Customer Reviews for

Dark Melody (Dark Series #12)

Average Rating 4.5
( 237 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(157)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2006

    Good read for Carpathian lovers

    I have read all the Dark Series except for Dark Symphony, Secret and Destiny. I loved the first two books, Dark Prince and Dark Desire, about Dominant Alpha males/reluctant passion-in-waiting females. But I felt the rest of the series books were too redundant as to basic themes and character motivations, etc., with the exception of Dark Guardian where the couple seemed to be in more of a partnership. And, Jaxon knew immediately she was romantically interested in her mate, she didn't have to be convinced. Raven and Desrei were a bit more like that in their individual stories, not 'in love' at first like their mates were. Finally, in this book, we have a normal romance where two people look at each other and equally fall in love, which is wonderful after reading all the 'forced consent with eventual acceptance' type stories typical of this series. Of course, there are problems this couple must face, but, they are in love and WANT to be together mutually. The power of love enables Dayan to wait for Corrine physically, controlling this 'beast' within him. No other Carpathian male was able to do that, once he was sure that his lifemate would at least accept his physical advances(some don't even wait for her acceptance and just put in the mental suggestion figuring she'll come around eventually). And sure, eventually the women get to mentally loving their mates, but only after repeated heated sex sessions and devotion from the males. But, here, Corrine immediately wants Dayan physically to express her love, opens herself up, and then he has to say no to protect her health. That is unheard of self control by his kind. And, when he can't bind her to him with blood sharing and words for the same reason, it doesn't matter, as they were already committed to each other with just their hearts. That kept them through their journey and shows what when you are truly meant to be with each other, you don't need immediate binding of the woman, convincing her over and over again that she needs him, hypnotising her or just repeated seduction attempts to get her. So this was a nice change in this series. The one thing I found strange is that the first reunion of Gregori with his siblings is shown here. But previously in Dark Guardian, they all had been together at Jaxon's and Lucien's wedding. She should just have had flashbacks of their reunion at the wedding when they met to heal Corrine. Feehan is a good romance/steamy sex writer, but needs a course in typing up loose ends. All in all this is a good read if you are a follower of the Series. I would not suggest to read it first as the story means more in light of the history of the other books.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Inspiring & Touching!

    Dayan, a member of the Dark Troubadours, sees that his family has found their lifemates and are happy. When he realizes that he is the only one who has not found his other half, he leaves the group in hope of holding himself in this bleak world. He comes across Corrine, a telepathic woman who has telekenisis and a heart defect.
    Corrine knows that her time left on earth is short because of her heart defect and desires to have a child. She makes the decision to be with one of her closests friends, dear to her, who has the same abilities she does and who understands what it is to be different. But then something happens and he is murdered, leaving Corrine bereft and alone. She meets Dayan and knows that she is not alone anymore and takes his love and offer for happiness knowing that she will leave this world soon.
    Dayan is not set on letting Corrine go and decides to turn Corrine to his race, hoping that it'll cure her heart defect so that she can live with him. In a twist of fate, the two will learn that not all as it seems when she realizes that she is pregnant and wonders whose child it is.

    I love this book in that it is inspiring to see how Corrine lives her life. After years of not being able to overdo the limit of her heart, she has begun to accept her death as a relief from a world of limitations and restrictions. But I love how Christine shows Corrine the love and the life that Dayan can give her.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2003

    A world that exists only for love...

    Though as a Carpathian male Dayan long ago lost his own emotions, he is still able to make beautiful music, evoking passion in the hearts of many. Until he meets Corrine, he has none of his own. When he finds her at one of his concerts, he finds what is missing. .................... Corrine is unlike the other heroines who have saved the Carpathians. While many of them rival Wonder Woman, Corrine, though brave and strong, is pregnant, and barely clinging to life herself. This is a case where neither the man or woman can exist without the other. Saving Corrine's life is the only way to save his own for Dayan. When she tries to save a friend's life, though, Corrine may have put not only her life, but her unborn child and Dayan in peril. .................... **** This is the most moving of the Dark series. Ms. Feehan has created a world that exists only for love, and puts passion in its proper place. Dayan is much like Caleb, only gentler, for all Port Charles fans in withdrawal. ****

