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1