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Cool

    I don't care! I love it!
    Btw, if you like, plz read my story at dequ. As a warning-it's not a fanfic, a boring highschool story, or any of that cr.ud. Well, fanfics arn't that bad ;D. It's a really strange fantasy with unicorns and... I've said too much!
    Anyway, plz read and comment. I appreciate it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    L

    AWESOME STORY!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    To the Story

    Whoa...........totally my typr!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2014

    5

    An absolutely beautiful love story. I almost don't see the vampires and action over Dayan's gentleness with Corrine. Theat is what earned the 5 the star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Disappointing

    Come on, really? Dayan is the typical tortured Carpathian male, wonderful. But the whole book goes "I love you, worry about you--proceeds to jump her bones. Oops remember you heart. Jumps bones. Repeat ad nausea. Love Cullen, always have. He is way gyped. Lisa is annoying, i gotta work. I dont care if we're all gonna die because of my stupidity. Worst book of the lot.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Frostpaw

    No! Wait!! Dont go!! She looked around then thought hard.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Mysteryflower

    The wind whispered. "Find twilight at the ninth veld..."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    Secrets Uncovered on Jeran Road, by Diana

    "Lets go." I told my friend. Today, Kylie had twisted her blonde hair up into a bun. Last week, just before school started, she had dyed the tips electric blue, which looked interesting with her violet eyes. "Mom will be wondering."
    "Ok." Kylie agreed. "Lets cut through Ms. Fournier's yard, get home faster."
    I agreed, knowing she just wanted an excuse to cut through her mini hedge maze. I loved it too.
    As we headed to the maze, I saw a bulky shape flash through the trees. My shock must have shown on my face. "Are you ok?" Kylie asked.
    I shook my head. "Yeah. I think I'm seeing things." I tried to push it to the back of my mind, when something really did push me into the spiky branches of a pine by the entrance. "Ow!" I tried to struggle out and Kylie grasped my hand firmly, pulling me through twists and turns.
    "You ok?" Kylie knelt by me.
    "I think. Come on, the exit's this way."
    She shook her head. "It's blocked. This way." She whispered, crawling through the bushes. She stuck her head between two hedges, then darted into the open. Immediately, a hand flashed out, holding a knife to her throat. I almost screamed aloud, then realized I could have an advantage. That's when something grabbed me. This time I did scream, struggling wildly.
    "Lisa!" Kylie screamed.
    "Shut up!" Her attacker slammed a fist into windpipe, effectively cutting off her voice.
    I realized that there were two of them. Two on two. I gritted my teeth when my kidnapped twisted my arms painfully behind my back and started winding rope around them.
    This was it. Now or never.
    I grunted, then kicked out with as much force as I could muster into my attacker's stomach.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    LOVE YOUR STORY

    A suggestion make her lose and get kidnapped to make it more intence! Can i make a charecter application? Her name is Saige and can she be the villian or somthing shes a great fighter wavy greesnbrown hair and always carries a bow and arrow u can do the rest write more!!! Luv ur story!!!:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2013

    I loved Dayan and Corrine's story. Unlike the other Carpathain

    I loved Dayan and Corrine's story. Unlike the other Carpathain males, he could not claim Corrine due to her heart condition and her be pregnant. I loved how all of his family came to his aid to save her life and the life of her child..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    Keep them coming Ms. Feehan!!

    Another great book in the series! This one was a little different though, I thought this book allowed us to see a little more of vulnerability in the male Carpathian which was great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Enjoy!!! A must read!!!

    Beautiful!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Awesome

    This one was wonderful. Actually brought tears to my eyes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2012

    Fast moving, couldn't put it down.

    If reading the Series, read this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    I have read almost every book in this series, I am up to number 17 right now and all I can say is with everyone the author keeps you wanting for the next. These characters Dayan and Corinne are just as enchanting as the others. So if you like Carpathians, vampires, psychics and a whole lot more you will love these series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Great series...

    Love these books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2012

    very good read lots of action and romance

    great plot and characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 238 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12